Cyber-shot DSC-H2 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Nature's Orna...
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-H2 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Supplied Accessories - AA NiMH Battery x2, BC-CS2 Battery Charger, Lens hood w/adaptor ring, Lens cap w/strap, AV - USB Cables, Shoulder Strap, Software CD-ROM, Note - No Memory Stick(R) DUO media or adapters are included
  • Uses 2 AA Batteries
  • 6 Megapixel for still and movie image
  • 32MB internal memory or slot for optional Memory Stick(R) DUO or Memory Stick(R) DUO PRO media (512MB or over recommended for practical use)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 14 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Elnora M. Lawson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2008 2:23:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2008 2:23:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2008 2:23:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2008 2:23:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2008 2:23:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I got this camera for xmas Sony cybershot DSC-H3 not the H2.. I love the camera 8.1 megapixels . Love the features the zoom takes great pic's.....
1/29/2008 2:23:09 PM
 
Michelle Jorgenson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2007 2:51:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2007 2:51:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2007 2:51:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2007 2:51:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2007 2:51:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I enjoy the camera very much. It can really take a great picture. I can't wait to look at the online course for this camera. It seems to be good for an amateur such as myself.
10/17/2007 2:51:58 PM
 
Aal Maruf
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 1:47:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 1:47:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 1:47:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 1:47:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 1:47:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
im a new user of this camera, and so far i'm happy with this. but in bangladesh this is that much difficult to have a lense and adaptor of sony. this is only the negative thing i've ever found from this camera.... ( or sony corp)
6/21/2007 1:47:18 AM
 
Bruce MCcorrister
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/2/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2007 10:33:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2007 10:33:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2007 10:33:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2007 10:33:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2007 10:33:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
S Barcelona, damn, that really blows ya had such a hassle with your Sony! Oviously got a defective product. Though I'm not as savvy as you on the technical aspects of a "good" digital camera, I'm happy with the camera. The price was right, and I've found it's bin pretty durable, have used it in some nasty weather with no problems.(knock on wood :-D)
3/3/2007 10:33:32 PM
 
Shonda Hogan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2007 8:59:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2007 8:59:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2007 8:59:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2007 8:59:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2007 8:59:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! I upgraded from a little 4 mega pixel HP R607 so for me it was a huge improvement. Lots of zoom....love the image stabilization!! Clear & crisp shots every time! I have never enjoyed a camera as much as this one. The variety of settings gives you lots of options. I would highly recommend this camera.
2/21/2007 8:59:59 AM
 
Sunil Kumar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2006 3:03:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2006 3:03:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2006 3:03:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2006 3:03:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2006 3:03:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is a great buy. I have used it now for the last 20 days and I am still learning a lot of good options in it. The photos I have taken so far is awesome.
11/29/2006 3:03:42 AM
 
Shantelle  M. Swain 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:59:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:59:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:59:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:59:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:59:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera, just got it but it seems to take wonderful pictures.
7/5/2006 7:59:16 PM
 
S Barcelona 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:22:06 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:22:06 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:22:06 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:22:06 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:22:06 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Waste of Megapixels and Your Money

Purpose of this review is to share my experiences with the Sony Cyber Shot DSC-H2 with others who may be thinking of buying it. The camera was used four weeks before returning back to Sony.

I was looking to upgrade from my Canon G5 to something with a little more flexibility and features for a vacation I was going to take. Although tempted, I decided not to leap to a DSLR. Based upon research and initial reviews, prior to its release from Sony I ordered Sony Cyber Shot DSC-H2 and its full range of accessories (Telephoto, wide-angle, micro-lenses, etc). Initially I had few problems, but on the first full day of my European vacation the DSC-H2's Shutter Button disintegrated making the camera completely useless for the rest of vacation. I regret buying it and if you buy this camera so will you.

Pro

None: The Sony Cyber Shot DSC-H2 fell apart before I could find any.


Con:

So what were the problems I encountered when trying to use DSC-H2?

1). Batteries Problems: Two Sony Stamina NiMH batteries that came with the DSC-H2 were defective and would not take a charge. I had to buy my own batteries before I could even begin to use the camera. DSC-H2 seemed to drain batteries at a higher rate than what specifications stated it would. Length of battery charging cycle seem excessive.

2). Extremely flimsy construction. Several weeks after receiving the camera, on the first full day of my vacation after only three pictures, the DSC-H2's Shutter Button completely disintegrated. No Shutter Button and no pictures. When Sony refused to deal with this problem at all, I was forced to buy another digital camera in Europe to take my pictures. Being completely useless for taking pictures, the DSC-H2 and all of its accessories just took up space and remained in my luggage. See my comments about Sony Customer Support on trying to resolve this and other problems associated with this camera.

3). SanDisk 1GB Memory Stick Pro Duo "Reinsert memory card" error . When looking at the camera I believed Sony statement that DSC-H2 was compatible with SanDisk 1GB Memory Stick Pro Duo. I bought three of them for a vacation to Europe. They were completely worthless. It must be assumed Sony had tested the DSC-H2 and was aware of this defect before market and sold the camera to general public. See my comments about Sony Customer Support on trying to resolve this and other problems associated with this camera.

4). Super SteadyShot® stabilization did not work 20% of time. Some images so blurred you could not tell what they were.

5). Image Noise. Some at ISO 200. Noticeable at ISO 400. Noise levels at ISO 800 made most images unusable.

6). Zoom Pixalization. Use of zoom caused a significant degree of pixalization which was especially noticeable at 10x and up. I don’t care how big your telephoto capability- if it is distorted or you can not use the image- what good is it.

7). Wide Angle Lense Chromatic aberration and distortion. When using Sony wide angle lense experienced purple fringe and peripheral distortion of images. Some is to be expected, but this was excessive.

8). Autofocus: In short time I had and used camera, some minor problems developed with autofocus (it would intermittently stopped working and I had to do it manually). With this starting to occur with the DSC-H2 brand new, there is no telling how extensive it would have become over time.

9) . DSC-H2 Ergonomics: Camera fatigue quickly becomes a problem. I found the camera awkward and difficult to hold. With the bulk and weight close to that of a DSLR, but with none of the advantages. The lens adapter is very cumbersome. The various control and function buttons are oddly placed and most are difficult to access and use.

10). Flash takes longer than normal to recharge. The result was missing a number of what would have been some great pictures.

11). Small LCD monitor 2.5 inches. It was very difficult to see in direct sunlight. Made image composition rather difficult.

12). The primary reason you buy a camera is for the images it will take. DSC-H2's Overall Image Quality? I can sum it up in two words- Extremely Disappointing! Based upon initial reviews I had a certain level of expectation. But when I compared several images of Swiss mountains that was taken at the same time and under same light conditions, my daughter’s 4 megapixel camera produces equivalent and in some cases better images than 6 megapixel DSC-H2. When compared with my old 5 megapixel Canon G5, there can be no real comparison. DSC-H2 is not even in the same league.

13). When you buy a camera you purchase not only the hardware, but the support behind it. Sony Customer Support- Based upon over 20 hours (5 of which were spent calling long distance from Switzerland) of dealing with these individuals during the process of trying to resolve this problem I found that when it comes to Sony and product support you are on your own. If you have a problem with their products- its your problem and not theirs. I found Sony Customer Support to be incompetent, lazy, purposely provide you with misinformation, out-right-lie to you, high degree of ignorance, empty promises and refusal of mid-level supervisors to do their job, supervisors who seemed to be on a power trip, frustration. Etc. etc. Instead of trying to help solve problem- they became a major part of the problem. They tried to wear you down and make you give up.


Conclusion

I had great hopes for the DSC-H2 when I bought it. But because of all of the above, The day when Hell freezes over will be the day I buy another Sony camera. Until then I will stick to Canon and plan to buy a PowerShot S3 IS.

6/30/2006 8:22:06 AM
 
Vashistha Pathak
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:35:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:35:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:35:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:35:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:35:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice camera, I like it.
6/4/2006 8:35:28 AM
 
Cheryl Lamb 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:53:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:53:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:53:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:53:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:53:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have only had My DSC-H2 for a week but have taken some stunning pictures already. So far I have used only auto mode but have taken many macro and zoomed pictures. I have yet to explore the manual modes, but have visited my local library and am studying the books on digital photography.
5/25/2006 6:53:59 PM
 
Cheryl Lamb 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:36:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:36:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:36:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:36:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:36:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just got this camera and I love it. I used mostly auto mode or preset and have had great results. The zoom is wonderful as is the macro setting. I am anxious tolearn more about photography so I can use more of the manual modes.
5/23/2006 7:36:35 PM
 

First 10 of 14 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-H2 Digital Camera from Amazon.com