645 Medium Format Camera


Mamiya

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

American Girl
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 13 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Christopher A. Walrath
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 5:08:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 5:08:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 5:08:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 5:08:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 5:08:35 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This Mamiya M65j is a 6x4.5 cm format single lens reflex camera that has all the modern amenities from thirty three years ago. In 2008, this camera is still a workhorse that makes great images in a larger format than 35mm. It is not a modular system in that it does not have interchangeable film backs (its single drawback). However the ease of use and versatility of this camera (lighter and somewhat smaller than other higher-end medium format cameras) prove this camera to be well worth the investment for photographers wishing to enter medium format.

The camera body has a wind on crank for advancing the film, a shutter speed dial that ranges from 1 to 1/500 of a second and a 'B' setting, has flash sync up to 1/60 of a second, accepts a wide array of viewfinders, both pentaprism (metered and non-metered) and classic style waist level finders. The back of the camera body opens to accept film chargers that hold either 120 (15 exposures) or 220 (30 exposures) roll film. It has a multiple exposure lever, a shutter safety dial that prevents inadvertant shutter release, and the body accepts Sekor-C three bayonet lug mounting style lenses.
I have been using this camera for two years now and exclusively for a year. It makes very wonderful images. The only reason I rate this camera as a .5 instead of a 5 out of 5 is for the lack of interchangeable backs. Otherwise, it is a very comprehensive camera and well worth the investment.

Thank you
Chris

1/18/2008 5:08:35 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:26:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:26:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:26:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:26:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:26:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. B- 1/500. Hand crank. Multi-exposure. I love it.
9/23/2005 7:26:54 PM
 
David J. Armentor 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:54:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:54:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:54:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:54:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:54:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
...will come later..
7/24/2005 9:54:50 AM
 
James R. Kyle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:12:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:12:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:12:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:12:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:12:27 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
As of this date, 10/01/2004, I have only taken a "proof" roll of 120 B&W to check out this camera that I bought at a "Camera Show". I wanted to get into the Medium Format and do it with a good quality camera - and I do think that I have achived that with the buing of the Mamiya M-645 with a 70mm f/2.8 leaf shutter lens -- so I shall have to Up-Date with section of My Profile. - More Later. JK
10/1/2004 3:12:27 AM
 
Christopher J. Embardino 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2004 4:13:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2004 4:13:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2004 4:13:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2004 4:13:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2004 4:13:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. I have 3 120 backs for it, a waist level, and metered viewfinder with a stovepipe viewer. 80mm lens. Works great with the auto-winder. Wonderful pictures.
4/5/2004 4:13:00 PM
 
Tom Walker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:42:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:42:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:42:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:42:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:42:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Same as 645 1000s but with shutter speed only to 1/500 sec and no self timer
3/20/2004 8:42:08 AM
 
Tami L. Roberts 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:51:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:51:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:51:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:51:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:51:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
nice camera. a big difference in weight from my 35mm!
2/2/2004 8:51:11 PM
 
Jim Stansbury 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:49:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:49:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:49:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:49:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:49:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
well i love it i well i nees 2 more
1/27/2004 4:49:02 PM
 
Melisa R. McKolay 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:21:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:21:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:21:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:21:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:21:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought this camera with 80mm lens, case, filters,and grip for $300. It is one of the older Mamiya's and completely manual. I am having a blast with this camera, although heavy, the results are impressive with a super sharp lens.
12/28/2003 8:21:14 AM
 
Todd Holden 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 7:07:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 7:07:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 7:07:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 7:07:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 7:07:59 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The mamiya 1000s is the version I am most familiar with. It is a nice camera to get experience in the 645 format but it has a few major drawbacks in my opinion: 1) It is very very heavy. I purchased a separate manual grip to hand hold it. It really is best on a tri-pod 2) No interchangeable backs. It uses "film inserts" and has either 120 or 220 which can still be found. 3) Has a couple of viewfinders either metered or non but the WLF is almost impossibleto find for this camera model. Overall makes a nice picture more akin to what people using a 35mm are familiar with only a larger negative. I enjoy this camera but an arm can get very tired after hand holding this camera for a session.
12/27/2003 7:07:59 AM
 
Dennis Martineau 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 3:49:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 3:49:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 3:49:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 3:49:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 3:49:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first medium format camera. I like the photos that I get from it. It is somewhat bulky and at first seemed unwieldy, but I have adapted to it. Once I get experience and better photos consistently and my pocketbook finds some money, I will get a new camera. Possibly a newer Mamiya or a Bronica.
12/1/2003 3:49:21 PM
 

First 10 of 13 Reviews  (see all user reviews)