BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


XG-M


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Rose Party
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


21 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Christopher A. Walrath
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera, has been my workhorse for about 10 years now. TTL metering, light bracketing and b-1/1000 sec dial. Only thing missing is multiple exposure capability.
6/3/2006 11:30:09 AM
 
Anthony Cancelliere

member since: 1/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Been using this body for 35 MM format for about as long as it's been available.. even went so fat as to purchase about 7 more bodies from e-bay in order to make sure I always have at least one available.. in the 20 or so years I have owned them I have never had any problems with them so I must say they're been EXTREMELY reliable.
3/18/2006 11:43:18 PM
 
Dylan C. Robins

member since: 8/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i love this camera.. i generally use a telephoto.. its a borrowed lens until i can afford to buy my own.. but im getting used to it... and this camera is incredible... some lock up problems with the shutter under 1/30 but other than that it is smooth as smooth can be rubbed....
10/7/2005 5:50:11 PM
 
Susan Ford

member since: 10/1/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Love this camera for its classic simplicity. Makes a great second camera to always have loaded in b&W. You can't help but learn something about photography when you take out the modern element of autofocus.
10/1/2005 1:02:52 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first SLR. My workhorse. Wish it had multi-exp. settings.
9/23/2005 7:25:34 PM
 
Ethan J. Chalmers

member since: 7/26/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I'm not quite sure about this camera because i have just aquired it the other day.
7/26/2005 8:00:39 PM
 
Neil L. Lindsey

member since: 6/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I haven't used this camera for years. I have had good luck with this SLR, but now I am Using a Kodak DX6490 digital, 4.0 megapixel, 10x lens. Future uploads will probably be with this camera. This picture of the Peter Iredale was taken on my honeymoon in 1981.
6/24/2005 8:49:23 PM
 
Paul Brian Donnelly

member since: 5/7/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
brill
5/7/2005 6:28:48 AM
 
Patty Davis

member since: 4/21/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera it a older one but works great. It is all manual . This was my first good camrea that I got.
4/21/2005 10:09:57 AM
 
Phil W. Parkerson Jr

member since: 12/20/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
This was given to me also. Broken. Haven't fixed it yet. Was only able to use it a couple of times.
12/20/2004 5:01:33 AM
 
Bryan L. Gitschlag

member since: 10/25/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
AWESOME CAMERA! I got this camera recently from an internet auction. For $157, I got a nylon carry-case, a tripod (a cheap one, but that's okay because I already have a good one), a 2x teleconverter from Soligor, a 50 mm Minolta standard lens, a Vivitar 28mm - 80mm zoom lens, a Sears 28mm - 85mm zoom lense, and a Sears 80mm - 200mm telephoto lens. So far, the camera works great with each of the lenses and I have taken beautiful pictures with it. Some are worthy of being blown up to 11x14 if not bigger and framed. The camera's light meter is superb, and a cloth shutter allows for more accurate shutter-speeds, making this camera a wonderful spectacle of creating well-exposed shots. Most of the over-exposed and under-exposed pictures that I got from my first couple rolls of film from that camera was due to me, as I was "playing" with the camera and learning its features (a relatively fast but highly-involved process for me). I have been complimented on the shots produced from a photo lab developer as well as a professional photographer. The camera does not have a fixed shutter-speed lower than one second; however, the bulb setting allows for an infinitely long exposure (or as long as you can hold your finger on the remote shutter release). The camera's only drawback is that it does not show the selected shutter-speed in the view-finder while on manual-exposure. This is a small price to pay for a near-perfect camera from its time. Truly, it is one of the greatest cameras from the latter part of the golden age of 35 mm SLR's. With full-manual settings, it is a great buy for all pro and amateur photographers!
10/27/2004 11:32:56 PM
 
Sarah Kincheloe

member since: 10/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it. My parents bought it before I was born and it still works like a charm.
10/27/2004 9:11:52 AM
 
Sarah L. Goulet

member since: 10/14/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a very old camera. Nothing on it is automatic, it is all manual. When I first bought it, I had no idea how to use it. I like that I can alter my pictures with my camera. I wish I had the option of automatic function.
10/14/2004 7:12:05 PM
 
Nathan Grant

member since: 3/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This old camera was passed down to me by my Father. I am pleased with the results it has given me so far. A great camera for beginner because pretty cheap yet top quality for its time.
3/15/2004 1:03:37 AM
 
Ruth E. Clark

member since: 1/21/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera I only have had for two years now. I love this pictures it takes. But the one thing it is hard on is batters. I also take this with me.
1/21/2004 7:58:30 PM
 
Chris Russo

member since: 6/21/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera has served me well for 2 decades.
12/31/2003 7:01:07 AM
 
Michael L. Vinyard

member since: 11/10/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was one of my "Minolta's" that I have come accustomed to buying. I gave this camera to my son in hopes that he will find the time and desire to shoot his expressions.
11/11/2003 6:03:05 AM
 
Annette Bower

member since: 2/6/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm just experimenting with photography. This is my dad's old camera, and once in awhile, I get that AWESOME picture. So I love the camera, but I don't have enough experience to really "rate it".
8/27/2003 10:58:39 AM
 
Guy D. Biechele
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Guy
Guy's Gallery

member since: 7/15/2000
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Best Features: durable basic 35mm manual camera, ease of use, good auto exposure, depth of focus preview, a "true" manual lens focusing ring. Worst Features: Limited range of shutter speeds, no "modern bells and whistles".
6/17/2003 8:37:49 PM
 
Jackie Maxwell

member since: 8/7/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera and have been using it for 21 years. It's never broken down, never given me any trouble - except when I forget fresh batteries. The only automatic part is that it has aperture priority. I'd like it to be a bit quieter, but wouldn't trade it for anything - well...maybe a Hasselblad!!
6/17/2003 7:25:02 PM
 
Mal Mac Bride
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for over twenty years now and it always gave me great photography. After getting this one I found no need to get another film camera.
6/16/2003 2:01:29 PM
 

21 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.