D40 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Snowy Joshua Tree...
View photos created with this camera

The D40 Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 6.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 14 x 19-inch prints
  • Kit includes 3x 18-55mm f3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor lens
  • 2.5-inch LCD with three display options; built-in flash and hot shoe
  • Fast startup with instant shutter response; shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second
  • Powered by one rechargeable Li-ion battery EN-EL9 (included); stores images on SD memory cards (memory card not included)



© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


18 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Peter B 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2009 2:15:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2009 2:15:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2009 2:15:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2009 2:15:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2009 2:15:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I decided on the D40 as my first (D)SLR about 6 months ago after reading many very good reviews. I think it is fantastic value for money – I couldn’t find any comparable DSLR starter kits for similar cost.

Pros: Small, Light, Good display, Battery life, Ease of use, Quality of images, Value for money

Cons: Restricted (And more expensive) lens choice due to not having on board auto focus motor. No feature for auto bracketing.

10/29/2009 2:15:22 AM
 
Yolanda Guzm 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2009 2:12:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2009 2:12:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2009 2:12:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2009 2:12:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2009 2:12:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
love these camara It´s my first digial camara.
7/15/2009 2:12:47 AM
 
Bonnie Gearhart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/31/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2009 12:35:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2009 12:35:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2009 12:35:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2009 12:35:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2009 12:35:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my nikon d-40 it's my first SLR camera, I still have to get over the fear and get out of the auto mode, but it takes wonderful shots, I couldn't be more pleased.
Got it at Best Buy and it was a great deal....
6/23/2009 12:35:53 PM
 
Chris Baker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2009
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2009 9:09:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2009 9:09:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2009 9:09:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2009 9:09:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2009 9:09:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I did a lot of research before buying this camera. I was originally going to buy the D40x for the larger sized images, but the decision was made for me when the local electronics store was going out of business. The Circuit City store was selling this camera for $350.00 in the kit form with the 18-55 lens. I bought a few accessories for it to make it easier to handle with my large hands (the battery pack/handle) and I am very happy with it. I like the fact that if I want to upgrade to the XXX type Nikon, I can use my lenses still, and the glass is half the photo from what I have learned from BetterPhoto. It's a great camera at a great price.
5/2/2009 9:09:57 AM
 
Jill Odice
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/1/2005
Contact Jill
Jill's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2009 2:45:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2009 2:45:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2009 2:45:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2009 2:45:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2009 2:45:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have to say I am disappointed with the quality of images I am getting with this 18-55 mm kit lens. After using only Minolta A1's and A2,, I decided it was time to get back to Nikon as that is what I shot film with. I was expecting nice sharp images and am not getting them ...It is a good camera for snapshots or for a beginner. Guess I will sell it and get the D90 which is what I should have done in the first place :-)
4/22/2009 2:45:51 PM
 
Roy G. Conger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2008 2:58:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2008 2:58:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2008 2:58:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2008 2:58:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2008 2:58:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
No complaints. I never intended to shoot digital but circumstances forced me too. Nikon is my brand and I wanted something small, light, and easy to learn. Besides that it takes great pix with the kit lenses.
12/12/2008 2:58:47 PM
 
Tuhin Bose
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/4/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2008 9:37:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2008 9:37:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2008 9:37:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2008 9:37:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2008 9:37:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nice Camera.
11/17/2008 9:37:53 PM
 
Usman M. Bajwa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/11/2006
Contact Usman
Usman's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2008 4:35:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2008 4:35:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2008 4:35:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2008 4:35:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2008 4:35:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a wonderful entry level DSLR with people on budget. I bought this three months ago and am happy on my choice.
10/20/2008 4:35:38 AM
 
Oliver Meyer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2008 5:20:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2008 5:20:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2008 5:20:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2008 5:20:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2008 5:20:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great results so far. easy to use and ideal for people like me that are new to slr cameras.

its cheap too if your willing to shop around.

8/8/2008 5:20:58 PM
 
ronald lee wallenhorst
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/19/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:22:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:22:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:22:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:22:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:22:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great Camera small easy to use and cost is right.
4/25/2008 10:22:37 PM
 
Jerry D. Peavey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2008 6:09:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2008 6:09:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2008 6:09:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2008 6:09:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2008 6:09:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
love this camera. it is very durable and has handled the harsh enviroment of iraq with ease. kudos Nikon.
4/21/2008 6:09:30 PM
 
Kelly Everill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/15/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2008 10:47:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2008 10:47:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2008 10:47:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2008 10:47:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2008 10:47:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera!! Lightweight, easy to use, and takes great photos. I would highly recommend this camera.
2/26/2008 10:47:53 AM
 
Bethany S. m
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/12/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2008 9:28:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2008 9:28:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2008 9:28:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2008 9:28:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2008 9:28:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
LOVE it...when chosing a DSLR I was deciding between a Canon and a Nikon...I think I made a great choice. I went from just a basic point and shoot to this one! It is very easy too use...even for us non-technical people! Plus..I bought mine at Ritz camera so I get free classes! BONUS!
1/11/2008 9:28:14 AM
 
Aimee c. Eisaman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/13/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2007 5:58:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2007 5:58:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2007 5:58:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2007 5:58:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2007 5:58:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great starter DSLR for those moving from a point and shoot. For the price you can't beat it! I love it!
11/19/2007 5:58:30 PM
 
Deepak Mathur 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2007 4:08:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2007 4:08:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2007 4:08:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2007 4:08:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2007 4:08:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great results! Very affordable price! Light and easy to use! Great entry level DSLR!
7/19/2007 4:08:25 PM
 
Sanjeeb Bardhan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2007 2:55:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2007 2:55:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2007 2:55:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2007 2:55:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2007 2:55:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Really a fantastic, lightweight and versatile image capturing instrument.
It is definitely easy to operate and carry.
4/27/2007 2:55:53 AM
 
Oliver R. Arcelao 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2007 9:04:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2007 9:04:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2007 9:04:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2007 9:04:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2007 9:04:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great preformance... Small but Terrible!!!
4/7/2007 9:04:51 AM
 
Dr. Harmeet Singh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 11:58:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 11:58:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 11:58:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 11:58:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 11:58:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent results at an afforadable price.Lightweight and great display.I just loved it.
3/8/2007 11:58:46 PM
 

18 Reviews  

Buy D40 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com