Lumix DMC-FZ50 Digital Camera


Panasonic

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

JFG
View photos created with this camera

The Lumix DMC-FZ50 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 10.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 18 x 24-inch
    prints
  • 12x image-stabilized optical zoom; 2.0-inch free-angle LCD display
  • Intelligent ISO Control (I.I.C.) reduces image blur from subject movement
    and low light
  • Records full-size movies in wide-aspect VGA (848 x 480) at 30 frames per
    second
  • Stores images on SD memory cards (32MB card included); powered by li-ion
    battery pack (battery and charger included)

  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    8 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Annie Hanley
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2007
    anniehanley.com
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2009 7:49:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2009 7:49:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2009 7:49:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2009 7:49:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2009 7:49:10 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I love it.I bought another Panasonic before this one and I love it as well. So when this one came out I have to have it.No problems at all with it. Leica lenses are great.
    4/17/2009 7:49:10 AM
     
    Amanda J. Cook 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 12:16:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 12:16:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 12:16:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 12:16:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 12:16:54 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Amazing camera. Awesome quality & performance. Only thing is better have a big memory card depending on the size of the pictures.
    1/20/2008 12:16:54 AM
     
    Bob Wells 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2007 12:06:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2007 12:06:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2007 12:06:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2007 12:06:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2007 12:06:20 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I like the features on this camera. I can change the aperture and shutter by using knobs instead of small (for my fingers) buttons or a combination of buttons. I like the features such as a ring on the lens housing for zoom and another ring for focus. It takes great pictures when eveything is working right. I have had to send the camera in twice for repairs (camera is about six months old. Once for a defective primary filter and the other time for noise. The camera was at repair for about a month at a time.
    The camera has a parts and labor warranty of one year now and the warranty is transferable. I like the camera so much that I am going to purchase the extended warranty (transferable too).
    7/22/2007 12:06:20 PM
     
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 8:53:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 8:53:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 8:53:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 8:53:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 8:53:31 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This camera is absolutely the best that I've ever owned in 30 years.
    The pictures are so sharp and clear..and the ZOOM is amazing...
    6/20/2007 8:53:31 AM
     
    Gabriella R. Kalipetis
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2007 7:46:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2007 7:46:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2007 7:46:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2007 7:46:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2007 7:46:10 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This camera is amazing! I just received ti as a gift and I can't put it down. The focus and zoom are fantastic and Video is TV clear. Definately worth looking into and purchasing!
    6/19/2007 7:46:10 PM
     
    Shelly OConnor 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2007 8:56:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2007 8:56:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2007 8:56:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2007 8:56:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2007 8:56:08 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This camera is great. I upgraded from the dmc-fz3 to the fz50. This camera had a few more features on it. The zoom is great and you can zoom up to 85.5 times and the pic is clear. Great camera all around. Just got to give it a chance and experiment a little.
    4/1/2007 8:56:08 PM
     
    Bob Wells 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 7:44:11 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 7:44:11 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 7:44:11 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 7:44:11 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 7:44:11 AM
    Rating: 2 out of 5
    I purchased the Lumix DMC-FZ50k January 15th of this year. My camera had spots (not lens flare or a dirty lens) and I had to send the camera in for repair. Panasonic has contracted their repair work out to Bigston Corp. and I have had nothing but problems with finding out the repair status. There is no way that I know of to check the repair status online. When I call the repair number for Panasonic, I usually get voice mail and even though I leave my name, number, and work order number; my calls aren't returned. Bigston Corp. has had my camera since February 6th.
    On February 22nd, I actually got to talk to a person. She told me my camera had been repaired and was in Quality Control and would be shipped out if the camera passed Quality Control. She asked me if there was anything else she could help me with and I said I would appreciate the tracking number being e-mailed to me when the camera was shipped.
    I tried calling Bigston Corp. again on February 26th and got the voice mail again. I called Panasonic Customer Service and they were going to e-mail or call Bigston Corp. to see what was happening with the repair work.
    As of today (march 2nd), I haven't heard back from Bigston Corp. or Pansonic Customer Service.
    3/2/2007 7:44:11 AM
     
    Doug Auerbach 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 4:07:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 4:07:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 4:07:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 4:07:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 4:07:08 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Wonderful camera! This is my third digital camera and I wanted more creative control and quality, but I didn't want to spend the money on an SLR. The image quality is very impressive and noise is fairly low considering it has a 10 mp sensor. It can shoot at up to ISO 1600 but I really wouldn't recommend using it for prints. Also, the Leica lens is very sharp and adds to the value. I would warn you though, that if you intend to buy this I would shop around for a better price. The retail is pretty high.
    2/12/2007 4:07:08 PM
     

    8 Reviews  

    Buy Lumix DMC-FZ50 Digital Camera from Amazon.com