PowerShot A530 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Masa
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A530 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 5.0-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x 17-inch prints
  • 4x optical zoom; 1.8-inch LCD display
  • ISO 800 shooting; widescreen (16:9) stills recording
  • DIGIC II and iSAPS for fast, precise results; VGA-quality movie mode with
    sound

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kyla M. Russell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2007
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2008 12:58:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2008 12:58:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2008 12:58:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2008 12:58:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2008 12:58:17 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera does what I want it to, but sometimes Im a bit let down with the lack of sharpness. This is, so far, the best camera Ive had even though its not that great. Its easy to carry around because of the small size. Easy menu's, and simple manual settings, which is all I use anymore.
8/11/2008 12:58:17 AM
 
Kevin Palmer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2007 2:38:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2007 2:38:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2007 2:38:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2007 2:38:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2007 2:38:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I researched many cameras before choosing this one. This one seemed to have all the features a beginning photographer needs. It has easy to access manual controls. The only reason I didn't give it a five is because there is such a small f-stop range in Manual mode. Now, I would recommend the Canon Powershot A550 since it's basically the same camera, just more megapixels and a bigger screen. But I still use my A530 every day and will continue to use it until I buy my first SLR.
1/29/2007 2:38:46 PM
 
Jennifer L. Bellino
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/28/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2006 5:45:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2006 5:45:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2006 5:45:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2006 5:45:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2006 5:45:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is my second digital camera. It is affordable and it does have a lot of features and special effects. I have found that I can focus in on things better manually rather than auto focus and macro settings. I think that the picture quality is decent for the price that you pay.
9/26/2006 5:45:17 PM
 
Liandra M. Barry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/30/2005
photobyliandra.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2006 8:17:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2006 8:17:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2006 8:17:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2006 8:17:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2006 8:17:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It does what I need it to do. Sometimes my big lenses don't fit in some places, this one will. Perfect as a back up and for short videos. A lot smaller than my SLR so I can carry around all the time.
8/12/2006 8:17:05 AM
 
anonymous  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:24:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:24:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:24:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:24:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:24:12 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's not as good as the Nikon Coolpix. But I've taken some good shots. Sometimes the focus is off.
7/6/2006 12:24:12 PM
 
Rosemary C. Bacawag 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:19:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:19:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:19:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:19:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:19:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera!
7/4/2006 8:19:08 PM
 
Pat M. Adams 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:59:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:59:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:59:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:59:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:59:56 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my first digital camera. It was a gift. I really like it but there is sooo much to learn.
6/14/2006 1:59:56 PM
 
Pawan Jain 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 12:17:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 12:17:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 12:17:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 12:17:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 12:17:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Canon A530 is a good camera, has got almost all the features which you can ask for in a good digital camera.
6/4/2006 12:17:19 PM
 

8 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot A530 Digital Camera from Amazon.com