BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Alpha A100 Digital SLR Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Original
View photos created with this camera

The Alpha A100  Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 10-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 18 x 24-inch prints
  • Kit includes 18-70mm f3.5-4.5 lens
  • In-camera image stabilization and anti-dust vibration systems; Eye-Start Autofocus system
  • 2.5-inch LCD display; 9-point autofocus system; 40-segment multi-pattern honeycomb metering
  • Powered by lithium-ion battery (supplied); stores images on CF I/II and Memory Stick Duo cards

  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    24 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 5 out of 5

    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Phil Falson
    BetterPhoto Member
    Contact Phil
    Phil's Gallery

    member since: 11/24/2002
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have owned a few Minolta cameras a x-700, 7000i,700si. The alpha A100 was a perfect transition to digital from film.It is truley a great camera with alot of features a photographer would need. I have had my A100 for about a year and have not been dissapointed.
    3/7/2009 6:27:19 AM
     
    Linda Merz
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 6/25/2008
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    The A100 has been a very good camera and takes awesome photographs. I have since added a low light lens and a Tamron to the collection. I'm looking forward to upgrading to the A700 but will wait until Sony comes out with whatever they have planned for this year.
    2/18/2009 5:29:42 PM
     
    Audrey K. Kanekoa-Madrid
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 8/25/2003
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have had the best time learning on this camera. The quality is superb, as is the color. This is my first DSLR, and I think it is gives professional results.
    7/30/2008 5:33:37 PM
     
    Peter Banz

    member since: 4/6/2008
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Excellent. Finally a digital camera that let's me forget film. I switched from 35 years of Nikon to Sony. My decision was mainly money based. I was worried a bit when I clioked the Buy Now button. Then I was worried about no liveview. Well I have it for over a month now. I got all kinds of neat little addons and some Minolta AF lenses on Ebay for next to nothing .... and I'm not broke :-) I really like the camera. Having no live view turned out to be a good thing. Let's face it any 300/400mm lens has a least a somewhat slow AF (unless you trade-in your new car for it). I focus manually above 200mm through the view finder and if I'm lucky I catch a bird in flight. There are many good features about the camera. The SteadyShot in the Body is great. No expensive VR lenses to buy. I can take hand held shots at 300mm with low shutter speeds. Great! Cons? None so far. All the things I did not like about digital cameras do not exist in the Alpha.
    4/6/2008 4:37:32 PM
     
    Xiomara Firma
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 7/5/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I just Love this camera. Last month I wanted to upgrade to a DSLR after shooting with the Panasonic Lumix FZ10 compact camera for a few months. I was looking for a wonderful 10 MP digital SLR camera and I'm certainly IN LOVE with the Sony Alpha 100.
    I would recommend it to evryone who wants to upgrade t a DSLR. It's worth the price and the Sigma lenses fits so nicely on it.
    12/18/2007 4:39:50 AM
     
    Jorge Arraya

    member since: 11/21/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I just got the camera with the standard 18-70mm lens and I am absolutely pleased with the first results. I've taken some quick snaps with it and the colors are right on, the interface is easy and the quality si superb. Happy as can be.
    11/29/2007 7:59:06 AM
     
    Rick Webb

    member since: 11/6/2007
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I upgraded slightly and bought the Sony DSLRA-100 as a replacement for a well-used Sony DSCH-2 which was recently stolen and have had no real problems or complaints worth mentioning. The operation is easy when you learn to navigate the menu and the results can often be spectacular!
    11/12/2007 7:59:12 PM
     
    Margaret  E. Lane
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 10/25/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have owned my Minolta 3 xi since 1992. I truly did like that camera and still use it today. However...I just purchaced my Sony Alpha in March and like it even better. I too was devisated when I learned that Minolta was out of the camera business. I didn't know where I would turn because my camera was getting older and didn't want to spend the money to get into a new line. I have a Sigma Ultra Compact telephoto that is not made any more. I like that lens the best.
    10/25/2007 7:41:12 AM
     
    Kathy A. Adams

    member since: 9/17/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I've had the Sony A100 for about 6 months and like most of these other people - I LOVE this camera! It allowed me to take winning photos right out of the box without much of a learning curve.

    I would highly recommend it!

    9/17/2007 7:53:36 PM
     
    Kumiko Parkinson
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 2/16/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I bought this one recently(July 2007) in Japan, there was a new lens kit on sale now.
    18-200 mm lens is very handy and useful, I love it!
    8/6/2007 7:35:35 AM
     
    Teresa Brooks

    member since: 2/14/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is my favorite camera of all time. I have been taking pictures since 1967. It is a very user friendly camera and my 4th digital. Very little editing is needed to get beautiful photos with this camera.
    7/24/2007 5:22:15 PM
     
    Connie L. Cady

    member since: 6/25/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I'm in LOVE ! I have always used Minolta, and when I went digital I bought a Dimage.
    My favorite was the film Minolta 600si, and I had several lenses.
    I was waiting for the D7 to drop in price, so I could afford it, I almost cried when I heard they closed down their camera dept, and not a little angry. Then I heard about the A100.
    It looks almost exactly like the D7. It fits my hand like the 600si and shoots like a dream.
    I really needed the stabilizer as I use the zoom a lot and seldom have my tripod with me.
    Wish I could give it a 10, I would !!
    7/2/2007 3:49:28 PM
     
    Alan Mr Gwilt

    member since: 4/26/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    My First DSLR camera, had a Canon S50 previously. Had it just 1 month but have been out and about Lots to get used to but so far have nothing but praise for this Camera.
    1 Very user friendly
    2 All the controls & buttens are in the right places
    3 Handles Well
    4 Focuses quickly
    5 Steady shot very useful On Zoom
    6 18-200 Lens very good thoughout its range
    5/5 rating

    6/4/2007 8:42:07 AM
     
    Dariusz Malanowski

    member since: 2/28/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Fairest photographic apparatus in this class.Stabilizer of image and big matrix improves work. Weight is adjusted ideally.Price is adequate for quality.External hand wheel of parameter is ideal solution.External appearance is polished up in each detail.Photos are made perfect it camera.
    4/25/2007 2:57:07 AM
     
    Carl D. Garrard

    member since: 3/21/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Having used my Alpha since the first shipment in July, I can finally attest to it's compentency. This camera is a photographers camera, very intuitive and is built high quality inside and out. It is a capable camera, able to make fine images w/given lenses varying the output best with Prime lenses. It is an absolutely phenomenal value. Even in the current market as of 3-7-2007, it is still arguably the best product for the money. Per usual, Sony products are very reliable and i've never had a single issue with mine. For serious sports photographers, you might want to consider something with more FPS. Either way 3 per sec. is very good. So many good things to say about it!

    Carl

    3/7/2007 2:42:23 PM
     
    Caroline Forest
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 2/19/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I got the Sony Alpha A100 for Cristmas, when my husband got tired of having all those exposed but unprocessed rolls of films lying around!! The thing is, I enjoy taking the pictures more than the printed results... I would have gone the digital way 2 years ago if my Sigma and Minolta lenses would have fitted on any of the then-available DSLR. I just thought it was a waste of money to start all over again with a Canon or Nikon...
    The Sony A100 does a great job, even with large prints. It is consistently sharp, has loads of features for the novice and the serious hobbyist with room to grow your skills. Accessories like flash and original lenses can be pricey but, at least for the lenses, you have the choice of buying mor reasonably priced Sigmas. And the nifty "Super Steady Shot" integrated within the body makes for sharp pictures, even the ones my husband takes!
    3/5/2007 9:43:25 AM
     
    Patricia A. Strones

    member since: 2/28/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I received the Sony A100 for Christmas and I am very pleased with it. My previous camera was the Minolta Dynax 404si Maxxum STsi, while I still enjoy using the film camera the digital SLR really enhances my capabilities with the film camera. I too can use my current lenses with the Sony. Greatful that my husband did all the research after Minolta merged/sold to Sony. With the 10.2 megapixal in the Sony A100, it ends up better than the Minolta SLR I was planning on getting (6.1 or 7 megapixal)which cost a lot more. Kudo's to SONY for a great camera!
    2/28/2007 8:30:06 AM
     
    Yvonne M. Emerson
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 10/2/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have very clear and detailed images that are printed out to 24 x 36 I Love this camera. I have no complaints. I am still learning on it but everything I have tried has come out beautifully in my humble opinion. Vonne
    2/2/2007 6:13:28 PM
     
    Valerie Bowlick-Terrell
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 8/8/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have had my Sony Alpha for almost a year now. After owning it for only one hour, I was taking great photos. This camera lacks nothing. It is almost a year later, and the camera is awesome.
    It is easy to hold, takes consistant sharp photos, comands are easy to use. I would recommend this SLR to anybody
    2/1/2007 4:37:49 AM
     
    Tania S. Taekema
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 2/16/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    When switching from my trusty Pentax K1000 (still love it!) to a digital slr, I was advised to pick the new Sony Alpha. It was the best advise I ever took. I feel like I am relearning many things about photography, but this camera is making it easy and enjoyable. I recommend it to everyone!
    1/24/2007 9:11:01 AM
     
    Everett Forester
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 5/7/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    my first digital camera was a cyber shot wich I still use to this day,but I did want a digital slr. and gave a close look at the a-100, glad I did as it does the job !being a novice I now have room to grow, it has a certain feel to it like your realy holding a true camera, oh yes I can use all my older minolta lens , and buy more at a fair price. Everett Forester !
    12/19/2006 4:58:48 PM
     
    Drew L. Ryan

    member since: 9/26/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I recently bought my Sony Alpha because I wanted to switch from my Pentax digital to an SLR camera and the Sony seemed like it was sticking out at me everywhere I shopped for a camera. I love the camera and the many features included with it which is helpful to a beginner like myself. This camera is perfect for anyone from beginner to pro!
    11/21/2006 11:30:55 PM
     
    Mel Allen

    member since: 10/11/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Having had this camera for only a few weeks now, I enjoy the many automated features. Although the accessaries for the camera are a bit pricey, you can't beat the quality. I would recommend this to any novice or pro. For the novice, there are preset functions that any point and shoot cameras have, with wonderful results. For an example you can see the macro shots I did for plants in my back yard. If you would like a more indepth review go to www.dpreview.com and you will find sample pictures taken in London as well as review of the camera. Enjoy!
    10/17/2006 11:10:10 AM
     
    Raymond Johnston

    member since: 2/20/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    After using Minolta film cameras for years, this is my first digital camera and I really enjoy it. While not familar with Sony cameras, I am with Minolta and this Sony Alpha 100 is one really awesome camera. I would recommend it to anyone, especially to those entering digital.
    10/16/2006 8:57:35 PM
     

    24 Reviews  

    Add your own review

    Buy Alpha A100  Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com


    Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.