Online Photo Course - DSLR Features: When, Why and How to Use Them with Ibarionex R. Perello

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

DSLR Features: When, Why and How to Use Them  Photography Course
Course Instructor: Ibarionex R. Perello
DSLR Features: When, Why and How to Use Them

This course offers the skills and experience you need to make the camera a natural extension of your eye. This exciting 8-week online class - taught by photographer, editor and writer Ibarionex Perello - will give you an understanding of the various features of your DSLR camera. You'll learn when and how your images will benefit from different exposure and metering modes, autofocus and white balance settings, and more.

Category: Digital Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
DSLR Features: When, Why and How to Use Them


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Judith C. Diver 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2012 4:44:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2012 4:44:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2012 4:44:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2012 4:44:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2012 4:44:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This course worked for me because the lessons required you to find out about the location and use of the most important settings on the camera. I had a new Olympus pen, but had been reluctant to move off the program setting. Of course I now had interchangeable lenses, but wasn't using any of the other strengths of this great little camera. Ibarionex gave helpful critiques at my level. Now I am encouraged to move on with the knowledge that I have more control over my camera.
7/8/2012 4:44:49 PM
 
Karen Vesey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/13/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 6:50:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 6:50:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 6:50:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 6:50:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 6:50:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I started out feeling very intimidated in this class. The other participants seemed to have a much better grasp of photography than I, and much of the technical terminology sent me to my camera's manual again and again. However, as the class progressed, I began to get a better feel for how everything worked together. Ibarionex Perello's very detailed lessons and explanations helped me to start putting it all together, and while I have a long way to go, I have a much better grasp of how my camera works and the best way to use it.
9/8/2011 6:50:18 AM
 
Carla Maddox
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2011 4:36:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2011 4:36:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2011 4:36:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2011 4:36:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2011 4:36:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Mr. Perello is a good teacher. He's patient with his students and continues to give positive, constructive feedback. I've learned there is far more than just learning shapes, leading lines, rule-of-thirds, DOF, etc. There is so much to learn about your camera's inner workings to make your photos better. This lesson does a great job in starting us on our next level of photography. This should be a mandatory class, not an elective.
2/25/2011 4:36:57 AM
 
Dawn M. Dorland
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/30/2009
dorlandphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 5:40:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 5:40:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 5:40:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 5:40:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 5:40:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent class that reviews material beyond the basics to help one become a better photographer. Easy to understand lessons, with quick and helpful feedback from Mr.Perello. I really enjoyed it and learned a lot.
7/2/2010 5:40:05 PM
 
carla t. saunders
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/19/2008
Contact carla
carla's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2009 7:35:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2009 7:35:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2009 7:35:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2009 7:35:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2009 7:35:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ibarionex is an excellant teacher.
The lessons are not too complicated. His explainations are clear. The assignments are set up so that you can focus on one aspect of the camera each week. Ibarionex has narrowed down the choices so you will get the best possible solution for the assignment. Questions and critiques, posted within a few days, are helpful. Ibarionex guided me along the way teaching me about my camera and about myself. I highly recommend this course and instructor.
8/22/2009 7:35:36 AM
 
Georgia Raiford
Contact Georgia
Georgia's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2009 5:04:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2009 5:04:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2009 5:04:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2009 5:04:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2009 5:04:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
In this course Ibarionex Perello introduced me to capabilities of my camera of which I had no previous knowledge. The lessons were challenging, but the assignments were not so difficult as to be stressful. Ibarionex was supportive in his critiques and made himself available if we needed extra help. I loved being able to learn from images and critiques of others in the class and photos submitted by other Better Photo members.
6/3/2009 5:04:08 PM
 
Linda J. Bischoff 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 1:23:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 1:23:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 1:23:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 1:23:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 1:23:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Even though I have been photographing for years, I was really stumped when I got a digital camera and I'm not the sort to sit down and go through everything. Even though I did not necessarily do my best work, it made me explore may camera - and I was pleasantly surprised to find all the functions that are going to help me. Very worthwhile!
6/10/2008 1:23:05 PM
 
Lisa M. Solonynko
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/4/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2008 11:51:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2008 11:51:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2008 11:51:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2008 11:51:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2008 11:51:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course provides an outstanding opportunity to get to know your DSLR. It forces you to dive into features that could otherwise intimidate. By the end of this course, I had finally bonded with my camera. Creating my own settings and understanding what the camera was doing made the camera feel much more natural in my hands. I no longer feel as though I am just pushing buttons and hoping for the best.

This is an excellent course and I recommend it to anyone who needs to get to know their DSLR so that they can become more consistent and confident.

3/19/2008 11:51:12 PM
 
Owen Breslin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2008 8:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2008 8:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2008 8:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2008 8:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2008 8:05:55 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Before entering into a more specialised course I wanted to make sure I had a good grasp of the fundamental elemets of my camera.
This course was thorough without being overly complicated and Ibarionex's notes were clear, well layed-out and easy to follow and work on.

The best critique of any course of this kind is to be able to say, I am now a better photographer than I was before hand. I'm getting better results with half the shots and, more importantly, when a shot doesn't work I know why and how to fix it... mostly!

Thanks a mil!

Owen Breslin
Dublin, Ireland

2/23/2008 8:05:55 AM
 
Alexandria R. Urgo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/17/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2007 10:07:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2007 10:07:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2007 10:07:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2007 10:07:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2007 10:07:57 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the class and look forward to future classes on better photo. The only thing that I think would have bee a little easier to understand the topic was to have a good picture and bad in all of the lessoons. It was done in a few of the lessons and made it easier to understand. For example one of the lessons mentions that different meterings would have made snow become overexposed. It would have been nice to see what he meant. I certainly don't have the eye the instructor does in regards to the different shades of light certain settings create, so the pictures would also be better enlarged to see the changes. This was an outstanding course and it was a pleasure to take part in such a well-structured class.
3/4/2007 10:07:57 AM
 

10 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist