BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


SP-500 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

SNOW ART
View photos created with this camera

The SP-500 Digital Camera

Features:

  • Threaded lens barrel allows the addition of Olympus conversion lenses (not included; must be purchased separately)
  • Powered by four AA-size batteries (included); stores images on xD-Picture Cards
  • 6.0-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 14 x 19-inch prints
  • 10x optical zoom; 2.5-inch LCD display
  • 27 selectable shooting modes, plus full manual and automatic control
  • Powered by four AA-size batteries (included); stores images on xD-Picture Cards

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 18 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Cecilia M. Nolin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/24/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera about a year...
still learning what works and what doesn't. It takes great macro's and the 10x zoom is great. The one bad point is sometimes it doesn't focus well indoors. I love the shoot and select feature great for taking action shot's.
11/27/2007 3:57:37 AM
 
Kathy  Poulos-Gregory

member since: 8/28/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes AWESOME macro shots. Also landscape and portrait. Anything, really, as long as it doesn't move. Not good for action/sports photos as there is a serious lag time between pressing the shutter and capturing the image.
8/9/2007 2:52:28 PM
 
Zachary Klinedinst
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/10/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have just started photography so it is good and easy to use.
1/26/2007 1:43:24 PM
 
Sandra K. Twining
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/29/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am still learning, and don't have much to compare to yet.
7/7/2006 7:01:28 PM
 
Mike Cahill

member since: 8/10/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this small keep with you all the time camera. The batteries last a long time. The photos are crisp and clear. The camera has many easy to use modes along with the ability to adjust everything manually. I have used it at night and in bright light. It is a great camera...I love it!
6/26/2006 1:16:47 PM
 
Mary A. Gordon

member since: 1/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The 10X optical zoom is wonderful for wildlife. I love this camera
6/7/2006 3:46:15 PM
 
Danielle Baron
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Problems with auto focus when using auto feature. Macro feature is good.
5/19/2006 2:20:37 PM
 
Corey Curran

member since: 4/16/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the Camera Because it has different functions and if I want I can choose what type of scene I want and if I do not know I can use the auto function. I do not like certain parts of the camera. I do not like the night portrait function because it usually does not come out clear and the auto does not take in enough light to take good pictures at night.
4/16/2006 9:00:39 PM
 
Lisa Bryan

member since: 4/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it because it has many settings.I do not like it because it doesn't stay focused well.
4/10/2006 8:36:59 AM
 
Laura K. Kruger

member since: 3/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm new to the camera...but so far so good!
3/30/2006 5:33:03 PM
 
Robby Sheppard

member since: 1/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I absolutely love this camera because of how many features it has! It has the most features in a camera that I have ever seen!
3/13/2006 7:12:18 PM
 

First 10 of 18 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy SP-500 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.