Online Photo Course - Portrait Lighting on Location and in the Studio with John H. Siskin

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Portrait Photography Lighting on Location and in the Studio Photography Course
Course Instructor: John H. Siskin
4-Week Short Course: Portrait Photography Lighting on Location and in the Studio

Learn to shoot captivating portraits in a variety of situations in this exciting four-week online course. This class draws on more than 15 years of John Siskin's experience in teaching professional lighting. The goal is to give you the tools necessary for photographing portraits in a wide range of conditions.

Category: People Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Portrait Photography Lighting on Location and in the Studio


First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
albert a. caporaso
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2013 3:56:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2013 3:56:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2013 3:56:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2013 3:56:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2013 3:56:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken quite a few better photo courses and they have never disappointed me. For the first time I took two courses together. John Siskin was the instructor. It was a lot of work but he provided so much information I couldn't get enough. I am reviewing lessons, notes and critiques and each time through I learn more. John goes above and beyond to make sure you have a grasp of the techniques. Strobes and light placement don't scare me any more. Thank John.
Al Caporaso
5/1/2013 3:56:37 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 1:01:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 1:01:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 1:01:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 1:01:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 1:01:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken two of John's portrait lighting classes. He is the best in the area. He challenges to think about light and how it interacts with your subject. John has throughly interesting and detailed lesson plans. He is patient with you when you are frustrated. I learned much about lighting techniques. Ongoing dialogue about the subject was enhanced by many suggestions and excellent responses to questions. I very highly recommend taking his portrait courses. You will will learn a lot.
2/21/2013 1:01:34 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
John is a fine instructor! He was patient when I got frustrated with assignments and I learned so much from him in two courses. I think John is excellent and everyone should experience his take on the process of creating photographs because it is all about how the light is used.
2/21/2013 12:57:08 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:57:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
John is a fine instructor! He was patient when I got frustrated with assignments and I learned so much from him in two courses. I think John is excellent and everyone should experience his take on the process of creating photographs because it is all about how the light is used.
2/21/2013 12:57:07 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:55:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:55:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:55:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:55:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2013 12:55:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
John is a fine instructor! He was patient when I got frustrated with assignments and I learned so much from him in two courses. I think John is excellent and everyone should experience his take on the process of creating photographs because it is all about how the light is used.
2/21/2013 12:55:11 PM
 
Richard Riebel
rdriebelphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 6:50:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 6:50:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 6:50:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 6:50:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 6:50:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed having John Siskin as an instructor, and the class was a first for me: studio equipment. John has a great perspective that this already expensive hobby does not need to be that much more expensive if you do some studio work.
1/7/2013 6:50:25 PM
 
Steve Miller
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2012 12:08:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2012 12:08:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2012 12:08:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2012 12:08:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2012 12:08:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
John Siskin does an great job of including a lot of detailed information in his lessons, AND supplements the class with a lot of extra information as well. He's a wealth of knowledge, and is very generous with sharing it. His critiques are always personal, pertinent, and timely. John is just an excellent instructor!
3/18/2012 12:08:04 PM
 
George E. Glen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/26/2007
gg-photos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:20:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Not only is John Siskin one of the best instructors teaching at BetterPhoto but his course content is outstanding. He gives much more in the way of content than others and than is required. His critiques are most helpful and constructive. He is patient and a pleasure to learn from. You can not go wrong in taking one of his courses.
7/4/2010 1:20:39 PM
 
Charla D. Hodgson
photosbycharla.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2010 10:07:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2010 10:07:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2010 10:07:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2010 10:07:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2010 10:07:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would like to thank you, John. I really enjoyed your class. I really appreciated the extra information you sent out and your straightforward critiques!
4/16/2010 10:07:10 AM
 
Rhonda Royse
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 6:03:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 6:03:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 6:03:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 6:03:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 6:03:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
John is an excellent teacher. his lessons are to the point and I have learned so much about lighting that has really helped me elevate my abilities. I would highly recommend taking his classes!
3/3/2010 6:03:59 AM
 
Elin Vaeth
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2009 8:58:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2009 8:58:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2009 8:58:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2009 8:58:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2009 8:58:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was great. The course was by far the best I have taken from BetterPhoto. John provided such detailed information that will continue to be valuable to me as I grow in this field. Thanks John for a great class!
2/10/2009 8:58:22 AM
 

First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist