BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


XE Series


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Durango Silverton...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
William Dl Barentine

member since: 1/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Minolta XE-5's and XE-7's have given me some of the "best" photos I have ever taken. Built like a tank, I recently deliberatley tossed mine on the ground, and showed the other 4 people with me how tough it really is!
It bounced! I picked it up blew the dust off and shot the roll inside. I got the film back today, (1-3-06) and showed everyone the photos! Man were they shocked1
Better than what they can do with a new "auto-whatsoever' camera! Thes are one of the best ever made. They do have the on/off switch, (plastic), problem however. They might be heavy, and slow, but they are one of the very best ever made in my opinion,...and I started out in Photography in 1960.
They work, what else matters?
I'd rather pay $1,500.00 for a new one of these than any other made today!
1/3/2006 7:43:01 PM
 
Patty M. Newark

member since: 9/29/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Love this camera but does not have the self timer on it
9/29/2005 9:55:24 AM
 
Doug H. Roberts

member since: 8/23/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My Camera is 100% manual, no auto or shutter speed on this 30 year baby. The only thing I don't like about this model is there is not double exposure option
8/23/2005 12:09:36 PM
 
Wayne Turk
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I own an Minolta XE-7, plus two Minolta XK's and A Minolta X-570. The XE-7 is very well built camera, but it is a little on the heavy side, and I really like the motor drive on the X-570. Very Fine Manual Focus Lens Available.
2/5/2005 10:39:35 AM
 
Stan Koehler

member since: 8/25/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought this old XE-7 at a pawn shop, mostly because it was Minolta (a personal thing), and because it was black. I keep an 80-210mm Tamron zoom lens affixed, and Kodak 800 speed film loaded at all times. The only time the zoom comes off is to add-on the 2X multiplier.
1/24/2005 3:54:13 PM
 
Anna S. Metcalf

member since: 2/6/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use. Good pictures
2/6/2004 6:19:54 PM
 
Duncan M. Hill

member since: 1/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my minolta XE-7. I have taken an enormous amount of photos with it and have had a large quantity of superb images. One problem I have had with my XE-7 has been the on/off switch, it has broken twice. Other than that I have greatly enjoyed my XE-7. One disadvantage to having an older camera is that there is no motordrive attachment, which would come in quite handy when photographing wildlife.
1/27/2004 9:27:02 PM
 
Julie A. Musk

member since: 1/5/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera, excellent color quality and I have owned it for 15 years. I do not have any complaints.
1/5/2004 11:01:22 PM
 
Roland Sorgner

member since: 9/11/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm collecting manual Minoltas - my oldest one is a Minolta SR-2 and my "newest" is a Maxxum 7000 which is only just about 15 years old. All my equipment is working but I could not tell which is my most prefered camera. There is an highlight - the Minolta X-1, about 30 years old. This camera was far ahead in their time. I like the Minolta XE but as well I like the Minolta X-700 too.
9/11/2003 8:12:54 AM
 
Andrea  J. Robinson

member since: 11/29/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like my minolta because of the focus and lens. it takes clear crisp pictures.
7/28/2003 7:25:16 PM
 

10 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.