BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot A200 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Left Silent
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A200 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 2.0-megapixel sensor captures 1,600 x 1,200 images for prints at
    sizes up to 8 x 10 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 4x digital zoom
  • Included 8 MB CompactFlash card holds 24 images at normal
    setting (1,600 x 1,200)
  • Movie mode captures 30 seconds of video with no audio
  • Includes 2 AA alkaline batteries (also uses NiMH rechargeable);
    connects with PCs and Macs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


14 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Joni Concienne

member since: 4/29/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It only has digital zoom, so that's the biggest downside to my camera.
4/30/2006 9:48:28 AM
 
Debbie S. Blanton

member since: 9/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a point and shoot digital I think it is awesome.
3/13/2006 12:21:22 PM
 
Kayla  R. Olivares

member since: 1/29/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera was bought while I was out on cruise. It was good for that so I could have pictures when I came back from overseas. I still have it and I've just started to use it again.
1/29/2006 4:48:57 PM
 
Stephanie Beyer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/10/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is absolutely wondeful! Its compact, so you can easily store it in your pocket if you should need to set it down. It has a lot of different settings too, or at least enough for an amateur photographer. The LCD screen size is nice too;it gives you a better idea of what your picture looks like.
1/10/2006 10:04:48 PM
 
Helen Green
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/1/2000
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
An old camera, takes great pictures, small megapixles and very slow to operate compared to today's cameras
11/26/2005 6:06:15 AM
 
Amy Louise

member since: 10/13/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
its only a 2.0 mega pixels with 4x digital zoom but when i get my better one this will just be a practice camera. it cant take night photos they just turn out black and the day photos turn out dark too. i like the fact that its a small camera and it goes every where with me to school to parties every where u never know when theres going to be a picture perfect moment!!!!
10/13/2005 4:48:28 PM
 
Kimberly Kett

member since: 4/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a great digital starter camera but I think I'm ready to graduate to a better one. I get great clarity in my photo's and can print up to an 8 by 10 photo.
4/26/2005 12:05:42 PM
 
Monique C. McGill

member since: 2/8/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
No comment.
2/8/2005 7:08:54 PM
 
Albie Van Loggerenberg

member since: 1/12/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a quick family or holday camera this is quite nice. Easy to use with all the Canon features.
1/20/2005 10:34:46 AM
 
Christie M. Mcfarland

member since: 1/6/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
A GOOD CAMERA FOR SNAPSHOTS
1/6/2005 9:32:01 PM
 
Jillian E. Imler

member since: 8/14/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its easy to use, and although its only 2.0 mp, its suitable for the casual photography I display.
8/14/2004 10:27:06 PM
 
Christopher J. Mcgilvery

member since: 3/11/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
The photos are great, but the major flaw to the camera is the battery compartment. It fell apart whilst on holidays, excessive use with this camera it will fall apart. I was accused of dropping this camera and damaging the battery compartment which was a lie, excessive use will cause camera battery compartment to fall apart. It is not a holiday camera. Snap shot camera yes.
3/11/2004 3:21:51 AM
 
Kathy Schumacher

member since: 8/2/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My Cannon PowerShot200 has opened the world of photography to me. It has become a constant companion since it is small enough to travel in a pocket or purse. I can take as many shots as I please of a particular subject without worrying about the price of film. Digital is the only way to go for me. I take a lot of extreme close-ups of insects--one of my favorite subjects. They turn out sharp and crisp reveling good detail. I have yet to find anything about this camera I don't like.
8/2/2003 9:25:39 PM
 
David B. Knight

member since: 3/5/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Canon A200 is my first digital camera and it is serving me well though I have found the instructions confusing. I can't profess to have mastered the camera, but I like what I can do with it. There are two major concerns, the cover plate and the save function.
The lense cover is badly designed because to open the camera one must first turn the cover plate--down to open, and up to close. The problem is that down to open the still camera function is but a tiny distance less, with no clear difference in pressure, than for the movie function. My son borrowed the camera and didn't realize that he wasn't taking stills! I too have had a problem with this. A worry: will the cover 'wheel-shaped' open/close cover loosen in time? I hope not.
The camera itself is fine. Are all digital cameras like this one in which several steps have to be taken to 'save' a picture once you think you have the one you want? This function is slow and cumbersome, and surely works against anyone wanting this camera for action shots. However, since I don't know other cameras, it may be this process is common to all.
Despite these problems, I like the camera and am not about to rush out and replace it. I am taking well framed pictures, I like the zoom function, and appreciate the clean design. Pocket sized, for sure but, for me, worth the oints used to obtain it from A card company. Would I recommend it? Yes, but recall what I noted above, I can't compare it to other digital cameras because it is my first!
3/7/2003 9:11:48 PM
 

14 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot A200 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.