PowerShot S30 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Memorial to the F...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S30 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create prints up to
    11 x 14
  • 3x optical plus 3.2x digital (for 9.6x total) zoom lens with
    autofocus
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash card holds 16 images at default
    resolution; camera is Microdrive compatible
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses proprietary NB-2L lithium-ion rechargeable battery
    (included)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


56 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jennevieve LaHaye
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 9:36:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 9:36:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 9:36:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 9:36:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 9:36:42 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Does not always seem to have crisp pictures. Has trouble focusing sometimes -which means I miss shots or they arent natural.
6/21/2006 9:36:42 PM
 
J. C.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 1:09:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 1:09:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 1:09:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 1:09:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 1:09:53 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
EXCELLENT camera. Very quiet and smooth zoom. Very cool features and easy to use.
5/19/2006 1:09:53 AM
 
Carrie Frazier 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 11:34:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 11:34:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 11:34:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 11:34:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 11:34:34 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera for everyday use. Excellent macro focus feature, 30 sec max video stream option. Only downfall is 10x Optical Zoom is difficult to focus.
4/28/2006 11:34:34 AM
 
Holly N. Darling 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 8:08:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 8:08:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 8:08:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 8:08:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 8:08:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy this camera because it takes beautiful shots no matter how much movement there was. It is small and easy to take anywhere and I did! Great camera!!
4/8/2006 8:08:45 PM
 
Robert L. Saunders 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 10:48:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 10:48:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 10:48:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 10:48:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 10:48:03 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
first digital camera. great pictures from a point & shoot.
3/31/2006 10:48:03 AM
 
Barb Mandel 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 12:45:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 12:45:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 12:45:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 12:45:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 12:45:17 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I have just gotten this camera from my son so really do not have a lot to say about it yet.
3/16/2006 12:45:17 PM
 
Cathy Z. Shelburn 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:25:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:25:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:25:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:25:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:25:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Enjoy the camera.
2/20/2006 3:25:07 PM
 
Martha A. Sutton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 1:07:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 1:07:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 1:07:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 1:07:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 1:07:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, great for action shots. Clear pictures. Only thing I dislike is that when I go to delete a picture the delete bar jumps between delete and cancel very easily.
2/5/2006 1:07:08 PM
 
Victoria L. Krausman 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:28:58 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:28:58 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:28:58 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:28:58 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:28:58 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Good quality but too slow miss some of my pictures.
1/13/2006 3:28:58 PM
 
Noel Z. Yuseco
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 4:50:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 4:50:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 4:50:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 4:50:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 4:50:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Canon Powershot S series is a must for the point and shoot camera bug. Though mine is about 3 years old now, its resolution is much better than cameras with much higher pixels with tiny lenses.
12/2/2005 4:50:44 PM
 
Marco & yannick Jacq & greg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 4:52:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 4:52:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 4:52:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 4:52:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 4:52:38 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
its good , but not video quality
11/9/2005 4:52:38 PM
 
Jane N. Murray
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/30/2005
janemurrayphoto.com
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 1:04:37 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 1:04:37 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 1:04:37 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 1:04:37 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 1:04:37 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
I found this camera frustrating. The lens would often jam and the battery power was always being used up by the lens goign in and out. It was compact but that made it hard to hold steady. I do not recommend this camera. Although in the past my Canon SLR cameras have been great.
11/1/2005 1:04:37 PM
 
Renee L. Lemons 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:17:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:17:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:17:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:17:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:17:34 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the loads of features this camera has. There seems to be trouble with the autofocus.
10/13/2005 11:17:34 AM
 
Chris Tan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 9:21:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 9:21:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 9:21:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 9:21:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 9:21:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very flexible and controllable pocket camera. Colours are brilliant but lens a bit on the small side. RIP after over 20000 shots with a jammed shutter.
9/22/2005 9:21:06 AM
 
Dawn Field
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/5/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 5:01:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 5:01:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 5:01:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 5:01:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 5:01:58 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Perfect first digital camera for the beginner.
9/14/2005 5:01:58 AM
 
ayush bhandari 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 10:15:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 10:15:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 10:15:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 10:15:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 10:15:01 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice camera for point and shoot! Good results
9/4/2005 10:15:01 AM
 
Richard P. Lussier
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 3:03:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 3:03:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 3:03:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 3:03:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 3:03:47 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. It is my first digital camera, however, so I do not have any other personal ones to compare it to. The battery life leaves a bit to be desired.
8/30/2005 3:03:47 PM
 
Chris Parker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 8:07:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 8:07:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 8:07:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 8:07:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 8:07:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very versatile point & shoot. Full manual to full auto. Great introductory digital camera.
7/14/2005 8:07:42 AM
 
Michael Discenza
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/24/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 5:21:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 5:21:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 5:21:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 5:21:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 5:21:10 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
worked well as a first digital camera
7/6/2005 5:21:10 PM
 
Kenneth M. Hofmeister 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 12:06:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 12:06:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 12:06:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 12:06:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 12:06:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great lense, takes superb pictures for the price of the camera. Excellent point and shoot camera at many lighting conditions or can pick your own settings. Better the the Nikon 700 I own.
5/22/2005 12:06:46 PM
 
Jamal El Harchaoui 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 4:06:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 4:06:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 4:06:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 4:06:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 4:06:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have very good experiences with my camera.It is very good to use.
5/9/2005 4:06:22 AM
 
Carmen Tam 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 11:15:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 11:15:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 11:15:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 11:15:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 11:15:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Likes: well made camera, good size screen Dislike: Camera is heavy, battery life is short, low optical zoon
4/23/2005 11:15:04 PM
 
Hannah Ammar 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:52:30 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:52:30 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:52:30 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:52:30 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:52:30 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Blurs every image when flash is off. Only mid-quality images otherwise. I like the portability and range of features - but much better cameras are on the market now.
4/14/2005 7:52:30 AM
 
Emilie Rooney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 3:49:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 3:49:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 3:49:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 3:49:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 3:49:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
As a first time digital camera user I found that the Canon Powershot S30 was very easy to use and takes great pictures. Taking pictures inside is harder because of the light. But I have gotten some great pictures.
3/10/2005 3:49:06 AM
 
Kelli Engelby 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2005 11:12:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2005 11:12:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2005 11:12:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2005 11:12:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2005 11:12:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for the price.
2/4/2005 11:12:48 AM
 
Connie Hubbard 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 5:03:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 5:03:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 5:03:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 5:03:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 5:03:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first digital camera, takes great pictures, very user friendly
1/22/2005 5:03:06 PM
 
Sarah  Capps 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 4:29:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 4:29:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 4:29:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 4:29:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 4:29:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
simple, but well build digital camera. I still prefer SLR 35 mm
9/12/2004 4:29:50 PM
 
Daniel Hughes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 4:38:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 4:38:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 4:38:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 4:38:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 4:38:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The three main reasons I bought the S30 were: 1)It's full manual capabilities (with great automatic as well) 2) It's compact, pocketable size 3) It's durable aluminum housing. I have been impressed repeatedly by the clarity and quality of the images this compact camera produces. I have, however, found three faults that limit the camera's capabilities. 1) One can only take black and white shots (i.e. compose in B&W on the screen) in a fully automatic 'novelty' setting mode 2) The toggle switch (i.e. up/down left/right) is a weak point as the 'select' function is on the same switch. Trying to reduce the amount of buttons isn't always a good thing. I had to re-solder mine when the connection got so weak I could no longer 'select' much of anything. 3) Video is limited to 30 seconds regardless of memory card capacity. Dispite these negatives I have discovered using this camera, I still think it is a great camera and based on my criteria I would probably still buy it again.
9/10/2004 4:38:42 PM
 
Kevin Scott 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 10:51:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 10:51:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 10:51:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 10:51:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 10:51:41 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Takes natural light shots fine but flash shots are, well, not good. Lens door is made from plastic and is not very sturdy. Too long of a delay between pressing the shutter and actually taking the picture.
9/2/2004 10:51:41 PM
 
Bobi M. Murray 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 6:37:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 6:37:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 6:37:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 6:37:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 6:37:59 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like it's ease of use, portability and instant gratification. I like being able to share my photos quickly with others. This camera iks adequate for now, but I have more options with my SLR over control of the photo subject. My dislikes are delay of shot from the time to hit the trigger to the time it actually takes the picture. I have found when I try to focus on a subject, I can't judge what the camera is acutally focusing on.
8/22/2004 6:37:59 PM
 
Nancy Grace Chen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:42:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:42:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:42:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:42:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:42:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm evaluating this camera as what it is, a compact digicam. I don't think the compacts get much better than this. Yes, I would like to have more aperture range and zoom, but the manufacturers can only pack so much into a camera this size.. It's pretty idiot-proof, does great colors, focuses well, and doesn't have too much noise. I'd highly recommend it.
8/10/2004 9:42:32 PM
 
Nancy Grace Chen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:41:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:41:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:41:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:41:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 9:41:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm evaluating this camera as what it is, a compact digicam. I don't think the compacts get much better than this. Yes, I would like to have more aperture range and zoom, but the manufacturers can only pack so much into a camera this size.. It's pretty idiot-proof, does great colors, focuses well, and doesn't have too much noise. I'd highly recommend it.
8/10/2004 9:41:00 PM
 
Pamela Griffin 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2004 11:39:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2004 11:39:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2004 11:39:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2004 11:39:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2004 11:39:02 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love this digital camera but photography is becoming more of a treasured hobby for me and I am unable to take the perfect pictures with this camera. This is perfect for more liesure photos.
8/9/2004 11:39:02 AM
 
Nancy I. Miller 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 11:47:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 11:47:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 11:47:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 11:47:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 11:47:35 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is a good beginner's point and shoot camera.
7/18/2004 11:47:35 AM
 
Nik Fiore 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 1:36:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 1:36:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 1:36:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 1:36:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 1:36:39 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a nice camera, not that I know too much about cameras. Its fairly compact and light weight. It has a large range of features and options and can go from fully automatic to full manual. Photography is an undeveloped interest of mine. When I was looking to buy a digital camera I wanted something that I could learn to become a better photographer with. The S30 seemed to have what I would need to do this at a reasonable price. Once I think I know what Im doing Ill upgrade to a digital SLR with higher resolution, but for now the S30 works great.
7/12/2004 1:36:39 PM
 
Kelly Fischbach 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:54:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:54:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:54:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:54:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:54:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it serves my purposes.. until I was introudced to the Canon Rebel Digital SLR. The Powershot works nicely in my high-abuse situations, like at the kennel I work at, and the high-risk SeaWorld Dolphin Cove. Plust I have the underwater housing for it. It's compact enough to toss in my purse so that I'm sure to not be caught without a camera.
6/27/2004 8:54:27 PM
 
Michele Halterman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:28:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:28:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:28:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:28:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:28:58 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is easy to use, but has many settings I don't know how to use. Don't like the delay, tho
6/25/2004 2:28:58 PM
 
Ahmad Imran
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 4:59:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 4:59:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 4:59:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 4:59:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 4:59:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
In this category (Point and Shoot to Semi Pro) I think the best option and best value for money camera. It produces the sharpest colours you can get with any of its competitors. I think - Canon is the best.
6/19/2004 4:59:59 PM
 
Dean  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:02:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:02:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:02:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:02:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:02:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first digital camera and it offers a host of manual and automatic controls. Love it!
6/1/2004 8:02:59 PM
 
Imran Khan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 12:41:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 12:41:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 12:41:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 12:41:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 12:41:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good picture results, nice photos.
5/3/2004 12:41:10 PM
 
Katrina M. Scheidler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/2/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 1:14:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 1:14:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 1:14:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 1:14:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 1:14:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the camera the only thing I dont realy like is you cant change the lens
5/2/2004 1:14:48 AM
 
Shing Yan Lau 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:20:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:20:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:20:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:20:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:20:06 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was my first 'real camera'. It served me well, allowing me to delve into the joys of photography. I got this camera from a lucky draw so how can I complain :P Back when this camera was first released it was targeted at the slightly more advance Point and Shoot users with Aperture priority, Shutter speed priority, landscape, portrait etc. modes. It also had a Fully manually mode which allowed me to toy yaround with shutter speed and aperture. Since my Nikon F3HP is my current workhorse, I use the Powershot to set eposure in hard to meter areas (it has adjustable ISO from 50 to 800). All in all, this is a decent camera but it being digital is severly tied down to battery (each fully charged battery pack only last around 2-3 hours with LCD off). Hence why, I perfer to use my F3HP.
3/1/2004 7:20:06 AM
 
Wendy P Daunheimer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:21:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:21:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:21:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:21:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:21:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have used this camera for 2 years, and I love it! The picture quality is great! I like the video option. It's only 30 seconds, but that's about as long as I want to put on my Web site anyway, so it works for me. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone. I recently upgraded to a Rebel for more controls, and I love that camera too, but this one has been great to grow with and I still use it.
1/5/2004 6:21:24 AM
 
Alys Morris 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:23:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:23:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:23:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:23:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:23:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the camera and it's easy use but the flash is shockingly terrible. It's very harsh.
1/2/2004 8:23:17 PM
 
Vincent T. Clark 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 2:04:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 2:04:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 2:04:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 2:04:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 2:04:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Cannon provides a good balance and portability with the S30. It lacks the ability to take good night time pictures. The colors that come through with the Cannon Camera is second to none.
12/16/2003 2:04:54 PM
 
Kimberly J. Thompson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:41:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:41:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:41:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:41:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:41:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, but when the batteries are weak the photos are fuzzy.
11/16/2003 5:41:47 PM
 
Kimberly J. Thompson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:39:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:39:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:39:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:39:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 5:39:30 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's nice but when the batteries are weak the photos become fuzzy.
11/16/2003 5:39:30 PM
 
Darlene Christensen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 8:59:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 8:59:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 8:59:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 8:59:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 8:59:30 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Canon S-30 is my first digital camera. I've always shot 35mm and was skeptical about going digital so I bought a medium priced camera rated one of the best by Consumer Reports. It has done well and I've been mostly pleased but I'm looking to upgrade to a digital SLR. The S-30 doesn't have a handgrip..and I miss that. It also doesn't have the fexability I'm looking for and I REALLY don't like the time I have to wait between shots! But, all in all, I've been pleased with the S-30 and would recommend it as a "first step" into digital photography.
11/2/2003 8:59:30 AM
 
Catherine Plummer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 4:13:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 4:13:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 4:13:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 4:13:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 4:13:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am a middle aged working nurse and enjoy a uncomplicated camera . Something which does not baffle me . I feel the quality is suffice for my needs needs. Easy to carry also.
10/1/2003 4:13:03 PM
 
Keith W. Boone 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:53:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:53:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:53:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:53:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:53:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the low end of the "S" series, but you wouldn't know it by the photo's it takes. You need an extra battery, because this baby will eat them in a hurry. Because of the battery life, I give an 8 out of 10. On the other hand, it's worth it because of the large viewfinder.
9/30/2003 11:53:59 AM
 
Michael McMurrough 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 7:52:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 7:52:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 7:52:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 7:52:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 7:52:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent little camera with a wide array of manual features for the intermediate to advanced photographer. Plus, you can stick it in your pocket and go :)
9/27/2003 7:52:03 AM
 
Steve Kazemir
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 12:43:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 12:43:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 12:43:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 12:43:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 12:43:47 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for the price. The Macro is lacking a little (closest shot ~10cm).
9/9/2003 12:43:47 PM
 
Sherri Catalanotto 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 3:06:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 3:06:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 3:06:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 3:06:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 3:06:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Sometimes my pics are blurry and I think it has to do with the delay.
8/17/2003 3:06:32 AM
 
Rena Smith 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:03:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:03:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:03:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:03:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:03:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think this is a wonderful starter camera. Picture quality can be excellent but if you're trying to get detailed shots make sure you invest in a tripod. This was my mistake. Other than that the camera is a very nice investment.
6/25/2003 8:03:07 PM
 
Kim Gorham 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:12:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:12:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:12:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:12:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:12:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My husband bought this camera for me, it was the best present I ever had. I can do so much with it and still learning.
6/17/2003 4:12:47 PM
 
Chris Tan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is an excellent digital camera. It balances very well my needs for an idiot-proof point-and-shoot camera with the flexibility to control it manually when required. It takes very clear and vibrantly colored shots.

I use the camera mostly in Program mode in ISO400 without flash, occasionally switching to aperture priority or shutter priority. The full Manual mode allows very good control also when needed. The color balance settings, especially the custom setting where you focus on something white and it compensates, are really good.

Other features I like (and use a lot of) in this camera are:
h Sensitivity to ISO400/800 equivalent
h Multiple shot modes V high speed and normal
h Macro mode
h Fast startup time
h Manual focus

Gripes? My list is here:
h Manual focus via a small rectangle in the middle of the LCD only V pretty hard to use
h No remote control (even as an accessory)
h Special effects modes are mostly automatic; cant control flash, aperture, shutter when doing black and white/sepia tone pictures
h Zoom is too short V digital zooms dont come out nice (overexposed looking)
h ISO 400/800 tends to be grainy, especially in low light (800 is almost useless)
h Bit hard to hold comfortably V I always have the wrist strap on, as it slips out of hand pretty easily

Price performance-wise, I feel it gives you more bang for the buck than equivalent priced models of other brands such as Sony or Nikon.

 

56 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot S30 Digital Camera from Amazon.com