Online Photo Course - Leveraging Layers: Photoshop's Most Powerful Tool with Richard Lynch

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Leveraging Layers: Photoshop's Most Powerful Tool Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Richard Lynch
Leveraging Layers: Photoshop's Most Powerful Tool

Become a master of Layers to create amazing results in Photoshop. Whether you only use Photoshop layers in a cursory way or you don't even use them at all, author and digital imaging specialist Richard Lynch will lead you through an exploration of layers, the layers palette and all layer functions.

Category: Photoshop Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Leveraging Layers: Photoshop's Most Powerful Tool


First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ted L. Craig
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 6:25:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 6:25:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 6:25:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 6:25:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2009 6:25:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Regardless of whether you like this course or not, it will teach you about layers. It is challenging and will best be served by a prior purchase of Photoshop Layers for CS4 by Richard Lynch as well as going through the exercises. The only negative about the instructor is the delay in some of his responses... but he does respond. His methods are effective and result in a supportive understanding of layers so one can accomplish a high degree of proficiency in the utilization of 'layers'.
12/23/2009 6:25:51 AM
 
Doug M. Solis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 6:35:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 6:35:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 6:35:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 6:35:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 6:35:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
like many before me have said this was a very challenging course. I found in order to fully grasp the individual assignments I would have to go back over the material at least two times before it started to gel. But If your willing to put the work into it you will probably find like me that it was an extremely rewarding and educational course. It is definitely worth your time and effort. I would strongly recommend you buy his book which closely parallels the course but has a lot more examples. Also I have only been in photography for about 8 months and this was my first PS course online (Although I have read several books on PS), so for those with some experience it should come a lot easier for you.
Ironically I was going to give this course a 3 out of 5 rating but decided to change it to 4 for the following sole reason: I found that when Questions were posted by me and many of the others in class, it took 3 days minimum to get a reply from Richard. In fairness to Richard he did say that he was experiencing web/email glitches and he was not getting all his email timely. I had raised my feeling about slow turnaround to Richard about the 3rd or 4th week. My opinion is if he is having glitches(delays) every week then "Get it fixed" This is way too complex of a course to not get your questions answered within one day. I also just read comments from others who have taken his course in prior periods and have raised the same concern.
9/2/2009 6:35:07 PM
 
Thomas Eriksson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 10:53:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 10:53:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 10:53:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 10:53:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 10:53:02 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best course and teacher on PS that I have come across. I recommend the Course and Teacher. Itís a no nonsense course in layer and it delivers. Perfect if you do not have time to fool around but must learn PS so you can begin earning money on your pictures.
6/11/2009 10:53:02 AM
 
Susan McNeill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/22/2007
loveofcreation.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 9:06:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 9:06:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 9:06:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 9:06:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 9:06:44 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I read the other's reviews and agree with them all about the level of difficulty. This is a very challenging course. Richard is an excellent instructor. On a few occasions I posted to Q&A when I was at a stand still on an assignment and wish I could have recieved help sooner than I did. That was the only thing that made it difficult for me in the class as far as deadlines were concerned. Richard was very patient with all of us and was cool about our tardiness.
This is a class that commands your undivided attention. I was too busy to give it my all, my loss. This class I would definetely take a second time with Richard as he is a very good teacher. Thanks Richard.
6/11/2009 9:06:44 AM
 
Alexander Katyanov
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2008
Contact Alexander
Alexander's Gallery
katyanov-photo.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2009 8:01:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2009 8:01:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2009 8:01:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2009 8:01:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2009 8:01:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The material of this course is not very easy but this is that case when hard work and strong desire bring good results and understanding of how everything works. This course will be useful for those who really wants to became an expert of Photoshop.
6/6/2009 8:01:41 PM
 
Daniel H. Rich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 8:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 8:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 8:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 8:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 8:10:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an absolutely excellent course but the student should be prepared to work hard to master the material. The course materials are good and the examples help a lot to explain what is going on, but each time I attempted to apply the methods to my photos, I encountered subtle difficulties. Only after studying the course materials carefully and repeating the instructor examples and THINKING about what was going on, was I able to successfully apply the methods to my own images. It was at about lesson #4 that suddenly things started to click and I began to see all the ways I was going to use layers to enhance my photographs. That was a great moment.
I judge all courses by how much they help me understand text books and photo manuals that I have read in the past. Again, Richard Lynchís course was a great help. Without naming the authors, a couple books on using CS3 in photography that had been opaque to me now are quite readable, helpful, and complementary to what was taught in this course. This course really helped me learn and understand layers.
3/12/2009 8:10:15 AM
 
Frances Saunders
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2008 9:35:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2008 9:35:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2008 9:35:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2008 9:35:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2008 9:35:26 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
There is alot to learn in this course, and the learning doesn't always come easy, but it is well worth the time and effort put into it. Richard Lynch is one of those instructors who takes an avid interest in his students and works closely with them to ensure an understanding of the difficult concepts his teaches. You'll get detailed and to the point lessons, critiques, and instructor attention, but you'll have to work through the lessons carefully each week. Have a good firm background in PS basics before you tackle this one so you'll be able to build on what you already know.
11/14/2008 9:35:26 AM
 
Alexander Czernin-Morzin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2006
Contact Alexander
Alexander's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2008 8:53:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2008 8:53:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2008 8:53:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2008 8:53:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2008 8:53:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Richard's "Layers course" - a simply comment says it all, and surely expresses the feeling of almost all members of my class: "Simply the Best".
Alexander Czernin-Morzin
3/14/2008 8:53:59 AM
 
Lori Molzan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/19/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 11:03:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 11:03:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 11:03:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 11:03:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 11:03:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been the best learning experience for me of all the classes I've taken here on Better Photo and with Richard Lynch.

I had a few hiccups along the way due to personal reasons, and he was more than willing to help me work around those bumps and get to the next step.

We had excellent student participation in this series and I am one of those who learns not just from a written page, or an exercise, but from also wathcing my fellow students progress.

This is another of the great classes that Richard Lynch teaches I will highly recommend.

Once again, thank you Better Photo and thank you Richard for this excellent course offering!!!

A Faithful Fan and Student,
Lori Molzan

3/13/2008 11:03:33 AM
 
Clarence Lynn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 9:44:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 9:44:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 9:44:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 9:44:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 9:44:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Richard seemed to be at my side. All through the course my questions were answered almost immediately. Assignments were directly related to course content. Methodology was explained in detail. His layers book would be helpful as an auxiliary text, but not necessary. This was a great course, in keeping with my experience with Betterphoto courses.
2/27/2008 9:44:52 AM
 
Michelle Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/1/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2008 7:23:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2008 7:23:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2008 7:23:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2008 7:23:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2008 7:23:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has to be the best class I have taken at Betterphoto. Richard is the most supportive instructor I have ever had- here and at other photography schools. He stays in constant touch with the class offers encouragement and support through out the whole class. He never tires of answering questions. His lessons are concise and right to the point, easily understandable. He even went beyond the class and held an online chat to be sure everyone was doing well and understanding the lessons.
This class has really improved my images. I thought I knew Photoshop pretty well, he taught us things that I never knew about. No more just experimenting to see what things do. I can know go with a check list of what I want to do with the image and get it done. I have more time to get out and shoot with the camera instead of sitting at the computer all day. What more could I ask for?
Outstanding job Richard! I will be back for another class.
2/20/2008 7:23:01 AM
 

First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist