K10D Digital SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

A Single Tulip
View photos created with this camera

The K10D Digital SLR Camera

Product Description


The Pentax K10D Digital SLR features an array of Pentax innovations including 10.2 effective Megapixels and a Pentax-developed Shake Reduction (SR) system that effectively offers a 2.5 to 4 stop advantage for sharp, blur-free images even under difficult shooting conditions, such as macro and telephoto photography or low light settings without a flash. Also featured is a newly developed Pentax Real IMage Engine (PRIME) designed exclusively for Pentax digital SLR cameras to produce well-balanced, true-to-life images. Pentax also incorporated a new high performance 22-bit A/D converter to quickly transfer images with accurate color tones and richer gradation from the CCD to the imaging engine. The new Dust Removal (DR) system incorporating Pentax-original Special Protect (SP) coating helps keep the CCD surface dust-free, and adds a shift mechanism to shake dust off the CCD. All this is housed in a dependable dust-proof, weather-resistant body construction featuring 72 seals throughout the camera to allow photographers to continue shooting even in dusty or rainy environments. Power Source - Rechargeable D-LI50 Lithium-ion battery, Optional AC adapter System Requirements - Mac OS 10.2 or later, PowerPC G4 minimum, Windows 2000, XP, Pentium 4, 2 GHz recommended, 512MB RAM, 1024x768 graphics, 250MB hard drive, standard equipped USB port Dimensions - 5.6 x 4.0 x 2.8 inches (141.5x 101 x 70mm) Weight - 25.0 ounces (710 grams)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nancy A. Mantick 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2009 2:10:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2009 2:10:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2009 2:10:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2009 2:10:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2009 2:10:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can't believe I didn't have to pay more for this camera than I did! It is just what I was looking for, with all the features I wanted, and nothing that I didn't want. I had thought I would go with Nikon when I went digital, because I just love my N75, but the choices, options, and prices in Nikon digitals just couldn't beat this camera. I love the crispness of the images, which is similar to Nikon, and in my opinion much better than Canons, certainly Canons in the same price range. This camera has shake reduction built in to the camera, so you don't have to keep spending the money to buy it over and over every time you buy a new lens, like you have to do with Canon and Nikon. It is also built like a tank, and totally weather-sealed. These were important considerations for me, because I shoot a lot of rock concerts, as well as landscape photos. Overly excited fans have flung beverages onto me and this camera more than once, but no problems due to the weathersealing. The shake reduction feature allows me to shoot no-flash in concert settings quite often, even when being jostled around in the crowd.
Everything in the reviews I read about this camera is true, including the part about the steep learning curve. It is a hard taskmaster, but it's making me become a better photographer. It even inspired me to come here and take a class, to try to keep up with it! I will have room to grow as a photographer with this camera for quite some time to come.
4/18/2009 2:10:42 PM
 
Miles Foxglove 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2008 8:56:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2008 8:56:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2008 8:56:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2008 8:56:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2008 8:56:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For the money I think this is a great camera. I've shot close to 20k pictures with it over the last year. I've taken it to burning man and I have spilled coffee on it. I can't really tell the difference with the anti shake on or off. But the sensor shake to remove dust works great! I haven't needed to use air or anything to keep the sensor spotless. The auto focus hunts and has trouble locking in low light, like dusk or dawn, or inside. My biggest gripe is with noise at high iso settings. low iso long exposure at night is beautiful. With enough light the shots are wonderful. The battery life is more the adequate under normal use you can fill up a 8g card, 490 DNG shots. There are a good selection of lenses available. A good zoom is missing, the smc DA 50-135mm F2.8, is close but would be much more useful if it could zoom down to 28 or less. The 10-17mm zoom is a lot of fun. The 50mm/f1.4 is very nice, as is the 100mm macro. The K20D may be a better choice now. It would be nice if Pentax came out with a full frame DSLR. I am very pleased with this camera. After shooting for years on a ME Super, it was a nice transition. I can still use all my old lenses too.
4/11/2008 8:56:19 PM
 
Mike McCarthy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2007 4:50:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2007 4:50:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2007 4:50:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2007 4:50:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2007 4:50:26 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My third DSLR and my favorite!

Not only does the incredible built-in shake reduction work with all my existing lenses, but the latest firmware update adds built-in wireless control for my home studio lighting and includes remote capture software. The ability to shoot RAW or DNG in addition to JPG means no longer do I have any issues with file compatibility - Corel still doesn't support my old *istDL!

Very fast shutter feels higher than the spec'd 3 frames per second and depending on the card used can take 8-12 shots in quick sequence without lag. Although I was unsure about the new Lithium battery, I was able to take over 700 photos at the race track the other day and still had indication of half life remaining without the extra battery grip. Highly recommended.

8/21/2007 4:50:26 AM
 
Henrik juul Petersen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:41:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:41:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:41:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:41:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:41:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Like other pentax DSLR`s the K10D takes some time getting to know properly, camera settings as well as how to process in the software. But once you get there results are second to none. Superb colour rendering, fast and easy handling, logical and easy-to-read menu, and that quality feel. Really able to make use of top-quality optics. Would have prefered 3200 ISO in addition to shake-reduction, though.
6/8/2007 11:41:04 AM
 
Christine Czernin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/6/2006
Contact Christine
Christine's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2007 8:38:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2007 8:38:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2007 8:38:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2007 8:38:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2007 8:38:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Feb. '07: I just upgraded from a Pentax *istDL which I used for 11 months and with which I took over 12,000 pictures with a variety of lenses. My new K10D is a great improvement! Shake reduction is wonderful, especially in places where tripos are not allowed or possible. I already took more than 1200 pictures, exposures meter seems very good. All in all I am very pleased. Sample pictures are in my gallery.
2/20/2007 8:38:12 PM
 

5 Reviews  

Buy K10D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com