RB67 Medium Format Camera


Mamiya

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

Nadine
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 38 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Henry Larson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2008 12:51:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2008 12:51:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2008 12:51:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2008 12:51:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2008 12:51:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have an RB67 with a 65mm, 90mm, and 360mm lense. This is my no 1 camera. I also use a Sinar F, and a Canon20D. When I bought the RB67 I could have had a hasselblad and I chose the RB67. The main reason at that time was the revolving back. I use it all the time. It is particularly effective whendoing flash photos since you dont have to mess with adjusting the flaSH position
8/2/2008 12:51:40 PM
 
Jonathan Kosik 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:38:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:38:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:38:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:38:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:38:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love my mamiya RB. It's not as fast as the advanced RZ model, but I picked it up for a very low price.
4/23/2006 10:38:52 PM
 
Michael  C. Bennett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/19/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 12:28:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 12:28:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 12:28:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 12:28:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 12:28:27 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
In my opinion, the Mamiya RB67 PRO-S is the best SLR in the world, in terms of image capturing power. Standard film holder backs allow you to shoot 70mm film (60 x 70 mm is the actual size). Its revolving film back is an unusual feature which allows the photographer to hold the camera flat as for a landscape format photo, and to turn the film 90 degrees by rotating the back by hand until it locks in place. This keeps the flash above the camera, rather than beside it, which where the flash ends up with a 35mm when you turn the camera sideways for a "vertical" shot. Lens quality is superb. Film format is fabulous. HOWEVER: The Mamiya RB 67 that I shot with broke down constantly. I purchased it used from a reputable shop and it was fully inspected before the sale. The film holders jam, wear out, and break apart physically in your hands. I went to New York City to purchase a new 220 back (holds film for 20 6x7 images) and literally within 2 weeks, the "chrome" on the back was peeling off. I'm not alone with this complaint; recently I spoke with a professional wedding photographer who has his own studio and his own team of shooters, and he said that he is constantly replacing the backs or repairing them. Second big drawback: the RB67 weighs a TON. Typically I shoot 100 to 200 frames at a wedding; consider that most of that is without a tripod, and with a big Metz 60 CT4 attached via metal bracket, with a lead/acid battery on a strap over my left shoulder...by the end of the day, your arms are toast. Third big drawback: this is a large camera. It's at least double the size and weight of a Hasselblad. The lenses are huge and weigh a ton; my camera bag, which just holds the basics (three lenses, three backs, film, dark shield, change bag and synchro cables) is two feet long and more than a foot wide. It's like carrying a St. Bernard. IF Mamiya solved the cheap film back problem, then I would say that it is a wonderful camera for use in studio, where you could set it on a strong tripod and make good use of the revolving back feature. Just think, no more tilting the camera for verticals.. One other bonus to the RB67: you can synch with the flash at faster than 1/60th of a second. On a bright day, this is really welcome. Because I am a stuck-up purist, I bought this monster and lugged it around for a while. I'm in love with big negs. I'm a neg man. - Michael
3/30/2006 12:28:27 PM
 
Brad Ulrich 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:42:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:42:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:42:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:42:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:42:17 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Old School...Great Tool
2/11/2006 1:42:17 AM
 
Jared L. Mills 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2005 10:03:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2005 10:03:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2005 10:03:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2005 10:03:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2005 10:03:13 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
New camera to me so far so good. I love the huge negative.
11/28/2005 10:03:13 PM
 
Justin G.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 3:01:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 3:01:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 3:01:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 3:01:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 3:01:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Got it used, fell in love, I think I'll just keep it forever and use it for studio work once I move towards a digital workflow. Let's see: negs over 4 times larger than 35mm. Outstanding optics, no batteries, flash sync any speed, built-in bellows for easy macro, etc. etc. etc...

What erks me is people who are complainging that it's big and heavy. Don't gripe about stuff like that, it's a medium format what do you expect? I mean really might as well buy a 5.0L V8 Mustang and complain about gas; it's just stupid. Other than this, this is a superb camera.

11/13/2005 3:01:06 AM
 
Justin G.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 2:58:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 2:58:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 2:58:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 2:58:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 2:58:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Got it used, fell in love, I think I'll just keep it forever and use it for studio work once I move towards a digital workflow. Let's see: negs over 4 times larger than 35mm. Outstanding optics, no batteries, flash sync any speed, built-in bellows for easy macro, etc. etc. etc...

What erks me is people who are complainging that it's big and heavy. Don't gripe about stuff like that, it's a medium format what do you expect? I mean really might as well buy a 5.0L V8 Mustang and complain about gas; it's just stupid. Other than this, this is a superb camera.

11/13/2005 2:58:15 AM
 
M. Walter Lyon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:05:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:05:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:05:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:05:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:05:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I truely enjoy shooting this tank. The 6x7cm format allows for great detail and quality. I also enjoy the fact that it is completely manual, no batteries required!
6/1/2005 9:05:31 AM
 
James M. Feldman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 1:33:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 1:33:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 1:33:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 1:33:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 1:33:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
incredible camera. weight is it's only drawback. built like a brick outhouse and ways like one too
4/7/2005 1:33:55 PM
 
A. J. Vanden Berghe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 11:51:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 11:51:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 11:51:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 11:51:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 11:51:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just love this camera. It really is the workhorse of medium format photography. The only minor downside is the weight, but hey, I'm a fat guy, who am I to judge! lol
3/26/2005 11:51:40 PM
 
Ron Kerr
ronald-kerr-photography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:00:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:00:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:00:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:00:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:00:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome camera to use, makes you slow down and think about what you are or are not doing.
3/14/2005 8:00:25 PM
 

First 10 of 38 Reviews  (see all user reviews)