PowerShot A40 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Red Tractor
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A40 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 2-megapixel sensor captures 1,600 x 1,200 images for prints at
    sizes up to 8 x 10 inches
  • 3x optical plus 2.5x digital (7.5x total) autofocus zoom lens
  • Included 8 MB CompactFlash card holds 12 images at default
    resolution
  • Automatically connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries (alkalines included)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


65 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Peggy Lucas 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 5:50:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 5:50:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 5:50:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 5:50:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 5:50:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love my Power Shot A40. It gets the job done and the price was affordable too.
7/27/2007 5:50:51 AM
 
Kyle M. Fetters 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 8:18:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 8:18:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 8:18:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 8:18:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 8:18:02 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It takes decent pictures although I wish the resolution count was a little bit higher.
6/24/2006 8:18:02 AM
 
Charles R. Cruickshank 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:26:36 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:26:36 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:26:36 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:26:36 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:26:36 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Older digital camera with only 2.0 mega pixels and 3x zoom. I realize its' old tecnology.
5/23/2006 11:26:36 PM
 
Al G. Juniarsam
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 12:07:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 12:07:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 12:07:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 12:07:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 12:07:19 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good for beginner
3/21/2006 12:07:19 AM
 
William J. Stacy 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 2:44:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 2:44:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 2:44:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 2:44:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 2:44:24 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very well made,easy to use menus slow recovery
12/20/2005 2:44:24 AM
 
MICHAEL CONTRERAS 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 9:45:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 9:45:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 9:45:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 9:45:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 9:45:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I HAVE REALLY LIKE MY CAMERA. IT HAS TAKEN HIGH QUALITY PICTURES AND LOOKS GREAT WHEN PRINTED WITH A HIGH RESOLUTION.
10/14/2005 9:45:29 PM
 
Col Smith 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:22:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:22:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:22:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:22:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:22:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good for close-up work with a macro lens.. Light, take anywhere, good all round digital camera
9/13/2005 8:22:50 AM
 
John R. Bennett 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:09:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:09:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:09:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:09:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:09:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i have two cameras,the canon a40 digital is a great camera,i love the multifunction function of the f-stops and especially the macro mode.the minolta maxum 5 slr has the eye start that is great along with the self programs you can put into it.
8/24/2005 3:09:44 AM
 
Keng Woo Cheah
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 6:10:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 6:10:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 6:10:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 6:10:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 6:10:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good 2 Megapixel camera. Not so good for taking low lighting subject. Good macro mode for taking close picture. Color balance is a bit warm but this can be adjusted in Photoshop or other photo editing software.
8/16/2005 6:10:14 PM
 
Matt E. Rogers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/10/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 12:44:49 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 12:44:49 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 12:44:49 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 12:44:49 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 12:44:49 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
My point and shoot.
7/25/2005 12:44:49 PM
 
Russell  B. Muren 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:05:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:05:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:05:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:05:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:05:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the only digital camera i own i have had it for 5 years. it has served me very well.
7/22/2005 11:05:25 PM
 
Ole K. Valle 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 1:03:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 1:03:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 1:03:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 1:03:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 1:03:22 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The company camera I use time to time. It is OK to use, but could have mor mp
7/18/2005 1:03:22 PM
 
Rachel E. Rodriguez 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:45:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:45:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:45:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:45:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:45:35 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a pretty good camera....
6/13/2005 9:45:35 AM
 
Bojan Bencic
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2005
Contact Bojan
Bojan's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:38:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:38:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:38:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:38:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:38:33 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very good quality pictures for just 2 MPix. Overall very good beginner camera.
5/29/2005 7:38:33 AM
 
Stacy B. Gartner 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:56:27 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:56:27 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:56:27 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:56:27 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:56:27 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
too little megapixel for bigger pictres but for overall ease of use and "just" a family camera would recommend. Good buy for the money....in 2002.
5/16/2005 1:56:27 PM
 
John Donnelly 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 12:31:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 12:31:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 12:31:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 12:31:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 12:31:09 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good starter camera. Not an SLR and resolution so-so at 4.0 MP
5/15/2005 12:31:09 AM
 
Nicole K. Rumbaugh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/6/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 5:20:52 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 5:20:52 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 5:20:52 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 5:20:52 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 5:20:52 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Its only a 2 megapixel camera, but it works good. The only bad thing about it is that the quality and speed isnt very good, but it can still take very decent photos.
5/8/2005 5:20:52 PM
 
Darwin R. Valera 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 10:10:48 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 10:10:48 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 10:10:48 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 10:10:48 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 10:10:48 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's my first digital camera. I love the sympicity of it
4/28/2005 10:10:48 AM
 
Gin E. Keaton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:31:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:31:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:31:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:31:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:31:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really liked this camera but sold it. It had great images, clarity and video. A good starter camera for those just stepping into digital.
4/16/2005 7:31:19 PM
 
Shawn Jennings
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2005
Contact Shawn
Shawn's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:38:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:38:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:38:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:38:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:38:42 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
One of the best point and shoot digital cameras in it's class. Takes extremely clear pictures with balanced lighting. Have used for two years and have had excellent results.
3/17/2005 6:38:42 AM
 
Charles Granger 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:27:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:27:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:27:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:27:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:27:45 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A great starter for the digital photographer. Decent manual controls, but this camera lacks severely in the aperture and focal length departments. Night and low-light shots are very noisy but that can usually be compensated for in Photoshop. It's a fun camera to play with and publish images to the web, but for professional images that require substantial size and quality, look somewhere else.
3/3/2005 3:27:45 AM
 
Sheila Buhr 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:37:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:37:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:37:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:37:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:37:06 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It takes pretty good pictures but would like sharper ones from it.
2/19/2005 10:37:06 AM
 
Debra Sue Prins 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:44:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:44:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:44:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:44:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:44:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For family photos and just playing around this is the perfect camera with great zoom ability.
2/17/2005 4:44:29 PM
 
Brooke A. Goss 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 6:38:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 6:38:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 6:38:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 6:38:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 6:38:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It takes amazing pictures! I get compliments all the time on my pictures.
2/8/2005 6:38:45 PM
 
Kim T. Plonsky 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 9:00:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 9:00:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 9:00:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 9:00:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 9:00:14 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is capable of taking amazing photographs, even though it's only 2 megapixels. It would be nice if it had a larger viewing screen, like the newer cameras have.
1/23/2005 9:00:14 AM
 
Benjamin T. Perkins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/22/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2004 8:02:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2004 8:02:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2004 8:02:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2004 8:02:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2004 8:02:55 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
A good start for a cheap price. It takes really good night shots without the flash!
12/22/2004 8:02:55 PM
 
Natanis Davidsen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/6/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 2:51:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 2:51:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 2:51:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 2:51:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 2:51:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my Canon Camera and will buy no other brand. I would however like more megapixels!!
11/16/2004 2:51:42 PM
 
Anne Tiffany
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:23:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:23:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:23:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:23:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:23:59 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great throw-it-in-your purse and take it everywhere camera. Excellent first camera. Can add lenses (telephoto, closeup) and underwater case.
11/4/2004 5:23:59 AM
 
Eric B. Fannin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:14:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:14:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:14:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:14:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:14:21 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It would be nice if it had a feature to hold the shutter open indefintely, so I can take Star Trails.
10/9/2004 4:14:21 PM
 
Kendyl  Mattson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:30:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera. Everytime I use it I find something else I like about it. It's been really great.
9/30/2004 1:30:33 PM
 
Russell P. Hackett 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 6:54:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 6:54:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 6:54:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 6:54:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 6:54:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is very easy to use. It's battery usage is minimal. It's a very good overall camera.
9/20/2004 6:54:06 AM
 
Kimberly  L. Trevino 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 9:14:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 9:14:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 9:14:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 9:14:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 9:14:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it, and the quality is very good since I have practiced with it for 2 years now.
9/4/2004 9:14:42 AM
 
Pat Welsh 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:06:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:06:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:06:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:06:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:06:26 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first camara , for the money it as been a good one .
8/23/2004 5:06:26 PM
 
Jaimee D. Kamburelis 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 11:30:22 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 11:30:22 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 11:30:22 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 11:30:22 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 11:30:22 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
excellent camera for snapshots good for printing, but only a 2 mp camera.
7/15/2004 11:30:22 AM
 
Dave B. Allen 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 8:14:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 8:14:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 8:14:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 8:14:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 8:14:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camara was quite cheap. I can take it diving with my underwater housing. I can make short movies.
7/15/2004 8:14:48 AM
 
Aaro Keipi 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 2:07:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 2:07:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 2:07:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 2:07:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 2:07:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good stuff when it came out, replaced it with the A60.
5/20/2004 2:07:03 PM
 
Eric T. Lachey 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 1:24:49 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 1:24:49 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 1:24:49 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 1:24:49 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 1:24:49 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a great camera for the cost. Just look at my photo's they speak for the camera, and the artist...
5/1/2004 1:24:49 PM
 
Angela M. Perdicaro 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 11:38:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 11:38:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 11:38:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 11:38:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 11:38:54 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I bought my digital camera in October 2002. It take good pictures, but when the ski is blue, the camera records it as being white. It does a job with greens. I also don't like the delay.
4/29/2004 11:38:54 AM
 
Nelly B. Martinez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:01:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:01:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:01:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:01:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:01:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pretty good for me.
4/23/2004 7:01:01 PM
 
Georgina Meyne 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 1:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 1:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 1:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 1:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 1:05:55 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good Camera, been using it for over a year and it gives good pictures. Even though I have a 64MB CF card, which normally allows about 70-80 snaps to be printed (thats what I have been told) in my camera I had shot 540snaps and all even though I used them on the lowest resolution they came out good. The Kodak printer was surprised with the quality of snaps that came out
4/15/2004 1:05:55 AM
 
Richard Unten 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 2:02:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 2:02:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 2:02:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 2:02:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 2:02:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
As a point and shoot digital camera, it's great. I wish I had an SLR though.
2/12/2004 2:02:51 PM
 
Al G. Juniarsam
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:46:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:46:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:46:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:46:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:46:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
There's no completely manual setting of this camera.
1/28/2004 7:46:33 AM
 
Al G. Juniarsam
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:43:27 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:43:27 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:43:27 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:43:27 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 7:43:27 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my fisrt digital camera. I love to take pictures from this camera actually for snapshot.
1/28/2004 7:43:27 AM
 
Patrick Cusher 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:06:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:06:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:06:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:06:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:06:01 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
An okay camera for quick snapshots. Fully manual operation is a plus here. I have problems with exposure control using the flash though.
1/2/2004 10:06:01 PM
 
Patrick Cusher 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:04:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:04:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:04:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:04:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:04:55 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
An okay camera for quick snapshots. Fully manual operation is a plus here. I have problems with exposure control using the flash though.
1/2/2004 10:04:55 PM
 
Chris Phelps 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 8:33:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 8:33:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 8:33:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 8:33:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 8:33:57 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Pretty good overall camera but lacks in zoom.
12/31/2003 8:33:57 PM
 
Lana M. Montano 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Belive it not the camera that matters .
12/20/2003 12:30:11 PM
 
Lana M. Montano 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:30:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Belive it not the camera that matters .
12/20/2003 12:30:10 PM
 
Lana M. Montano 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:27:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:27:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:27:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:27:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 12:27:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My Camera could better, but i believ its not the camera that matter.
12/20/2003 12:27:45 PM
 
Steve Trauth 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 10:26:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 10:26:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 10:26:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 10:26:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 10:26:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Being only a 2.0 Megalpixel model this camera - is extremely versatile - the only knock on it - and it is not really the camera's fault -- it is very hard to see the image display in daylight -- something to work around
12/5/2003 10:26:08 PM
 
Mette Mikkelsen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 3:42:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 3:42:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 3:42:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 3:42:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 3:42:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great variety of options, good optical zoom, Easy to use.
11/8/2003 3:42:40 AM
 
Beth A. Dannemiller 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 4:54:35 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 4:54:35 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 4:54:35 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 4:54:35 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 4:54:35 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I borrowed this camera. Wasn't a big fan of it.
11/2/2003 4:54:35 PM
 
Kevin A. Pfanstiel 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 10:32:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 10:32:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 10:32:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 10:32:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 10:32:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a good point and shoot camera. I really want a better camera for some semi-professional/amateur photographing, but overall it is good for family events, or as a pocket camera.
10/4/2003 10:32:37 AM
 
Randolph Pridgen Jr. 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 2:26:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 2:26:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 2:26:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 2:26:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 2:26:30 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the ease of using the camera.
9/28/2003 2:26:30 AM
 
Om Apte 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2003 9:44:51 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2003 9:44:51 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2003 9:44:51 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2003 9:44:51 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2003 9:44:51 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
The Canon Powershot A40 has given me great results till date. It is good camera for starters and mid level photographers.
8/31/2003 9:44:51 PM
 
Dominique N. Beaudet 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 4:49:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 4:49:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 4:49:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 4:49:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 4:49:13 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It was a gift, so I'm not complaining in the least. It's been a great companion for creativity. Although I love traditional film photography, I absolutely love the free-wheeling creativity a digital camera seems to allow me, i.e. no more feeling like I have to be careful not to waste film on a shot that may not work out. The only bad thing I've encountered with my digital camera so far, is the obnoxious delay time between shots. I've missed some pretty nice candids because of this flaw.
8/26/2003 4:49:13 PM
 
Jim C. Crout 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:25:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:25:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:25:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:25:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:25:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simple and easy to use. User friendly is an understatement
8/20/2003 2:25:08 PM
 
Janet Owens 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 9:52:14 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 9:52:14 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 9:52:14 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 9:52:14 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 9:52:14 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Easy to use on automatic settings - a little more difficult on the manual settings. It's only 2mp, so not the best quality, but a great starter camera...
8/2/2003 9:52:14 AM
 
Julius Falvey 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 12:29:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 12:29:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 12:29:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 12:29:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 12:29:59 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I've had this camera for about a year. In that short time I've come to love it. Its combined opticle/digital zoom is 7.5X and takes impressive 2.0 megapixal pictures for the moderate camera price. A set of batteries lasts longer than in my last digicam. The A40 may not be the best but it is tops in its price range.
7/21/2003 12:29:59 PM
 
Jaimie M. Lull 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 6:38:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 6:38:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 6:38:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 6:38:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 6:38:14 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The A40 is a great camera for beginning photographers with a budget. There is more manual setting than I expected, but the image almost always comes out too blurry. I actually point my camera through a telephoto lens to get closeups. Overall, this camera is the best for the money
7/7/2003 6:38:14 PM
 
Colin (Conk) 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:19:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:19:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:19:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:19:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:19:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I gave this camera such a high score simply because it is the best bang for the buck. The only thing I would like to have seen in this camera is another option instead of the never used video mode.
6/30/2003 10:19:39 PM
 
Nicky de B
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/28/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 7:05:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 7:05:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 7:05:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 7:05:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 7:05:04 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The A40 has a little more manual control than the average point and shoot, but it's basically still a point and shoot. The macro capabilities are really poor and you NEED to buy some close-up lenses to get an average macro shot. Compared to better cameras the image quality isnt that great, but when you think of it in terms of the resolution only being 1.92 then it does great. For the person that just wants to take snapshots this is a great camera, for first time digital buyers with a cost limit then this is a good purchase. I've had mine for 6 months and just starting to feel like I've outgrown it.
6/26/2003 7:05:04 AM
 
Jaimie M. Lull 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:10:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:10:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:10:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:10:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:10:26 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is great for beginner and intermediate photographers.
6/17/2003 7:10:26 PM
 
Krista  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:58:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:58:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:58:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:58:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:58:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I was very surprised at some of the pictures I got. I actually entered them in contests!!! I didn't think a digital camera was capable of really good pictures. I also like being able to print wallet size to 8x10's at home sending them to my relatives. And they love getting photos seasonally... I like being able to delete photos and having the option of manipulating on the computer them without having to lose quality in scanning them.
6/17/2003 4:58:47 PM
 
Krista  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:54:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:54:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:54:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:54:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:54:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I was very surprised at some of the pictures I got. I actually entered them in contests!!! I didn't think a digital camera was capable of really good pictures. I also like being able to print wallet size to 8x10's at home sending them to my relatives. And they love getting photos seasonally... I like being able to delete photos and having the option of manipulating on the computer them without having to lose quality in scanning them.
6/17/2003 4:54:55 PM
 

65 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot A40 Digital Camera from Amazon.com