D80 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

... And a Right
View photos created with this camera

The D80 Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 10.2-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for large, photo-quality prints
  • Body only; lens must be purchased separately
  • 2.5-inch LCD display; power-up time of approximately 0.2 seconds
  • RAW and JPEG capture; burst mode allows for capture of three frames per second for up to 100 pictures
  • Image optimization functions and in-camera image retouching

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


39 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Richard Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2000
Contact Richard
Richard's Gallery
qualityimagephotography.net
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am very happy with my D80, although I purchased it as a back-up to my D300.
It has a smaller LCD and the shutter doesn't seem as crisp as the D300, but it still takes great pics. Switching between the two different memory cards is not an issue, for I load up with both
when I go for a shoot. With the right lens, you have an excellent package with the D80......
2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM
 
Charles Cooper
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent camera for a great price. Still learning to take advantage of all the great features. Next camera will be D300.
8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM
 
Patrice windsor 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My D80 is the best still learning to use the features. There is so many features can't wait until I figure them out. lol
3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM
 
M. J.  Woods
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my D80. The lenses are phenominal. The picture quality is excellent. I wish camera was a bit faster. But for that I figure I need to move to full professional format. I feel you can get professional type photos with this camera. It's a great buy.
2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM
 
Max Granner 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Firstly, I upgraded to the D80 from a D50 which I still have... but although the camera has all the features I need, and a few more besides.. I have a couple of issues. Maybe it's just my D80, but I can never get a clear shot with crisp detail. I know some of you will say 'its the lens that gets the sharpness'and mostly I would agree with you. I have used the exact same lenses and settings on the D50 and got better results with more definition and clarity. I would have thought that a camera with more megapixels would give a much better output. I have tried all the permutations of f stops and shutter speeds as well as mirror lock on tripod, but still no nearer the sharpness that I see from other cameras and photographers. The only time I get anywhere near a decent image is if I use flash.... so do I have a faulty image processor...or does anyone else have this problem?
Its a shame because I really like the feel of the camera, but ultimately a camera should by its nature take photos!
Max
11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM
 
Anthony S. Donnelly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
While I purchased it as a "backup" camera I never hesitate to grab it. It produces wonderful pictures, is smaller, and is much lighter than my D700. Despite it being a backup this is the camera I grab when I don't want to be burdened down with a large and heavy camera. It is my walk around camera for sure. Good performer at a nice price.
9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM
 
Alecia R. Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
She is the best friend I'll know for awhile, or at least when I allow her to mature (upgrade). The D80 is my first SLR and she is a beauty. The D80 is perfect for those breaking into the semi-professional photography. Easy to learn and has some really cool features. I have produce some great images, and with alittle patiences,now I am working strickely in M (Manual) Mode, where she allows me to control all the settings, especially for low light conditions. I have named her, She is my Annabelle!

Even though you don't hear much about the D80, she is between the D60 and the D200-300. She is a great piece of equipment. Nikon you did GREAT on this one!

8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM
 
Sanjay nallila Sanjaynallila
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/17/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Well done camera Nikon D80
8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM
 
Nemil B. Chabebe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/9/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm very impress with the quality, love the iso 100 and all the gadgets it is just a great camera, a little giant.
7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM
 
Fairouz Mohammed
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/2/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's just my babey...
6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM
 
Steve G. Augle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A Wonderful Slr My D80 Is At 200,000 Images And Going Very Well. Steve Augle,
6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM
 
Jody A. McNary 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to operate. Takes excellant pic's.
5/16/2008 1:23:29 PM
 
Jody A. McNary 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2008 1:23:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to operate. Takes excellant pic's.
5/16/2008 1:23:24 PM
 
Mandy Di Bianca
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 4:56:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 4:56:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 4:56:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 4:56:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 4:56:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Love my Nikon D80! It is easy to use, & it's 10.2 megapixels help me produce stunning photos!
4/24/2008 4:56:47 AM
 
Christopher M. Nelson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2008 9:59:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2008 9:59:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2008 9:59:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2008 9:59:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2008 9:59:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the first digital SLR camera I've ever owned. I got it just a few months ago and am still trying to figure out all the buttons! In the short time I've had it, I can see what great things I can accomplish with the D80. Now...if I can only master the functions to their fullest potential!
4/6/2008 9:59:58 PM
 
Mpampis Mantoukas 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 10:04:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 10:04:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 10:04:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 10:04:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 10:04:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent piece of photo camera. After the experience of a Nikon D70, this camera is a diamond. Well done Nikon!
4/2/2008 10:04:20 AM
 
Gary Murison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 2:53:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 2:53:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 2:53:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 2:53:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 2:53:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am relatively new to photography, so don't have the knowledge to put this camera through its full potential. However, using even the 'basic' settings it produces very high quality images. This replaced my D50. I can not fault the D50, but I definitely think the D80's extra 'pixels' show through when making larger prints.
I find the size and shape perfect for my hands. I tried some Canon's before opting for Nikon, and found them to be a bit on the small side for my hands.
The D80 is loaded with functions - which I will eventually learn how to use :)
An excellent camera in all respects.
10/4/2007 2:53:20 AM
 
Shobin George
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2007 10:48:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2007 10:48:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2007 10:48:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2007 10:48:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2007 10:48:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
An excellent camera, with much more functions than its competitors (XTi/Sony 100). Much more worth than you pay. Kit lens is awesome, much much better than XTi's kit lens. Even after taking pictures you can make some editings also. Great!!!
9/10/2007 10:48:33 PM
 
Wanda M. Clowater
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/12/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 6:51:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 6:51:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 6:51:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 6:51:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 6:51:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Recently purchased the D80 after using several FujiFilm Cameras, the last and still using some the S7000 which gave me lots of wonderful pictures. I have found the D80 to be easier to use and it produces even better images...

Best investment I have ever made..

8/28/2007 6:51:10 PM
 
Usha Shree 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 3:09:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 3:09:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 3:09:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 3:09:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 3:09:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I brought more than 10 digital cameras recently. Of course not all are for me, but decision maker for my relatives.
Did lot of research on dpreview etc.. but never had a DSLR for myself. One fine morning(Father's day), it's just waiting on the end table.. next to my bed. It's a big surprise.

This camera's always been in my top list. I already took more than 500 pictures(I don't remember exactly but I think I charged only 3 times). I strongly suggest to take few courses to take full advantage of this camera. Also need to prepare to spend on additional accessories.

8/9/2007 3:09:33 PM
 
Rick J. Agra 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 1:11:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 1:11:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 1:11:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 1:11:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 1:11:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first digital slr camera and love every bit of it...can't wait to know the full extent of this camera....
6/9/2007 1:11:10 AM
 
Jonathan J. Jaffin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:39:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:39:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:39:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:39:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:39:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I came from film and the N8008 and N90 days right to the D70 at first. My only complaint..the viewing screen was too small, and my G type lens too slow. Enter the D80!

The viewing screen is decidedly larger, the camera supports my 4GB card, and the DX AF-S Nikkor 18-135mm replaced my very heavy 35-70 and 70-200 lenses. The new lenses are fast and together with the body integrity, it has a full camera feel but is much, much lighter.

Now all I need to do is learn how to take photographs! Gee, I only have 954 JPEGs left on my Panasonic 4GB card, better run out and get another roll of 36 Exposure 200ASA film...Oh Wait, I don't use film anymore!

5/7/2007 12:39:30 PM
 
Jonathan J. Jaffin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:36:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:36:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:36:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:36:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 12:36:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I came from film and the N8080 and N90 days right to the D70 at first. My only complaint..the viewing screen was too small, and my G type lens too slow. Enter the D80!

The viewing screen is decidedly larger, the camera supports my 4GB card, and the DX AF-S Nikkor 18-135mm replaced my very heavy 35-70 and 70-200 lenses. The new lenses are fast and together with the body integrity, it has a full camera feel but is much, much lighter.

Now all I need to do is learn how to take photographs! Gee, I only have 954 JPEGs left on my Panasonic 4GB card, better run out and get another roll of 36 Exposure 200ASA film...Oh Wait, I don't use film anymore!

5/7/2007 12:36:45 PM
 
Damien J. Koracevic
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/4/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2007 2:06:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2007 2:06:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2007 2:06:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2007 2:06:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2007 2:06:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I spent a lot of time finding a good upgrade from my d50, And found the d80 to be the camera to go for. IM so happy with my choice and feel it couldnt of been a better one. There's so much more going for the d80, than other makes and models in the same price range. IM still a little unsure on how to use it to its full extent, But IM having a great time trying. This is the camera I would recomend for anyone upgrading.
5/5/2007 2:06:25 PM
 
Susan M. Hembree
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/18/2006
Contact Susan
Susan's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 9:31:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 9:31:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 9:31:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 9:31:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 9:31:43 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have only owned my D80 for a couple of weeks, but have so far been very pleased with the quality of photos. It's very easy to hold (not as bulky as the D200), has a large menu, and can be used as a point and shoot or for artistic work. A couple of things that are a down side of the camera is that there is no dust blower for the sensor (and I've already has some problems with dust) as some of the other high end cameras are starting to have. It also has NEF files, which can be a little difficult to read if you don't own an updated editor like PSCS2.
3/25/2007 9:31:43 PM
 
Thomas R. Wilson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/5/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 10:19:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 10:19:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 10:19:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 10:19:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 10:19:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was a big fan of the D70s which was my conversion-to-digital camera. This Camera is so much of an improvement that the D-70s has taken a soley back-up role in my photography.

Vastly Improved Viewfinder
Better Reivew capability, better histogram, better zoom, better LCD
Bigger Buffer
Bigger File Size
Less Noise at High ISO
Mirror Delay
Fast AF with more points
Available MBD80
Better Feature Set
Function Button

Outstanding Camera.
I've owned and used
Nikon FM2n, FE2,F3HP,F4s,N80, N90s,D70,D70s. I prefer this camera over any of those bodies.

3/13/2007 10:19:54 AM
 
Jessica  Wright 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 4:21:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 4:21:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 4:21:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 4:21:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 4:21:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I never had an SLR camera before. I did a lot of research and reviews. I bought my D80 when it first came out. So far, I am very pleased with. Im still learning. I am able to take pics that I wouldnt be able to with my point and shoot. I would highly recommend it.
3/7/2007 4:21:24 PM
 
Linda Carlson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/24/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 1:45:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 1:45:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 1:45:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 1:45:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 1:45:58 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I am very disappointed in the body quality of this camera. For the price its got a lot left to be desired compared to my Oly E-500 (for example).Its amazing the price of the D80 is so much higher than the Oly was new. Everything on the Oly body is put together better and Nikon could not even add dust reduction like most of the other brands of new cameras out now. Upside is photo quality is excellent but that is so with all the top name cameras. The more I use it, the more I dislike it.
3/1/2007 1:45:58 PM
 
Mandy R. Meher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 2:49:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 2:49:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 2:49:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 2:49:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 2:49:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
very good. I brought this camera in november 2006 and I am very satisfied with it. specially the way its capture details and colour of an object. very easy to handle.
2/23/2007 2:49:24 AM
 
George P. Bermeo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/28/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2007 3:24:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2007 3:24:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2007 3:24:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2007 3:24:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2007 3:24:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
SO FAR SO GOOD...very good...I just bought a nikon d80 and I am very satisfied with it. I am still exploring it's capabilities and what creative photos I could make out of this superb camera
2/3/2007 3:24:03 AM
 
Mohandas K. Gandhi 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 3:10:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 3:10:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 3:10:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 3:10:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2007 3:10:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got my first camera so to say in Dec-2006 and that is Nikon D-80 . Before that I had Point and shoot cameras and of many brands.After getting D-80 one really feels the power of that piece of equipment, I mean I have got some amazing macro shots which I think was not possible with any other cameras.D-80 is great.
1/31/2007 3:10:00 AM
 
Kathy Pi pi
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/15/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2007 9:01:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2007 9:01:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2007 9:01:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2007 9:01:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2007 9:01:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love my d80, can,t wait to learn to use all of the features. first time camera owner.
1/30/2007 9:01:59 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2007 8:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2007 8:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2007 8:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2007 8:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2007 8:04:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I moved from D50 to D80 some weeks ago. I use mostly the Manual control with manual focusing lenses. I found the D80 extremely easy to handle, and I love the extra function button that you can program depending on your needs.
In parallel, I am using a large-format camera and the Lightweighted D80 is a perfect complement. Love it!
1/15/2007 8:04:36 PM
 
Dan L. Burchfield 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2007 5:55:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2007 5:55:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2007 5:55:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2007 5:55:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2007 5:55:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really wanted the Nikon D200, but after spending time with both cameras I just could not see enough difference to pay the additional dollars.
I am very pleased with the Nikon D80, its simple to use for basic photography but has the ability to go above and beyond for that unique shot or situation.
I spent 6-months reading, reviewing and handling several other brands as well as the D200; I am 100% confident that I made the perfect choice for my needs.
1/7/2007 5:55:50 AM
 
Charles Chipman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 6:18:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 6:18:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 6:18:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 6:18:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 6:18:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
recently upgraded from a Nikon D70 to the D80 and I am very very happy with it.You get much more camera for the money The Nikon D80 is perfect for those wanting a more advanced camera then the D70 or D70s you get alot of the same features as the D200 for half the price.
11/11/2006 6:18:37 PM
 
Gerry Seaborn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 12:29:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 12:29:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 12:29:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 12:29:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 12:29:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Being an Ex-D-50 owner as well, I would agree and say the D-80 is a great camera for the price. 10.2 megapixels, processing engine based on D-2X, black and white mode, multiple exposure, wireless speedlight commander, and easy access to controls, added to the fact that the camera takes beautiful pictures, makes the D-80 a great camera for the price.
11/2/2006 12:29:35 PM
 
Jessie L. Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/13/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2006 11:49:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2006 11:49:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2006 11:49:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2006 11:49:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2006 11:49:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As a previous D50 owner I'm here to say that this camera absolutely rocks. Putting it up against the field (Canon 400XTi, Sony A100, and Pentax KD100) there just is no competition - the Nikon is the superior system. Top mounted LCD, large and easy to view viewfinder, excellent button layout, excellent color saturation and color management... the list goes on and on. Handling wise this camera is superb. Taking what made the D50 and the D70 successful Nikon balanced the handling of a light D50 and coupled it with the professional feel of the D70. The results make it the best handling below $1000 DSLR on the market. I love my D80 - if you are considering a DSLR do yourself a favor and head to your local Best Buy or camera shop to test it out.
10/18/2006 11:49:30 AM
 
David Chin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 8:01:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 8:01:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 8:01:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 8:01:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 8:01:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
While I don't own the Nikon D80, I wish I could replace my aging D70. Everything I've read from the new owners, especially from those who already are Nikon DSLR owners, have been extremely positive. Of note are the better colour and automatic white balance (the D70 was a bit weak in this area). Black fabrics remain black due to the stronger IR filter in the D80.

I'm tracking the user and owner comments on the D80 as I encounter them, and it's linked up at :> http://www.nikond80links.com/nikon-d80-user-impressions/ and http://www.nikond80links.com/nikon-d80-compared/

9/21/2006 8:01:13 PM
 
Jerald Seely
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 5:51:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 5:51:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 5:51:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 5:51:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 5:51:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The D80 is a great buy for those wanting 10+ megapixels without over doing a budget. I recently upgraded from a Nikon D50 to the D80 and I am very happy with the choice. I have so much more camera with out going broke. The only thing that is difficult to use at times is the secondary wheel, it's a little difficult for the index finger. The Nikon D80 is perfect for those wanting a more advanced camera or a quality second body.
9/12/2006 5:51:57 PM
 

39 Reviews  

Buy D80 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com