Online 4-Week Short Course - Eye to Eye: Capturing the Face with Scott Stulberg

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Eye to Eye: Capturing the Face Photography Course
Course Instructor: Scott Stulberg
4-Week Short Course: Eye to Eye: Capturing the Face

They say the eyes are the window to the soul. Learn to capture the spirit of a person in this 4-week course - taught by travel and stock photographer Scott Stulberg. With Scott's lessons and feedback, you'll discover and develop your own individual style, pushing yourself to get the images you've always imagined.

Category: People Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Eye to Eye: Capturing the Face


16 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Melissa McCann 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 7:08:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 7:08:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 7:08:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 7:08:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 7:08:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is fantastic! I have taken several BetterPhoto classes and I think Scott's class has been my favorite. The assignments really challenged me and the results were great. I learned so much. Scotty provides incredibly thoughtful critiques. I highly recommend this class to anyone interested in taking fabulous portraits.
3/6/2008 7:08:35 PM
 
Fran Patterson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2008 10:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2008 10:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2008 10:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2008 10:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2008 10:34:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an excellent 4 week course, I only wish it was longer. Scott is a very encouraging instructor and his lessons force you to do things that you might not normally do. He was appropriately critical when he needed to be, but his friendly upbeat personality was a real strength. I bet it would be awesome to work with someone as energetic as Scott. I would recommend this course in a heartbeat!!
2/8/2008 10:34:05 AM
 
Rachel Cohen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 5:34:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 5:34:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 5:34:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 5:34:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 5:34:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been such an outstanding course! Excellent! I would highly recommend it to anyone interested it moving up the next few notches in people photography! I would take another lesson from Scott in a second! Thanks so much for the great experience!

Rachel

2/7/2008 5:34:20 AM
 
James Knox 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2007 12:25:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2007 12:25:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2007 12:25:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2007 12:25:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2007 12:25:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to send a big thank you for this course. It's been lots of fun and a real challenge for me to photograph people so up close and personal.

I had two goals for this course: getting a lot more comfortable, confident and reliable when photographing people; and pulling off a wedding shoot with some wonderful memories for the bride and groom.

Thanks to your course I believe that I achieved both goals.

This has been the best and most fun course I have taken at BetterPhoto. I really enjoyed the interaction between the students, its a small class that has made this so nice.

11/5/2007 12:25:11 PM
 
Niki  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2007 12:03:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2007 12:03:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2007 12:03:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2007 12:03:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2007 12:03:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
In one word: RECOMMENDED

Can't point out enough how encouraging and precise were Scott's critiques. He always managed to kindly point out areas for improvement as well as wonderfully express advantages of your picture. Lessons were full of useful information, assignments were challenging but achievable. Answers to all kinds of questions timely and informative and Scott shares many of small secrets and tips for areas outside of the course as well. I like his style very much and wiam certainly going to take another of his classes soon.

Thank you Scott, you were the best.

Niki

11/3/2007 12:03:40 PM
 
Karma Wilson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 10:39:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 10:39:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 10:39:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 10:39:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 10:39:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Scott's lessons were very easy to follow, and I learned SO MUCH. The assignments were fun, and pushed me to be more creative and take more time with my shots. I have read lots of photography books, and studied for hours online. I did not come into the class as a complete novice. But the critiques showed me some areas that I needed to improve. Learning how to correctly use the reflector was worth the price of admission, but I learned much more than that.

I plan on taking Scott's stock class later this year.

Karma Wilson

6/23/2007 10:39:39 AM
 
Susan Reynolds
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2007
simplydivinephotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2007 5:37:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2007 5:37:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2007 5:37:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2007 5:37:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2007 5:37:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Scott's Class was Over the Top!!! Not only did I learn a lot but it was fun!
Feedback was more than just a few words and the critiques were honest and thorough!
I would love to have an 8 weeker class with Scott~ Plan to take the Photoshop class he offers in the near future!
To anyone who wants to learn more about Portrait Photography...This is a great class and a GREAT instuctor!!!
Susan Reynolds
5/6/2007 5:37:46 PM
 
Elizabeth Marquess 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 8:02:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 8:02:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 8:02:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 8:02:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 8:02:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been a great learning experience for me. Scott's lessons were very interesting and informative. His critiques were amazing,too. I could tell he really studies the photographs, because he would point out things that I hadn't even noticed. And I'm the one who took the shots! Scotty is very encouraging and he has completely changed my thinking and approach to photographing the face. This was an excellent class, and I would recommend it to anyone.
1/31/2007 8:02:21 PM
 
Michael J. Keppell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/24/2006
Contact Michael
Michael's Gallery
michaelkeppell.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 5:26:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 5:26:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 5:26:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 5:26:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 5:26:02 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a stunning course. I learned so much about light, angles and the best way to photograph faces. Scott is an amazing instructor who has opened my eyes to seeing more. Feedback was great and his enthusiasm is infectious. I actually think "I get it" after his course. Well done Scott!
1/11/2007 5:26:02 AM
 
Chris Grey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/9/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 7:04:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 7:04:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 7:04:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 7:04:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 7:04:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Read the rest of the comments on this page and add a huge DITTO! for me. Scott has changed the way I see completely. By that I mean, I look at light differently, I look at faces differently. His insights into how light plays on faces, his truthfull commentary on each photograph, his warm frankness about our work enlightened and encouraged every student in our class. I refer to my class notes all the time. There is such a wealth of information in Scott's lessons. Item for item, based on knowledge gained...this may be the best value in all of Betterphoto. I can't recommend this course higly enough.
12/12/2006 7:04:03 PM
 
Larry Schmidt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 11:06:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 11:06:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 11:06:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 11:06:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 11:06:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can't recommend this class, or any class of Scott's, highly enough. He has several times gone beyond the call of duty, taking the time to personally help me with something I didn't understand, and his photo critiques are always prompt and helpful (not to mention fun to read). His enthusiasm for photography comes through in everything he writes, and his lessons are always detailed, easy to understand, and inspiring. I would take another class taught by Scott in a second. He has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share and a true gift for sharing it. There are great photographers and great teachers, and Scott happens to be both.
Patti Schmidt
12/5/2006 11:06:19 PM
 
Lynne Glezos 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 5:54:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 5:54:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 5:54:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 5:54:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 5:54:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken many classes at Better photo but Scott's class was one the best I have been in so far. By applying the concepts from his class, I have improved my photographs of people over 100%. Even my family has started to really notice my photos. While Scott is an expert in his field, he is able to communicate to photographers of all levels. Many of the instructors at BP have gotten into the habit of doing a 2 sentence critique on all the pictures submitted for an assignment, which often doesn't do the student a lot of good. Scott is different, his crtiques were awesome. When he thought that the photo was good and met the assignment critera, he not only told us that it was good, he explained why it was good. He handled it the same way when we did something wrong. I would highly recommend this class.
Lynne Glezos
12/3/2006 5:54:04 PM
 
Julie Monacella
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/14/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:43:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:43:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:43:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:43:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:43:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had more great shots during this course than in an entire year of shooting. This course has changed how I think about each shot I take. Scott's lessons and examples bring the technical details to life and the assignments are creative and challenging. Scott's critiques and responses are always lightening fast, and the depth and detail he gives is outstanding. He always went the extra mile to help out. The passion and talent he has for photography are inspiring. His sense of humor and friendly nature were an added bonus. It's a great class.
11/28/2006 8:43:00 PM
 
Jean Engel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 6:10:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 6:10:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 6:10:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 6:10:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 6:10:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I taken two classes so far from Scott
Stulberg...Photoshop tips, tricks and filter magic and Eye to Eye, Capturing the Face. In a word, he's fabulous!. His prompt critiques were always upbeat, encouraging and always informative. Most importantly, his sense of humor, personality and infectious enthusiasm for photography was obvious as well as inspiring. It was truly enlightening to have a pro like Scott share his vast knowledge and experience. I'll take another one of his classes anytime! Jean Engel
11/28/2006 6:10:43 PM
 
John Bair
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/11/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:25:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:25:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:25:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:25:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 8:25:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just completed the "Eye to Eye - Capturing your face." Our instructor was great! His knowledge of his work and enthusiasm makes it easy to learn. I hope that Scott takes on additional course instruction, as his spirit is contagious - and infects his students. I soon realized that his vision of work is the reason why I enjoy photography in the first place. Thanks so much Scott for opening my eyes even more.
11/28/2006 8:25:01 AM
 
Summer Boyd 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2006 6:43:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2006 6:43:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2006 6:43:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2006 6:43:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2006 6:43:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great class! I would recomend it to anyone interested in photgraphing people.
Not only were the lessons fun and informative but Scott was a wonderful instructor.
His critiques were the best of any class I've taken. He made a point to write more than just one sentence and they were honest and thoughtful.
I would gladly take another of his classes.
11/27/2006 6:43:22 PM
 

16 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist