XG-M


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Rose Party
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Christopher A. Walrath
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 11:30:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 11:30:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 11:30:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 11:30:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 11:30:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera, has been my workhorse for about 10 years now. TTL metering, light bracketing and b-1/1000 sec dial. Only thing missing is multiple exposure capability.
6/3/2006 11:30:09 AM
 
Anthony Cancelliere 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 11:43:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 11:43:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 11:43:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 11:43:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 11:43:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Been using this body for 35 MM format for about as long as it's been available.. even went so fat as to purchase about 7 more bodies from e-bay in order to make sure I always have at least one available.. in the 20 or so years I have owned them I have never had any problems with them so I must say they're been EXTREMELY reliable.
3/18/2006 11:43:18 PM
 
Dylan C. Robins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 5:50:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 5:50:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 5:50:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 5:50:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 5:50:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i love this camera.. i generally use a telephoto.. its a borrowed lens until i can afford to buy my own.. but im getting used to it... and this camera is incredible... some lock up problems with the shutter under 1/30 but other than that it is smooth as smooth can be rubbed....
10/7/2005 5:50:11 PM
 
Susan Ford 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 1:02:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 1:02:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 1:02:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 1:02:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 1:02:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Love this camera for its classic simplicity. Makes a great second camera to always have loaded in b&W. You can't help but learn something about photography when you take out the modern element of autofocus.
10/1/2005 1:02:52 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:25:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:25:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:25:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:25:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 7:25:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first SLR. My workhorse. Wish it had multi-exp. settings.
9/23/2005 7:25:34 PM
 
Ethan J. Chalmers 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:00:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:00:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:00:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:00:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:00:39 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I'm not quite sure about this camera because i have just aquired it the other day.
7/26/2005 8:00:39 PM
 
Neil L. Lindsey 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 8:49:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 8:49:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 8:49:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 8:49:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 8:49:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I haven't used this camera for years. I have had good luck with this SLR, but now I am Using a Kodak DX6490 digital, 4.0 megapixel, 10x lens. Future uploads will probably be with this camera. This picture of the Peter Iredale was taken on my honeymoon in 1981.
6/24/2005 8:49:23 PM
 
Paul Brian Donnelly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 6:28:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 6:28:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 6:28:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 6:28:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 6:28:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
brill
5/7/2005 6:28:48 AM
 
Patty Davis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 10:09:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 10:09:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 10:09:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 10:09:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 10:09:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera it a older one but works great. It is all manual . This was my first good camrea that I got.
4/21/2005 10:09:57 AM
 
Phil W. Parkerson Jr 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 5:01:33 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 5:01:33 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 5:01:33 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 5:01:33 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 5:01:33 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This was given to me also. Broken. Haven't fixed it yet. Was only able to use it a couple of times.
12/20/2004 5:01:33 AM
 
Bryan L. Gitschlag 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 11:32:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 11:32:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 11:32:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 11:32:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 11:32:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
AWESOME CAMERA! I got this camera recently from an internet auction. For $157, I got a nylon carry-case, a tripod (a cheap one, but that's okay because I already have a good one), a 2x teleconverter from Soligor, a 50 mm Minolta standard lens, a Vivitar 28mm - 80mm zoom lens, a Sears 28mm - 85mm zoom lense, and a Sears 80mm - 200mm telephoto lens. So far, the camera works great with each of the lenses and I have taken beautiful pictures with it. Some are worthy of being blown up to 11x14 if not bigger and framed. The camera's light meter is superb, and a cloth shutter allows for more accurate shutter-speeds, making this camera a wonderful spectacle of creating well-exposed shots. Most of the over-exposed and under-exposed pictures that I got from my first couple rolls of film from that camera was due to me, as I was "playing" with the camera and learning its features (a relatively fast but highly-involved process for me). I have been complimented on the shots produced from a photo lab developer as well as a professional photographer. The camera does not have a fixed shutter-speed lower than one second; however, the bulb setting allows for an infinitely long exposure (or as long as you can hold your finger on the remote shutter release). The camera's only drawback is that it does not show the selected shutter-speed in the view-finder while on manual-exposure. This is a small price to pay for a near-perfect camera from its time. Truly, it is one of the greatest cameras from the latter part of the golden age of 35 mm SLR's. With full-manual settings, it is a great buy for all pro and amateur photographers!
10/27/2004 11:32:56 PM
 

First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)