EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Forgotten
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Powered by a lithium-ion battery pack; stores images on CF cards
  • 8.2-megapixel CMOS captures enough detail for photo-quality 16 x 22-inch
    prints
  • Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor that can be viewed at extreme angles up to 170
    degrees
  • High- and low-speed consecutive shooting (5 frames and 3 frames per second,
    respectively)
  • Includes new EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens; compatible with all EF and EF-S
    Lenses and a wide range of EOS system accessories
  • 8.2-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 16 x 22-inch
    prints
  • Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor that can be viewed at extreme angles up to 170
    degrees
  • High- and low-speed consecutive shooting (5 frames and 3 frames per second,
    respectively)
  • Includes new EF-S 18-55mm f3.5 lens; compatible with all EF and EF-S Lenses
    and a wide range of EOS system accessories
  • Powered by a lithium-ion battery pack; stores images on CF cards

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 74 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mehdi Kavei 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 2:05:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 2:05:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 2:05:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 2:05:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 2:05:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
ilike this camera
10/7/2008 2:05:54 AM
 
Bob Sticco
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 12:15:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 12:15:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 12:15:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 12:15:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 12:15:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had several digital cameras ranging from my 1st, a Canon Powershot A50 to the 30D. Since I have a Canon EOS 35mm camera, and several lens, the 30D seems like an old friend.I like the ability to review photos on an LCD I can actually see, and at 5 fps, shooting action photos is a cinch! My only complaint is that Canon came out with the 40D shortly after I bought the 30D, but that's got nothing to do with this outstanding camera!! I would recommend the 30D to anyone looking to jump into DSLR!!
1/6/2008 12:15:32 PM
 
Symona R. Wood 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2007 8:22:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2007 8:22:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2007 8:22:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2007 8:22:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2007 8:22:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my second digital camera and I LOVE it !!! I'm not too 'tecki'...yet, but this camera makes me feel as if I will be a semi-pro in no time.
The lcd screen is easy to see and read.
For a first, second or third camera, this is great for beginners to novice and all of us in between !
The online source from cannon is a plus and fun to explore.
10/3/2007 8:22:08 PM
 
Arthur Bohlmann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/16/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2007 12:31:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2007 12:31:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2007 12:31:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2007 12:31:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2007 12:31:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5

I really like this camera, this is my 1st SLR and have no complaints. I have taken many awcome photos with it.
8/8/2007 12:31:03 PM
 
K.K. SANTHOSH
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 3:39:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 3:39:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 3:39:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 3:39:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2007 3:39:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
THIS IS MY 4TH DIGITAL CAMERA IN MY CAREER.I LIKE THIS ONE VERY MUCH BECAUSE IT HA LESS GRAINS WHILE WE USE HIGH ISO EVEN ISO 3200, CAMERA SPEED IS OKEY- PER SECOND 5 FRAMES ARE BETTER THAN NIKON D100 OR CNON 5D, CANON 30D"S COLOUR SATURATION IS ALSO GOOD.
5/29/2007 3:39:10 AM
 
Melissa Gurdus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/24/2005
Contact Melissa
Melissa's Gallery
gurdusphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2006 12:56:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2006 12:56:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2006 12:56:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2006 12:56:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2006 12:56:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Like many others, I have upgraded from the Canon Rebel XT and really love this camera. The focusing mechanism is right on the money and quick. Many times I like to shoot in low light without a tripod and have been amazed that I do not get a lot of noise from these high ISO shots. The necessary features are very handy and the learming curve was easy.
12/22/2006 12:56:18 PM
 
Kenny Barr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 11:31:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 11:31:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 11:31:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 11:31:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 11:31:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
First DSLR I have owned, bought it about a month ago.

I also own the Canon AE-1 Program I bought in 1985 and a Kodak DX6490 I bought a couple of years ago.

I find the 30d to be an excellent camera.
I also bought the 28-135 IS Lens to go with it and the combination will give you fast and accurate focusing even in low light.

It is taking me a while to understand all the goodies this camera offers but I am slowly catching on.

You can put it in one of several auto modes and shoot right away but I like to shoot manual occasionally and experiment.
I am also finding out that shooting raw can be pretty cool.

If you want an excellent Digital SLR then you can't go wrong with the d30.

I bought mine from Canoga Camera over the Net for around $1100.00 and a rebate from Canon. They are out of California and they have great customer service and excellent prices

12/8/2006 11:31:14 AM
 
Suzanne Colson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:50:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:50:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:50:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:50:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2006 7:50:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I read many reviews about upgrading from a Canon Digital Rebel XT to a 30D and most said it wasn't worth the upgrade. But, I couldn't wait for the next model and couldn't afford the 5D. I loved my Rebel XT and I really love the 30D. The feel of the camera is better. The spot metering is certainly worth it. ISO3200 with almost no noise. This is an absolute plus to me since I just plain enjoy hand holding the camera and can take advantage of the high ISO in low light. Now how important is this next one.... When you snap a picture the shutter just sounds cool!!
9/27/2006 7:50:04 PM
 
TIM TURNER
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 7:10:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 7:10:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 7:10:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 7:10:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2006 7:10:33 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Ok I made the trip from film to digital, truthfully the cost was getting to me .I was a a football game and the feollow next to me was working with a D30 and just the fact that his photos were there right away and he was able to delete the ones the were not good the next day I got up and brought the camera .I am so used to the EOS 1 that my next camera will be the EOS 1 Mark 2 . The only thing that I lost was speed the camera is not that fast but is is just as good . I need speed .If your thinking oh his lens ,naw most of the lens I use have start at 2.8 .
9/21/2006 7:10:33 AM
 
Jill E. Curnutt-Howerton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2006 6:11:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2006 6:11:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2006 6:11:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2006 6:11:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2006 6:11:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just got this camera last weekend, I have had 3 shoots using it, so not a lot of experience with this camera. I love everything about this camera so far...upgraded from a Rebel XT to this and love the larger LCD, love the clarity and detail this camera produces, I purchased the body only and went with the canon L series lens the f/2.8 24-70mm, and am so glad I did more than twice the money of the standard lens that comes with the 30D, but well worth the extra!!!!!!!!!! If you are researching digital cameras for wedding and studio use and can afford the 30D go with the f/2.8 24-70mm L series lens and you will be amazed, I can't say enough about this lens with this camera.
9/19/2006 6:11:40 AM
 
Terry  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 7:47:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 7:47:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 7:47:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 7:47:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 7:47:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm new to the DSLR world, but I can't see anything wrong with this camera. I love the big LCD (this should not be underestimated), and the picture quality at high ISOs is great. I was always frustrated with indoor digicam photos, but this lets me take great indoor photos without the flash. I used to think that I wanted small and light, but I love the way that this big, heavy camera feels. I've used a Canon A-1 for many years, and it's good to get back to a serious piece of equipment.

I wish that some good books existed as alternatives to the manual: I saw that the "Digital Field Guide" to the 30D isn't due out until November. Yikes!

7/14/2006 7:47:45 PM
 

First 10 of 74 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com