XD-11


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Standing on the c...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Robert G. Clements 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:53:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:53:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:53:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:53:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:53:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera for over 25 years and cant part with it. I have a 6 lenses and several adapters etc . We have traveled to many places together and it has never let me down. I have thought about digital but dont want to lose the flexibility of the various lenses. 100 Macro, 300 zoom 500mm Mirror , 250mm mirror 28 mm wide angle and the standard 50 mm . also have filters for the 500, a 2 power and 3 power adapterand a motor wind Also have a X570 I use for backup that is loaded with 800 mm for high speed needs. v
3/11/2006 6:53:09 PM
 
Tim Innes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:14:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:14:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:14:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:14:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:14:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the last, truly pro-level Minolta manual-focus camera bodies. It had a modern vertical metal shutter and fast (for its day) 1/100 flash sync. The X-700 was a piece of junk compared to it. I sold my last Minolta long ago, but still have fond memories of the XD-11. I would imagine the electronics on this old warhorse are getting pretty creaky, though.
1/30/2006 10:14:50 AM
 
Kathleen Truax 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:26:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:26:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:26:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:26:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:26:46 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've had this camera for many years and I like the quality of the pictures it takes. What I don't like about it is it is not self focusing.
10/12/2005 11:26:46 AM
 
Ona Fast 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:17:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:17:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:17:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:17:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:17:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera for it's versatility. I can put it on an automatic mode and it will correctly choose the shutter speed as I choose the apperture so I can shoot quickly. I also love this camera for it's manual mode. It has a throught the lens preview feature that tells me exactly what my shot will be like before I shoot. I like the quick change of lenses that this camera features. I am sad that this camera is no longer made. It is a 35 mm SLR.
8/25/2005 8:17:28 AM
 
Wayne Fountain 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:42:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:42:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:42:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:42:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:42:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera, have had it for 20 years and always had good results. Easy to use and good quality.
5/22/2005 6:42:01 AM
 
Thomas N. Hawkins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:45:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:45:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:45:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:45:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:45:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera. If this camera had exposure lock, illuminated viewfinder information and a way to raise the mirror it would be perfect.

Tom Hawkins

5/6/2005 5:45:43 AM
 
Thomas N. Hawkins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:42:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:42:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:42:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:42:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:42:26 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
THis is a great camera. Just because it is old doesn't mean it is obsolete. My photography partner uses a digital from the "N" company. While he is futzing around trying to get the D100 to perform, I am taking great images with a camera that will be operating for the forseeable future. Yet he is already worrying about buying the next greatest multi-pixel wonder camera just so he won't be obsolete.

Tom Hawkins

5/6/2005 5:42:26 AM
 
Kenny  Allyn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:59:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:59:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:59:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:59:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:59:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My favorite of the MF Minolta SLRs ... I have two of them one in black one silver with custom skin ... and it's stablemate the XD-5 ...
2/17/2005 9:59:27 AM
 
Kenny  Allyn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:44:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:44:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:44:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:44:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:44:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The BEST of the Minolta SLRs ... My favorite silky smooth ...
2/17/2005 9:44:43 AM
 
Nick Anderson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 1:13:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 1:13:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 1:13:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 1:13:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 1:13:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first camera. I worked a paper route to make the money. I used it heavily through high school and college and never had a problem. Oh yes, it takes great pictures. If you are thinking of getting one, I'd definitely recommend it.
11/25/2004 1:13:38 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:20:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:20:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:20:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:20:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:20:44 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great Camera
9/13/2004 8:20:44 PM
 

First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)