SP-500 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

showgirls
View photos created with this camera

The SP-500 Digital Camera

Features:

  • Threaded lens barrel allows the addition of Olympus conversion lenses (not included; must be purchased separately)
  • Powered by four AA-size batteries (included); stores images on xD-Picture Cards
  • 6.0-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 14 x 19-inch prints
  • 10x optical zoom; 2.5-inch LCD display
  • 27 selectable shooting modes, plus full manual and automatic control
  • Powered by four AA-size batteries (included); stores images on xD-Picture Cards

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


18 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Cecilia M. Nolin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 3:57:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 3:57:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 3:57:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 3:57:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 3:57:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera about a year...
still learning what works and what doesn't. It takes great macro's and the 10x zoom is great. The one bad point is sometimes it doesn't focus well indoors. I love the shoot and select feature great for taking action shot's.
11/27/2007 3:57:37 AM
 
Kathy Poulos Gregory
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/2/2014
Contact Kathy Poulos
Kathy Poulos's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 2:52:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 2:52:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 2:52:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 2:52:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 2:52:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes AWESOME macro shots. Also landscape and portrait. Anything, really, as long as it doesn't move. Not good for action/sports photos as there is a serious lag time between pressing the shutter and capturing the image.
8/9/2007 2:52:28 PM
 
Zachary Klinedinst
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2007 1:43:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2007 1:43:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2007 1:43:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2007 1:43:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2007 1:43:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have just started photography so it is good and easy to use.
1/26/2007 1:43:24 PM
 
Sandra K. Twining
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/29/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 7:01:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 7:01:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 7:01:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 7:01:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 7:01:28 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am still learning, and don't have much to compare to yet.
7/7/2006 7:01:28 PM
 
Mike Cahill 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 1:16:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 1:16:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 1:16:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 1:16:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 1:16:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this small keep with you all the time camera. The batteries last a long time. The photos are crisp and clear. The camera has many easy to use modes along with the ability to adjust everything manually. I have used it at night and in bright light. It is a great camera...I love it!
6/26/2006 1:16:47 PM
 
Mary A. Gordon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 3:46:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 3:46:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 3:46:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 3:46:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 3:46:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The 10X optical zoom is wonderful for wildlife. I love this camera
6/7/2006 3:46:15 PM
 
Danielle Baron
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 2:20:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 2:20:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 2:20:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 2:20:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 2:20:37 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Problems with auto focus when using auto feature. Macro feature is good.
5/19/2006 2:20:37 PM
 
Corey Curran 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 9:00:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 9:00:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 9:00:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 9:00:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 9:00:39 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the Camera Because it has different functions and if I want I can choose what type of scene I want and if I do not know I can use the auto function. I do not like certain parts of the camera. I do not like the night portrait function because it usually does not come out clear and the auto does not take in enough light to take good pictures at night.
4/16/2006 9:00:39 PM
 
Lisa Bryan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 8:36:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 8:36:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 8:36:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 8:36:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 8:36:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it because it has many settings.I do not like it because it doesn't stay focused well.
4/10/2006 8:36:59 AM
 
Laura K. Kruger 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:33:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:33:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:33:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:33:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:33:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm new to the camera...but so far so good!
3/30/2006 5:33:03 PM
 
Robby Sheppard 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:12:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:12:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:12:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:12:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:12:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I absolutely love this camera because of how many features it has! It has the most features in a camera that I have ever seen!
3/13/2006 7:12:18 PM
 
Stephanie D. Spires 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 3:55:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 3:55:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 3:55:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 3:55:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 3:55:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I wish the camera and a motion stabilizer
3/3/2006 3:55:53 PM
 
Nichole R. LeVern 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 6:03:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 6:03:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 6:03:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 6:03:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 6:03:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE BOTH! BUT THE NIKON ROCKS!!
2/26/2006 6:03:03 AM
 
Wendy S. Mogul
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 4:37:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 4:37:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 4:37:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 4:37:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 4:37:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera with a lot of great features! It has alot of point and shoot settings like landscape, sunset, sport. It also allows you to edit images in the camera, like brightness, saturation,red eye fix,layout,B/W,sepia,frame and so on. It takes clear precise images with the ability to zoom in on your subjects with digital zoom.
Your images will come out clear bright and full of color!
2/26/2006 4:37:34 AM
 
Janet Buehler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:51:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like my Olympus SP500 UZ because it has MANY features. It has several shooting modes and an Ultra Zoom lens,with a 10x Optical and 5x digital Zoom. It has clear and sharp images. I have only had it about two weeks so am still learning..I do enjoy taking photos with the different modes and the zoom to capture my pets and wildlife.
2/8/2006 7:51:24 PM
 
Vladimir KoreniŠ 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 1:57:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 1:57:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 1:57:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 1:57:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 1:57:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I rate it 5 for now, cause I'm a total beginer in digital photo. "Sunspot rose" is one of may first photos.For now I can tell that this camera has many options an "artist" can use and that it takes time to get to know the possibilities of this camera.
1/26/2006 1:57:35 PM
 
Aaron T. Murtagh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 5:40:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 5:40:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 5:40:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 5:40:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 5:40:05 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Takes a great quality photo and leaves room to crop with 6 megapixels. The 10x optical zoom is greatly appreciated in most fields of photography. Full manual modes allowing one to finally change shutter speeds and a brilliant "one-touch" white balance feature.
1/2/2006 5:40:05 PM
 
Cynthia M. Shively 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 10:08:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 10:08:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 10:08:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 10:08:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 10:08:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome settings
12/3/2005 10:08:08 AM
 

18 Reviews  

Buy SP-500 Digital Camera from Amazon.com