BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS Digital Rebel XTi (400D/Kiss X) Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

AFTER THE STORM..
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Digital Rebel XTi (400D/Kiss X) Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 10.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 18 x 24-inch prints
  • Large 2.5-inch LCD display; includes Canon's EF-S 18-55mm, f3.5-5.6 zoom lens
  • New self-cleaning dust function, plus Dust Delete Data Detection in included software
  • DIGIC II Image Processor provides fast, accurate image processing; Picture Style settings for added creative control
  • Stores images on Compact Flash (CF) memory cards; powered by battery pack NB-2LH

  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    32 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Brenton  H. Woodruff
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 3/8/2008
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I have been using the Cannon Digital Rebel XTi for well over a year now. I am an amateur photographer and have been using this camera to take senior pictures and pictures for my school newspaper.
    This DSLR is very versatile and can adapt to almost any situation in which you want to use it.
    The camera has a large range of shutter speeds (from a bulb setting to 1/4000)but when used at high ISO settings the images turn out extremely noisy and unclear.
    Overall the Digital Rebel XTi is a very versatile camera and perfect for the beginner photographer.
    9/8/2009 8:53:25 PM
     
    Kevin Burns

    member since: 10/23/2005
    1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 1 out of 5
    I figured I would re wright a review as I have had the camera for a while now.
    Dull color, inaccurate color reproduction, poor WB, soft images even with the sharpness at 7 max, millions of dead pixels when shooting in night time, error 5 flash don't work the flash does not open and camera goes into a error mode.So you have to shut the camera off and turn it back on in the mean time missing the shot. Horrible JPG quality.
    In shooting modes macro, portrait night portrait, there is no way to cancel the flash so it will open even if one don't want it to open.
    just a poor camera for a Canon.
    I have to run the AV exposure compensation at max-plus, just to get a good bright image other wise the images are dark. Underexposed and over exposed what ever the camera wants to do it will do. 1/500th won't freeze action at all.
    I am returning it and exchanging the XTI for a lower MP Nikon D40.
    9/11/2008 3:48:46 PM
     
    Samantha L. Lucking

    member since: 9/7/2008
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I've had the canon camera for about 2 years and I'm still learning new things about it daily. It is my first SLR camera and I love it. Right now I am taking an online digital photography class and learning more about my camera. Writing this review was actually an assignment.
    9/7/2008 12:04:08 PM
     
    Kevin Burns

    member since: 10/23/2005
    1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 1 out of 5
    Get ready to miss the shot. this camera likes to overexposed shots in auto program mode. The sharpness is not sharp and the noise factor is high considering one has to use the camera is ISO400.
    8/21/2008 5:44:51 AM
     
    Karen Seargeant
    BetterPhoto Member
    Contact Karen
    Karen's Gallery
    karenseargeant.com

    member since: 1/18/2003
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I started out with point and shoot cameras and upgraded to the first Rebel. Just this year bought the XTI. Love the camera. As Sarajit said, once mastered, you can take awesome shots. Just add glass.
    7/6/2008 9:30:39 AM
     
    Jerry J. Fictum

    member since: 12/20/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is my first SLR. A little weary bout spending the money but its well worth it. U must get a telephoto lens. Never mind point and shoot, I have a canon powershot S3, it doenst even come close in comparison, taking photos is easier with my XTi. I just wish it also has the "stitch" mode for those panviews like my S3 does. Also taking pictures at night with a 1600 ISO, there is very very little noise if any. this is a must get!
    4/22/2008 11:29:37 PM
     
    Kayse D. Ericksen

    member since: 3/31/2008
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Thank you Bunny Snow. I did want an English Manual. I am an American living in Korea. I was able to order it from Amazon, and it will be here well before my next trip, so thank you again. I am off to take pictures of the beautiful Seoul Cherry Blossoms!
    4/4/2008 7:17:00 PM
     
    Bunny Snow
    BetterPhoto Member
    Contact Bunny
    Bunny's Gallery

    member since: 11/16/2004
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    For the person who received the EOS digital Rebel XTI guide that is in Korean rather than Asian(?), if you speak and read English, the Magic Lantern Guides I have found follow the manual and are even sometimes better.

    http://tinyurl.com/2vtjxe
    This tiny url will take you to Amazon.com
    where the Magic Lantern Guides are available at very reasonable prices.

    As for me, I have a Canon EOS 20D, which I love. Although, there are times when I have difficulty carrying 2.4 pounds (due to recovery from surgeries), and wish I had the Rebel XTi as a backup camera.

    3/31/2008 7:54:50 PM
     
    Kayse D. Ericksen

    member since: 3/31/2008
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I just upgraded to this camera from my old Canon A-1, and so far I love it. I bought it a day before I went on a trip to Indonesia, Malaysia, and China, so I had to learn on the fly. My only problem is I live in Asia and my manual is in Korean. Does anyone know where I can download an english version? I am about to spend a month traveling through S.E. Asia and I would like to have a better grasp of all it can do before I leave. Thank you!
    3/31/2008 6:55:04 AM
     
    Zack G. Ahern
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 8/19/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is wonderful camera for anyone wanting to upgrade from a point and shoot to a digital SLR. Its easy to use, but has tons of complex settings for those starting to experiment with manual modes and creative settings. I would recommend it to anyone!

    http://www.zackgrayahern.shutterbugstorefront.com/

    3/27/2008 11:39:31 AM
     
    Rocky O. Foster

    member since: 12/6/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is a great camera and it has a lot of settings that you can choose from to make your photos come out great! I recommend this camera to anyone who wants to take some seriously great photos.
    12/7/2007 5:30:25 PM
     
    Nathon W. Fox

    member since: 7/16/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Great camera... with the proper lenes you could have a keeper for a long time.
    10/22/2007 8:36:34 AM
     
    Emily G. Zionts

    member since: 10/18/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is my first SLR and so far I love it. Any problems I have so far can be traced to my lack of know-how!
    10/18/2007 9:28:42 AM
     
    Ed M. Lusthoff

    member since: 6/19/2007
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    nice digital with a lot of the professional feature at half to two thirds the cost. 10.1 MP you can't go wrong. The only problem I have is that it under exposes by up to 2 stops. but other than that it is an awesome, light weight, camera. Sure beats lugging my Mamiya or EOS 1 around. \0/
    9/27/2007 11:45:24 AM
     
    Sarajit Sil
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 8/30/2004
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I had sold my 350 D and was in search of a good camera. Finally got the 400D the Kiss Digital X version at a very good bargain. I have been supplied with a 18-55 ultrasonic lens as the kit lens! It takes jaw dropping shots if mastered thoroughly. And ofcourse it is the eye and brain behind the lens! This piece of cake adds accent to it! Thoroughly recommended ! The best camera in its price range and features. (Compared to Nikon D40x and others)
    9/26/2007 2:38:56 PM
     
    Khalid AL-Omar
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 9/3/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    my best camera .. I will get it soon :)
    9/11/2007 4:41:31 PM
     
    Jef Cris T. Yaneza
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 5/4/2007
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    It is my first slr..as a beginner, this is a very good one.
    9/8/2007 2:46:16 AM
     
    Misty Mountain  Photography
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 8/27/2007
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5

    My biggest beef with this camera is being forced to look through the viewfinder and not being able to use the lcd screen to shoot the photo.I shoot a lot of wildlife and need to use my peripheral vision to avoid being attacked by a wild animal or falling off the edge of a cliff etc etc.I'll be forced to carry another camera with me or a harness and rope for more dangerous shots which creates a problem with extra weight.When your climbing a mountain you don't want extra baggage and when you run into a wild animal you don't have time to fumble for another camera ! I'll be amazed if I don't die using the darn thing !

    On the plus side it's a sweet camera for most photographers,no wonder they nicknamed it Kiss X.From my studio to anywhere I have used it ,i've been very impressed with the quality of photos i've taken with it.

    The lens they try and sell you with the camera isn't worth buying.I purchased a 17-85 mm wide angle zoom lens with image stabilizer.VERY awesome lens.

    All in all I am very very impressed with the camera and so are my customers :o)

    Misty Mountain Photography

    8/28/2007 6:47:49 AM
     
    Gretchen W. Jenkins
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 7/30/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    What an awesome camera! I am able to produce photos that professionals produce, and I didn't spend as much on my camera! It is easy to learn as you go with this camera. The controls are right at your fingertips and everything is very user friendly.
    The only draw back with this camera is the lens that comes with it. I saw an immediate improvement in my photographs when I purchased better lenses.
    7/31/2007 3:28:01 PM
     
    David Stegmeir
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 4/29/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    When I purchased this camera I was really very new to photography. I have now had it for a few months and it has the ability to make great photographs even for an amateur like myself. It is exciting to know I can make images I never imagined I could make. I will be upgrading to an IS lens as soon as possible to enable me to capture some great wildlife photographs. Best camera on the market in its class. I researched a long time before I purchased it.
    7/24/2007 6:55:14 PM
     
    Karen M. Kroll
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 4/24/2003
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    So far I am extremely happy with this camera. I've been using Nikon for so long that switching to Canon has been a little tricky. Just learning controls/setting differences has been the tricky part, but all in all, not bad. The color saturations are gorgeous and the lens choices are great! I still use all my cameras in different situations, but this one is now my main camera.
    7/6/2007 6:25:08 AM
     
    Vashistha Pathak
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 1/30/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Excellent DSLR,
    Easy to use, Sensor cleaning technology is really a great advantage.
    10.1 Megapixel of CMOS image processor gives you real life photographs.
    0.2 sec of fast start-up time and 9 point auto-focus system make this DSLR a perfect choice for everyone.
    6/25/2007 7:40:42 PM
     
    Suhairy shuib

    member since: 6/26/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I Love this camera especially it lightweight and easy to carry around even for a whole day wihtout feel burden on my neck. Long lasting battery. plus bG-e3 bttry grip this camera look very steady. SMALL but POWERFUL. :)
    6/18/2007 1:57:09 AM
     
    FRANCISCO SIMENTAL

    member since: 6/24/2005
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I JUST RECENTLY PURCHASED MY CANON REBEL XTI IM VERY SATISFIED WITH EASY TO USE , THE ONLY DOWN SIDE I FOUNDTHE LCD DISPLAY DOSENT SHOW WHILE TAKING PICTURE. IT SHOWES THE SETTINGS THE SETTING DISPLAYS ONLY. DOES ANY ONE KNOW HOW TO DISPLAY THE PICTURE.
    6/11/2007 9:28:58 PM
     
    Iulian Alex

    member since: 11/16/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I love that camera. Is the my 3-th camera ( second SLR after one old german model PRAKTIKA TTL- film SLR CAMERA), and one OLYMPUS compact.
    5/31/2007 5:29:15 AM
     
    Desirae L. Nelson
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 5/5/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I absolutely LOVE this camera. This is my first DSLR, but I've have WAY too many digital P&S...I'm so glad I went to this camera! It's very user friendly, a great value and I LOVE the Canon EF 75-300mm IS lens! I recommend this for newbies and pros...great camera!
    2/11/2007 4:29:19 AM
     
    Walter G. Rowand Jr.
    BetterPhoto Member
    Contact Walter
    Walter's Gallery

    member since: 8/5/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Excellent camera havent used my 20D much since purchasing this camera very user friendly and beautiful images. Canon did it again!!!!!
    2/7/2007 5:55:01 PM
     
    Paul Giorgio
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 1/28/2007
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    An excellent camera - my first digital slr and haven't had it for long. I am enjoying every moment.
    1/29/2007 1:27:38 AM
     
    Michelle L. Rooney

    member since: 1/24/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have only had this camera a few weeks. I LOVE IT! I have not taken many outdoor photos with it yet. Hopefully soon.
    1/14/2007 10:40:28 AM
     
    Michelle N. Muhammad

    member since: 8/2/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This Cam is awesome! The picture quality is excellent! I am a beginner so I am still learning, but I am having so much fun!
    1/5/2007 10:38:35 PM
     
    Trudy Hamilton
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 11/23/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Spectacular product. Easy to use for the young and new professional photographer. Self cleaning sensor is to die for as well as the various modes. Works well with the array of lenses produced by Canon. A major upgrade for me since I previously owned the Evolt E-500. Love the product.
    12/20/2006 12:55:44 PM
     
    Stan J. Contrades
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 9/17/2003
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Compared to my D60's cost this was a no brainer in equipment upgrading! Lots of bells and whistles in this model and love that 2.5 inch display. The ability to shoot in B&W, as well as other tones, is a big plus, not to mention the self-cleaning dust function. A little smaller in size compared to the D60 but very comfortable so far in my large hands!
    11/17/2006 12:09:33 AM
     

    32 Reviews  

    Add your own review

    Buy EOS Digital Rebel XTi (400D/Kiss X) Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.