BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Portrait Lighting on Location and in the Studio with John H. Siskin

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Portrait Photography Lighting on Location and in the Studio Photography Course
Course Instructor: John H. Siskin
4-Week Short Course: Portrait Photography Lighting on Location and in the Studio

Learn to shoot captivating portraits in a variety of situations in this exciting four-week online course. This class draws on more than 15 years of John Siskin's experience in teaching professional lighting. The goal is to give you the tools necessary for photographing portraits in a wide range of conditions.

Category: People Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Portrait Photography Lighting on Location and in the Studio


22 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
albert a. caporaso
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken quite a few better photo courses and they have never disappointed me. For the first time I took two courses together. John Siskin was the instructor. It was a lot of work but he provided so much information I couldn't get enough. I am reviewing lessons, notes and critiques and each time through I learn more. John goes above and beyond to make sure you have a grasp of the techniques. Strobes and light placement don't scare me any more. Thank John.
Al Caporaso
5/1/2013 3:56:37 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken two of John's portrait lighting classes. He is the best in the area. He challenges to think about light and how it interacts with your subject. John has throughly interesting and detailed lesson plans. He is patient with you when you are frustrated. I learned much about lighting techniques. Ongoing dialogue about the subject was enhanced by many suggestions and excellent responses to questions. I very highly recommend taking his portrait courses. You will will learn a lot.
2/21/2013 1:01:34 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John is a fine instructor! He was patient when I got frustrated with assignments and I learned so much from him in two courses. I think John is excellent and everyone should experience his take on the process of creating photographs because it is all about how the light is used.
2/21/2013 12:57:08 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John is a fine instructor! He was patient when I got frustrated with assignments and I learned so much from him in two courses. I think John is excellent and everyone should experience his take on the process of creating photographs because it is all about how the light is used.
2/21/2013 12:57:07 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John is a fine instructor! He was patient when I got frustrated with assignments and I learned so much from him in two courses. I think John is excellent and everyone should experience his take on the process of creating photographs because it is all about how the light is used.
2/21/2013 12:55:11 PM
 
Richard Riebel
rdriebelphotography.com

member since: 12/9/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed having John Siskin as an instructor, and the class was a first for me: studio equipment. John has a great perspective that this already expensive hobby does not need to be that much more expensive if you do some studio work.
1/7/2013 6:50:25 PM
 
Steve Miller
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/28/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John Siskin does an great job of including a lot of detailed information in his lessons, AND supplements the class with a lot of extra information as well. He's a wealth of knowledge, and is very generous with sharing it. His critiques are always personal, pertinent, and timely. John is just an excellent instructor!
3/18/2012 12:08:04 PM
 
George E. Glen
BetterPhoto Member
gg-photos.com

member since: 9/26/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Not only is John Siskin one of the best instructors teaching at BetterPhoto but his course content is outstanding. He gives much more in the way of content than others and than is required. His critiques are most helpful and constructive. He is patient and a pleasure to learn from. You can not go wrong in taking one of his courses.
7/4/2010 1:20:39 PM
 
Charla D. Hodgson
photosbycharla.com

member since: 1/14/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would like to thank you, John. I really enjoyed your class. I really appreciated the extra information you sent out and your straightforward critiques!
4/16/2010 10:07:10 AM
 
Rhonda Royse
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/20/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
John is an excellent teacher. his lessons are to the point and I have learned so much about lighting that has really helped me elevate my abilities. I would highly recommend taking his classes!
3/3/2010 6:03:59 AM
 
Elin Vaeth
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was great. The course was by far the best I have taken from BetterPhoto. John provided such detailed information that will continue to be valuable to me as I grow in this field. Thanks John for a great class!
2/10/2009 8:58:22 AM
 
Allen O. Howard
BetterPhoto Member
gypsyparentsphotography.com

member since: 1/1/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best Better Photo class I have taken. I can't imagine getting more information out of a four week course.
10/4/2008 11:43:35 AM
 
Jessica Kibling

member since: 12/10/2007
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Make sure to check out the instructor's portfolio before deciding if this is the class for you.
8/5/2008 2:49:01 PM
 
Rebecca Gleeck
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/17/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John Siskin's class has been by far the best class I've attended; he critiques the photos if not the same day it would be within 24 hours, he is supportive, and he answers all inquiries not only with illustrations but sometimes he refers us to some of his articles. I wish this class would have been longer than 4 weeks. I would highly recommend this class and John Siskin's other classes to my friends.
4/30/2008 2:31:45 PM
 
Georgette Boyer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/18/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John H Siskin is an excellent instructor, not only are his timely feedbacks show respect and serious interest in his students, but it is his generous sharing of information that far exceeds the course material. He is very knowledgeable about his craft and,in my opinion one of your very best instructors. It was a pleasure to be in his class.
4/30/2008 10:02:24 AM
 
Jeannie M. Barnett
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Anyone needing help with understanding lighting should take this course. It has helped me tremendously! John is a great teacher! Reading all the questions and critiqes is a must, you learn quite a bit from those also. I recommend taking courses from betterphoto.com. I know I will be taking more in the near future. Thanks Betterphoto!
1/5/2008 6:31:30 AM
 
Michelle Linnebur
countrycreekphotography.com

member since: 1/28/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would like to say how much I enjoyed taking a class with John Siskin. I felt that he gave me honest reviews of my photos and gave me some useful feedback. I felt like he helped me and has given me some good advice.
4/13/2007 5:32:26 PM
 
Martha A. Prieto

member since: 9/13/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
John has been a great instructor. One thing about John is that he will show you many, many ways to photograph on a budget. If you are looking for a class in which you can make your own accessories, this is it. That being said, I preferred buying mine, and John was a great resource in helping me choose my studio lights and accessories. My goal for this class, purchasing lights and learning the basics of how to use them, was accomplished. Thanks, John!
3/29/2007 10:45:10 PM
 
Morgana Creely

member since: 10/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class and learnt so much in four short weeks. John Siskin is an excellent teacher: friendly, patient, supportive and really good at explaining concepts and techniques. I highly recommend this class.

Like Judy, my only comlaint is that it's over :)

3/14/2007 1:24:00 AM
 
Judy Pallister
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think John did an excellent job with the information delivered in this class. He took the time to deliver content and answers in terms that finally made sense to me after years of struggling. He helped and encouraged me to understand raw format and camera functions which were way off the topic he was teaching. He even researched the raw plug-in for my camera. As for the topic, his information finally seemed to make sense for me. I have learned far more than I expected in this class. It's like I can finally see the light :). Thank you John for taking me to the next level. I would highly reccommend this class. My only issue with it, is that is over.
2/1/2007 6:22:38 PM
 
Morgana Creely

member since: 10/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is just fabulous! John Siskin is a great teacher, who really goes the extra mile for his studnents. I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone!
1/19/2007 3:59:17 AM
 
Jennifer L. Weilert
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/5/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was a good class. John was wonderful on telling us what each of our photos needed!! I learned a lot about what to look for in a photo. The only thing I wish he would've done more of is not only telling us WHAT to do, but HOW to do what he recommended. It was a good class and would recommend it!!
11/2/2006 1:59:30 PM
 

22 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.