DC290 Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Bora Bora motu
View photos created with this camera

The DC290 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 2240 X 1500 pixel maximum image resolution
  • 20 MB Kodak picture card included
  • 2" TFT color LCD for review and preview
  • Autofocus 3X true optical glass zoom
  • Capture 5-20 pictures
  • 10 second self timer
The Kodak DC290 is the model of choice for business digital photographers. 2.1 megapixel high resolution (1792 X 1200), awesome quality!

From Amazon.com:
The Kodak DC290 digital camera offers some of the most sophisticated features available on a consumer digital camera. It's no lightweight - the DC290 can offer you quite a bit if you need professional-level quality and customization. It delivers two-megapixel resolution (1,792 x 1,200) for fine detail even on large image sizes - plus it lets you take uncompressed TIFF images for no-loss photo quality. It also lets you record and play back audio clips.

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


21 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gary R. Simkins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 12:14:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 12:14:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 12:14:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 12:14:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 12:14:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The DC 290 was my first digital camera. It beautifully captured many good times together until stolen in Rome, very sad. Using Genuine Fractals to up resolution I have made great looking large sized pictures.
1/16/2008 12:14:50 PM
 
Molly Hinkes 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:06:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:06:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:06:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:06:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:06:51 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
What I like: 1. simple operation 2. durable (ie. I use it for construction photo's & the sites are dusty/dirty...; I work as PM/GM on high-end construction projects (mosly) in the mts.) 3. contains opton for auto -or- manual focus 4. Large and weighty What I don't like: 1. pretty slow (turn on/ focus/ etc) 2. eats batteries like my dog eats treats (even rechargeable photo ones - batteries, not treats...) 3. finicky at times. But that may be the abuse it takes on jobsites? 4. picture quality is good for the camera, but I prefer my dated 'traditional' 35mm.
8/30/2005 7:06:51 PM
 
Samantha Zucchetti 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 4:16:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 4:16:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 4:16:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 4:16:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 4:16:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
For its day I can't fault this camera, I really enjoyed working with it even though I missed the SLR fucntionality. Gorgeous colors and who can turn down mame for those added extras.. no not the photo scripts.. Donkey Kong and Pacman !!
8/10/2005 4:16:53 AM
 
Peter M. Wilcox
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/30/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 12:56:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 12:56:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 12:56:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 12:56:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 12:56:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
An inexpensive, reasonable introduction to digital cameras.
7/6/2005 12:56:44 PM
 
Hannah Ammar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:48:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:48:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:48:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:48:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:48:41 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best digital I've had as far as quality of images goes. The only thing I didn't like was the slow-delayed shutter. I missed a few good shots because of this.
4/14/2005 7:48:41 AM
 
James B. Hewin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:17:13 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:17:13 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:17:13 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:17:13 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:17:13 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Used to be state of the art at 2.1 megapix but now is hopelessly outdated. Good clean photos but extremely slow in every respect. It was my first Digital Camera.
4/7/2005 11:17:13 PM
 
John P.A. Van den Dries 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 2:28:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 2:28:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 2:28:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 2:28:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 2:28:19 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I bought this camera to replace the polaroid I used for my work on construction sites. Later I mainly used it for snapshots and web publication. I particularly liked the coulouring of this camera. Probably one of the best 2.1MP camera's ever made.
3/23/2005 2:28:19 PM
 
Jennifer M. Schuder 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:00:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:00:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:00:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:00:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:00:36 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera seems to be pretty versatile. I have had it for about 3 years and it's still going strong. Good quality and affordability !!!
2/21/2005 10:00:36 PM
 
Vic E 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:04:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:04:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:04:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:04:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:04:56 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Was my first digital camera. It's a pretty good camera, even though it is a little older now though. Can be found for good prices though in shops and online. Makes decent pictures. Can be a little flaky at times, especially when batteries are running low. Does not perform well in low light. Size is a little on the largish size to be an everyday camera that you can tote around easily.
1/31/2005 10:04:56 PM
 
Donna OGorman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 2:38:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 2:38:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 2:38:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 2:38:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 2:38:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is simple to use and the pictures are beautiful.
1/23/2005 2:38:36 PM
 
Betsy Morrow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/14/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 8:21:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 8:21:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 8:21:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 8:21:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 8:21:12 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my fist digital camera. I was very pleased with the color balance, most of the time I didnít have to make any adjustments to the color. Outdoor shoots are the best with brilliant colors on sunny days. There are lots of manual settings that I have never used. Indoor shots with a flash can be a little fuzzy.
7/14/2004 8:21:12 PM
 
Derek C. Dean 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 5:55:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 5:55:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 5:55:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 5:55:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 5:55:45 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Photos look great when you catch them. Shutter action painfully slow!! Refuses to focus in low light. You end up missing many shots. Batteries last about as long as a roll of 24-exposure film would in a standard SLR. Is cheaper to use (after paying several hundred more to purchase) than SLR. Would be well suited for scenic, portrait, or professional documentation work. A poor choice for snap-shots. These pictures are stored in web sites and computers; none have made it to frames. Many, many functions rendered useless due to menu driven access. I would not have bought this for a personal camera but it does nicely when photographing auto parts for engineering documentation and emailing.
5/17/2004 5:55:45 PM
 
Lou  Ann Obrien 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:11:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:11:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:11:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:11:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:11:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
MY CAMERA TAKES REALLY GOOD PICTURES ,
4/27/2004 5:11:30 PM
 
Rhonda R. Goller 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 7:25:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 7:25:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 7:25:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 7:25:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 7:25:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Camera, Great Picutures, the only negative thing is the lack of manual controls
1/27/2004 7:25:56 AM
 
Jeannie M. Childers 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 5:28:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 5:28:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 5:28:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 5:28:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 5:28:56 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
low resolution , but good for point and shoot. Uses a lot of battery life, 4AA's.
1/2/2004 5:28:56 PM
 
Wes A. Jones 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:07:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:07:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:07:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:07:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:07:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes near perfect pictures on the first try.
11/6/2003 11:07:43 PM
 
Julie Comeaux 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:31:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:31:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:31:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:31:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:31:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first digital camera. It's been easy to use...upload is simple. Preview is great! Battery life is really pretty good.
10/1/2003 8:31:44 AM
 
June R. Cooper
Contact June
June's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 8:42:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 8:42:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 8:42:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 8:42:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 8:42:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I Love My DC290 Digital Camera...I thought I wanted a new camera...I don't know if I can find one I like as much as I like the DC290...........June
8/27/2003 8:42:22 PM
 
Robert Kurz 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:26:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:26:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:26:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:26:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:26:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It maybe older but still one great camera.
8/7/2003 11:26:01 PM
 
Robert Kurz 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:23:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:23:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:23:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:23:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 11:23:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think that the Kodak DC-290 is a great camera. It is getting to the point of being old but is still real close to the top of the line. I have taken over 20,000 pictures in two years.
8/7/2003 11:23:25 PM
 
June R. Cooper
Contact June
June's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2003 3:42:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2003 3:42:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2003 3:42:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2003 3:42:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2003 3:42:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Kodak DC290.... I like the viewfinder....some day I want a better digital camera
7/27/2003 3:42:04 PM
 

21 Reviews  

Buy DC290 Digital Camera from Amazon.com