BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


C33/C330 Medium Format Camera


Mamiya

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

Outlaw - aka - Bi...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nora Madeleine

member since: 12/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I use this camera for portraits and I love the way it is able to capture pictures. I love the 120 mm film and focus it can get.
2/4/2006 11:17:54 AM
 
Bob Rannells

member since: 12/19/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
When using film I love twin lens reflex cameras because there is no moving mirror to make noise and temporarilly black out the view.
1/15/2006 2:28:38 PM
 
Gary L. Burdette

member since: 4/3/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Mamiya C330 is one of the finest cameras I own. This old war horse has seen many portraits, weddings, and still lifes. It just keeps on ticking. It's light weight and has some of the finest and sharpest optics even by today's standards. The leaf shutters give me the complete range for flash...NO Sync. I find myself using it more and more for nature photography. If it's worth setting it up, then it's worth shooting.
9/7/2005 4:56:24 AM
 
Raamses Ortiz

member since: 1/12/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Is a wonderful mechanical machine, heavy, but is worth the wait!! Mamiya is the only Twin Lens reflex that had intechangable lenses. Great camera.
4/7/2005 12:48:31 PM
 
Tom Schmitt
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Tom
Tom's Gallery

member since: 3/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first medium format camera, I have since sold it and now use the Mamiya 7. I may upload some photos taken with the C330. I used only the 80mm. I had the eye-level prism finder which really made a brick out of this camera! The shutter got a little sticky in colder weather.
3/24/2005 2:36:50 PM
 
Rares Cuciureanu

member since: 2/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Strong, rock solid 6x6 format camera.
2/2/2005 4:42:36 AM
 
Oliver C. Trautmann

member since: 1/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
When I had to explain it to my mother I told her; the idiot-proof camera she uses is a VW Beetle, the mirror-reflex (Direct translation from danish, don't know the english term) is a Jaguar, and my C330 is a Rolls Royce. The C330 is without a doubt the best camera I have, but I consider it a studio camera, and would never take it out in the field.
1/24/2005 8:41:23 AM
 
Jack Levisky

member since: 9/16/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Manual operation only, no internal meter, cumbersome, excellent imagery.
10/11/2004 11:51:08 AM
 
Gary Shaw

member since: 9/4/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bullet proof
9/9/2004 8:44:39 AM
 
Michelle Ms Abbott

member since: 7/6/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fantastic photographs for an old camera
7/10/2004 11:19:55 AM
 
David Reynolds
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/15/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Better than a 35 mm in so many ways! Half the challenge and fun is using a hand held light meter and figuring out appropriate exposures to get the image you truly want. No automation in this camera so when you produce an image, you know that you actually participated in the creation rather than just clicking a button on a fully automatic camera. What creativity is there in that? Take every photo on a tripod and it will guarantee you detail you had always hoped for. Carry this weighty camera and a tripod to the top of a fourteener, and it will only add to the appreciation you will have of the ensuing photos!
3/15/2004 2:48:52 PM
 

First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.