Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Shenandoah Sunris...
View photos created with this camera

The Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera

Features:

  • 6.0-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 14 x 19-inch
    prints
  • 12x optical zoom lens with USM and UD lens element; 2.0-inch vari-angle LCD
    display
  • 20 shooting modes and My Colors photo effects
  • DIGIC II, iSAPS, and Flexizone AF/AE for fast, precise results;
    2.3-frame-per-second continuous shooting performance

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Christine Y. Stooksbury
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/16/2008
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2008 5:14:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2008 5:14:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2008 5:14:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2008 5:14:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2008 5:14:25 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a great camera. Not like my Nikon coolpix 880 that I had at one time. But it does the job for now.
6/16/2008 5:14:25 PM
 
Yuri Persion
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2007 7:46:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2007 7:46:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2007 7:46:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2007 7:46:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2007 7:46:58 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'd give it 5 if not for its quite pronounced chromatic aberration and blooming. Other than that, it a great camera, especially in tandem with Sony 1.7 teleconverter (requires an adapter). It is hard to beat 735mm stabilized zoom!
11/29/2007 7:46:58 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 2:43:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 2:43:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 2:43:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 2:43:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 2:43:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Of my four Canon Cameras, this is my go to camera. The majority of my phototaking is with the S3 and I now prefer its rapid easy point and shoot operation over my XTi which I find very similar in operation. It meets any challange for me up to it's telephoto strength. For any further shots I then use my XTi with the 70X300mm lens.
10/16/2007 2:43:38 AM
 
Jennifer K. LaBouff
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/24/2007
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 7:56:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 7:56:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 7:56:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 7:56:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 7:56:11 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use, but has limitations. Of all my Canon cameras this has been my least favorite.
9/4/2007 7:56:11 PM
 
Jerry J. Fictum 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2007 12:30:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2007 12:30:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2007 12:30:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2007 12:30:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2007 12:30:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is my first real camera, had it for bout 7 months. I love it.
8/29/2007 12:30:19 AM
 
Rahul Sharma
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/15/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:58:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:58:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:58:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:58:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:58:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent feature rich Camera with good results but I have felt few limitations which are below:
No RAW Format
DOF limited to F8
Macro and Super Macro modes are not really very good.
Maximum resolution is 180X180
Canon with their technical expertise could have made this better.
7/27/2007 11:58:36 PM
 
Jim A. Carlson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/18/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 8:01:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 8:01:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 8:01:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 8:01:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 8:01:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! for the price you can't beat it and the pictures it takes.
5/29/2007 8:01:41 PM
 
Dev Bhavsar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:25:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:25:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:25:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:25:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:25:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like it, great camera!!!!!!
pl see
http://dev-bhavsar.blogspot.com

bye, tk cr

4/11/2007 9:25:26 PM
 
Dev Bhavsar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:24:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:24:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:24:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:24:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2007 9:24:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like it, great camera!!!!!!
pl see
http://dev-bhavsar.blogspot.com

bye, tk cr

4/11/2007 9:24:59 PM
 
Lynn Haack
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/10/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2007 7:35:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2007 7:35:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2007 7:35:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2007 7:35:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2007 7:35:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is excellent!! The super macro settings produce excellent quality images - with tripod. Very crisp, detailed photos. Fantastic array of special effects and features...like being in a camera- candy store! This camera has produced excellent, high quality, professional looking portraits. I have had a lot of fun learning how to use it. Nice camera for someone learning digital photography for the price or as an easy to use back-up dig cam to SLR.
3/24/2007 7:35:52 PM
 
Joey Thompson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 11:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 11:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 11:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 11:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 11:02:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The auto settings are great, however I tend to use the custom settings. I have taken over 1000 photos the last month, and only a couple of of them have I used flash. The camera is so good, it hardly needs flash. If you are making 4X6 photos, you can use the higher ISO settings. The zoom is very smooth and there is no "choppyness" when you move the camera around in the LCD or zooming. Who needs an SLR when you have this?
3/7/2007 11:02:03 AM
 

First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera from Amazon.com