BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


88 Medium Format Camera


Kiev

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

oak creek
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mike Valeriani
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/18/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's the spit copy of a Hasselblad. Quality of the camera is very bad. It's worth what you pay for it, but keep in mind you are getting the Russian equivalent of today's Chinese stuff. The optical quality of the lenses is simply superb; the mechanical side... well... a bit less: the diaphragm gets stuck. I have three lenses and on all of them I have similar problems. The very positive point of this camera is that you can have a full medium format set, including EVERYTHING (3 lenses, two magazines, pentaprism, filters, etc.) for the price of a 35 mm camera with only one lens. And you shoot medium format... but you need lot of patience and to be ready for anything.
1/26/2007 7:50:29 AM
 
Sam Zaydel

member since: 11/30/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Medium Format Manual camera for the price of a 35mm. Cannot beat that.
4/20/2006 7:54:45 PM
 
Eli Warren
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
i got it for free, it has a broken shutter so i plan on using it like a glorified pinhole camera, why not...
11/18/2005 11:52:45 AM
 
Natasha Yeryomina Andrei Artemyeff

member since: 10/23/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good camera - I like it
10/23/2005 5:29:21 PM
 
Rebecka Franklin

member since: 2/9/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I own a 1982 model Kiev 88. It is very easy to use and takes wonderful photos. But you have to set the shutter speed before you cock the shutter, and it is a very heavy camera.
5/31/2005 9:42:16 AM
 
Susan Verberg

member since: 2/3/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
cheap knock off of hasselblad, but also cheap to buy
2/9/2005 3:34:25 PM
 
Michael C. Bryant

member since: 5/12/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really love this camera. Before I purchased it I heard nothing but bad news about it all over the internet. It's too bad, this camera works perfect every time. No light leakage, excellent lens quality, and oh how I love those large negatives. I can blow them up as big as I wish. It's like haveing a Hasselblad without the hugh pricetag.
6/18/2003 8:31:42 PM
 

7 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.