Online Photo Course - Perfect Digital Exposure with Jim Zuckerman

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Perfect Digital Exposure Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Jim Zuckerman
Perfect Digital Exposure

Whether you're photographing at the beach, in the snow, or in your own backyard, you can learn how to handle every exposure situation with confidence. Join master photographer and author Jim Zuckerman for an exciting online adventure in Perfect Digital Exposure. Among the specific subjects to be covered: how to meter light, capture creative backlit images, expose for snow and bright sand, photograph in low light, and more. After completing this 8-week course, you'll never again say: I hope my picture turned out. You'll know it turned out!

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Perfect Digital Exposure


35 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Stephanie Lewis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:01:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:01:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:01:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:01:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:01:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this course. Jim is a very effective teacher -- generous in sharing his experience and knowledge in both his lesson plans and critiques. His lessons are full of practical information. His critiques are very thorough. There is no cutting and pasting going on here. And he's very accessible to an engaged group of students. While on occasion it might take him a little time to get all of the critiques done, (well worth the wait) he follows-up on questions promptly. I think about things before I take a photo now that I didn't think about before I took this course. I found it to be a really worthwhile investment.
11/9/2011 5:01:10 PM
 
Steve Leinbach 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 2:30:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 2:30:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 2:30:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 2:30:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 2:30:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great class, Jim offered helpful critiques. I would recommended this course to anyone interested in improving their ability to correctly expose difficult scenes
11/9/2011 2:30:00 PM
 
Shelia Earl
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
searlphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 9:10:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 9:10:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 9:10:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 9:10:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 9:10:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My only regret is that I waited so long to take this course. It is fabulous! Jim is a great insturctor. His critiques were very precise and pushed me to do better with each lesson. I have taken other courses from him, but this one was the best ever! The interaction among the students was so instructive; I felt like I had more than one instructor. Jim also shared many hints/tips throughout the course - one of my favorites was about using the ballhead on your tripod to take pictures in places that do not allow a tripod!! If there was ever any doubt about a technique he was trying to explain to me in a critique, he would upload a picture as an example. I am very visual when it comes to learning so this was above and beyond in my opinion.
11/9/2011 9:10:40 AM
 
Paul N. Swepston
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/11/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 9:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 9:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 9:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 9:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 9:20:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Life changing experience. I am not kidding. My only complaint is that when I decided to take another class from Jim, the were all sold out! Jim gives good, thoughtful reviews and suggestions and even shows how you can improve your photos by uploading your photos with his suggested manipulations.
7/6/2011 9:20:48 AM
 
Richard W. Steppy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:17:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:17:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:17:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:17:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:17:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been reading a lot of magazines that have hints from Jim. That is what prompted me to take this class and my expectations were surpassed. The lessons were easy to understand and Jim was quick to answer any questions I had. I will be taking more classes from Jim.
6/29/2011 4:17:56 PM
 
Carla Maddox
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2011 1:50:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2011 1:50:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2011 1:50:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2011 1:50:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2011 1:50:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was an awesome class. Mr. Zuckerman pushed us beyond the normal composition skills(shapes, leading line, rule of thirds, etc.). For an amateur photographer, this class definitely adds different techniques in your camera case. Learned something from each lesson and each critique. He knows his stuff and doesn't hold back in sharing it. I look forward to taking additional classes from him.
3/14/2011 1:50:55 PM
 
Toby Drye
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/12/2010
Contact Toby
Toby's Gallery
DryeImages.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 11:34:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 11:34:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 11:34:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 11:34:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 11:34:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is an outstanding instructor! His course on "Perfect Digital Exposure" challeges you to the ultimate. Jim's critiques are right on and very constructive. I have learned the confidence to shoot in any lighting situation without hesitation with Jim's instruction and demonstrations. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to improve your photography.
1/5/2011 11:34:22 AM
 
Kayla D. Stevenson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/6/2010
kaylastevenson-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 12:09:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 12:09:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 12:09:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 12:09:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 12:09:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first BetterPhoto course, so at level 3 I was jumping off the deep end! Jim's expectations are high, as they should be for this level course. His lessons are chock full of information, demonstration photos and how-to's. He challenges you each week to get out there, try the methods and techniques, and submit new work. His critiques are lessons in themselves and very personalized. I worked hard, and loved every minute.
12/31/2010 12:09:17 PM
 
Jon A. Reiswig
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/7/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2010 9:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2010 9:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2010 9:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2010 9:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2010 9:06:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is a great photographer who also has the gift of teaching. I learned a lot from this class and felt that my confidence level has gone way up. No more guessing on "correct" exposure as I've learned from the best. It make for a great class too when you can have interaction, albeit by email, with the instructor. Jim always answered any questions I had and promptly too as well as adding additional advice and suggestions. I highly, highly recommend this class and will be enrolling for more from BP and Jim Zuckerman. Thanks Jim!
9/9/2010 9:06:23 PM
 
Kenneth G. Urquhart 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2009 5:17:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2009 5:17:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2009 5:17:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2009 5:17:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2009 5:17:44 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The information presented on this course is available in many different places. That this place is interactive makes it all the more effective. What makes it unique is the quiet, patient, and kindly wisdom of Jim Zuckerman. He takes the pain out of the learning without diminishing the challenge to the student. Jim is a master at the constructive and positive critique that draws attention to the successes of his students as well as to the shortcomings. I really enjoyed the course, the interaction with Jim, the other students' photos, the q & a, and, of course, my vastly increased understanding of digital exposure. I am happy that the course pages are available for the next year, because I will be revisiting them and doing the exercises over and over. Yes, it's a very necessary and fundamental skill in photography and need no longer be a barrier. It's all pretty clear. Thank you for an excellent course excellently conducted.
6/13/2009 5:17:44 PM
 
Janice M LeCocq
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2007
Contact Janice M
Janice M's Gallery
janice-lecocq-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 7:52:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 7:52:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 7:52:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 7:52:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 7:52:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim Zuckerman is a great teacher. This course lays out the principles of exposure clearly. His guidance is specific and immediately applicable to any type of photography. His critiques are very constructive, assisting the students in "seeing" aspects of their photos that they have probably never "seen" before. I know that I will be taking significantly better pictures due to this course. The difference is already very apparent after only 7 weeks.
3/2/2009 7:52:24 AM
 
Alexander Katyanov
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2008
Contact Alexander
Alexander's Gallery
katyanov-photo.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 12:40:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 12:40:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 12:40:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 12:40:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 12:40:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is extraodinary instructor and this his course is great one. I'm sure that every photographer who wants to make photos in a skilfully way should acquire a techique of perfect digital exposure. I even could not imagine that it could be possible to get acceptable photos in such extreme light conditions as I did it for the assignment.
Special thanks to BetterPhoto that I - living in Siberia - could become a Jim's student.
1/7/2009 12:40:09 AM
 
c. m.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/24/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2009 9:11:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2009 9:11:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2009 9:11:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2009 9:11:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2009 9:11:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is an encouraging instructor and his assignment critiques are very constructive. The course material provides solid skills for analyzing any given lighting condition and determining the appropriate exposure solution. In addition, Jim provided some very useful Photoshop tips with his crtiques which got me try some new things. I highly recommend this course!
1/4/2009 9:11:16 PM
 
Michael  G. Murphy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 11:58:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 11:58:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 11:58:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 11:58:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 11:58:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Mr. Zuckerman,

I just read the critiques of the photos I posted. I have never received such an in depth critique of my photos before. Thank you so much for actually sitting down and taking the time to look at them. I can't wait until tomorrow, to get outside and try the things you suggested.

Thank you for already making this a totally different experience, from the last photography course I took.

Take care, Mike.

5/29/2008 11:58:01 AM
 
Corky J. Dehorty 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 6:17:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 6:17:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 6:17:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 6:17:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 6:17:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your money will be well spent if you decide to take advantage of these wonderful photography classes. It is difficult to put into words how beneficial these classes are. The best way, I guess, is to say that I 'think' differently now when I take a photograph. My mind works in a completely different way than it did before. I guess....now, I'm thinking like....well....a photographer! Many thanks to BetterPhoto.com
12/6/2007 6:17:53 PM
 
Frances Moulder 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 4:12:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 4:12:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 4:12:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 4:12:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 4:12:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you! An excellent course. I am much more confident than I was before. Issues of light and exposure have always been challenging to me. This course cleared up a lot of mysteries, both analytical and practical.
12/6/2007 4:12:31 PM
 
Aga Ciszewska
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2007 5:45:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2007 5:45:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2007 5:45:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2007 5:45:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2007 5:45:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
To anyone who is tossing up whether or not to take this class ... I say don't hesitate. My only regret is that I didn't take it sooner.
Jim's knowledge and experience is amazing, and his passion for photography and pushing the limits is contageous.
The lessons not only explain how to achieve results, but Jim also uses alalogies and circumstances where things will/won't work.
After completing this class I've even been able to salvage a few photo's I thought would only be good for the bin.
I feel my photography has already transformed in leaps and bounds after this course ... and I can only hope that one day in the future I can achieve images like Jim.
9/13/2007 5:45:56 PM
 
Ed Diaz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/1/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:35:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:35:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:35:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:35:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:35:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
All I can say is "WOW!"
Thanks so much to Jim for all his help!
It is so great being able to learn from the experts in the industry. Each week kept me inspired and pushed me to challenge myself more and more. I feel so much more confident and comfortable with my photography now that I have some very useful tools at my disposal. This class was "Perfect" just as the title states. Thanks so much BF for offering such a valuable course and thanks again to Jim for his willingness to help us "see" better. Until the next course...and there will be many more, Best regards! Ed.
9/5/2007 9:35:05 PM
 
Vickie Oakley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/2/2007
vickieoakleyphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:25:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:25:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:25:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:25:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 9:25:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Not only is Jim a wonderful photographer, but he is a wonderful teacher. I am finishing his course on perfect digital exposure and I have learned a ton about exposure and my camera as well. He is willing to share his knowledge about photography and encourages you to stretch yourself further. I do plan to take another course from him. I have several of his books and he is a prolific author as well. Thanks Jim and Betterphoto.com for helping me to become the photographer I aspire to be.
9/5/2007 9:25:37 PM
 
Drew Falk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/9/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2007 4:49:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2007 4:49:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2007 4:49:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2007 4:49:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2007 4:49:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
BRAVO JIM! Not only is Jim a great photographer, with all the know-how we need, but he can express himself very well in written form. His lessons are interesting, understandable and very valuable. His critiques are always valuable, never hurtful. I have much more confidence now that I can take correct exposures in many challenging situations. -Walter Falk.
6/3/2007 4:49:41 PM
 
Stefania Barbier
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/1/2006
Contact Stefania
Stefania's Gallery
Stefania-barbier.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 3:15:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 3:15:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 3:15:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 3:15:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 3:15:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
To master exposure is a great challenge for many photographers. After this course I have a confident approach to every exposure situation. Jim's critiques and insights are most helpfull to further the learning. Great course!
3/9/2007 3:15:53 AM
 
Patrick Klingberg 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 5:51:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 5:51:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 5:51:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 5:51:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 5:51:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just finished Jim's Perfect Digital Exposure class and learned a lot about exposure and my camera at the same time. He is forthright with his critiques each week and readily available for questions. This was first ever online course and am very satisfied with the class and BetterPhoto.
3/5/2007 5:51:42 PM
 
Carol DuBois 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 11:01:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 11:01:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 11:01:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 11:01:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 11:01:46 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Who wouldn't love taking a Jim Zuckerman course? They are fun and packed with real-life photography information. It was a steep learning curve for me as I am just getting into the digital world, but I really improved during the course. I also feel much more comfortable with my camera and tripod.

Excellent handouts and images and good feedback from Jim.

Thanks, Jim!

3/5/2007 11:01:46 AM
 
Brian Hart 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 12:35:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 12:35:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 12:35:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 12:35:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 12:35:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I started this course as a newbie when it came to digital photography - I pretty much left the camera in 'Auto' and hoped for the best. However, I was often disappointed with the results. After this course, I feel confident shooting in almost any situation, and know how to take control of the camera when I need to.

Jim's critiques are constructive, honest, and helpful beyond words. I highly recommend this course!

1/10/2007 12:35:53 AM
 
Rajan P. Parrikar 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:46:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:46:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:46:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:46:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:46:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Insightful material, outstanding critiques, profitable learning experience - that summarizes Jim Zuckerman's course.
12/15/2006 7:46:04 PM
 
Steven A. Serpa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/22/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 3:38:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 3:38:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 3:38:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 3:38:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 3:38:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Well,Jim here we are at the end of a long and interesting journey and as you said right from the very start.

Virtually all photographers feel insecure with exposure, and with good reason.

Jim, thank you for showing me the light and giving me the confidence and the tools I need to push forward; an become a real photographer.

Steve Serpa
Fall Class 2006

12/11/2006 3:38:40 PM
 
Mark R. Glick 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 6:28:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 6:28:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 6:28:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 6:28:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 6:28:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I found the course and the assignments very helpful and useful.
12/10/2006 6:28:30 AM
 
Tomasz Trzebiatowski 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 2:39:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 2:39:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 2:39:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 2:39:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 2:39:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course, many valuable tips and such a friendly and helpful instructor. I have not been the best student (due to my busy schedule I was not following the assignements as I should have...). But I have learned a lot from the lessons and looking at everyone's work.
12/6/2006 2:39:07 PM
 
Cynthia McNab 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 11:13:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 11:13:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 11:13:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 11:13:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 11:13:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Congratulations on a well paced lesson structure. I guess the best accolade is that I have enrolled for another two courses.
For a person who has never used program mode on the camera, didnít know different modes for exposure existed and had never used a tripod, this has been a steep learning curve. My camera manual is very dog-eared now. The course achieved what I wanted Ė to learn. Now more practice can only improve my photography.
Thanks
12/3/2006 11:13:11 PM
 
Parag A. Madhani 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2006 1:59:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2006 1:59:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2006 1:59:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2006 1:59:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2006 1:59:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course really took me to a new level. As a budding photographer my knowlege of photography especially exposure really soared. Although I still have a ways to go I am no longer afraid to try and explore new areas of my photography.

I think that one of the best parts of the course was reading the comments on the questions we all asked. Jim your answers were very clear and concise.

I thank you for getting to try RAW. I look forward to your other courses. Parag

11/22/2006 1:59:53 PM
 
Michael Mettey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/5/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 5:04:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 5:04:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 5:04:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 5:04:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 5:04:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
After taking Jimís course, I feel confident in my ability to consistently get perfectly exposed images. His critiques were very insightful and went beyond the subject of exposure. Thanks to Jim, I have developed a skill I will use for a lifetime.

9/14/2006 5:04:27 PM
 
David Holzman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:31:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:31:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:31:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:31:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:31:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I finally have a grasp of critical exposure concepts and the techniques to use when faced with various lighting situations. I have been able to put it to work and the quality of my photos has improved dramatically. Many thanks to Jim for the inspirational critiques, motivation, and invaluable information.
9/11/2006 4:31:22 PM
 
Robert Olsen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 3:48:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 3:48:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 3:48:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 3:48:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 3:48:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
To read about the process ( in Jim's book "Perfect Exposure")was great but to participate in the process was a revelation. It was the boost I needed to "own" this essential knowledge...These are lessons I will make use of every time I look through the lens.

Bob Olsen

9/11/2006 3:48:39 PM
 
Anita Bower
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:19:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:19:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:19:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:19:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:19:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim:


This course has been a wonderful learning experience for me. I now know how to think about exposure and notice different light conditions which will require different metering. Of course, I learned specific techniques for metering in various situations. I know what to do and now I can practice. I have printed the lessons so I can refer back to them, which I have already done a number of times.


The lessons and assignments were clear. Your critiques were helpful and informative. They encouraged me and pushed me on to the next step in my learning. I especially appreciate the specific information you provided when necessary.


This class moved me to using RAW, which I hadn't done before and was putting off. It was an unexpected benefit. You also got me taking photos in situations I had never tried before--such as at night. That was fun.


I also appreciate your gentle humor.


Many thanks for a great learning experience!

6/23/2006 5:19:50 PM
 
Amanda Herbert
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/28/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 4:48:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 4:48:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 4:48:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 4:48:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 4:48:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Working with Jim is inspirational; his reflective, honest insights are invaluable. Adding warmth and humour to his lessons each week, you're guaranteed to become a Betterphoto competition winner following his top tips.
6/2/2006 4:48:22 PM
 

35 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist