FinePix S1 Pro Digital SLR Camera


Fuji

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Feed Me
View photos created with this camera

The FinePix S1 Pro Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures enough detail for sharp prints at 8
    x 10 inches and beyond; software interpolation increases resolution to 6
    megapixels
  • 6x optical plus 4.4x digital (26x total) zoom lens with
    autofocus
  • Included 16 MB Smartmedia card holds 13 images at default
    resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries (rechargeables recommended)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


35 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Doug Winchell 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It has been a great work horse camera. It's heavy and the battery life situation is poor. I wore out the shutter twice.
4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM
 
Kendra V. 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Well, I love it, especially with my new flash. The onboard flash is a little much for me, but I'm loving the new detachable flash - love being able to rotate and bounce the light!
3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM
 
Taylor G. Buck 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a wonderful camera in every aspect except for its weight and megapixels. It is a heavy camera and difficult to bring along on great photo opportunities such as hikes, etc. It is a 6 mp camera.
2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM
 
Tim Innes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Works well, I find the LCD great to preview shots for film camera shoots.
1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM
 
Kelly Taylor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This being my first professional grade camera I am very pleased. Although I am still learning I am very happy. I am alaso very pleased with the color and sharpness I am able to acheive with this camera. This is my first digital.
1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM
 
Jim Coventry 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very nice SLR with a little bit of outdated technology. Still captures very nice images and the color is superb. The biggest drawbacks are that the write time to the card is very slow and the images per second is also very slow to todays standards. I do like this camera because it is not "overly" complicted to use and still captures exceptional images.
1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM
 
Kevin H. Weir 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
blah blah blah
1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM
 
Michelle L. Torgrimson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a nice weight and sturdy. Nice clean pictures. Very accurate and clear. I do not like how slow it is to take the next shot. I also, think that it is too loud. I went from a Nikon film to a Finepix Digital. I would buy this camera again, but I would buy the S2 or S3.
12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM
 
Joe Goff 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like both Fuji digital cameras. I use the S1 Pro for work that I want to print large images with. It is one of the most versailte digital cameras I have bought. I can shoot up to a 22MB file with this camera. The S7000 is a great snapshot camera, less bulky, yet still with plenty of features that will capture highest quality shots. The major drawback is the largest file capability is around 4MB.
10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM
 
Paul E. Bower 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I keep thinking that I need an upgrade a Fujifilm finepix S2 or S3. Then I think why. For my work the S1 often surpasses my 35mm slr in picture quality! It still delivers a great shot. It's use is simple a straight forward. I don't care for the number batteries required to operate it. It could use a faster film speed and support for fuller TTL usage for a dedicated speedlite. For an early pro digital SLR I still think that it is a great camera!
10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM
 
Diana L. Craver 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera and would not purchase another Digital camera if it was not the Fuji brand. It is user friendly, sharp and I love the feel of it. I have had it for four years and putting it next to my film camera, the images are so close you can not tell the difference between film and digital.
7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM
 
JOHN KNIGHT 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 12:01:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 12:01:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 12:01:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 12:01:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 12:01:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
EASY TO TAKE GREAT PICTURES WELL BUILT!
5/18/2005 12:01:40 AM
 
Keith Dodson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 7:56:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 7:56:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 7:56:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 7:56:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 7:56:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fantastic Camera, Bad Shutter Speed and Focus a little sluggish.
5/6/2005 7:56:56 PM
 
Matt Henry 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:35:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:35:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:35:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:35:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:35:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's pretty good. I mean, I like it.
4/11/2005 10:35:01 AM
 
Leah J. Whitinger 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:23:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:23:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:23:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:23:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 10:23:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It works really good.
4/11/2005 10:23:18 AM
 
Phillip Morris Jr. 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:15:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:15:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:15:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:15:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:15:18 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
ISO starts with 300.
11/30/2004 6:15:18 PM
 
Martin  Mr  Butler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 11:52:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 11:52:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 11:52:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 11:52:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 11:52:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
best digital camera iv had. since i left minotla 35 mm film camera
10/18/2004 11:52:07 AM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
BestCamera Iv ever Owned . great photographs. Color too.
9/7/2004 11:18:16 AM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 11:18:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
BestCamera Iv ever Owed . great photographs. Color too.
9/7/2004 11:18:00 AM
 
Giorgio Cerboni 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 8:52:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 8:52:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 8:52:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 8:52:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 8:52:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great camera for shooting digital. As with most digitals, I use Photoshop to enhance pictures. I wish it had a lower ISO than 320 and a higher shutter speed. Love the fact that I can use Nikon AF lenses. AF system and metering is very good, even in less than ideal conditions.
9/1/2004 8:52:09 PM
 
David Webb 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 11:56:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 11:56:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 11:56:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 11:56:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 11:56:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this little camera. It takes great pictures for me. However, we all know, that is only 1/2 of the equation. The other 1/2 is knowledge and talent. That's what makes a picture become awsome instead of just another picture. Remember for every minute your angry you lose 60 seconds of happiness...keep a smile on your face and live every day as if it were your last. Have a great day, David.
7/12/2004 11:56:35 AM
 
Sean L. Smith 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 3:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 3:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 3:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 3:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 3:43:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very Nice features and awasome quality but sucks batteries like no other!!!!!!!!!!!
7/2/2004 3:43:29 PM
 
Ruby B. Pecot 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:28:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:28:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:28:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:28:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:28:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the quality of images taken with this camera. My only complaints are the weight - I can't get a sharp image unless I use a tripod. Also, the location of the USB cord to connect camera to computer is inconvenient.
6/26/2004 8:28:57 PM
 
Michael L. Vinyard 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 6:16:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 6:16:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 6:16:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 6:16:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 6:16:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Bought used from a fellow photographer. Does a wonderful job, rugged and durable. It is a little heavy and takes some time to get used to the weight, but overall a very good camera
6/8/2004 6:16:20 PM
 
CHUCK TURNER 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 7:13:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 7:13:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 7:13:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 7:13:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 7:13:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE IT.IT TAKES GREAT PICTURES.WAS NOT HARD TO LEARN HOW TO US IT.VERY HAPPY WITH IT.THINKING OF GETTING AN S3 WHEN THEY COME OUT IN OCT.
5/20/2004 7:13:23 PM
 
Shannon Hammett 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:48:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:48:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:48:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:48:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:48:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great digital camera. The color is fantastic. Very durable. The only drawback is it only gets 2 shots before recycling. Great portrait camera.
3/31/2004 6:48:21 PM
 
LeRoy C. White, MD 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 11:51:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 11:51:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 11:51:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 11:51:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 11:51:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera. Did not like that ISO started at 360. This made daylight shooting at fast (wide) f stops difficult without using ND filters or polarizer.
1/31/2004 11:51:38 PM
 
Beth Espinoza 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:04:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:04:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:04:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:04:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:04:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This has been a terrific camera for me to learn on! Great resolution, great options that can make taking pictures fairly easy for even a beginner like me, but with advanced options for more experienced photographers, too.
1/21/2004 7:04:37 PM
 
Davin Edridge 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:52:10 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:52:10 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:52:10 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:52:10 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:52:10 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Rating - 8 for camera Rating - 2 for camera support average - 5 I have no problems with image output from this Digital Camera. Easy to use and will run on 4 x AA batteries. Was not impressed with Australian after sales serivce (none - when needed). I was offered a loan camera 2 weeks after I had returned home - about 3000km's away from my assignment. I wish I had been told - be careful when using a tripod - I have only had one major problem with this camera - it stopped working - I am lead to believe that it is due to a problem with some tripods screwing to far into the camera body and cracking the PCB (printed circuit board) of the camera. Of course the camera did stop working when set on a tripod for a sunset shoot of the Ayrs Rock in Central Australia.
12/8/2003 3:52:10 PM
 
Jeremy J. Plathe 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 3:43:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 3:43:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 3:43:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 3:43:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 3:43:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
none
11/7/2003 3:43:00 PM
 
Cynthia A. Gordon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:43:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:43:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:43:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:43:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:43:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera was my best investment I ever made. I love its ease in use and instructions and the beautiful pictures it produces. I really don't have anything bad to say about it, and I have had it for a year now.
10/21/2003 7:43:12 PM
 
Adam Bolt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 7:26:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 7:26:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 7:26:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 7:26:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 7:26:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The S1 Pro is a great Camera but needs refining in the Flash area with dedicated units. The S2 Pro has fixed the minor problems and added a better ISO range
8/11/2003 7:26:42 AM
 
Alan Benson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:48:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:48:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:48:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:48:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:48:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent all around camera - I love it.
7/5/2003 9:48:54 AM
 
Lisa B. McLain
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/17/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:44:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:44:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:44:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:44:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:44:31 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoy this camera, light , and molded to the hand like a real slr.. :) Takes all Nikon Lenses and in effect is a Nikon Body with Fuji electronics. Don't like that the lcd screen hits your nose and gets smeared all the time. And don't like that the CCD must be professionally cleaned.
6/18/2003 12:44:31 PM
 
Lisa B. McLain
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/17/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 3:33:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 3:33:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 3:33:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 3:33:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 3:33:14 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my first high end Digital SLR. Purchased used from a camera shop where it was the display model.
The cameera is as noted a standard Nikon Body, which means any of the Nikon mount lenses should work. The Camera itself is light enough, plastic and medal body is fairly impact resistant( I tested it the first week by dropping it in the dirt in Germany- oops.)

Camera's autofocus works great in normal shooting range . Particularly annoying is the cameras macro mode, where both lens and camera must be set up and then the camera is a bit slow to focus and you really have to experiment with distance.

CCD cleaing is another issue with this camera. After folllowing the instructions three times, I still had to send it to a shop for cleaning after visiting a beach. Not expensive,but time consuming.

I have had to have the power supply worked on, and the pop up flash died after the power supply was fixed. Both were not expensive, to repair but again time consuming.

You are as with most cameras better off with a hot shoe flash than with the pop up. Red eye reduction mode is not the best and despite the bright focusing light which shines first, the cameras red eye reduction works about 50% of the time.

The things I love about the camera? Burst mode shooting, the abiltity to shoot in any of the SLR modes with a flip of a button.

Fast focus. Versatile settings including photo modes for the rest of the family to use, so this can be a simple point and shoot when necessary.

Battery life is good with standard rechargeable batteries.

IT FEELs like a SLR in your hand, and I missed that !

Overall it is a great first semi professional camera. Most of the issues can be overcome with technique and practice. If you can pick one up with warranty used, well worth the 1000.00 used entry price.

6/18/2003 3:33:14 AM
 

35 Reviews  

Buy FinePix S1 Pro Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com