ETR-S / ETRSi Medium Format Camera


Bronica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

stanley lake
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


22 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lewis Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 3:45:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 3:45:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 3:45:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 3:45:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 3:45:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great solid camera. Has everything you could possibly need for serious work. With the speed grip it handles just as well as manual 35mm, and weighs just a bit more than a pro 35mm camera. Only complaint is the crazy steps for mirror lock up release.
12/9/2008 3:45:45 PM
 
Michael B. Colligon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 4:30:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 4:30:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 4:30:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 4:30:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 4:30:34 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Sometimes you just need a basic manual medium format camera. Few belss and whistles by toaday's standards, but still really solid.
2/2/2006 4:30:34 AM
 
joshua d. jackson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 4:30:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 4:30:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 4:30:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 4:30:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 4:30:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very pleased with sharpness
12/1/2005 4:30:37 PM
 
Reynaldo M. Marentes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:11:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:11:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:11:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:11:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:11:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Is very easy, economic and versality
10/3/2005 4:11:18 PM
 
Brian  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 12:34:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 12:34:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 12:34:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 12:34:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 12:34:57 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After years of using a 35 mm camera, I made the move to medium format. The camera that I use is a Bronica ETRSi medium format camera. Since purchasing it I have become a die hard medium format lover and rarely use my 35 mm. ETRSi is an entry level camera into the world of medium format but the quality of images it produces rivals those produced of the more expensive medium format cameras.
8/12/2005 12:34:57 AM
 
Rodney G. Adams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:41:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:41:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:41:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:41:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:41:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just another camera to make me nuts in my spare time..LOL
7/21/2005 3:41:47 PM
 
Ted J. Hammack 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:18:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:18:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:18:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:18:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:18:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great optics. Used for years. System is complete. Moderately priced.
7/17/2005 1:18:12 PM
 
Thomas K. McKnight
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/10/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:34:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:34:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:34:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:34:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:34:36 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have taken only a few rolls of film with my Bronica ETR. It is a very old model. I have never been satisfied with the pictures that I took with it. But I don't believe that I have used it enough to rate it. I would like to give it a better trial to see if I could improve my photography by using this camera.
6/11/2005 1:34:36 PM
 
Kevin Ekstrom
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/20/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 2:10:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 2:10:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 2:10:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 2:10:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 2:10:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Many options, light weight. Lenses are very good to outstanding. Best of all - THE PRICE WAS FANTASTIC...
5/20/2005 2:10:06 AM
 
Gary Brock 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 12:51:02 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 12:51:02 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 12:51:02 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 12:51:02 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 12:51:02 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great setup 80mm, 150mm, AE prism finder, interchangable backs (can change film type in mid roll). Completely manual, under my total control. Film advance is slow and cumbersome, film change is cumbersome in a fast paced shoot, but perfect in a controlled environment.
3/4/2005 12:51:02 PM
 
William J. Poye 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 10:27:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 10:27:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 10:27:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 10:27:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 10:27:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have never gotten a bad picture from this amazing medium format camera.
1/15/2005 10:27:09 PM
 
Ray A. Nieves 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 8:48:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 8:48:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 8:48:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 8:48:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 8:48:35 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have used Mamiyas, Koni-Omegas(6x7), Rolleiflexes and Bronica S2A. Now that I got an ETRSi outfit, I will sell everything else (save for my Olympus OM 35s). This is by far the best MF system I have ever used! Sharp lenses, 35mm handling,large negatives. I am in love!
9/16/2004 8:48:35 AM
 
Karen E. Stroud 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:52:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:52:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:52:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:52:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:52:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it.
7/17/2004 10:52:00 AM
 
C. Patrick Douglas 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 6:31:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 6:31:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 6:31:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 6:31:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 6:31:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera....
7/2/2004 6:31:06 AM
 
Stevie R. Berry 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 10:06:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 10:06:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 10:06:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 10:06:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 10:06:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an awsome camera! Mine has plenty of extra features, such as a speedgrip and waist-level viewfinder. You get 15 images per roll of 120 film.
4/15/2004 10:06:23 AM
 
Linda K. Armitage 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 1:57:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 1:57:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 1:57:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 1:57:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 1:57:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
lightweight, easy to use. good quality lenses. excellent camera for its price range
2/2/2004 1:57:38 AM
 
John  Papandreou 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 12:21:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 12:21:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 12:21:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 12:21:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 12:21:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love Using this camera it fits my small hands like a glove,very robust never fails to deliver a first class result. Need MF buy a Bronica.
1/20/2004 12:21:25 PM
 
Rick W. Freeman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 12:36:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 12:36:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 12:36:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 12:36:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 12:36:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great medium format camera, especially for the price.
1/13/2004 12:36:32 PM
 
Duane K. DuVall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 9:52:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 9:52:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 9:52:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 9:52:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 9:52:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
very compatible medium format for me. not easily broken from my clumsy hands. accesories are priced well with the exception of the lenses considering they hold the leaf shutter in side. i would love to add a wide angle lens to this outfit
11/7/2003 9:52:32 PM
 
Michael Daily 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:46:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:46:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:46:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:46:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:46:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
easy to use and liteweight enough to carry outside, 645 produce larger negs greater versititly
7/15/2003 9:46:58 AM
 
Michael Daily 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:44:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:44:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:44:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:44:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 9:44:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
lightweight and easy to handle, larger format for bigger prints
7/15/2003 9:44:08 AM
 
Milton Durango 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:43:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:43:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:43:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:43:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:43:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
medium format is the best way to go... the optics are awesome...i wish i could afford a digital back though... but truly an awesome camera
7/9/2003 8:43:26 PM
 

22 Reviews