Online Photo Course - Developing Your Creative Artistic Vision with Jim Zuckerman

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Developing Your Creative Artistic Vision Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Jim Zuckerman
Developing Your Creative Artistic Vision

Yes - the creative, artistic side of photography can be learned! Just as a music student learns the principles of music to play guitar, you can learn to see creatively and to develop your photographic vision through sound principles of art. Master photographer and author Jim Zuckerman draws upon decades of experience to share with you creative ways of seeing that will enable you to identify and capture great pictures.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Developing Your Creative Artistic Vision


51 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mehmet I. Goral
Contact Mehmet
Mehmet's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2014 4:26:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2014 4:26:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2014 4:26:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2014 4:26:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2014 4:26:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a very well designed course. The material presented on the lessons were not new to me but the way the course and the assignments was organized pushed me to take better pictures.

I felt that the comments and the criticism were always on target, I was either expecting them or the unexpected ones made perfect sense.

I would recommend to submit new work for each assignment to make the most out of this course.

5/10/2014 4:26:53 PM
 
Mark Calibo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/8/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2013 6:36:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2013 6:36:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2013 6:36:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2013 6:36:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2013 6:36:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'll keep it simple. This is a really good course and having a professional like Jim Zuckerman is really amazing. Even if some of the topics look familiar, Jim always takes you to another level and a different perspective. Highly recommended primarily because you get to work with, and critique by a Jim Zuckerman.
7/7/2013 6:36:41 PM
 
Antoinette Addison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2013
Contact Antoinette
Antoinette's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:42:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:42:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:42:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:42:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:42:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken three classes with jim Zuckerman and each has been wonderful. He is very helpful and encouraging with his critiques. He somehow manages to convey the information in a way that makes it crystal clear, and his photos provide great inspiration. I highly recommend this class.
5/5/2013 7:42:28 PM
 
Abhijit Sarkar
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/16/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2012 2:35:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2012 2:35:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2012 2:35:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2012 2:35:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2012 2:35:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was a great learning opportunity. I had never attended an online class before this one and was apprehensive to start with. However, once I got critiqued on my first assignment, I understood how seriously you take the classes. I appreciate you going beyond the course syllabus and giving PS tips. Thank you, Jim! I'm looking forward to further improving on my newly acquired knowledge and I hope to learning from you again in the future.
9/7/2012 2:35:04 PM
 
Carol C. Harris 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:44:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:44:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:44:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:44:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:44:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a wonderful course. Jim's class material was clear and easy to understand, plus there were plenty of photo examples to illustrate his points.
His critiques were well thought out and honest, but never harsh or hurtful. Maybe the fact that I've already recommended this class to several of my friends is proof enough that I am sold on Jim's teaching ability and that I very much admire his photographic style. I will definitely be signing up to learn more from Jim Zuckerman.
7/11/2012 4:44:31 PM
 
Nancy O. Henry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/17/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 6:22:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 6:22:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 6:22:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 6:22:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 6:22:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim's class exceeded my expectations. Lessons were understandable and contained many concrete examples so we wouldn't miss his point. Jim's critiques were friendly, encouraging and specific. He successfully nudged me into areas outside my comfort zone..and that was a GOOD thing.
7/2/2012 6:22:48 PM
 
Betsey Henkels
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 8:02:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 8:02:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 8:02:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 8:02:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 8:02:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I decided to take this course because the student reviews indicated that Jim pays careful individual attention to each photo he critiques. This turned out to be true. His comments were always individual, thoughtful and carefully considered. Thoroughly recommend this course and instructor. Betsey
5/10/2012 8:02:45 AM
 
Marsha Kirschbaum
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2012 4:17:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2012 4:17:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2012 4:17:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2012 4:17:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2012 4:17:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was such an incredible class. I really do feel that it has taken my photography up a level. All of my photographers friends have also commented on how much my photography has improved during this class. Jim though constantly encouraging, was honest in how our images could be improved. Each lesson built on the prior lessons. His course materials were very consise and his images demonstrated well the compositional points he was making. A great learning experience for me.
3/4/2012 4:17:20 PM
 
Cynthia A. Rodzen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 10:37:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 10:37:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 10:37:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 10:37:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 10:37:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow - Jim is just a wealth of knowledge and an inspiration. I really started thinking about my photography for the first time. The reviews provided were very enlightening and I made sure to read all critiques every week as many nuggets of photography wisdom were given. I am looking forward to my next class with Jim!
1/11/2012 10:37:17 AM
 
Janet L. Gelfman
Contact Janet
Janet's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 9:15:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 9:15:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 9:15:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 9:15:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 9:15:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is always a great person to work with. His comments and suggestions are on point. This class is for anyone from beginner to advanced because it both teaches and/or reminds us to effectively use the "rules" in our compositions. It is also great to see the work of other class members. Janet Gelfman
11/10/2011 9:15:16 AM
 
Carla Maddox
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2011 5:42:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2011 5:42:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2011 5:42:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2011 5:42:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2011 5:42:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
While I have taken several classes from Jim, his "Developing Your Creative Artistic Vision" was absolutely the best. Yes, we dealt with many of the basics (rules of thirds, leading lines, ets., but he drove us to use our skills in a more artistic fashion. This is a course that really makes you think about the subject matter, composition, the difference between graphics and graphic design and my favorite was shooting pictures that demonstrated the color wheel. After sitting and staring at the powerful color combinations for some time, this course has taken my photography to the next level. You will love it. I'm just sorry it is over.
11/6/2011 5:42:20 PM
 
Veronica Stewart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/10/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2011 7:39:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2011 7:39:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2011 7:39:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2011 7:39:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2011 7:39:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim Zuckerman is a top talent and instructor at BetterPhoto. This course was challenging and full of great techniques and tips. Easy to understand and presented in well-written and concise text. Jim goes OTT in suggesting improvements to one's photos. I wholeheartedly recommend this course to anyone over the "beginner" level; even more advanced students will gain good practice and benefit from the topics that are presented.
10/31/2011 7:39:49 PM
 
Gregory Mencotti
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2011 5:35:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2011 5:35:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2011 5:35:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2011 5:35:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2011 5:35:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been a superb course; one of the very best I've taken to date! Every lesson was exciting and Jimís lesson plans form a valuable tool for future reference. Jim is an outstanding teacher and mentor. Beyond that, Jim's standards are high and his attention to detail exacting. He makes me strive to improve my photography.
10/29/2011 5:35:54 AM
 
Oscar J. Pung
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/16/2010
Contact Oscar
Oscar's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2011 7:23:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2011 7:23:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2011 7:23:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2011 7:23:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2011 7:23:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course. Lessons easy to absorb and wonderfully illustrated. Homework assignments challenging. Jim's critiques were always helpful. If you make a technical mistake or he does not follow your "artistic vision", he will let you know while, at the same time, advising you how to improve. He responses include examples from his own work or a modification of your photo. One of my favorite things about Jim's course? If you have a question, he responds almost immediately and in depth.
7/4/2011 7:23:53 AM
 
Erin FitzGibbon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:30:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:30:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:30:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:30:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:30:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was great. The lessons are clearly written and Jim's review give honest and constructive feedback that points out the strengths of your photos but also how you can improve your work. He is extremely flexible and recognizes that life can get in the way and as such deadlines aren't always hard and fast.
3/25/2011 6:30:49 AM
 
Janice Carter
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/23/2010
Contact Janice
Janice's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2010 5:40:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2010 5:40:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2010 5:40:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2010 5:40:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2010 5:40:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is an excellent photographer and clearly shows and explains his techniques in his course and assignments. He teaches the student to "see." He gives an honest appraisal of the student's work in his critiques and is readily available to answer questions. My only wish is that the course would be 12 or 16 weeks; there is so much more I need to learn. Although I taking a break from "creative" to go for a little more "tech" this next time, I will definitely take another of Jim's courses.
12/27/2010 5:40:57 AM
 
Anfal Aljery
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/18/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2010 1:27:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2010 1:27:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2010 1:27:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2010 1:27:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2010 1:27:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It was a great experience with the Instructor, I got to have a really helpful tips, and ideas to make my photography better.. ^^
12/25/2010 1:27:22 AM
 
Lisa Gordon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2010 5:28:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2010 5:28:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2010 5:28:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2010 5:28:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2010 5:28:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was amazing! It was a definite challenge, but not overly so, and I feel I have learned so much. Although the content was even more than I expected, it was the INSTRUCTOR that made the course. This is the second class I've taken here with Jim Zuckerman, and he is truly wonderful. Not only is he an extremely talented photographer, he knows how to relay his knowledge to his students. His critiques are what made this course. The critiques were timely and completely thorough. If I asked a question, he answered me within a couple of hours, and when my camera "died" just before the course began, he was more than helpful with suggestions. This will surely not be the last course I take with him. Beautifully done!
10/28/2010 5:28:05 PM
 
Stephanie Koehler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:54:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:54:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:54:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:54:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:54:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
"Developing your creative artistic vision" was my first class with Jim and at BetterPhoto.com. I loved the experience and think that Jim is a fabulous instructor. He not only provides precise instructions with ample examples, but also guides you to integrate the material and thus enables you to enhance your photography. Thank you Jim for your professionalism, your guidance and fantastic work. I just signed up for another class with you. See you there... Best of luck, Stephanie
7/7/2010 12:54:01 PM
 
Kevin M. Woodbury
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/13/2010
kwoodbury.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:11:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:11:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:11:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:11:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 12:11:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As with any on-line class there are two factors that tend to make, or break a course. First, there is the reading material and the writing skills of its author. Second there is the knowledge and expertise of the instructor, his/her responsiveness and the quality of their suggestions.

In terms of this course, each lesson had roughly 10 minutes of concise, well written and well illustrated examples of the concepts being discussed.

Lessons were well structured, easily understandable and included clear instructions on how to complete each homework assignment and what was expected of the photographs you were being asked to submit.

In terms of the instructor, Jim was highly skilled, timely and constructive in his critique of submitted assignments, responsive to questions you would ask and approachable when you didnít understand concepts. Jim went above and beyond in sometimes providing modified versions of submitted photographs so that you could see the results of what he was trying to explain.

All in all, I was very pleased with this course and with Jim as the instructor. I would highly recommend this course to any serious photographers looking to improve their work.

7/7/2010 12:11:14 PM
 
Skip Scales 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 11:21:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 11:21:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 11:21:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 11:21:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 11:21:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a good course to get you out there and do something. Jim (the instructor) leaves no stone unturned. He tells you what you need to do to bring your skills up to the next level. I will be taking more classes here with these folks as they are all very good at what they do and the students here are unbelievable as well.
Jim
7/7/2010 11:21:24 AM
 
Michelle D. Allen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/19/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2010 5:19:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2010 5:19:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2010 5:19:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2010 5:19:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2010 5:19:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This challenging and thought-provoking course has inspired my passions as a photographer and opened the world to new possibilities. Jim's masterful facilitation of the campus square environment, wide expanse of knowledge and experience, and his commitment to timely feedback/response combine to make this one of the best courses I have had. Learning from an expert who cares about each students' progress and makes even the toughest concepts easy to understand made this a tremendous learning experience. Thank you, BP!
6/29/2010 5:19:31 AM
 
Perry L. Martin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2010 7:26:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2010 7:26:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2010 7:26:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2010 7:26:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2010 7:26:29 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Would definitely take another course from BetterPhoto and Jim Zuckerman. This course was really helpful on brushing up on my current composition skills and teaching new ways to look at composition.
6/23/2010 7:26:29 AM
 
Michael Raboy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2010 9:22:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2010 9:22:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2010 9:22:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2010 9:22:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2010 9:22:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am grateful to find such an excellent and clear class on composition. This class has greatly developed and expanded my skills and techniques for taking more creative and expressive pictures. The lessons and examples made the concepts very clear and understandable. Jim's help and feedback provided a solid background on how to evaluate and improve all of my work. This class is a "must have" for any "serious" photographer.
5/18/2010 9:22:53 PM
 
Jeffrey McGee
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/13/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 5:42:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 5:42:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 5:42:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 5:42:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 5:42:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This course was very valuable and I learned a number of things. Jim Z is a good instructor and gives prompt and honest feedback which helped me see some of my shortcomings. The course does a great job addressing the fundamentals of good photographic composition. The only reason I did not give full marks was that from it's title, I was expecting more 'creative' ideas in Photography. However, I highly recommend this class, and can assure that you will get a lot from any course with Jim Z. teaches.
5/17/2010 5:42:29 AM
 
Deborah L. Mutter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2010 5:14:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2010 5:14:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2010 5:14:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2010 5:14:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2010 5:14:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Artistic Vision class with Jim Zuckerman is just amazing. He teaches concepts in a very organized and clear manner and is patient when additional information is requested to be clear on a subject. Jim's critiques are great. He seems to give you the perfect amount of praise along with ideas for improvement. In that way, it does not feel like a threatening situation to be critiqued and you always come away feeling very good about your progress. Additionally, our class was made up with students from all over the world. For me, this only added to the excitement and the wonder of the class.

I would also like to say that Better Photo was wonderfully helpful due to a course I had signed up for in which there were some circumstances in which I could not finish. Not only was the entire staff kind and helpful, but they even suggested courses that were more appropriate to me. There advice was perfect. Because of this excellent customer service, and excellent instructors like Jim Zuckerman, I will continue to take courses with Better Photo. Thanks for all that you do and the services you provide!

Debbie Mutter

4/21/2010 5:14:58 PM
 
Nirja Loyalka 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 8:57:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 8:57:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 8:57:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 8:57:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 8:57:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have several books by Jim Zimmerman, and when I came to Better Photo, I did not want to miss the opportunity to learn from him directly. The lessons and, the critiques were very informative.
I learned a lot in this class. I am looking forward to taking another class by him.
Nirja
12/10/2009 8:57:30 AM
 
Kathy Kohler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 10:45:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 10:45:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 10:45:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 10:45:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 10:45:18 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim Zuckerman is the best, I have grown as a photographer because of his direct but sensitive way of critiquing my photos. Thank you Jim and thank you BP, I will be taking more classes and hope to take as many as I can with Jim. Awesome job!
9/4/2009 10:45:18 AM
 
lewis katz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 12:35:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 12:35:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 12:35:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 12:35:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 12:35:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this is my second online course with jim zuckerman - I had also taken his marketing course. although I enjoyed the course I feel that the title is bit misleading. the title "developing your creative artistic vision" led me to believe that the course would be in regards to how i, having reached a certain level of quality in my images, can learn to put my own signature stamp on my photography so that it would stand out from the rest of the pack. I would rename this course something along the lines of "advanced theories of composition" since that what it really is.

although jim's critiques are good they tend to be a bit repetitive.

lewis katz

9/3/2009 12:35:27 PM
 
Memoriee G. Sconce
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 12:07:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 12:07:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 12:07:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 12:07:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 12:07:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was so fun to be a part of, it is well worth your time and money.
Jim's way of teaching encourages you to do your best at all times. He gives you honest feedback as well as instructions on how to improve your techniques. This was my fourth class with Jim Z. and I know it will not be my last.
A big "Thank You" to Jim Z. and BP for providing a wonderful learning experience.
Memoriee
8/30/2009 12:07:50 AM
 
Amy Horn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 4:41:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 4:41:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 4:41:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 4:41:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 4:41:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was only my second course at betterphoto, but it was fantastic. What I thought were good images before were only ordinary. Jim pushed me to achieve more and even corrected my photos to demonstrate his concepts. Although my choice of weekly subjects was not only the best, I am now able to identify common faults in my photos - even before I click the shutter! Loved it.
3/11/2009 4:41:49 PM
 
Larry Dickerson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2005
Contact Larry
Larry's Gallery
larrydickerson.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 12:22:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 12:22:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 12:22:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 12:22:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 12:22:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my 5th BP class, and it was far and away the best. Jim's instructions were more in-depth than any of the instructors I have to date, his photographic illustrations from his own work were outstanding, and his critiques of students assignments were incisive and very helpful. I would highly recommend this course to anyone.
3/11/2009 12:22:31 PM
 
Roger H. Maggio
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/9/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 8:36:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 8:36:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 8:36:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 8:36:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 8:36:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was simply great! Jim Zuckerman's course material was awesome. He inspired me to see the world and photograpy in a way I never had before. His comments were always on point and I learned so much. The best part is that before I took the course I loved photography..now it is a passion.
Roger Maggio
1/7/2009 8:36:47 AM
 
James C. Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 10:02:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 10:02:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 10:02:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 10:02:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 10:02:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just a quick note to tell you how much I learned in your class. Your recent class really had me stretching in several different areas. I learned much more than what was on the outline.

Thanks again for the excellent help and suggestions on how to improve my
photography.

9/15/2008 10:02:08 AM
 
Stephen Hester 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2008 8:11:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2008 8:11:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2008 8:11:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2008 8:11:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2008 8:11:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Having read Jim Zuckerman's book "Perfect Exposure", I was pretty intimidated to be taking a course from him. However, since I definitely wanted to get better, and I truly respected Jim's work, I decided to give the course a try. Obviously (since I gave this class the highest possible rating), I'm glad I did! I really loved the course, and, for the first time, I was motivated to get up at sunrise and stay out at sunset (which was easier:-)) just to find that perfect light. Jim's critiques were always the best part; They were spot-on and well-designed to teach and encourage. Having the opportunity to view the other students' photos and read their critiques just enhanced the learning process that much more. I will be taking another course from BetterPhoto and from Jim too.

Thanks,
Stephen Hester

7/8/2008 8:11:01 AM
 
Meg Voyzey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2005
Contact Meg
Meg's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:42:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:42:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:42:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:42:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:42:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Before this class I never would have considered myself imaginative but the lessons in this course really tapped into my creative abilities. I was pleasantly surprised at the images I was able to produce; I have so much more confidence now! Thank you Mr. Zuckerman and BetterPhoto!!
7/6/2008 9:42:56 AM
 
Gary Leighton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/17/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2008 4:57:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2008 4:57:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2008 4:57:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2008 4:57:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2008 4:57:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Jim was a excellant instructor who give excellant feedback. This course and his instruction has helped me take my picture to a new level. It has also helped with my photographic vision in taking pictures. Jim also went above and beyound in offering extra help when needed to students.

Excellant job both Jim Zuckerman and Betterphoto!

Gary Leighton

5/3/2008 4:57:11 PM
 
Linda Ryan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 10:28:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 10:28:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 10:28:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 10:28:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 10:28:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was fantastic, it fits into my schedule because it is on-line with no set hours, the assignments challenge you and the instructor provides detailed feedback designed to improve your photography.
1/6/2008 10:28:49 AM
 
Gorham P. Miscall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2007 3:06:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2007 3:06:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2007 3:06:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2007 3:06:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2007 3:06:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a terrific course that not only helped me develop a more creative vision, but forever changed the way I approach a picture opportunity.

The course material was clearly laid out with many example images to further clarify the points in the lesson.

Jim Zuckerman is a great photographer, and a terrific teacher.

I highly recommend this course. It will change the way you see the world around you.

Gorham

8/23/2007 3:06:05 PM
 
Rafael Canedo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2007 3:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2007 3:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2007 3:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2007 3:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2007 3:51:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course, I d really enjoyed it a lot, Jim is a great teacher and his critiques are great and down to earth with nice comments, I learned a lot and I am sure that after taking this class my photos would have a better composition and vision as to what the subject is.
I want to thank Jim for all his knowledge.
6/11/2007 3:51:24 PM
 
Eduardo Silva
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/19/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 2:50:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 2:50:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 2:50:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 2:50:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 2:50:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excelent, Thank you for all
6/6/2007 2:50:28 PM
 
Manny Blas 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:36:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:36:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:36:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:36:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:36:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow, I really learned a lot in this course. My objective at the beginning was to be able to take photos that my friends would say "that's a great photo." And from being a party picture taker, I've gone somewhere nearer to being a photographer. Thanks Jim!
12/6/2006 7:36:26 PM
 
paola A. Jofre
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/10/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 12:07:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 12:07:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 12:07:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 12:07:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 12:07:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class and Jim was an excellent teacher. I really appreciated the time he took for critiquing and suggestions to improve my work. I have learned a great deal from Jim and feel that I have improved. I look forward to signing up to more classes being taught by Jim.

Paola

12/6/2006 12:07:13 PM
 
Anne Juge
DesignsofPhotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 12:28:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 12:28:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 12:28:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 12:28:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2006 12:28:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course has clarified the rules of photography for me. I understand now how to better compose a picture. Jim is incredibly talented in photography. To have Jim Zuckerman teach you the art of photography and critique your photos.......and the classes......hundreds of photos to learn from is a great deal!!!

I am very pleased with my progress and look forward to my next class with him.

Anne Juge

11/28/2006 12:28:00 PM
 
Thomas Sterr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/25/2004
Contact Thomas
Thomas's Gallery
tomsterrphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 12:04:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 12:04:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 12:04:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 12:04:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 12:04:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to develop or improve creative artistic vision! Especially Jimís professional critiques are extremely helpful and encouraging; lessons are easy to understand with examples of Jimís beautiful images. The assignments are challenging and fun. His course opened my eyes and gave me many ideas, and improved my creative vision for sure.
9/15/2006 12:04:50 PM
 
Robert Williams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 2:16:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 2:16:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 2:16:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 2:16:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 2:16:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim has the ability to communicate frankly and effectively, letting you know precisely how your photos can be improved and what to do to improve them. He keeps you motivated and really puts extra effort into making sure everyone's questions get answered. This was a very valuable course for me.
9/11/2006 2:16:23 PM
 
Becci McClain 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:49:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:49:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:49:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:49:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:49:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks to Jim's excellent and clear instructions and his educational critiques the photographic world is a whole new place. Through his patience and easy to follow direction I learned to look for photographic opportunities from all angles and perspectives. This is a course everyone will benefit from...beginner on up.

Thanks Jim!

Becci McClain

9/11/2006 1:49:21 PM
 
Greg Rollins 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2006 6:41:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2006 6:41:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2006 6:41:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2006 6:41:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2006 6:41:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course was a very rewarding experience. I was pushed out of my boundaries and forced to look at new ways to photograph. I would have never gotten anything like this from a book. I was disappointed with the way my photos lost color saturation when uploaded.
9/4/2006 6:41:21 PM
 
Suzanne Hull
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/25/2005
shdigitalart.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 4:45:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 4:45:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 4:45:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 4:45:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 4:45:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is an excellant instructor, and, again, I am really enjoying this course and the other students. This course is enhancing my abilities with photography as a new medium for me.
9/3/2006 4:45:23 PM
 
Sophie Ouellet
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2006 4:45:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2006 4:45:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2006 4:45:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2006 4:45:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2006 4:45:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just thought you'd like to know what a wonderful experience I am getting out of betterphoto.com.. . With my disability, I have often experience rejection... At BP , I have had an unexpected amount of support , encouragements, tips & tricks from a lot of students as well as the instructor.
8/27/2006 4:45:14 PM
 
Prakasit Chartburut
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:29:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:29:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:29:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:29:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:29:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a wonderful course. I feel I made good progress in photography.
The topics and narrative plus example pictures are so clear and understanding. I am enjoy this course very much.
8/24/2006 12:29:03 AM
 

51 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist