Online Photo Course - Better Exposure: How to Meter Light

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Better Exposure: How to Meter Light Photography Course
Course Instructor:
4-Week Short Course: Better Exposure: How to Meter Light

Learn everything there is to know about creating great exposures - whether you're photographing sunsets, pictures of people, beautiful landscapes, or any other subject. In this exciting 4-week course, professional photographer Sean Arbabi shares his expertise on how your camera meters a scene, fully understanding how shutter speeds and apertures work separately and in combination, and the art of exposure creating mood and enhancing lighting. Better Exposure will vastly improve your photography and your confidence when it comes to exposure. This fun class will help you master the concepts of exposure and skills that every pro uses on a daily basis, so you too can make the best, more creative decisions as you frame each scene.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 1 - Novice
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Better Exposure: How to Meter Light


First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2010 4:06:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2010 4:06:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2010 4:06:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2010 4:06:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2010 4:06:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
To all who have reviewed my Exposure course on BetterPhoto, thanks so much for taking the time to add your opinion. Much appreciated!

Happy Shooting,
Sean

5/14/2010 4:06:18 PM
 
Emily Heskett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/1/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 10:40:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 10:40:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 10:40:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 10:40:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 10:40:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I learned a lot about exposure during this course, but there are still things I am confused about, so I will definitely be referring back to the lessons. But overall, I really enjoyed this course and liked the instructor!
3/1/2010 10:40:58 AM
 
STEVE MOLITOR
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/10/2009
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 7:23:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 7:23:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 7:23:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 7:23:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 7:23:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
GREAT CLASS AND INSTRUCTOR
WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE WANTING TO LEARN.
12/23/2009 7:23:38 PM
 
Chris Schofield
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/6/2007
christys-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2009 4:55:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2009 4:55:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2009 4:55:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2009 4:55:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2009 4:55:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an awesome class. Sean's critiques are wonderful. A learning lesson in just reading everyone's critiques, not just your own. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking to shoot manual, and understanding light and metering.
9/11/2009 4:55:56 PM
 
Bonnie F. May
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/13/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2009 12:07:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2009 12:07:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2009 12:07:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2009 12:07:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2009 12:07:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Instructor Sean Arbabi does an excellent job of explaining concepts I'd struggled with for years. I'm thrilled that, after his course, I was able take photos that I would not have been able to take otherwise. We were vacationing in Yellowstone and spotted a wolf trotting by in the distance. The lighting was harsh and had such strong contrast that my camera's "automatic" setting couldn't capture the exposure. I applied what I'd learned about manually metering the light from Sean's class and got a picture that was a highlight of the trip! Thanks again!!
5/21/2009 12:07:04 PM
 
Kim  Kleinschmidt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/11/2009
Contact Kim
Kim 's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2009 9:00:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2009 9:00:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2009 9:00:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2009 9:00:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2009 9:00:06 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I still find exposure a little confusing, but certainly understand it much better now.

The lesson plans will be most helpful to refer to in the future.

I do recommend this course to others looking to understand exposure better.
4 weeks is a good starting point!

5/6/2009 9:00:06 AM
 
Jamie Fortner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/8/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2009 10:33:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2009 10:33:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2009 10:33:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2009 10:33:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2009 10:33:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was such a great course. I learned so much in 4 weeks, and I can see a huge difference in my exposures. I also learned to feel confident shooting in Manual. I would highly reccomend this course to anyone!
4/8/2009 10:33:24 AM
 
Brian A. Marchetti
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 12:24:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 12:24:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 12:24:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 12:24:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 12:24:58 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The instructor of this course, Sean Arbabi, really made this a great experience. I had started the course to get a better comprehensive understanding of using exposure modes, manual adjustments, and lighting sources. I figured I would get a brief overview and would need to take many more courses to get proficient. I am amazed at how much I learned and how much it will change my in-field methods immediately. I will take more classes, but now I know each will bring so many more tools and tricks, beyond what I imagined. The instructor reviews were to the point but extremely helpful and encouraging.
11/11/2008 12:24:58 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 9:47:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 9:47:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 9:47:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 9:47:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 9:47:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This rating is for all my students who recommended my course- much appreciated!

I loved having you all in my course and so glad I was able to help you with exposure.

I'll have a few new courses coming out soon, as well as my BetterPhoto book "The BetterPhoto Guide to Exposure"

Thanks again gang- you all ROCK!

9/7/2008 9:47:19 AM
 
Cody Adam
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2008 10:28:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2008 10:28:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2008 10:28:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2008 10:28:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2008 10:28:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Sean was always very kind and to the point. I really appreciate that he asks questions of you, with every critique, that are designed to make you think about your photography in a more efficient and concise way. 'Wish this class wasn't ending. I've learned more in the past 4 short weeks about photography, and my camera, than I have reading books on my own for 2+ years! Nice job! I'll be back soon!!
8/3/2008 10:28:35 AM
 
Adam CD Caron
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/12/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 11:47:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 11:47:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 11:47:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 11:47:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 11:47:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was great. Sean made learning fun while being very informative. This is the best class I have taken.
7/3/2008 11:47:49 AM
 

First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist