BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Shenandoah Sunris...
View photos created with this camera

The Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera

Features:

  • 6.0-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 14 x 19-inch
    prints
  • 12x optical zoom lens with USM and UD lens element; 2.0-inch vari-angle LCD
    display
  • 20 shooting modes and My Colors photo effects
  • DIGIC II, iSAPS, and Flexizone AF/AE for fast, precise results;
    2.3-frame-per-second continuous shooting performance

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


21 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Christine Y. Stooksbury
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/16/2008
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a great camera. Not like my Nikon coolpix 880 that I had at one time. But it does the job for now.
6/16/2008 5:14:25 PM
 
Yuri Persion
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'd give it 5 if not for its quite pronounced chromatic aberration and blooming. Other than that, it a great camera, especially in tandem with Sony 1.7 teleconverter (requires an adapter). It is hard to beat 735mm stabilized zoom!
11/29/2007 7:46:58 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Of my four Canon Cameras, this is my go to camera. The majority of my phototaking is with the S3 and I now prefer its rapid easy point and shoot operation over my XTi which I find very similar in operation. It meets any challange for me up to it's telephoto strength. For any further shots I then use my XTi with the 70X300mm lens.
10/16/2007 2:43:38 AM
 
Jennifer K. LaBouff
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/24/2007
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use, but has limitations. Of all my Canon cameras this has been my least favorite.
9/4/2007 7:56:11 PM
 
Jerry J. Fictum

member since: 12/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is my first real camera, had it for bout 7 months. I love it.
8/29/2007 12:30:19 AM
 
Rahul Sharma
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/15/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent feature rich Camera with good results but I have felt few limitations which are below:
No RAW Format
DOF limited to F8
Macro and Super Macro modes are not really very good.
Maximum resolution is 180X180
Canon with their technical expertise could have made this better.
7/27/2007 11:58:36 PM
 
Jim A. Carlson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/18/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! for the price you can't beat it and the pictures it takes.
5/29/2007 8:01:41 PM
 
Dev Bhavsar

member since: 4/11/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like it, great camera!!!!!!
pl see
http://dev-bhavsar.blogspot.com

bye, tk cr

4/11/2007 9:25:26 PM
 
Dev Bhavsar

member since: 4/11/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like it, great camera!!!!!!
pl see
http://dev-bhavsar.blogspot.com

bye, tk cr

4/11/2007 9:24:59 PM
 
Lynn Haack
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/10/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is excellent!! The super macro settings produce excellent quality images - with tripod. Very crisp, detailed photos. Fantastic array of special effects and features...like being in a camera- candy store! This camera has produced excellent, high quality, professional looking portraits. I have had a lot of fun learning how to use it. Nice camera for someone learning digital photography for the price or as an easy to use back-up dig cam to SLR.
3/24/2007 7:35:52 PM
 
Joey Thompson

member since: 3/7/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The auto settings are great, however I tend to use the custom settings. I have taken over 1000 photos the last month, and only a couple of of them have I used flash. The camera is so good, it hardly needs flash. If you are making 4X6 photos, you can use the higher ISO settings. The zoom is very smooth and there is no "choppyness" when you move the camera around in the LCD or zooming. Who needs an SLR when you have this?
3/7/2007 11:02:03 AM
 
Cory Byrne
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/31/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is awesome...especially considering that I have only used point-and-shoots up until my purchase of this. The "super macro" feature is my favorite thing as well as the image stabalization. My only criticism is that some pictures taken in imperfect light can come out grainy and are in need of a little photoshopping in order to lose some of that graininess. Other than that, this thing is perfect.
1/2/2007 1:52:03 PM
 
Marissa D. S

member since: 10/29/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just love it. I think it's great because I can set it on manual and control my settings. I was very worried about going digital but now I'm very happy I did and it's because of this camera. I just love the stitch feature, I can make my own panoramic and you can't tell they were stitched together!! Great value for the money!
11/14/2006 4:29:21 PM
 
Bill Wyatt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best non DSLR I have used and it is a good as some of the cheap DSLRs on the market. It has a great IS system and 12x zoom. The color and image quality is fantastic. It is loaded with features too. It will shoot over two frames per second which I find amazing since shutter lag was always a problem with Digicams I have owned in the past. I love the movie mode it is incredible. I bought a Sandisk Ultra2 SD card to go with it which lets me shoot all day since it shoots JPEG only no Raw format. I don't mind it not shooting Raw because the JPEG quality is so good and the price of the camera is so low. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone wanting to get into the digital game and is on a low budget or needs a camera to put in the glove box like me. I also recommend buying a quick charger and an 8 pack of recharge-able AA's. This is a fantastic camera for the money!
11/11/2006 7:02:21 PM
 
Brian Greer

member since: 9/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great value - with telephoto, you can easily get some great selective DOF, not usually easy with compact digicams, aside from just filling the frame.

Tips: when holding it, don't cover the sensor with your finger. Some report too-fast zoom - just use a light touch and zoom will be super slow. Out of the box, I set the EV for -1/3 to -2/3 as default to match exposure of most other cameras. (as I do when encountering other powershots)

Wish EVF had a tad more resolution, but works ok if you concentrate on composition. Its a keeper for me...


9/27/2006 4:08:25 AM
 
Rayan 1881

member since: 9/21/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It looks great compare with it's price.
9/21/2006 5:52:25 PM
 
Sam M. Hoar

member since: 5/4/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera. Filled with functions, good IQ.
6/18/2006 12:07:53 PM
 
Rebecca M. Rasmussen

member since: 3/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the Canon S3 IS for still lifes but I am still working on the action pictures.
6/16/2006 6:16:53 AM
 
Chelsea Theriault

member since: 4/14/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am in love with this camera.
6/13/2006 11:57:51 AM
 
Kimberly Joyner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/4/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It does not take a rocket scientist to figure it out. Hahahahahah
6/5/2006 1:17:23 PM
 
Lyndon Guy

member since: 3/10/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The S3 seems to be a pretty nice tool for the cost. Very comprehensive set of features and very convenient to carry around, compared to a DSLR. I find it going with me a lot more places than my DSLRs do. It is noisy though, at any ISO over 200.
5/23/2006 6:41:56 PM
 

21 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.