BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online PhotoCourse™ - Impact in Your Photos: Getting the Wow Response with Rob Sheppard

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Impact in Your Photographs: The Wow Factor Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Rob Sheppard
Impact in Your Photographs: The Wow Factor

Photograph for maximum impact and create images that cause your viewers to say "WOW!". This exciting online course is taught by Rob Sheppard, photographer, author and editor. In just 8 weeks, you'll find your photography jumping up a notch, as you learn to work with your camera and see new images, all with the guidance of an experienced digital photographer. Rob is the author of such books as The National Geographic Field Guide to Photography: Digital and Adobe Camera Raw for Digital Photographers Only, and is the longtime editor of Outdoor Photographer magazine.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Impact in Your Photographs: The Wow Factor


44 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
As always, Rob, provides quality material that is thoughtful along with eye opening examples and critiques that challenge you to look beyond the usual and ordinary. I highly recommend Rob's courses. If you learn to see a little the way he does, you will advance to having a true photographers eye.
3/26/2014 6:04:55 AM
 
Mary A. Foley

member since: 1/15/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob, I have learned so much from this course. Your lessons were easy to follow and your critiques were very helpful. This course definitely made me step out of my comfort zone because flowers/trees are my most frequent subjects. I know I will be looking at my garden differently when more color starts to show up. Daffodils are definitely telling me they are ready for spring! So too are the grape hyacinths, some tulips and the poppies! There is always something going on in my yard! After the color appears I know that I will appreciate overcast conditions more than I do in January and February.
3/6/2012 8:10:18 PM
 
Glenn Marcus
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/1/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It was a good course. I was a bit worried with the first pre-read lesson. My concern that this was going to be a photoshop the heck out of pictures was put to rest. It is all about taking good pictures, and then using post production tools as needed, or wanted.

Some of the comments on Rob by previous students were a bit rough, and based based on the feedback he gave me, not called for.

Good course, good instructors, and I have even signed up for a course to start in April -- Landscape Photography.

Thanks

2/27/2012 9:14:16 PM
 
Glenn Marcus
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/1/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It was a good course. I was a bit worried with the first pre-read lesson. My concern that this was going to be a photoshop the heck out of pictures was put to rest. It is all about taking good pictures, and then using post production tools as needed, or wanted.

Some of the comments on Rob by previous students were a bit rough, and based based on the feedback he gave me, not called for.

Good course, good instructors, and I have even signed up for a course to start in April -- Landscape Photography.

Thanks

2/27/2012 9:14:14 PM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like the very detailed instructions and the very thorough critique you get - go for it, you will learn something.
2/27/2012 3:42:08 PM
 
Ruth Panken
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Ruth
Ruth's Gallery

member since: 5/24/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the third course I have taken with Rob Shepard. Every course I took I learned many new photo skills. Sometimes you are not aware of what you learned until the course is over. I have been using many of the new techniques that I learned from the various courses, This was the first 8 session course and I also learned new ways to look at photo's I am taking. Rob responses to the photo's I submitted every week was very helpful. Thanks you Rob for a great course and for your insightful responses.
1/11/2012 6:25:28 PM
 
Mike Bachman
BetterPhoto Member
mbachmanphotography.com

member since: 5/27/2009
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Mr. Sheppard is an experienced photographer. His lesson plans are well designed and the instructions clear. Many of the techniques taught in this course will prove valuable to me in the future.
However, I think Mr. Sheppard’s teaching techniques require some modifications. I encourage serious criticism of my photographs: for me it is the best way to learn. I was not looking for meaningless platitudes but after each lesson I found it was the negative comments that stuck with me even when he had pleasing things to say. They were not the sort of comments that encouraged me to improve. A teacher should be able to motivate and he didn’t do that for me. I also think there were too many “I’s” in his sentences and not enough “You’s”. Lessons should be totally student oriented not teacher centered. Furthermore, I don’t think he suggested frequently enough ways in which the students could improve their photographs. It is not enough to say this photo is overexposed or not sharp enough. A teacher must also demonstrate ways to improve the photograph. In the last few lessons he did this more frequently showing the effects of better cropping or a different saturation and even suggesting alternatives.
This is the seventh course I have taken at Betterphoto. I have received instruction from Jennifer Wu, Brenda Tharp, Kerry Drager and William Neil. They are all excellent teachers who criticized my photographs leaving me with good feelings about myself as a photographer and a strong desire to improve. I didn’t have these same feelings after completing Mr. Sheppard’s course.
In my opinion Mr. Sheppard should rethink his teaching style. He is a knowledgeable photographer but that is only one aspect of teaching and maybe not even the most important one. I do admit that I learned new techniques that will help me become a better photographer and I thank Mr. Sheppard for that.

Mike Bachman

11/9/2011 7:06:40 AM
 
Elizabeth A. Breedlove
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for the individualized attention you gave to my photographs and questions! You never gave a set answer that emphasized an obvious mistake without giving suggestions on how to improve the shot. I especially appreciated your alternate crops of my photos and your suggestions for photo editing. I learned a great deal from your critiques of other students' work and was very impressed that you watched the Q&A comments and interacted with those, following up on another student's comment. ... Looking at my photos of the week I can see that I really did learn to take photos with impact and that I have a new way of thinking about composing a shot. This course was the best of the three that I have taken with BetterPhoto.com. I will certainly take another of your courses. ... Again, many thanks for a rewarding experience!
9/9/2011 1:01:16 PM
 
Mark R. Glick

member since: 6/18/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have taken several other classes, nd I really enjoyed this class and found it very helpful. The lessons were explained very clearly, and covered a broad range of ideas. Definately helped me take better pictures. Bob was very direct in his critiques, but I liked that. I learned a tremendous amount from his points, and appreciated his directness. I would say that there were times when he seemed a bit overly negative, but I didn't mind that
9/7/2011 4:39:26 PM
 
Utila Matzke
Contact Utila
Utila's Gallery

member since: 12/1/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first BetterPhoto course and I am very happy that I decided to take it. I learned so much from the lessons and from the critiques. It was sometimes challenging and I had to work hard and I enjoyed it. I am sure I'll take another course.
Thank you very much Rob
9/1/2011 6:14:14 PM
 
Peter-Paul Kissels

member since: 4/9/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Thank you Rob for this stimulating course and your very enlightening comments. They were always spot-on. I learned a lot from your well-put feedback and the feedback from fellow-students. I found the lessons challenging and inspiring.
7/6/2011 12:48:23 PM
 
Karen C. Shockley
Contact Karen
Karen's Gallery

member since: 7/28/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for all your guidance during this course, Rob! I have found the lessons very thorough - and quite challenging, too. In fact, I often asked myself, "What am I doing in this class?" when I saw the quality of work produced by the other students. However, I have found myself on a huge learning curve and can do some things now that I would not have dreamed I could do before I took this class.

I am most appreciative of your feedback and that of the other students in the class. I will definitely enroll in more your your classes! Thanks again!

7/6/2011 8:43:24 AM
 
Barbara L. Ferrini
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/14/2009
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
This is not the first course I took at betterphoto.com but it may be my last. I found the critique of Mr Sheppard so negative and off putting, that I didn't finish the course. His style is so offensive, that even a good review sounded negative to me.
If I were to take another course it would definetly not be one by Mr Sheppard
7/6/2011 5:39:44 AM
 
Nancy O. Henry
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/17/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A fabulous class! Rob's lessons were well written and full of content. Assignments were straight forward and tailored to all levels. For me, highlights of the course were Rob's thoughtful critiques. In some cases he reworked photos to make his point and for others he provided rich resources of further info. The interaction between students was also a bonus.

Since no "Part II" of this course is offered, I am considering repeating it...it was THAT good!

7/5/2011 6:54:25 PM
 
Kayla D. Stevenson
BetterPhoto Member
kaylastevenson-photography.com

member since: 8/6/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a challenging course, as I had hoped it would be, and I learned a lot. Rob Sheppard provided good thorough lessons and visual examples, along with great supplementary material. His critiques were detailed, honest and direct. The course was well organized, with a new topic in each lesson. Each assignment was specific, with enough latitude that I could complete it, even while on the road traveling. Thanks Rob for a great learning experience in your course.
5/14/2011 9:10:39 PM
 
John C. Sun
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/30/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my 3rd class with Rob Sheppard. This course is interesting, different and refreshing. The emphasis here is not on taking pretty postcard photos, but rather, to learn how to take pictures that will stop a viewer in their tracks. He shows how to use various techniques to achieve this goal without neglecting the meaningful aspects of photography.

Rob's critiques are straightforward, to the point, and ALWAYS provide ways to improve the shot. He seems to just know exactly what is missing from the shot.

4/8/2011 12:32:44 PM
 
John C. Sun
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/30/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my 3rd class with Rob Sheppard. This course is interesting, different and refreshing. The emphasis here is not on taking pretty postcard photos, but rather, to learn how to take pictures that will stop a viewer in their tracks. He shows how to use various techniques to achieve this goal without neglecting the meaningful aspects of photography.

Rob's critiques are straightforward, to the point, and ALWAYS

4/8/2011 12:32:04 PM
 
Keith S. Safford

member since: 3/8/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome course. As one of the other reviewers said, I would like to take it over again as there is just a lot of material to digest and it is hard to remember everything all the time. Rob was great at providing feedback and reinforcing certain concepts.

As is the case with all BetterPhoto classes, I enjoy them all and love learning new stuff pertaining to my fun hobby of photography.

3/27/2011 12:54:22 PM
 
Lindley Johnson
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Lindley
Lindley's Gallery

member since: 8/18/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a terrific class! Each week a different concept was presented to show how to make photographs more interesting and have more impact. The lessons were well-written, with examples to illustrate the ideas. Rob answered questions in a timely fashion, and his critiques were excellent - always pointing out the good, and offering ideas for improvement. The other students were very active, which was a big plus for me. Rob always entered into the discussions among the students, as well. I really enjoyed this class!
11/17/2010 4:36:03 PM
 
alexander decoster
BetterPhoto Member
Contact alexander
alexander's Gallery

member since: 4/19/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This course is really a must for those who want to improve their techniques. Rob's lessons are well structured, with good examples and his feedback is excellent.
He can really push you to another level if you accept the critics and want to learn. The interaction in this class ( it's my lesson number 9) was of a very high level. This of course depends on your classmates, but I believe when you give yourself some feedback on another pictures it helps. And I mean contructive comments not simply " I love it, nice, etc" We are all here to learn so push your classmates also to improve by giving your input with technical questions and remarks.
Alexander.
11/12/2010 12:46:58 AM
 
Wiet Pruim

member since: 5/15/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my second BP course and it was Amazing. Rob's lessons were informative and very practical. His feedback and level of interaction were great. Many times he supported feedback with re worked images which really made his points come alive. The level of interaction between class mates was excellent. 5 Stars - Thoroughly Recommended.
11/5/2010 3:10:32 AM
 
Sheila Steele

member since: 10/23/2008
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Although there are many things right about this course, the one thing that turned me off was Rob's somewhat negative tone in his critique's. This is a rare thing at Better Photo as most instructors are very encouraging and I was somewhat surprised.
9/20/2010 10:55:09 PM
 
Manny Kagan

member since: 8/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob helped me to look at my photos from different angle. His reviews were direct and to the point. I am going to repeat exercises on my own thinking "what Rob would comment on my image". Thank You.
9/3/2010 7:14:31 PM
 
Robert Mc Donald
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/11/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good Course, learned a lot of interesting techniques. Overall very satisfied with the product
8/25/2010 8:03:15 PM
 
Samantha A. Franz
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/6/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course. Direct, clear instruction. Concise, constructive critiques. Over the course of these 8 weeks I have found myself integrating techniques from the class to improve the impact in my photographs. I'd recommend this course to anyone looking for the next class to take at Better Photo.
7/7/2010 11:47:55 AM
 
Robert W. Dugre
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/8/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course helped me identify some things that I hadn't considered when creating "Wow" in my photos. I learned a great deal and found Rob's feedback on all the photos to be invaluable. My photography will clearly benefit from having completed this course.
7/7/2010 11:10:43 AM
 
George R. Thomson
Contact George
George's Gallery

member since: 3/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Worth the money. The instruction was clear and relevant; the assignments were challenging and inspiring; and the criticisms were detailed and to the point.
Rob is a conscientious teacher, taking time to do a thorough job of criticizing each photograph. I particularly appreciated being told where something could have been done better and how to set about it. A mere pat on the back doesn't help one to take better pictures.
Thank you rob.
7/6/2010 3:25:24 PM
 
shawn personke

member since: 8/27/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
There was a ton of information to be learned...all good, all which I can utilize everytime I think about making a photo. I read every assignment at least twice, to make sure I absorbed it. I think my photography improved greatly because the assignments were challenging. The feedback was good. I would definitely recommend the class.
5/1/2010 12:07:53 PM
 
Douglas M. Pruden

member since: 10/2/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob, thank you for your direction in this course of study. I found your assignments and critiques insightful and very helpful. You have helped me in my growth as a photographer. I definitely think differently about my image making now than I did before the course started!
3/22/2010 9:35:09 AM
 
Barbara G. Staggs
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/5/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It has been a year now since I have taken the "Wow" course with Rob Sheperd.
I recently went back to its web site to review all of the critiques.
The help and insightful advice from Rob was the highlight of the course. Not only did he comment superbly on the way that the photos related to the topic, he included instruction on many ideas that were not necessarily an integral part of the lesson, such as proper white balance, etc.
I would recommend this class to anyone who appreciates a sincere and helpful critique of his or her images.
2/7/2010 8:42:15 AM
 
Nancy de Flon
Contact Nancy
Nancy's Gallery

member since: 9/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
You can never go wrong with a course from Rob. His critiques clearly point out what's good and what could be improved, and he is generous and prompt with his answers to queries. Take this course if you want to graduate from taking snapshots to making photographs!
6/14/2009 8:20:47 AM
 
Michael Heward

member since: 8/14/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really recommend this class. The lessons are well thought out with clear assignments. Most importantly I was impressed by the detail provided by Ron's instructive feedback. Several times he made the extra effort to touch up a photo to show how it can be improved.
I learnt how to go beyond the usual and take pictures to gain attention - even though this might break standard rules or ideas.
11/5/2008 3:18:57 PM
 
Sharon DeHayes
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course. I was a bit hesitant to sign up, because I'm fairly new to photography - but I feel Rob Shepphard's course really helped me learn about the importance of choosing my subject and using different techniques to take better photos. We had quite a bit of student interaction in the session I took, which also helped the learning process.
10/10/2008 4:21:37 PM
 
Emanuel O. Brams

member since: 6/10/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Although I have been doing photography for many years, I think I will take much better photos because of this course. The lessons were great and the critriques were very helpful. I tried techniques that I had never done before and really learned a lot about my new digital camera by doing the assignments. Thank you very much Rob.

Manny

8/16/2008 7:26:24 PM
 
Jennifer R. Rupp

member since: 1/10/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was a great class which really opened up a whole realm of new possiblities for my photography. I definately appreciated the critiques. Knowing if I fully understood a concept was invaluable to me. Thanks Rob for all your help!
6/10/2008 4:42:02 AM
 
Sue Josephsen

member since: 7/2/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was a great course. The lessons were clear and concise and the assignments challenging. Rob's critiques were excellent. They were very thorough and there was a nice balance of encouragement and suggestions for improvement.
1/7/2008 5:35:50 PM
 
Karen E. Baumann
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Karen
Karen's Gallery

member since: 9/10/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was excellent! From the easy to understand lessons to the critiques, I felt it was well organized, challenging and insightful. The assignments were straightforward; allowing us to zero in on certain techniques as we looked at impact in the shots. Rob gave us lots of examples of his own work within each lesson to use as a reference; his critiques were fair and so helpful. The class format was helpful too; allowing us to learn from all the students' shots and critiques as well as our own. I would highly recommend this course and I plan on taking another course from Rob!
12/5/2007 6:59:36 PM
 
Dennis Philps

member since: 12/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob's Sheppard's course was everything I hoped it would be and much, much more! His lessons were insightful, his assignments were challenging and his critiques insightful. He got me thinking 'outside the box' and challenged me to be a better photographer. Hopefully my work in the future will reflect what I have learned in this very helpful course! Thanks Rob! I would highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to take their photography to the next level! Dennis Philps
11/15/2007 7:19:37 AM
 
Janice G. Threlkeld

member since: 10/5/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
What a wonderful way to learn photograhy! In most workshops I've attended, it was mostly about techniques and not much on critique. I've enjoyed learning from Rob not only with my photography but from others in the class. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their photography knowledge, skills and artistic creativity. In fact I could take this course again and learn at another level.
12/6/2006 2:15:47 PM
 
Afke van den Hazel
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/10/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I never thought this course would have such an impact on me!The best part of the course for me was to learn how to look completely different to all kind of subjects and combine this with technique to create really nice photographs. Looking to photo's of my classmates and the critics is also very instructive. Anyway, I got my enthusiasm for photograpy back again! Thanks Rob for this great course!
12/3/2006 5:51:45 AM
 
Cindy L. Ledsome
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Cindy
Cindy's Gallery
cindyledsomephotography.com

member since: 10/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob is an excellent instructor, lessons were very good. The critiques were very beneficial to me in giving me a higher level of understanding of what makes a picture outstanding.
9/14/2006 4:03:05 AM
 
Sheldon Gottlieb

member since: 6/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an fabulous course. It delivered far more than it promised. In addition to showing me how to make my photographs more powerful, it expanded my vision and gave me a whole new prespective on photography. I highly recommend the course. I will take other courses taught by Rob.
9/2/2006 2:38:03 PM
 
Dan  Nash
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/19/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob,

Thank you very much for the best Betterphoto class I have taken yet. Your honest critiques have made and forced improvement with my photography. There has never been a reason why I had to question one of your critiques. Keep on doing what your doing and word will get around and your courses will fill up in hours (Kind of like a Rolling Stones concert). Being able to interact with a world renowned and respected man as you has been awesome. I made it a goal to meet you one day along time ago but I feel that this has been even better (Now if only Jimi Hendrix would teach a Betterguitar course). I know you are a very busy man and I thank you for taking time out of your schedule to provide this opportunity to the entire photography world.

Once again thank you very much,

Dan Nash

6/23/2006 5:41:43 PM
 
Marie Mans
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/30/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class greatly exceeded my expectations…..particularly appreciated Rob's unique gift to tune into each student's individual ability and vision. His encouraging and at the same time honest evaluations were most constructive and helpful. Also very useful were Rob's great tips on using Photoshop to bring my photographs closer to what I had seen.

If there was time, I would do this class all over again starting July…….. hope there will be later opportunities to take one of Rob's workshops. Marie Mans


6/10/2006 3:36:49 PM
 

44 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.