Digimax Pro 815 Digital Camera


Samsung

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Gloomy Town Hall
View photos created with this camera

The Digimax Pro 815 Digital Camera

Features:

  • Transfers photos via USB; compatible with Windows and Mac operating
    systems;
    rechargeable Li-ion battery
  • 8.0-megapixel sensor captures enough detail for up to 3,264-by-2,448-pixel
    photos
  • Schneider Kreuznach 10x optical zoom lens with 15x digital zoom; 3.5-inch
    LCD screen and 1.44-inch top-side LCD
  • Manual zoom, focus, and exposure; high-speed shot-to-shot transition for
    continuous high-speed shooting
  • Stores photos on CompactFlash memory cards; 64 MB card included
  • 8.0-megapixel sensor captures enough detail for up to 3,264-by-2,448-pixel
    photos
  • Schneider Kreuznach 10x optical zoom lens with 15x digital zoom; 3.5-inch
    LCD screen and 1.44-inch top-side LCD
  • Manual zoom, focus, and exposure; high-speed shot-to-shot transition for
    continuous high-speed shooting
  • Stores photos on CompactFlash memory cards; 64 MB card included
  • Transfers photos via USB; compatible with Windows and Mac operating systems;
    rechargeable Li-ion battery

  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    John S. Adair
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/17/2007
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 12:41:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 12:41:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 12:41:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 12:41:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 12:41:40 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I've had this camera for about a year now and it's been pretty loyal to me...my only complaints are about the ISO only ranging from 50 to 400 and the amount of noise I receive from using it at 400ISO...the highest ISO i've gone on this camera is 100, and that's when it's really bright out. There's no bulb setting neither which kinda upsets me as well. You can't change the Lens, it's of no concern to me, right now, but I thought that some of you out there researching this camera should know that. It's a little on the heavy side, but nothing a 10 year old couldn't handle!
    3/3/2008 12:41:40 PM
     
    Carole Fairris
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2006
    shootmehappy.com
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:54:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:54:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:54:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:54:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2007 11:54:41 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Okay now I have had my camera for over 1 year and I agree with Mr Brewer. I have had a Cannon XTI SLR camera owner ask to use my camera because of the zoom to over 400mm and digital zoom also with his lense only going to 300mm and no digital zoom. I do highly recommend this camera to anyone but I must say the stablization is lacking so if you do get it invest in a tripod it is a must in moderately low lighting. It does make wonderful photos.
    7/27/2007 11:54:41 AM
     
    D.J. Brewer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:37 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    after doing some very very serious research starting last March, I finally decided to get the Samsung Pro 815.

    I looked carefully at every single 10x and 12x zoom on the market, downloaded many many sample photos taken of each one, read literally hundreds of reviews, and read at least 100 reviews alone on the Samsung.

    I've been doing photography since I was 16. My first camera was probably the first SLR on the market -- the old Konica from the 60s. I've had a Canon AE-1. For digital cameras Iown a Konica Minolta Z3 and a Canon S3 IS. I've take over 10,000 photos with each of those cameras.

    Let me tell you, the Samsung Pro 815 ROCKS THE DAMN HOUSE! It is an absolutely awesome camera. The negative reviews were invariably NOT from owners. This camera is incredible. If I had the money, I'd buy another one immediately just so my son (also a photographer) and I don't have to arm wrestle for it (he always wins).

    Get it. Even if you own a better camera, get it anyway. It's an awesome camera. The CCD is larger than that of any other prosumer model, it's cheaper than the DSLR's, and the color and quality of photos is gorgeous.

    You won't regret owning this camera.

    7/23/2007 4:48:37 PM
     
    D.J. Brewer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2007 4:48:21 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    oops.

    forgot to rate it.

    7/23/2007 4:48:21 PM
     
    Carole Fairris
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2006
    shootmehappy.com
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 7:16:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 7:16:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 7:16:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 7:16:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2006 7:16:15 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I like my camera. I like all the viewing screens. Love the zoom lens. The images it makes are sharp and clear and I found it was easy to work and manual was easy to follow. And I am still learning and liking it more each day. I have had mine 6 months.
    11/11/2006 7:16:15 PM
     
    Mayrela Garcia 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:21:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:21:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:21:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:21:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:21:57 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I consider this a good camera
    5/24/2006 8:21:57 AM
     
    Karen A. Jack
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/25/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 4:27:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 4:27:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 4:27:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 4:27:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 4:27:10 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is great fun to use. This is my first serious camera, having used just point + shoot ones before. It's a great learning tool, and so much options to choose from! If you want a camera that does it all, this is it! If you do something wrong, it certainly lets you know about - great bargain!
    5/21/2006 4:27:10 AM
     
    YPA  Photography 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 8:26:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 8:26:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 8:26:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 8:26:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 8:26:15 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    love my camera....its got so many wonderful options but still so simple to use...
    5/20/2006 8:26:15 AM
     
    YPA  Photography 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:44:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:44:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:44:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:44:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:44:44 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I ve had this camera for only about two months now...and it s amazing...the quality is wonderful and there are so many options and adjustments to make that you can play with it for hours...but it s still easy to use.
    5/20/2006 4:44:44 AM
     
    YPA  Photography 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:41:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:41:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:41:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:41:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 4:41:46 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I ve had this camera for only about two months now...and it s amazing...the quality is wonderful and there are so many options and adjustments to make that you can play with it for hours...but it s still easy to use.
    5/20/2006 4:41:46 AM
     
    Robert E. Visintine 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:56:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:56:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:56:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:56:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:56:17 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is a "One camera does it all". When I don't want to carry a bag of lenses, filters,and other add-ons, this is the camera take along.
    5/9/2006 3:56:17 PM
     

    First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Buy Digimax Pro 815 Digital Camera from Amazon.com