Online Photo Course - Photographing Your Dog with an SLR Camera with Jenni Bidner

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Photographing Your Dog with an SLR Camera Photography Course
Course Instructor: Jenni Bidner
4-Week Short Course: Photographing Your Dog with an SLR Camera

Learn the secrets for capturing the beauty and personality of your "best friend". Using an SLR camera, discover the tips and techniques for great dog photography from photographer Jen Bidner, author of Love Your Dog Pictures, Dog Heroes: Saving Lives & Protecting America, and Is My Dog a Wolf?)).

Category: Specialty Subjects
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Photographing Your Dog with an SLR Camera


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Steve Miller
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2009
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2013 7:17:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2013 7:17:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2013 7:17:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2013 7:17:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2013 7:17:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was a very enjoyable class. The lessons covered a broad amount of information and Jenni had a lot of insights into dog behaviors and the best ways to photograph different types of dogs. The assignments were quite fun.
2/4/2013 7:17:01 AM
 
Carla Maddox
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2012 3:38:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2012 3:38:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2012 3:38:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2012 3:38:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2012 3:38:41 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Shooting animals is difficult, just like people sometimes. Jenni does a very good job in taking past photography skill and techniques and helping students apply it to their best friend. She forces you to gain patience and look for opportunities that many of us pass up. Shooting our dog was just a snapshot befor this class...now it's intentional. Lessons are clear and concise and she is readily available to assist her students. If you love animal, I would highly recommend this class.
5/13/2012 3:38:41 AM
 
Sandra L. Trapp
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/18/2011
sl-trapp-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 10:30:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 10:30:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 10:30:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 10:30:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 10:30:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great teacher and terrific class. You learn a lot in 4 weeks. I mean a lot. Everything is explained in a clear and easy to understand manner. Her critiques are very helpful and her own dog photography is awesome. She gives lots of great tips in this class. If you want to learn how to take great pictures of dogs, I highly recommend this class.
4/25/2012 10:30:27 AM
 
Katheryn Terwilliger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/10/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2011 6:28:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2011 6:28:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2011 6:28:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2011 6:28:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2011 6:28:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was great. Patch & I had a blast. I have a black and white border collie and she has been most difficult for me to capture. The self-portrait lesson was the most difficult for me but was also the most challenging and fun. Jenni's lessons are comprehensive and encouraged me to do more; practice more, review and re-shoot; and have fun. I now have a wonderful foundation and am already getting better shots of Patch.
12/6/2011 6:28:17 PM
 
Betsy Sasnett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/6/2010
Contact Betsy
Betsy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2011 6:11:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2011 6:11:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2011 6:11:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2011 6:11:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2011 6:11:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I truly enjoyed Jenni's course. This was my first BetterPhoto course and if they are all as good as hers, I will be coming back for more. Jenni's critiques are well worded and constructive. Thanks Jenni!
7/13/2011 6:11:10 PM
 
tony w. austin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2010
Contact tony
tony's Gallery
rainfeatherphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2011 4:46:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2011 4:46:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2011 4:46:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2011 4:46:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2011 4:46:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i loved this class. not only did I learn more about photographing my dogs but I also became closer to my dogs...
4/30/2011 4:46:51 AM
 
Linda C. Berger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2011 8:07:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2011 8:07:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2011 8:07:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2011 8:07:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2011 8:07:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am just finishing this course and have learned SO much from Jenni. Really good feedback from instructor and course is set up to be interactive, so there is a lot of feedback from others in the course also. Wonderful course for anyone interested in animal photography, although this course focuses on dog photography. I highly recommend!
4/6/2011 8:07:33 AM
 
Cynthia Oualline 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 2:42:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 2:42:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 2:42:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 2:42:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 2:42:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have absolutely loved this course. I have learned so much and it has opened my scope of the many creative possibilities photographing dogs. I have been places to photograph dogs that I would never have known existed. Really enjoyed it, learned alot and found Jenni to be so prompt and helpful in her critiques.
4/5/2011 2:42:21 PM
 
Pamela L. Moore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2010 8:54:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2010 8:54:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2010 8:54:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2010 8:54:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2010 8:54:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent teacher that went beyond the call of duty. I loved the helpful suggestions. How well she explained, it was a well put together class with a lot of great feed back from the teacher and students. If you have pets take this course.
4/17/2010 8:54:14 PM
 
Dawn M. Dorland
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/30/2009
dorlandphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 5:56:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 5:56:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 5:56:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 5:56:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 5:56:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you enjoy taking pictures of dogs, you have to take this class. You will learn a lot and have a blast doing it. Jenni's knowledge of dogs and photography is extensive, and puts the two together perfectly.
4/7/2010 5:56:50 PM
 
Julie Posluns 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2009 5:51:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2009 5:51:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2009 5:51:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2009 5:51:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2009 5:51:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I absolutely loved my dog photography course with Jenni Binder. She is an outstanding instructor. I learned so much and I'm sure if I took it over again I'd get even more out of it.
She's put a lot of effort into designing the course and it shows.


6/15/2009 5:51:39 PM
 
Patrice windsor 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2009 8:39:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2009 8:39:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2009 8:39:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2009 8:39:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2009 8:39:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I loved the course and the instructor was knowledgeable and respectful with her critiques.
3/25/2009 8:39:45 PM
 
Vicki Hall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/24/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2008 4:00:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2008 4:00:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2008 4:00:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2008 4:00:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2008 4:00:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course is wonderful and the instructor is the best. If you are a dog lover and want to take great pictures of your furry best friend, or want to take great pictures for your friends of their dogs, this class gives you everything you need. Jenni Bidner is an excellent instructor who makes the material easy to understand and who offers helpful critiques and tips for achieving your best work.

The class is well worth the money and time.

10/5/2008 4:00:07 PM
 
Dianna Murphy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/20/2006
diannamurphyphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2008 8:52:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2008 8:52:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2008 8:52:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2008 8:52:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2008 8:52:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm so glad I took this class! Jenni is so forthcoming and eager to help. She's very quick to respond and provides and tons of additional tips/lessons in the Q/A section. Highly recommended - I think all levels of photographers can learn. If the lessons are too easy she offers more advanced to those who desire it. I made some great contacts too with fellow class mates. I learned a lot! I'm hoping she'll offer a follow up/more advanced class.
1/31/2008 8:52:12 PM
 
Domenick Salvemini
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/18/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 12:22:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 12:22:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 12:22:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 12:22:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 12:22:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have to say this was my second course with BP and like my first one I learned alot and enjoyed meeting a new instructor as well as new students. The information has been clear, fun, and challenging. Jenni was a charm to work with, professional, well spoken, and full of great ideas. I commend her ability to teach this course as well as do rescue with her dogs. Even though the course had dogs in the title and I had acess to dogs for the lessons she encouraged me to use my feline friends for comparison and discussion. Thanks again BP I paln on taking "mastering your canon flash" with Paul Gero, can't wait.
1/30/2008 12:22:57 PM
 
Laurie Watts
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2007 7:58:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2007 7:58:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2007 7:58:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2007 7:58:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2007 7:58:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jenni is an excellent instructor for this course. Her lessons are very easy to understand, she shows by photo example which was very easy for me to understand and follow. If you want to learn how to take better pictures of your dogs, this class is for you. Plus you get to meet others who have the same passion for dogs as you. As a result of this class I have so many wonderful photos of my dogs that I will cherish for a lifetime.
9/30/2007 7:58:50 PM
 
lori s. calvery 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2007 8:41:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2007 8:41:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2007 8:41:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2007 8:41:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2007 8:41:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I REALLY enjoyed this class! The assignments were really interesting and and Jenni was wonderful. It's so nice to have a class that is so focused on one topic - dogs! I haven't found a class like this anywhere else. It would be great to have a second class.
8/6/2007 8:41:51 AM
 
Georgette Boyer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/18/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2007 8:23:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2007 8:23:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2007 8:23:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2007 8:23:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2007 8:23:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jenni is an inspiration to her students; and her talent both as a teacher and a photographer clearly benefits her students. I learned a great deal from her course and I must also say that I am so impressed with 'BetterPhoto.com' website and the quality of their of the photos displayed on their galleries. Absolutely incredible!! It was these photos that 'lured' me in to the courses!! I am on my third course with 'BetterPhoto.com' on line. Yes, the courses are very pricy - but you get what you pay for!!!
8/2/2007 8:23:12 AM
 
Pat Kalbaugh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/12/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2007 11:43:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2007 11:43:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2007 11:43:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2007 11:43:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2007 11:43:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent instructor, Jenni Bidner. I was a little frustrated at first with the web interface but as I got used to navigating in your web interface, it was fine. Specifically, sometimes I could not find my way from "here to there" easily and had to go back to the home page to navigate...sorry I can't remember now what it was specifically.

My only criticism of the class experience is something that I doubt can be avoided at that time of year. There were not enough people in the class so there wasn't much interaction between "students". There were only 3 of us who actively participated and only two who interacted. I would have liked to see more photographs that other people made of their dogs. But the good part was there was more interaction with the instructor who always had spot on comments and suggestions for all of us. I cannot say enough good about her teaching style and knowledge...just excellent.

I also thought the class was a little pricey for four weeks. It is over by double what I would pay for a credited university course. The price structure will unfortunately, most likely prevent me from taking classes from Better Photo in the future.

Sincerely,

Pat Kalbaugh
Juneau, AK

2/9/2007 11:43:09 AM
 
Frances Saunders
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/5/2005
fransaunders.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 6:08:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 6:08:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 6:08:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 6:08:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 6:08:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a terrific course and the instructor goes out of her way to give excellent critiques of submitted work, in addition to other suggestions for improvement. I might add that although this course is about dogs, it will help anyone interested in photographing pets.
1/31/2007 6:08:16 AM
 
Cathryn S. Chellis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2006 12:14:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2006 12:14:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2006 12:14:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2006 12:14:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2006 12:14:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first BetterPhoto.com course, but not my first online course.

Without a doubt, Jenni B. is an excellent teacher! She is extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic about photography, especially when it comes to the canines! My sole purpose for taking this course was to take better pictures of my dogs and shelter and rescue dogs - to put them in a better light (pun intended) to get them adopted!

In the end, I learned so much more! I now know more about my camera, more about the effect of various settings (aperature, shutter) and lenses (zoom, wide-angle) on the final photo.

Further, Jenni goes the extra mile for the students in the class. I'm not sure how she finds the time to respond to all of the entries! As an online instructor, I know what it takes to keep up with the students, their special requests and their assignments. She didn't miss a beat!

Excellent course and an excellent learning experience! Thanks, Jenni!!!!

10/25/2006 12:14:31 PM
 
Peter C. Hollingsworth 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 7:17:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 7:17:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 7:17:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 7:17:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 7:17:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first BetterPhoto course.

Jenni's lessons were excellent and her critiques fair and very helpfull. She is great teacher and photographer. I have learned a great deal.

I plan to take more BetterPhoto courses.

10/5/2006 7:17:53 PM
 
Bonnie Schwartz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2006 8:13:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2006 8:13:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2006 8:13:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2006 8:13:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2006 8:13:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first Better Photo class and based on my experience, it cetainly won't be my last. I've already signed up for another!
Jenni's lessons were very informative and she always included supplemental information and tips. Jenni also was very helpful in answering other questions that did not directly relate to the material. Her critiques were very helpful. I really appreciated the fact that questions were always answered within 24 hours, as well as comments on our assignments.
This was a great class with a great instructor! Thanks Jenni and Better Photo.
10/4/2006 8:13:22 AM
 
Janine M. Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2006 5:33:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2006 5:33:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2006 5:33:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2006 5:33:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2006 5:33:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
What a great class this was! Jenni's lessons and assignments were well-written, organized, and FUN! Each lesson had a wealth of information and tips. Her critiques were supportive and inspirational. And she supplied a lot of supplemental information as well. It was great fun to watch all of the students improve week by week.
10/3/2006 5:33:27 PM
 
Pat Merrell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:53:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:53:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:53:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:53:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:53:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great course! My only reason for giving it a 4.5 instead of 5.0 is;I would love to have an 8 week course or possibly a Dog II course.
Jenni's style is very down-to-earth and can teach any level very well. She shares her own personal experiences and photos(good & bad)which really help the student feel she is 'real' and not a studio.....and 'I' too, can take a great shot someday with practice. Bravo! Very fun to take, her enthusiam and hands-on approach are definitely worth the price of admission! Thank you, Jenni!!
9/27/2006 7:53:03 AM
 

25 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist