BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Alpha A100 Digital SLR Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras


View photos created with this camera

The Alpha A100  Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 10-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 18 x 24-inch prints
  • Kit includes 18-70mm f3.5-4.5 lens
  • In-camera image stabilization and anti-dust vibration systems; Eye-Start Autofocus system
  • 2.5-inch LCD display; 9-point autofocus system; 40-segment multi-pattern honeycomb metering
  • Powered by lithium-ion battery (supplied); stores images on CF I/II and Memory Stick Duo cards

  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    First 10 of 24 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Average Rating: 5 out of 5

    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Phil Falson
    BetterPhoto Member
    Contact Phil
    Phil's Gallery

    member since: 11/24/2002
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have owned a few Minolta cameras a x-700, 7000i,700si. The alpha A100 was a perfect transition to digital from film.It is truley a great camera with alot of features a photographer would need. I have had my A100 for about a year and have not been dissapointed.
    3/7/2009 6:27:19 AM
     
    Linda Merz
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 6/25/2008
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    The A100 has been a very good camera and takes awesome photographs. I have since added a low light lens and a Tamron to the collection. I'm looking forward to upgrading to the A700 but will wait until Sony comes out with whatever they have planned for this year.
    2/18/2009 5:29:42 PM
     
    Audrey K. Kanekoa-Madrid
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 8/25/2003
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have had the best time learning on this camera. The quality is superb, as is the color. This is my first DSLR, and I think it is gives professional results.
    7/30/2008 5:33:37 PM
     
    Peter Banz

    member since: 4/6/2008
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Excellent. Finally a digital camera that let's me forget film. I switched from 35 years of Nikon to Sony. My decision was mainly money based. I was worried a bit when I clioked the Buy Now button. Then I was worried about no liveview. Well I have it for over a month now. I got all kinds of neat little addons and some Minolta AF lenses on Ebay for next to nothing .... and I'm not broke :-) I really like the camera. Having no live view turned out to be a good thing. Let's face it any 300/400mm lens has a least a somewhat slow AF (unless you trade-in your new car for it). I focus manually above 200mm through the view finder and if I'm lucky I catch a bird in flight. There are many good features about the camera. The SteadyShot in the Body is great. No expensive VR lenses to buy. I can take hand held shots at 300mm with low shutter speeds. Great! Cons? None so far. All the things I did not like about digital cameras do not exist in the Alpha.
    4/6/2008 4:37:32 PM
     
    Xiomara Firma
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 7/5/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I just Love this camera. Last month I wanted to upgrade to a DSLR after shooting with the Panasonic Lumix FZ10 compact camera for a few months. I was looking for a wonderful 10 MP digital SLR camera and I'm certainly IN LOVE with the Sony Alpha 100.
    I would recommend it to evryone who wants to upgrade t a DSLR. It's worth the price and the Sigma lenses fits so nicely on it.
    12/18/2007 4:39:50 AM
     
    Jorge Arraya

    member since: 11/21/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I just got the camera with the standard 18-70mm lens and I am absolutely pleased with the first results. I've taken some quick snaps with it and the colors are right on, the interface is easy and the quality si superb. Happy as can be.
    11/29/2007 7:59:06 AM
     
    Rick Webb

    member since: 11/6/2007
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I upgraded slightly and bought the Sony DSLRA-100 as a replacement for a well-used Sony DSCH-2 which was recently stolen and have had no real problems or complaints worth mentioning. The operation is easy when you learn to navigate the menu and the results can often be spectacular!
    11/12/2007 7:59:12 PM
     
    Margaret  E. Lane
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 10/25/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I have owned my Minolta 3 xi since 1992. I truly did like that camera and still use it today. However...I just purchaced my Sony Alpha in March and like it even better. I too was devisated when I learned that Minolta was out of the camera business. I didn't know where I would turn because my camera was getting older and didn't want to spend the money to get into a new line. I have a Sigma Ultra Compact telephoto that is not made any more. I like that lens the best.
    10/25/2007 7:41:12 AM
     
    Kathy A. Adams

    member since: 9/17/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I've had the Sony A100 for about 6 months and like most of these other people - I LOVE this camera! It allowed me to take winning photos right out of the box without much of a learning curve.

    I would highly recommend it!

    9/17/2007 7:53:36 PM
     
    Kumiko Parkinson
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 2/16/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I bought this one recently(July 2007) in Japan, there was a new lens kit on sale now.
    18-200 mm lens is very handy and useful, I love it!
    8/6/2007 7:35:35 AM
     
    Teresa Brooks

    member since: 2/14/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is my favorite camera of all time. I have been taking pictures since 1967. It is a very user friendly camera and my 4th digital. Very little editing is needed to get beautiful photos with this camera.
    7/24/2007 5:22:15 PM
     

    First 10 of 24 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Add your own review

    Buy Alpha A100  Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com


    Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.