FinePix S1 Pro Digital SLR Camera


Fuji

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Feed Me
View photos created with this camera

The FinePix S1 Pro Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures enough detail for sharp prints at 8
    x 10 inches and beyond; software interpolation increases resolution to 6
    megapixels
  • 6x optical plus 4.4x digital (26x total) zoom lens with
    autofocus
  • Included 16 MB Smartmedia card holds 13 images at default
    resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries (rechargeables recommended)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 35 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Doug Winchell 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It has been a great work horse camera. It's heavy and the battery life situation is poor. I wore out the shutter twice.
4/16/2006 2:23:37 PM
 
Kendra V. 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Well, I love it, especially with my new flash. The onboard flash is a little much for me, but I'm loving the new detachable flash - love being able to rotate and bounce the light!
3/14/2006 8:01:09 PM
 
Taylor G. Buck 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a wonderful camera in every aspect except for its weight and megapixels. It is a heavy camera and difficult to bring along on great photo opportunities such as hikes, etc. It is a 6 mp camera.
2/28/2006 3:55:39 PM
 
Tim Innes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Works well, I find the LCD great to preview shots for film camera shoots.
1/30/2006 10:41:55 AM
 
Kelly Taylor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This being my first professional grade camera I am very pleased. Although I am still learning I am very happy. I am alaso very pleased with the color and sharpness I am able to acheive with this camera. This is my first digital.
1/19/2006 1:06:32 PM
 
Jim Coventry 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very nice SLR with a little bit of outdated technology. Still captures very nice images and the color is superb. The biggest drawbacks are that the write time to the card is very slow and the images per second is also very slow to todays standards. I do like this camera because it is not "overly" complicted to use and still captures exceptional images.
1/19/2006 11:57:04 AM
 
Kevin H. Weir 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
blah blah blah
1/1/2006 7:35:10 AM
 
Michelle L. Torgrimson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a nice weight and sturdy. Nice clean pictures. Very accurate and clear. I do not like how slow it is to take the next shot. I also, think that it is too loud. I went from a Nikon film to a Finepix Digital. I would buy this camera again, but I would buy the S2 or S3.
12/8/2005 2:36:50 PM
 
Joe Goff 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like both Fuji digital cameras. I use the S1 Pro for work that I want to print large images with. It is one of the most versailte digital cameras I have bought. I can shoot up to a 22MB file with this camera. The S7000 is a great snapshot camera, less bulky, yet still with plenty of features that will capture highest quality shots. The major drawback is the largest file capability is around 4MB.
10/25/2005 11:32:06 PM
 
Paul E. Bower 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I keep thinking that I need an upgrade a Fujifilm finepix S2 or S3. Then I think why. For my work the S1 often surpasses my 35mm slr in picture quality! It still delivers a great shot. It's use is simple a straight forward. I don't care for the number batteries required to operate it. It could use a faster film speed and support for fuller TTL usage for a dedicated speedlite. For an early pro digital SLR I still think that it is a great camera!
10/5/2005 7:05:21 AM
 
Diana L. Craver 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera and would not purchase another Digital camera if it was not the Fuji brand. It is user friendly, sharp and I love the feel of it. I have had it for four years and putting it next to my film camera, the images are so close you can not tell the difference between film and digital.
7/10/2005 5:27:20 AM
 

First 10 of 35 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy FinePix S1 Pro Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com