K100D Digital SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Oblivious
View photos created with this camera

The K100D Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 6.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 14 x 19-inch prints
  • 2.5-inch color LCD monitor; 11-point wide-frame AF
  • In-camera Shake Reduction (SR) system to combat blur from hand shake or low light
  • Auto sensitivity control up to ISO equivalent 3200
  • Stores images on SD memory cards; powered by 2 CR-V3 lithium batteries or 4 AA-size batteries



© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Alex Lee 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2007 11:48:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2007 11:48:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2007 11:48:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2007 11:48:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2007 11:48:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I moved over from a Nikon D70 to a Pentax because it actually allowed me to get the lenses I want but on a smaller budget. This was a major factor, Pentax is well known for keeping better lens compatibility with their older lenses than the heavy weights like Nikon and Canon. I'm on a student budget, I can't spend many hundreds and thousands of dollars on just the equipment. That money could be saved up for other things, such as taking classes at BetterPhoto.com :)

Affordable, used lenses aside, the Pentax K100D is a lot like my old Nikon camera; it is excellent. The controls are ergonomic, the body fits comfortably in my hands without being too big or heavy, and the image quality is excellent.

The only downside is the small JPEG buffer, but that doesn't affect me much since I don't do action photography or in situations that change very quickly where that would really matter.

Alex

10/21/2007 11:48:19 AM
 
David E. Bunkofske
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/2/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 12:22:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 12:22:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 12:22:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 12:22:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 12:22:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
K100d is the camera you want if you are an old time pentax user. All old k & ka lenses work. Though it takes some special settings. I bought one Just so I could use my 400mm, 90mm macro, 50mm, 28 to 80 zoom. The price can't be beat under $400.00
6/7/2007 12:22:36 PM
 
Marek Novotný
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2007 9:23:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2007 9:23:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2007 9:23:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2007 9:23:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2007 9:23:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I agree with Akiva.Price is good on this camera.I think if you spent some more money for good lenses, you will be satisfied.White balance is the best if you will do it manualy.
1/27/2007 9:23:13 AM
 
Akiva Shapero
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 6:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 6:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 6:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 6:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 6:12:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Ok a Nikon D200 it is not, but it also cost less than half the price. But image quality is as good up to 1600 ISO. Getting to the controls is a little harder but no biggie. 6 Megapixels still gives gorgeous 20"X 30"'s. Complaint: Auto White Balance can't seem to deal with Indoor Tungsten Lighting to well. Of course in RAW that is a breeze to fix.
12/11/2006 6:12:56 AM
 

4 Reviews  

Buy K100D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com