EOS D60 Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Perfect Pose
View photos created with this camera

The EOS D60 Digital SLR Camera

Features of the Canon D60:


  • Digital AF SLR (body only)
  • 6.3-megapixel CMOS sensor (3152 x 2068)
  • Compatible with Type I/II CompactFlash cards and MicroDrives
  • Connects to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1
  • Powered by lithium-ion rechargeable battery (battery pack
    BP-511)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


143 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
April C. Lumpkin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:38:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:38:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:38:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:38:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:38:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, very versatile.
6/11/2006 7:38:04 PM
 
Perry Adriano 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 2:49:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 2:49:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 2:49:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 2:49:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 2:49:57 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Love it! My first DSLR. Great camera to learn from. Does have its short falls which you work around with technique. Next camera will be a full frame DSLR.
5/27/2006 2:49:57 PM
 
David McManaman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 8:00:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 8:00:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 8:00:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 8:00:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 8:00:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just puchased.
4/13/2006 8:00:56 AM
 
Eileen E. Wilson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 8:15:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 8:15:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 8:15:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 8:15:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 8:15:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera; although not top of the line, it still offers more than I have learned.
4/11/2006 8:15:40 PM
 
John S. Pool 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 12:48:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 12:48:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 12:48:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 12:48:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 12:48:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Given my druthers, I wouldn't ever choose a less-than-full-frame 35mm SLR again. At the time I bought it, however, it was what I could afford, and I'm generally happy with it. The D60 matches my shooting style pretty well; I take a *lot* of photos and it generally keeps up with my trigger finger. The controls are easily understood if the manual is nearby; at times I wish the controls were more intuitive. I also really really would like true spot-metering capability and wonder why it wasn't included as a custom function. I occasionally bemoan the lack of good, affordable wide-angle capability but appreciate the added telephoto capability.
4/5/2006 12:48:37 AM
 
Colleen E. Kenny 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 12:57:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 12:57:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 12:57:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 12:57:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 12:57:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. I would eventually like to get one with more megapixels.
3/28/2006 12:57:39 PM
 
Heidi E. Greenleaf 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:48:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:48:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:48:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:48:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:48:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Better than the EOS D30
3/27/2006 4:48:54 PM
 
Iztok Kveder 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 5:59:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 5:59:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 5:59:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 5:59:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 5:59:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The best one
3/24/2006 5:59:09 AM
 
Chip Van Gilder 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 11:42:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 11:42:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 11:42:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 11:42:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 11:42:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Controls are where they are supposed to be. I love the 11 focus points. The big review screen helps a lot. I love the Hightlight and Histograms being on the full screen. It focuses FAST! The exposures are reliable and predictable. (I usually have the SB800 set at -1/3 for people shots.)
3/13/2006 11:42:56 AM
 
Cami B. Dreyer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/28/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 12:39:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 12:39:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 12:39:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 12:39:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 12:39:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Two weeks after I bought it the 10D came out and I still have a resentment because I thought I had researched it pretty well. The auto-focus has always been a problem. I prefer low-light conditions. Basically it has been a great first digital camera for me, but I am looking forward to get my hands on a newer model someday soon.
3/11/2006 12:39:09 PM
 
Emily E. Taylor
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/2/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:11:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:11:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:11:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:11:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:11:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is a workhorse for sure. I have been very happy with it.
3/2/2006 8:11:29 PM
 
John Martinez 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:01:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:01:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:01:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:01:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:01:33 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice entry level DSLR. Noise is pretty bad at high ISO settings.
2/28/2006 9:01:33 AM
 
Jason M. Brown 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 7:10:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 7:10:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 7:10:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 7:10:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 7:10:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Actually I have borrowed this camera several times and really like it. In optimal lighting it is flawless with action shots, however with lower lighting I have to play with it a little to get what I want.
2/24/2006 7:10:50 AM
 
Kathleen A. Streich 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 5:59:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 5:59:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 5:59:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 5:59:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 5:59:54 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my first entry into the Digital World using my Canon EOS lenses. Was amazed how it opened my world of photography up.
1/25/2006 5:59:54 PM
 
Raven Regan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:26:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:26:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:26:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:26:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:26:02 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Pros: Features and options, easy menu, sturdy. Cons: Heavy, bulky, not very good in low light.
1/13/2006 11:26:02 AM
 
Bob Sako 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 4:26:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 4:26:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 4:26:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 4:26:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 4:26:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had a lot of success with this camera. Most features are aesy to access. Some pics do come out a little on the under exposed side. This is nothing I can't usually fix in Photoshop, but I shouldn't have to.
1/8/2006 4:26:23 PM
 
Barbara J. Shivers 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 7:36:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 7:36:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 7:36:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 7:36:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 7:36:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My Rebel XT takes wonderful photographs. I've had Canon cameras for many years and have always liked them. I like being able to use the same lenses that I already had for my Canon 35mm Rebel 2000. I like the size of the Rebel XT. I don't care for little cameras.
12/4/2005 7:36:33 PM
 
Walter Browne 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:54:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:54:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:54:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:54:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:54:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought my Canon D60 2 years ago and I have to say that I am very pleased with the performance. I use 2 Sigma Lens, 28mm-70mm/f2.8, and 105mm/f2.8 Macro. My main interest is landscape photography. My only negative point is not with the camera but with Canon. When I look at the price of the next generation of the Canon Digital range i.e. the D20 and the price level I get very angry. I have been a Canon user for all my time taking Photographs and I really feel that the D60 was way over priced when launched. I know things move on but this is how I feel about the issue.
11/20/2005 7:54:52 AM
 
Maria J. Aridgides
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:52:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:52:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:52:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:52:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:52:38 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, enjoy outdoor shooting with it, although I also miss some software features of my older Minolta Dimage 7h.
11/4/2005 7:52:38 AM
 
Maria J. Aridgides
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:51:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:51:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:51:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:51:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 7:51:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, enjoy outdoor shooting with it, although I also miss some software features of my older Minolta Dimage 7h.
11/4/2005 7:51:53 AM
 
Dustin Becker 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:10:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:10:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:10:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:10:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:10:12 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
my first digital slr. Pretty good camera. trouble focusing in low light with my canon f/3.5 max lens. I think that the built-in flash is inconsistent in exposures. Overall, its a good camera
10/24/2005 1:10:12 PM
 
Steven T. Ehly 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:46:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:46:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:46:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:46:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:46:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first digital SLR. Very happy with the camera and the resulting photos. Moved up to Canon EOS 20D for more versatility, better resolution, and increased burst capacity. Nothing negative to say other than occasional difficulty with autofocus in low light conditions.
10/14/2005 11:46:00 AM
 
Art McColgan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:26:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:26:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:26:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:26:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:26:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for less then $1500.00
10/9/2005 11:26:17 PM
 
Lori A. Jaber 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:36:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:36:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:36:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:36:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:36:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I Love my camera, just wish it had more megapixels, but I love the ease of use and quality of the images it produces.
10/6/2005 6:36:17 PM
 
Michael J. Graham
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 5:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 5:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 5:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 5:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 5:30:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good over all picture taking. Very easy to use. Easy to convert from the old 35mm to digital.
9/19/2005 5:30:02 PM
 
Emanuel R.L Marcos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/22/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 4:59:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 4:59:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 4:59:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 4:59:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 4:59:20 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice cam, but a bit slow . not a D20!
9/6/2005 4:59:20 AM
 
Samantha Ms. Sherman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 12:20:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 12:20:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 12:20:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 12:20:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 12:20:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is slow to take the picture, but they come out well.
9/3/2005 12:20:59 PM
 
Kenneth E. Morris 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 8:17:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 8:17:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 8:17:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 8:17:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 8:17:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love Canon gear! Partly for the durability and consistancy, but mostly for the LENSES! My only complaint is Canon keeps moving forward and my gear keeps getting outdated. Wish I could keep up with them!
9/1/2005 8:17:41 PM
 
Laura Mooney 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 4:57:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 4:57:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 4:57:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 4:57:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 4:57:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really like this camera because it's easy to use, has lots of options and it has a wide variaty of lenses that it can use.
8/20/2005 4:57:53 PM
 
Andrew Kauffman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:40:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:40:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:40:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:40:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:40:29 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first DSLR and it is great. Although I wish for better lenses this camera does the job I am looking for. It has plenty of creative options and allows me to move from morning till night with ease.
8/18/2005 7:40:29 AM
 
Jorge Dopazo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 11:51:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 11:51:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 11:51:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 11:51:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 11:51:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It was a great digital SLR for it's day. Now my 20D is what I use
8/14/2005 11:51:15 AM
 
Michelle  L. Hasz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 10:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 10:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 10:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 10:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 10:37:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just bought my camera, and I am totally loving it! I am saving for a macro lens, but the two lens that I have with it now are great for all my pics I am taking now. I am still experimenting with this camera, but I love the fact that I can change lens and also choose manual or auto focus. The camera is very comfy to hold, and very durable yet still not tooo heavy like some.
8/12/2005 10:37:11 PM
 
Rick Baker 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 3:18:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 3:18:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 3:18:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 3:18:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 3:18:47 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
pretty good
7/13/2005 3:18:47 AM
 
Richard  G. Lucas 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:17:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:17:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:17:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:17:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:17:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best camera I have ever owned.
6/11/2005 5:17:59 AM
 
Richard  G. Lucas 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:10:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:10:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:10:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:10:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:10:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best camera I have ever owned.
6/11/2005 5:10:17 AM
 
Richard G. Lucas 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:42:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:42:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:42:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:42:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:42:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the Best digital camera I ahve ever used
5/29/2005 7:42:22 PM
 
Richard G. Lucas 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:30:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:30:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:30:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:30:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 7:30:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best camera I have ever used
5/29/2005 7:30:27 PM
 
Michael Montavon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/7/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 10:53:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 10:53:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 10:53:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 10:53:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 10:53:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it! However, I couldn't give it the highest rating because I haven't shot much with anything else.
5/7/2005 10:53:42 AM
 
Connie J. Bagot
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/6/2005
Contact Connie
Connie's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 2:03:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 2:03:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 2:03:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 2:03:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 2:03:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful camera.
5/6/2005 2:03:54 PM
 
Sean P. Long
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/3/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:16:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A very good camera and pretty easy to use.
5/3/2005 6:16:49 PM
 
Melvin John Adams Atkins 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 6:58:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 6:58:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 6:58:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 6:58:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 6:58:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I find it easy to work with and quick for lens changes
4/25/2005 6:58:36 PM
 
Stephan R. Rapp 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 5:02:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 5:02:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 5:02:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 5:02:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 5:02:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great camera
4/24/2005 5:02:01 PM
 
Gary Chow 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:34:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:34:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:34:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:34:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:34:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's solid and user friendly. Still working very well!
4/21/2005 5:34:31 AM
 
Allen L. Moore 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:01:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:01:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:01:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:01:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:01:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Recently bought this used D60. It is my first digital SLR and I absolutely love it. Still have much to learn about all the features, but the basic use is just tremendous compared to point-and-shoot.
4/18/2005 4:01:09 PM
 
Harvinder S. Sandhu 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 10:21:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 10:21:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 10:21:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 10:21:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 10:21:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
good for Natural and ameture photography
4/7/2005 10:21:42 AM
 
Kenneth Deitcher 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 10:39:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 10:39:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 10:39:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 10:39:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 10:39:01 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Speed and pixels
4/5/2005 10:39:01 AM
 
Timothy L. Blackwell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:53:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:53:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:53:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:53:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:53:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pros:
Mirror lock up
Fast operation
Picks up where the D30 left off
Clean images at each ISO
Very little noise
Parameters are easy to set

Cons:
Expensive Cable Release
Build Quality
Autofocus

3/18/2005 1:53:19 PM
 
Timothy L. Blackwell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:52:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:52:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:52:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:52:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 1:52:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pros:
Mirror lock up
Fast operation
Picks up where the D30 left off
Clean images at each ISO
Very little noise
Parameters are easy to set

Cons:
Expensive Cable Release
Build Quality
Autofocus

3/18/2005 1:52:40 PM
 
Amy L. Johnson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 2:37:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 2:37:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 2:37:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 2:37:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 2:37:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For an affordable well-functioning digital slr, this one's great. Easy to operate in all modes, this lightweight gem is great for a newbie like myself
3/8/2005 2:37:01 PM
 
Dustin Becker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:15:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:15:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:15:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:15:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:15:30 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good camera, sometimes i'm not happy with the automatic exposures
2/19/2005 10:15:30 AM
 
Neal E. Thatcher 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 10:24:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 10:24:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 10:24:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 10:24:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 10:24:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good: Great image quality, love using my 35mm EOS lenses with it, fairly acurate meter. Bad: poor autofocus in low light, ASA doesn't go high enough, 1.6x crop factor made purchasing new wide angles a neccessity
2/16/2005 10:24:04 AM
 
Tammy L. Lucas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:13:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:13:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:13:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:13:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:13:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the D70 because it's body is basically the same as the Nikon N80 that I started out with. All the controls are pretty much in the same area...the basic ones anyway. I like that you can take photographs quickly without lag time. I do wish it had a place for a cable release, but the remote control works okay in place of that.
2/13/2005 6:13:08 PM
 
Robert D. Hayes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 6:32:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 6:32:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 6:32:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 6:32:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 6:32:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera. The photos are sharp and detailed, the color is very nice and is compatible with the Canon line of products. My only complaint is that the autofocus is not what it should be.
1/5/2005 6:32:00 PM
 
Wayne Wallace 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 10:15:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 10:15:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 10:15:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 10:15:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 10:15:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Been happy with it
12/11/2004 10:15:23 PM
 
Fred I. Clayton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 9:33:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 9:33:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 9:33:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 9:33:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 9:33:47 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Only drawback is difficult to focus in low light. Elsewise a good camera.
11/30/2004 9:33:47 PM
 
Sanjiv V. Nadkarni 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 5:43:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 5:43:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 5:43:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 5:43:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 5:43:28 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Canon EOS D60 is a very good camera. I have used raw - tiff format for even offset printing also which is exllent. The camera allows us to use all the canon EOS lenses - the biggest advantage. I use the camera very regularly,with full confidence. I found only one problem or defect in this camera (I donot know what I should call this) that is, the camera produces out of focus result on the left hand side image when the battery is working with low power in it. I have not used, tried any other camera so I cannot understand whether that is a fault of a camera or digital systems work like that. If anybody can guide me I will be thankfull.
11/12/2004 5:43:28 AM
 
John   4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 11:20:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 11:20:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 11:20:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 11:20:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 11:20:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Yes the autofocus is a little slow, but otherwise this is a great camera. I am surprised by the number of people who take issue with low light Performance, I think this camera does just fine. In fact I bought it in part due to its ability to take excellent night shots. I however having started with a completely manual camera I am not afraid to shut off the auto focus set the camera to manual to compose my image. This technique along with a good understanding of the cameras parameters and white balance settings produces amazing results. Having used a 10D and digital Rebel I found no reason to abandon this camera just yet in spite of the superior autofocus of those cameras. However the color space options on those cameras sure would be nice to see in a Canon firmware upgrade for the D60. I suppose it would also be nice to be able to adjust the white balance in the Kelvin scale like the 10D. But hey, I only gave this camera a 9 out of 10 (which in reality is more like an 8.5 out of 10)instead of the 10/10 I would have given the 10D.
10/23/2004 11:20:52 AM
 
Jeanne M  Hatch 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 12:28:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 12:28:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 12:28:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 12:28:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 12:28:31 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice camera, I've had it since it came out, I just replaced it with the Canon EOS 20D for higher pixels and for better relationship with my newer lenses.
10/19/2004 12:28:31 PM
 
Christine Pentecost
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 2:49:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 2:49:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 2:49:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 2:49:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 2:49:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My husband bought this camera for the two of us, and this is the camera I have learned on. I'm pleased with it, I think it's easy to use (after reading the manual a time or two). I didn't have any say-so in the purchase of it, as my husband had done all of the research, and I was not into photography enough when he bought it.
10/5/2004 2:49:20 PM
 
Barry L. Anderson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:14:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:14:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:14:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:14:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:14:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I loved this camera. Hated to part with it (to get 1DMkII). Excellent color. I had none of the problems many other complained about. Very accurate focus. Pretty good up to ISO 800.
9/24/2004 7:14:54 PM
 
Patrick L. McAvoy
plmcavoydesign.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 5:45:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 5:45:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 5:45:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 5:45:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 5:45:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Canon D60. The only drawback is that is has difficulty focusing in low-light. i'm told that the 10D has overcome this problem. But, all in all, the D60 is a great camera.
9/2/2004 5:45:20 PM
 
Duncan Grandin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 10:04:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 10:04:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 10:04:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 10:04:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 10:04:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is more than good enough for the time being. Can't aford and up grade and not sure that I need to. It takes great pictures.
8/6/2004 10:04:42 PM
 
Mike Pond 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:20:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:20:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:20:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:20:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:20:27 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very pleased overall. I use it mostly for sports and landscapes - it has the features I need. Only complaint is auto focus was a bit weak on this model, improved on the D10. Nice responsive feel, reliable.
7/29/2004 12:20:27 PM
 
Supapong Chanlongbutra 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 1:19:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 1:19:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 1:19:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 1:19:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 1:19:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my workhorse. It's reasonably tough, reliable and capable of withstanding high temperature and humidity in Thailand where I live. Coupled this camera with several lenses I own is no problem (I currently own EF 50/1.8, EF 24-85 USM, EF 20-35 USM, 70-200 -/2.8 Apo EX HSM by Sigma and 70-300 DL by Sigma)
7/26/2004 1:19:50 AM
 
Susan Fairmont 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 11:34:22 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 11:34:22 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 11:34:22 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 11:34:22 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 11:34:22 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I bought this camera from a friend who is a professional portrait photographer. I wish I had spent more time researching cameras before I bought it......I would not have made the purchase had I done so. I love taking pictures in low-light situations. The D60 is not the right camera for that. I just purchased a 50mm 1.4 lens which I'm hoping will help somewhat. But I wish I had not bought the D60.
7/20/2004 11:34:22 AM
 
Rebecca J. Stice 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:15:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:15:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:15:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:15:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:15:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it.... This camera has been the best I have ever had.
7/14/2004 7:15:28 PM
 
Lynne Glezos 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:14:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:14:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:14:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:14:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:14:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Canon. It takes one shot pictures as well as allows me the creativity to set the aperature and shutterspeed.
7/13/2004 10:14:07 PM
 
Christine Hansen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:20:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:20:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:20:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:20:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:20:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great starter D SLR. But now I want more!
7/9/2004 7:20:29 AM
 
Carol Zychowski 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:31:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:31:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:31:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:31:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:31:04 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
'Twas the best "Prosumer" camera at the time we bought it. We've bee quite satisfied. Of course now there's better features which we'll move up to shortly.
7/7/2004 10:31:04 AM
 
Wiktor Franciszek Zych 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:26:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:26:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:26:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:26:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 8:26:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Canon EOS D60 with Tamron EF 28-200mm 1:3,8-5,6 Asph. XR Macro optionally with : +3d+4d lens ( both of them )
6/26/2004 8:26:49 AM
 
Marianne Jensen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/9/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 7:06:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 7:06:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 7:06:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 7:06:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 7:06:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent images quality.
6/25/2004 7:06:42 PM
 
June M. Stipp
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/21/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 4:13:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 4:13:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 4:13:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 4:13:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 4:13:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My D60 takes Wonderful pictures, better detail than I could have ever anticipated. People that I show my photos to are just blown away at the details it takes. The only downfall is in low light situations. I will only up grade to Canon EOS 1D Mark II.
6/24/2004 4:13:16 PM
 
Kim Derham 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:20:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:20:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:20:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:20:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:20:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the quality of the pictures with this camera,my favorite is sports mode. I don't like the learning curve,there is so much to learn.I hope by taking a few classes that this will get better. I wish someone would have told me how careful you have to be about changing lenses. My camera has spots on my pictures and when I look through the view finder. My camera is going in for service tomorrow.
6/17/2004 11:20:40 AM
 
Julie D. Teague 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 3:17:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 3:17:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 3:17:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 3:17:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 3:17:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think this camera is great for photographers who are starting out a new studio. It takes really great pictures. And is not too bad of a price now that it is obsolete after only a year. My only beef is that I want more sharpness and detail, oh wait a minute that's gonna cost me $6,000. :-)
6/15/2004 3:17:02 PM
 
Victoria N. Trout 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:08:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:08:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:08:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:08:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:08:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I just bought this camera a fwe months ago. I had never worked in digital before but I love it. It took me a while to get it working like I wanted it but the pictures are coming out great. I love it
6/7/2004 1:08:32 PM
 
Jennifer B. Anderson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 5:53:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 5:53:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 5:53:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 5:53:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 5:53:04 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think the D60 has been a terrific teaching tool for outdoor lighting techniques as I can readily try various settings. I was a little disappointed that my flash for my Regel G was not interchangeable but my lenses are and this has been a plus.
6/2/2004 5:53:04 AM
 
John G. Frey 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 6:04:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 6:04:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 6:04:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 6:04:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 6:04:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the Canon. It does everything I need it to do and has great battery life and is very easy to use.
5/27/2004 6:04:09 PM
 
April  M. Hill 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 8:22:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 8:22:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 8:22:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 8:22:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 8:22:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera, take's awesome photographs. Easy to use (for an advanced user) Many options available. I have found my only grip to be auto focus cannot be trusted. Other than that it is the best camera I have ever used.
4/21/2004 8:22:13 PM
 
Don Long 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 7:24:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 7:24:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 7:24:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 7:24:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 7:24:55 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Canon D60. I tried some of the newer "lighter" and less expensive Canon models, and like many other D60 owners, soon reverted back to the D60. After shootings digitals in ALL types of conditions (I live in rural Colorado), I find the stability and feautures of this model is truly the digital camera to own. In time, I won't be the only wild life photographer to revert back to this model.

You can't really expect digital cameras to perform miracles under low light conditions. Who wants an expensive point and shoot. That's why we are photographers and use Manual setting to achieve the ultimate results with this fine camera.

Don Long
Pagosa Springs CO

4/21/2004 7:24:55 AM
 
Mark Miller 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:47:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:47:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:47:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:47:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:47:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Canon D60 is one of the better digital cameras that I've used. I like that fact that all of my existing Canon Eos lenses work with it. The quality is good but it may not be as well built as the 10D. I just got a 10D so we'll see the difference in a few weeks.
4/20/2004 9:47:19 PM
 
daniya dnisheva 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 6:26:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 6:26:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 6:26:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 6:26:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 6:26:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
it is a comfortable camera, not too powerfull, but good enought for it's price. comfortable to use, the only problem as for any Digital camera- photographer becomes lazy.
4/20/2004 6:26:48 AM
 
Linda Law 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:47:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:47:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:47:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:47:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:47:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I don't like to use it to take night pictures, otherwise I like the rest.
4/18/2004 12:47:18 PM
 
Bruce Prince 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:37:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:37:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:37:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:37:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:37:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For the most part I'm pretty happy with it. It's great having the instant feedback on the display to check composition and the histogram for checking highlights. Of course, since the 10D came out, I've been wishing I'd waited a bit longer. The one thing that was an unpleasant surprise was when some dust got onto the sensor and it was kind of expensive to get it cleaned.
4/18/2004 1:37:51 AM
 
Varina Carriveau 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:16:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:16:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:16:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:16:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:16:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera overall. The auto focus isn't terrific in low light situations. Overall, fairly easy to use.
4/17/2004 8:16:45 PM
 
David B. Miller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 4:49:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 4:49:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 4:49:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 4:49:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 4:49:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It is very easy to use and produces very high quality images. Only drawback is in poor lighting conditions where it is slow to create image.
4/17/2004 4:49:18 PM
 
Paul D. Morgan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:11:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:11:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:11:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:11:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:11:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Does very well.
4/13/2004 5:11:25 PM
 
Alan L. Borror
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/12/2004
Contact Alan
Alan's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 12:05:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 12:05:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 12:05:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 12:05:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 12:05:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
no spot meter but histogram helps with exposure
4/12/2004 12:05:01 PM
 
Michael Watt 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 9:59:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 9:59:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 9:59:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 9:59:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 9:59:01 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it a good camera to start with.
4/4/2004 9:59:01 AM
 
Walter F. Stark 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 4:21:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 4:21:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 4:21:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 4:21:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 4:21:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Camera closely imitates the functioning of the other EOS film Canons. There is a lengthy delay in the time between shutter being triggered and actual activation. Sometimes, the Auto-focus makes it difficult to catch "The decisive moment." For use in photograping static subjects, its use of other EF mount Auto focus lenses make it verstile.
3/22/2004 4:21:04 AM
 
Arnon David 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:29:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:29:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:29:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:29:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:29:45 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Got it just 2 months ago so I can't really tell, just that is handles a lot better then my old Minolta Dimage 5. Wish it had spot memetring, but that's about it. Needs good lens for optimal results.
3/14/2004 3:29:45 AM
 
Raven Schwan-Noble
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/29/2003
ravensviewphotography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 7:24:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 7:24:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 7:24:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 7:24:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 7:24:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. It accepts all my canon lens and is very user friendly. Its 2 main drawbacks that I have found is shoting in low light is very difficult (the 10D has improved this) and there is a hesitation befor the shutter is released that traditional cameras dont have.
3/11/2004 7:24:05 PM
 
Donald E. Copley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 12:53:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 12:53:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 12:53:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 12:53:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 12:53:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have not worked with any other SLR.digital cameras but I am veary happy with my D60 so far
2/29/2004 12:53:46 PM
 
Kathryn Chiasson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:41:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:41:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:41:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:41:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:41:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I recently switched to Canon Digital from the Canon Elan 7 and am having a great time.
2/17/2004 6:41:44 AM
 
Kelly Hansel 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 2:39:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 2:39:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 2:39:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 2:39:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 2:39:21 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, only drawback is that it doesn't perform well in low light.
2/16/2004 2:39:21 PM
 
Curtis Welsh 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 3:17:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 3:17:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 3:17:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 3:17:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 3:17:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good for instant images.
2/15/2004 3:17:10 AM
 
Bill Houghton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/9/2004
Contact Bill
Bill's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 4:35:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 4:35:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 4:35:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 4:35:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 4:35:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera. Auto focus a little slow on moving subjects.
2/12/2004 4:35:13 AM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:54:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:54:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:54:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:54:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:54:33 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
After 40 years of film, the move to digital was the best decision I ever made
1/23/2004 10:54:33 AM
 
Jennifer Allen-Ratz 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 8:54:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 8:54:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 8:54:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 8:54:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 8:54:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A wonderful camera. I was originally set on buying a digital Cannon Rebel. But after comparing features with the D60 and finding a great deal on Ebay I was sold on the D60. It has more features than the digital Rebel such as depth of field preview which was a big seller for me. The lenses from my 35mm Rebel G are compatible with the D60 which meant saving a lot of money on accessories. 6.3 megapixels is plenty for me to have fun with. It is a little heavier than the Rebel G but has the same design idea so I was already fimiliar with the basics of it. The D60 can be hooked up to a computer or television for picture playback. It only took a day to get use to and understand the extra buttons and gizmos on this camera. I highly recommend it for the serious shutterbug or pro.
1/19/2004 8:54:09 PM
 
Alan R. Anderson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:38:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:38:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:38:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:38:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:38:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love my D60. Easy to operate once you read thru the manual. Only regrets are that I didn't know Canon as coming out with the 10D when I bought my D60.
1/7/2004 6:38:10 PM
 
Alan R. Anderson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:03:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:03:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:03:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:03:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:03:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
That Canon was coming out with a newer model with additional features that was cheaper in price.
1/7/2004 6:03:31 PM
 
Daniela Schmid 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:52:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:52:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:52:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:52:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 8:52:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera with lot of possibilities!
1/2/2004 8:52:06 PM
 
Luis Jorge  Perera Campos 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 4:19:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 4:19:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 4:19:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 4:19:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 4:19:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best , now i have d10 from Canon .
12/31/2003 4:19:51 AM
 
Janae L. Runyon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 11:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 11:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 11:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 11:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 11:52:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have little to compare to...but I have been able to capture shots I never imagined I could....plus I will never be bored with it as I have not even scratched the surface of what I can do. I love my camera!
12/18/2003 11:52:33 PM
 
Robert Patterson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:57:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:57:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:57:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:57:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2003 3:57:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Bought this camera used. Knew what I was buying from other reviews. Does everything I need. Best to go to dpreview.com and read their review or any of the other sites known for their reviews. I'd rather have the 1Ds but couldn't afford such a camera.
12/8/2003 3:57:03 PM
 
Bob Jones
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/20/2003
Contact Bob
Bob's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:28 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After a few months using the New 10D
I have after a lot of soul searching decided that it has to go and I have reverted back to my old and trusted D60.

Before the stalwarts of the 10D camp charge in and proclaim there is nothing wrong with the camera let me explain why I have made the decision.

Firstly I was over the moon with the 10D for candids and portrait shots but when I started using it for landscape I was completely disillusioned.

The problem I feel it is a matter of lenses in my case. I use all Sigma and have been very happy with the results with my D30 and D60 but not the 10D.

Fuzzy, out of focus and generally unacceptable for the most part. Low light photography is a main part of my hobby and whereas with the D60 I would automatically use Manual the 10D would lock on immediately auto but when I viewed the images on the computer they would always be out of focus.

For me there has been no advantage in the "Step Up" to the 10D ... so it's bye-bye 10D and I'll wait to see what Canon unravels in the coming year.

So for me the D60 is the camera to use and possibly the best camera Canon have produced apart from the Eos D1 and D1a

12/6/2003 12:38:28 AM
 
Bob Jones
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/20/2003
Contact Bob
Bob's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:11 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:11 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:11 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:11 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 12:38:11 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After a few months using the New 10D
I have after a lot of soul searching decided that it has to go and I have reverted back to my old and trusted D60.

Before the stalwarts of the 10D camp charge in and proclaim there is nothing wrong with the camera let me explain why I have made the decision.

Firstly I was over the moon with the 10D for candids and portrait shots but when I started using it for landscape I was completely disillusioned.

The problem I feel it is a matter of lenses in my case. I use all Sigma and have been very happy with the results with my D30 and D60 but not the 10D.

Fuzzy, out of focus and generally unacceptable for the most part. Low light photography is a main part of my hobby and whereas with the D60 I would automatically use Manual the 10D would lock on immediately auto but when I viewed the images on the computer they would always be out of focus.

For me there has been no advantage in the "Step Up" to the 10D ... so it's bye-bye 10D and I'll wait to see what Canon unravels in the coming year.

So for me the D60 is the camera to use and possibly the best camera Canon have produced apart from the Eos D1 and D1a

12/6/2003 12:38:11 AM
 
Rob Zukoski 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:29:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:29:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:29:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:29:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:29:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Canon D60 has been a very good camera for me. I bought it at the end of 2002 and half a year later I got a 300mm 2.8 canon lense for sports photography. I've been able to produce great photos in good lighting conditions but the toughest part was to learn how to get good shots at night or in overcast and rainy conditions. And I'm still learning how to best set the camera. For sports shooting, the "sports mode" on the camera works well in good light but not so good in tough lighted conditions. Here I need to learn the best settings to overide the camera. An added plus would be to have 8 frame/sec like the 1d but overall the D60 has been a great producer for me.
11/23/2003 5:29:36 PM
 
Hugh Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/22/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:49:00 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:49:00 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:49:00 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:49:00 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:49:00 PM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
probably the worst digital camera I have ever used, terrible in low light(gives all images a magenta look) terrible in day light (constantly overexposes)focusing always out of synch, constantly get error messages when taking picture, it's slow and gives too little detail (I use very good lenses)My other digital camera a 520 kodak makes this look like a cheap disposable toy and that's nearly 4 years old.
11/22/2003 12:49:00 PM
 
Hugh Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/22/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:48:24 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:48:24 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:48:24 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:48:24 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:48:24 PM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
Possibly the worst digital camera that I have had the misfortune to use. terrible in low light (pictures come out redish.) terrible in daylight (pictures are constantly over-exposed)fails to focus correctley and often get error message after taking a picture. My dcs-520 is almost 4 years old and makes the D60 look like a disposable toy by comparrison. my coolpix 995 was much better.
11/22/2003 12:48:24 PM
 
Hugh Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/22/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:44:04 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:44:04 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:44:04 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:44:04 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:44:04 PM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
probably the worst digital camera I have ever used, terrible in low light(gives all images a magenta look) terrible in day light (constantly overexposes)focusing always out of synch, constantly get error messages when taking picture, it's slow and gives too little detail (I use very good lenses)My other digital camera a 520 kodak makes this look like a cheap disposable toy and that's nearly 4 years old.
11/22/2003 12:44:04 PM
 
Hugh Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/22/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 10:57:53 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 10:57:53 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 10:57:53 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 10:57:53 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 10:57:53 AM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
probably the worst digital camera I have ever used, terrible in low light(gives all images a magenta look) terrible in day light (constantly overexposes)focusing always out of synch, constantly get error messages when taking picture, it's slow and gives too little detail (I use very good lenses)My other digital camera a 520 kodak makes this look like a cheap disposable toy and that's nearly 4 years old.
11/22/2003 10:57:53 AM
 
Bob Jones
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/20/2003
Contact Bob
Bob's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:52:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:52:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:52:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:52:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:52:29 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A superb work horse, low light can be a problem but I have always used manual focus for these occasions... The best camera I have used to date ...
11/22/2003 12:52:29 AM
 
Jay Forman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 2:15:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 2:15:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 2:15:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 2:15:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 2:15:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've always been a Canon user, so I'm biased toward their logic. My only gripe doesn't really concern Canon, but the limitations still within digital photography, such as pixel size variations, three-layer-based chips, etc.
11/12/2003 2:15:00 PM
 
Vickie A. Rogers 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 10:23:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 10:23:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 10:23:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 10:23:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 10:23:40 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have had constant problems with the color and contrast and my white baslance doesn't seem to be working correctly. I think it is just my camera, not all canons and have sent it in for repairs. I wish that I had of waited and purchased the 10D, it has more focus points.
10/30/2003 10:23:40 AM
 
Peter Ireland 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 12:27:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 12:27:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 12:27:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 12:27:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 12:27:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's an older model right now, but it is completely superior to any point and shoot models. I really liek this camera.
10/25/2003 12:27:42 PM
 
Stan J. Contrades
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/17/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:30:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:30:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:30:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:30:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:30:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's not so much the camera as it is the "nut behind the wheel" sort of thing. Still learning and shooting every day. I like the smoothness of the lenses that I use. Like the ability to see the images right away and shooting as if there were no tomorrow. I had no qualms about moving to this particular equipment as I just moved over from the Rebel G. The slight lag hasn't bothered me as much as others ... it's not like I don't have the time :-)
10/24/2003 1:30:56 PM
 
Julie Teague 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:13:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:13:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:13:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:13:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:13:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! The only thing that bothers me about it is low light auto focus. It has a really hard time "seeing" enough to focus on an object. I wish someone would have told me that Canon was discontinuing production of the D60 and coming out with a newer version $500 cheaper!
10/16/2003 1:13:36 PM
 
Angela H. Lovett 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2003 12:00:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2003 12:00:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2003 12:00:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2003 12:00:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2003 12:00:39 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Frustrating to use in low light conditions.
10/11/2003 12:00:39 PM
 
Gary O`Dell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 10:46:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 10:46:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 10:46:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 10:46:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 10:46:46 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have enjoyed my Canon very much. The only gripe is that I sometimes have difficulty with the auto focus feature in low light situations.
10/9/2003 10:46:46 AM
 
Bob Jones 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 2:01:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 2:01:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 2:01:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 2:01:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 2:01:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
An excellent DSLR, some drawbacks like focusing in low light but otherwise superb
9/18/2003 2:01:16 PM
 
Frank Elder
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/9/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:38:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:38:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:38:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:38:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:38:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really rekindled my passion for photography. Only problem is underexposure when using camera meter modes.
9/9/2003 6:38:30 PM
 
John Cummings 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 4:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 4:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 4:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 4:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 4:16:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love this for what I do... See my web site....
8/25/2003 4:16:49 PM
 
Jennifer Saguto 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 7:58:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 7:58:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 7:58:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 7:58:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 7:58:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first digital camera and I love it. It is easy to use and the canon brand is top quality. I use only canon accessories and the image quality is superb.
8/23/2003 7:58:44 AM
 
Peter  Brickey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:43:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:43:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:43:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:43:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:43:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera since April, 2003 and I love it! I take mostly landscape and general shots, but after the first couple of hours, I leave the seeting on manual. Very easy to use and with a 1 gig microdrive, I can take well over 350 shots per shoot at the highest file setting.
7/29/2003 6:43:35 PM
 
Peter  Brickey 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:24:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:24:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:24:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:24:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:24:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera makes me look GOOD!
7/29/2003 6:24:32 PM
 
Alan Smallbone 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 6:05:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 6:05:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 6:05:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 6:05:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 6:05:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A truly wonderful camera, the only negative thing is the fairly slow autofocus and the low light focusing, but a great camera if you take the time to learn the limitations.
7/26/2003 6:05:15 PM
 
Nick  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 5:14:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 5:14:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 5:14:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 5:14:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 5:14:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
this is a great digital camera if you know what to adjust you can get breath taking sun sets and nature shots and because it is a canon your sports needs are all taken care of.
7/22/2003 5:14:11 PM
 
She-She Killough 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 9:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 9:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 9:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 9:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 9:15:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera, I only wish someone would have told me Cannon was coming out with the 10D I might have waited because I seem to shoot in alot of low light situations. Nevertheless I still enjoy using the D60 and have to learn all it's nuances.
7/14/2003 9:15:20 AM
 
Cindy L. LaJoy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 7:25:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 7:25:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 7:25:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 7:25:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 7:25:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera and feel as if I have found my next 20 year camera! Of course, technology won't allow that, I am sure, but I had my Canon Ae1 Program that long. The learning curve for the D60 was much easier than I anticipated, especially never having used a "Modern" camera. Very intuitive for me to use. My frustration with the other, slow shutter lag digicams is gone and I love using interchangeable lenses. I am not even close to a pro, but this camera is making my hobby much more enjoyable.
7/11/2003 7:25:45 PM
 
Warren Ishii
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/11/2001
HawaiianIslandImages.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 12:55:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 12:55:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 12:55:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 12:55:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 12:55:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
What's Good: Accepts Canon Glass What's Not Good: Autofocus in low light.
7/7/2003 12:55:45 AM
 
Bill Menzel 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:25:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:25:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:25:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:25:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:25:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
love it
7/6/2003 7:25:46 PM
 
Tracy Kraljev 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 10:19:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 10:19:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 10:19:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 10:19:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 10:19:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The D60 works for me ! I absolutely love the creamy backgrounds and have yet to see one speck of noise. The autofocus is very good but not great. Fortunately photoshop 7 allows for correction. I don't think I will replace this camera until it gives out. Canon lenses are a must for the D60.
7/2/2003 10:19:46 AM
 
Jacolyn Mason 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 8:04:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 8:04:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 8:04:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 8:04:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 8:04:33 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camara for outside action shots. The studio shots with canned lights require a lot of light.
6/26/2003 8:04:33 AM
 
Erryca R. Robicheaux 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 7:14:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 7:14:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 7:14:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 7:14:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 7:14:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
good camera if you know what youre doing. the pictures are surprisingly high quality for a digital camera. not very good in low light situations. slow AF (especially lower light and action shots), so manual focus is often best. photos tend to be a little dark and it is helpful to set it 1 or 1 1/2 stops above the meter.
6/20/2003 7:14:02 PM
 
aileen mayer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 12:13:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 12:13:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 12:13:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 12:13:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 12:13:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fairly easy to use and has alot of nice features to try different settings.
6/19/2003 12:13:56 PM
 
David Morrell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:52:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:52:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:52:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:52:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:52:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fantastic camera! Very user friendly, with plenty of manual settings to try different styles of photography. Digital SLR's are definitely improving!
6/18/2003 6:52:22 AM
 
America B 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:50:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:50:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:50:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:50:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:50:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
FOr being my first SLR camera, it has opened a whole new world to me. I like the durable body and the easy to use menus and controls. All the things I don't like with the D60 were corrected in the 10D, such as the review zoom going to 10x and the ISO control being handier. I have printed to 16X20 with this camera using Genuine Fractals(THanks Piper!) and the results were wonderful!! Overall an awesome tool!
6/17/2003 12:50:21 PM
 
Sharon E. Lowe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/7/2002
Contact Sharon
Sharon's Gallery
photosbysharon.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 6:10:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 6:10:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 6:10:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 6:10:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 6:10:25 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Wish I had known the D10 was coming out because it fixed just about everything I don't like about my D60. In particular, the focusing screen in the D60 is not the greatest - only 3 points, which can make it very hard to focus sometimes. The D10 has a much better focusing screen as well as other improvements over the D60. Also, the Canon software isn't the greatest - I now use Adobe's RAW image processing plug-in to process my RAW images from the camera. That said, it does take great pictures and is easy to use.
6/16/2003 6:10:25 AM
 
Cindy L. LaJoy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2003 10:02:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2003 10:02:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2003 10:02:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2003 10:02:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2003 10:02:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had my D60 for about 2 months now, having made the big leap from a Canon AE-1 Program. I had used a compact digital camera prior to the D60, but was so darned frustrated with the shutter lag that I decided to go for it and shell out the big bucks. After all, AE-1 had lasted me for 20 years, so the D60 should suffice for many years to come as long as technology doesn't make it obsolete.

I was VERY itimidated by the camera and expected to feel overwhelmed with it. However, for a relative newbie to high end digital I found the owners manual super easy to understand and I was up and running very quickly.

And the photos...man, the quality is incredible. I will likely not use many of the high end functions on the camera, and I found the software that came with it a big pain, but overall I feel I really got my money's worth. I also love the bulk and feel of the camera, I didn't want some flimsy feeling mamby-pamby camera, and this delivered in that department. The functions are fairly intuitive, so that made the learning curve even easier for me.

2/18/2003 10:02:24 PM
 
Mark Oxley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/22/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2002 2:13:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2002 2:13:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2002 2:13:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2002 2:13:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2002 2:13:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had my D60 for about a month now and love it. This is my first digital camera and I was really impressed with the overall image quality. The CMOS sensor employed in the D60 gives almost film like picture quality. As I shoot mainly wildlife the 1.6 focal muliplier doesn't efect me in the same way it might with someone who shoots mainly wideangel. In fact in my case it's a real bonus, I don't have to use my 1.4 extender neally as much now and when I do in conjunction with my 100-400LIS lens I get a stagering 896mm! I have printed up to A3 size on a Canon s9000 printer and the results are to put it bluntly, Tremendous!! At just under 2,000 here in the UK, it is an expensive piece of kit, but if like me you shoot a lot of film you could easily get your money back in a couple of years.
11/13/2002 2:13:19 AM
 
Bob Friedman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2002 11:23:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2002 11:23:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2002 11:23:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2002 11:23:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2002 11:23:46 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Again I agree with Jeff. I have a loaner till mine arrives, and its great. Read the D30 reviews, The drawbacks are the same but its so with mopst digital. It has me 90% digital except for the occational 21/4 shoots and even then I would prefer using the Hasselblad with a Imacon 4040 back, or lightphase. I LOVE DIGITAL. and Canon has led the field for years. Hooray for CMOS. Can't wait to afford the new 1Ds.
11/11/2002 11:23:46 AM
 
Jeff L. Krutsinger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2002 2:15:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2002 2:15:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2002 2:15:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2002 2:15:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2002 2:15:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had a D30 at work for almost two years and love it. With the 3.3 mega pixels I have made gorgeous 12X18s at work on our Noritsu printer.
I just bought my own D60 and I have to say that I dont think I will buy anymore 35mm film. I shoot all my work with it now unless I need to go really big, then I break out my Hassy!
The 6 megapixel format allows me to do 99% of my work and not having to change film or buy it for that matter is great. Also, no need for a second body to shoot black and white is worth its weight in gold. I love Canon and think this camera is the best bang for the buck. The only down side is the 1.6 magnification. Because of that I had to bo buy a 15-30mm lens to get my wide angle shots. FYI the Sigma lens is pretty good. Autofocus cant compare to the Canon 17-35 but that extra 2 mm on the wide side helps and for the money I saved, I bought both the 550 EX and 420 EX flash.
Whew. I think thats enough for now. Take care and happy shooting!
8/22/2002 2:15:49 AM
 
Michael Shirk 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have only had my D60 a few days and really love it. I bought it via the internet and it arrived brand new but the lens clock was broken and the lens would not lock in place. Cannon had it fixed in 3 days! With shipping it was gone a week. Now I am in business and starting to learn how to use it, very exciting. Picture quaility is unbelieveable from a tripod.
 

143 Reviews  

Buy EOS D60 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com