X 700 SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

The Stretch
View photos created with this camera

The X 700 SLR Camera

Features:


  • Programmed automatic or manual exposure
  • Camera body only; lens sold separately
  • Programmed auto flash
  • Date/time imprinting
  • Exposure override up to 2 stops

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


89 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Todd David Isaacson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:20:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A Minolta X-700 was the first SLR I had ever owned, and I was fortunate enough to get a MD-1 Motordrive with it. However, it was stolen, and while I replaced it with another X-700, I do not have a motordrive for it. This camera is my prefered shooter. I have used other cameras, but I don't like auto SLRs, and cannot afford a Digital SLR yet. The X-700 handles like a dream. I like the feel of having to focus on moving objects while zooming in or out. (Control Freak!) It probably is one of the best high end manual 35mm SLRs ever! (Even better than the Canon AE-1, and yes I have used them!)
7/6/2006 7:20:19 PM
 
Ana G. Brenes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:51:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:51:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:51:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:51:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:51:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i love it, it was my second camera! the problem is to find its parts easily!
6/14/2006 3:51:00 PM
 
Unnikrishnan Valiyatath 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 2:52:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 2:52:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 2:52:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 2:52:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 2:52:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a nice camera.
6/11/2006 2:52:13 AM
 
Susie 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/28/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 6:17:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 6:17:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 6:17:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 6:17:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 6:17:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use and very reliable. With my zoom/macro lens I can get close and still stay in focus. Really old camera but I take it everywhere!
6/2/2006 6:17:08 AM
 
Crys Rickard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/11/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:33:55 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:33:55 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:33:55 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:33:55 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:33:55 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This was given to me by a friends father when he went all digital. I dont knwo if I love this camera, or the lenses it was given to me. Hasn't failed to capture a great image, but it locks up on me and have had it in the shop numerous times because of shooting to many things below longer than 1/8 a second.
5/11/2006 1:33:55 AM
 
Erkan ERDAL 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:33:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:33:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:33:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:33:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:33:16 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
:)
4/14/2006 12:33:16 AM
 
Allen K. Lucas 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 12:33:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 12:33:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 12:33:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 12:33:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 12:33:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really like this camera that replaced my earlier drowned minolta I hade since I was 16. With two tamron zoom lenses I have fantastic flexibility. A bit cumbersome to travel with, but has been worth it.
4/11/2006 12:33:18 PM
 
Teri L. Schuster 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:03:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:03:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:03:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:03:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:03:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
What I like about it is that it is light weight and takes great pictures and my mom gave me the camera and all of her equipment so it is very special to me! What I don't like about it is having to change lenses back and forth depending on the picture I am taking sometimes it's a lot easier to just point and shoot. As far as the function of the camera it works for me!
3/25/2006 11:03:42 PM
 
Peter Blakeman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:17:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:17:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:17:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:17:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:17:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
first camera I owned and have loved it from day 1..... dosen't get used anymore but has sentimental values as I learnt photography with it
1/15/2006 5:17:23 AM
 
Travis D. Heine 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 8:31:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 8:31:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 8:31:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 8:31:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 8:31:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best cameras ever made
1/3/2006 8:31:08 PM
 
William Dl Barentine 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 3:55:36 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 3:55:36 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 3:55:36 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 3:55:36 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 3:55:36 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera is too lightweight, good for carrying, bad for tripod work, especially in any wind. Hand holding even at 1/60th sec is a gamble, at best. They all have a bad reputation for the capacitors going bad, as have 4 of mine recently. They were not assembled at the same plant by using the same electronic parts. Some are good, others are NOT. They are reasonably inexpensive and easily repaired. The lens mount is insufficient for any lens bigger or heavier than an "older" 80-200mm lens. I had one mount bend and nearly break with a Vivitar 28-80 lens, as it was an f/2.8, with a 67mm filter size, making it front end heavy. Personally, I prefer the heavier "brass" bodied "XE" series cameras..."bricks" and I have dropped them many times with NO ill effects at all!
1/3/2006 3:55:36 AM
 
Sean Ronters 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:49:29 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:49:29 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:49:29 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:49:29 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:49:29 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera and the X-300, 370, and X-570 Minoltas has frequent electronic service issues with bad circuit boards and capacitors. Minolta used electrolytic caps on the circuit boards and they leak and die after about 5-10 years, and can leak over the circuit board which destroys that part too. You can tell when you put in fresh batteries but the camera advance and mirror still lock up.

The fabric shutter is also getting old on these cameras, usually needs a periodic servicing and cleaning/lubrication to keep it going. The fabric tends to stick in high humidity as the camera ages, sometimes it comes loose entirely from the shutter frame. Sometimes the electromagnets get greasy or lose their kick.

With parts getting very scarce except from cannabilizing other bodies and haunting the internet, I would pass on a used camera.

11/13/2005 5:49:29 PM
 
Brian D. Griffiths 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 11:39:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 11:39:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 11:39:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 11:39:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 11:39:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A wonderful piece of equipment!
9/13/2005 11:39:40 AM
 
John R. Luton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:50:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:50:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:50:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:50:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:50:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Used the camera for a few years. Very pleased with performance and versatility
9/3/2005 8:50:12 PM
 
Tyson Hodge 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 2:43:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 2:43:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 2:43:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 2:43:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 2:43:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera a whole lot. all I use are old SLR cameras and this is my favorite of what I have used. the program feature of this camera does not work, so I dont have experience with that. I wouldn't use it that often anyway.
8/27/2005 2:43:35 PM
 
Greg W. Halliday 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 3:23:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 3:23:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 3:23:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 3:23:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 3:23:21 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, though a little hard work at times
7/28/2005 3:23:21 AM
 
Will Turner 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:19:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:19:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:19:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:19:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:19:59 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Pros: Inexpensive. The X-700 uses the great Minolta prime lenses. Electronic shutter, TTL flash, AE lock.

Cons: Slow flash sync. But the biggest negative is camera breakdown. I have experienced a lot of repair issues with this model. First, the film advance lever and rewind lever can break, also the plastic parts in the advance mechanism. My X-700 required a complete new circuit board a few years ago which prompted me to sell it. I don't think parts are available anymore.

7/22/2005 11:19:59 PM
 
Joachim Holtz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:23:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:23:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:23:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:23:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:23:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best cameras ever made by Minolta.
7/16/2005 8:23:34 PM
 
Jim G. Hansen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:52:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:52:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:52:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:52:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:52:35 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great camera
6/21/2005 9:52:35 PM
 
Jim G. Hansen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:38:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:38:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:38:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:38:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:38:46 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera for an older non-auto focus model.
6/21/2005 9:38:46 PM
 
Katrina Rai Freed
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:54:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:54:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:54:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:54:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:54:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am by no means a professional photographer. Twenty years ago a friend of mine recommended this camera and showed me the pictures he took in "auto" mode... I pretty much have stayed in that mode since I bought my camera. I have added other lenses and stepped out of my comfort zone a few times to experiment, but I still go back to "auto" mode. I would say this is a great camera for anyone!
6/3/2005 6:54:18 PM
 
Tim D. Toby 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:28:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:28:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:28:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:28:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:28:01 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I bought this camera used. It was described to me as a very capable model, but I have limited use with it so far.
5/10/2005 7:28:01 PM
 
Carla  J. Pomroy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/9/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 7:57:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 7:57:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 7:57:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 7:57:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 7:57:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is a classic- It takes great pictures and I usually only use this for still photography as it is a manual focus with out a motor drive. Still a keeper
5/9/2005 7:57:12 AM
 
Danilo R. Parra 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:17:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:17:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:17:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:17:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:17:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
its easy and fun to use
4/15/2005 8:17:14 PM
 
Robert 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 10:12:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 10:12:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 10:12:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 10:12:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 10:12:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my favorite camera because it provides me with a fully manual or fully automatic camera all in one.
3/27/2005 10:12:23 AM
 
Alicia Hensel 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:02:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:02:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:02:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:02:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:02:25 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought this camera used 8 years ago, and it still works great! I love being able to control my pictures even before I actually take them. And it is completely manual, there's no fancy shmancy automatic features like the new cameras have that need batteries to operate. Call me old fashioned, but I like just me and my light box with no electronics interfering.
3/6/2005 8:02:25 AM
 
Larry Citra
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/3/2005
larrycitraphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:01:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:01:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:01:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:01:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:01:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Had this camera for years, use it for B&W mainly now, very reliable, great in cold weather. Has never let me down!
3/1/2005 2:01:08 PM
 
Kenny  Allyn 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:50:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Used this one for some 15 years now ... I like the P (program mode) when doing fast shots with a 45mm f2 pancake lens ... nice ergos too.
2/17/2005 9:50:48 AM
 
Victoria  L. Angulo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:07:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:07:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:07:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:07:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:07:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
all manual all women
2/1/2005 5:07:22 PM
 
Sara *  Clark 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:41:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:41:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:41:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:41:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:41:48 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good camera for beginning photographers
1/28/2005 6:41:48 AM
 
Rita Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/24/2005
Contact Rita
Rita's Gallery
ritahillphoto.com
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 7:46:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 7:46:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 7:46:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 7:46:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 7:46:19 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good film camera. Good for a back up film camera when I need it.
1/24/2005 7:46:19 PM
 
Raymond F. Bohac Jr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 11:42:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 11:42:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 11:42:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 11:42:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 11:42:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A very versitile SLR film camera.
1/16/2005 11:42:34 AM
 
Kasra  R. Saber 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 7:05:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 7:05:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 7:05:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 7:05:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 7:05:41 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good
1/11/2005 7:05:41 PM
 
GJ Bender 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 10:20:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 10:20:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 10:20:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 10:20:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 10:20:33 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For this era of SLR Cameras, the lense still makes a bigger difference than the camera body, shutter, and film advance put together; giving you more control over the shot. The auto-exposure controls seem to be very accurate and provide consistant, predictable results on a variety of films. Choice of battery technologies is critical for cold weather work in general. Avoid Silver Oxide and Zinc-Air if possible.
1/3/2005 10:20:33 PM
 
Matt the Photographer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 4:33:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 4:33:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 4:33:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 4:33:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 4:33:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
minolta is the best camera maker out there. They design for lieca and canon. Made first auto program mode and made first auto focus camera. but the x-700 is the best manual focus camera minolta makes.
12/27/2004 4:33:55 AM
 
wayne langston
Contact wayne
wayne's Gallery
photosforeveryone.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 6:09:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 6:09:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 6:09:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 6:09:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 6:09:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
minolta makes a wonderful camera. easy to use, easy to read, and just a good camera. fits in my hand good and handels well.
11/15/2004 6:09:40 AM
 
Robert Lee 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:25:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:25:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:25:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:25:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:25:15 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Old fashioned 35mm film camera. The single biggest advantage is the plethora of excellent (and inexpensive) optics on the used market. I shoot Fuji Reala and Kodak UC400 almost exclusively. These are two of the best color negative emulsions. After scanning the negatives, I estimate these provide 10 to 16 of resolution. Not bad for a 20 year old camera :-)
10/17/2004 9:25:15 AM
 
Barbara E. Brown 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:54:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:54:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:54:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:54:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:54:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Minolta SLR is the camera I started with and continue to have a fondness for it.
10/5/2004 3:54:01 PM
 
Brenda M. Wolfensberger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 8:57:12 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 8:57:12 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 8:57:12 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 8:57:12 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 8:57:12 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This was my very first camera. I have had it for almost 20 years and have used it alot. I only changed to a digital slr because of wanting to expand my photograhy and the manual focusing was getting old.
9/29/2004 8:57:12 PM
 
Elisse  Schoer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 6:35:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 6:35:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 6:35:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 6:35:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 6:35:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes an awesome photo, and is easy to use. The prints are very high quality. I have several of these cameras. Tough cameras.
9/22/2004 6:35:46 PM
 
Jack Willett 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 9:49:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 9:49:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 9:49:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 9:49:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 9:49:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is old faithful, I bought it second hand and have had it a long time, it takes wonderful pictures. I keep trying and learning but have not yet mastered it.
9/21/2004 9:49:10 AM
 
Lan P. NguyenDo 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 2:34:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 2:34:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 2:34:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 2:34:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 2:34:22 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I had this many years and still like it, I like SLR camera, it can go well with 135mm,200mm,500 mm Works good for portrait and landscape.
9/17/2004 2:34:22 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:21:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:21:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:21:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:21:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:21:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A Great Camera
9/13/2004 8:21:39 PM
 
Michael L. May 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:58:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:58:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:58:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:58:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:58:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great old camera
9/10/2004 9:58:52 AM
 
James  Lane 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 5:49:10 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 5:49:10 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 5:49:10 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 5:49:10 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 5:49:10 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great entry level slr with good features
9/8/2004 5:49:10 PM
 
Alexander Sanchez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 6:13:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 6:13:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 6:13:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 6:13:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 6:13:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
it's the best semi-automatic slr camera I have ever used.
8/15/2004 6:13:58 PM
 
Carl Schulz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:28:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:28:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:28:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:28:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:28:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great Camera. I have taken some wonderfull shots with it. If you are a beginner, you should think about this camera.
8/15/2004 8:28:04 AM
 
Carl Schulz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:27:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:27:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:27:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:27:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:27:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great Camera. I have taken some wonderfull shots with it. If you are a beginner, you should think about this camera.
8/15/2004 8:27:24 AM
 
Juan B. Dugay 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 8:54:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 8:54:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 8:54:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 8:54:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 8:54:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Its an old camera but is in very good shape and I think takes excelent pics.
8/14/2004 8:54:30 PM
 
Francois I. Ferreira 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 2:54:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 2:54:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 2:54:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 2:54:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 2:54:59 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My old horse, very good to begin with.
7/19/2004 2:54:59 PM
 
Erik Cockrell 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 6:48:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 6:48:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 6:48:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 6:48:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 6:48:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice to be fully manual and fully auto
7/18/2004 6:48:24 PM
 
April M. Vaillancourt 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 11:37:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 11:37:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 11:37:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 11:37:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 11:37:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great camera!! holds up extremely well, it's pretty old. no trouble at all! lots of great comments on it.still use it as a back-up camera to my 10d. got a35 rebel because sometimes you just need AF!
7/6/2004 11:37:48 AM
 
Donald B. Myers 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 7:01:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 7:01:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 7:01:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 7:01:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 7:01:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
have owned this camera 18 years never failed me. very accurate meter and perfect weight and fit. recently had factory clean and replace worn parts to ensure continued use.
6/21/2004 7:01:57 PM
 
John Tremblay 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 6:44:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 6:44:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 6:44:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 6:44:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 6:44:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera. A timeless classic.
6/10/2004 6:44:15 AM
 
Codi Agan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 2:22:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 2:22:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 2:22:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 2:22:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 2:22:54 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first camera, why I love photography
5/23/2004 2:22:54 AM
 
Ellen D. Ortiz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:50:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:50:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:50:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:50:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 12:50:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a very easy camera to use. It was my first camera and I love it. I can use it fully automatic or Program, or completely manual. Just a very simple camera and the results are very nice.
4/18/2004 12:50:12 PM
 
Gene Kellogg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 11:37:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 11:37:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 11:37:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 11:37:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 11:37:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice little camera
4/7/2004 11:37:01 AM
 
Nathan E. Brines 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 11:16:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 11:16:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 11:16:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 11:16:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 11:16:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I do not know how to use all of the functions on the camera. I am just a beginner and want to take better quality photos. It was givin to me by my father.
3/20/2004 11:16:50 AM
 
Donna Wiley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 4:09:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 4:09:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 4:09:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 4:09:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 4:09:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it because it was free! It allows me to take wonderful shots and best of all, it's completely manual!
3/16/2004 4:09:48 PM
 
David W. Horne 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 6:02:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 6:02:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 6:02:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 6:02:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 6:02:13 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera was given to me by my dad after I had started in photography. He seldom used it and he figured it would help me. Really, the only problem I have with the camera is the shutter speed dial being located so close to the film advance lever. I have to be careful and keep an eye on it or will accidentally change the shutter speed and later find the picture over/under exposed...this is when I am shooting landscape and the like...I did have a automatic film advance, but it broke and I haven't been able to replace it yet.
3/11/2004 6:02:13 PM
 
Willy Maes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/30/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:07:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:07:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:07:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:07:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:07:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
SLR non AF has a lot of lenses and accessories, accepts also older Minolta lenses.
3/5/2004 2:07:09 AM
 
Tim Mecalis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2004 6:28:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2004 6:28:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2004 6:28:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2004 6:28:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2004 6:28:11 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first camera, about 20 years old and still takes great photographs
2/26/2004 6:28:11 AM
 
Sharon Gross
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/20/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 2:38:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 2:38:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 2:38:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 2:38:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 2:38:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a great camera. I've had it since 1993 and it still takes excellent pictures.
2/20/2004 2:38:31 PM
 
James A. Duell Jr.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/29/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2004 9:07:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2004 9:07:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2004 9:07:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2004 9:07:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2004 9:07:14 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have been using my X-700 camera since 1989. It has taken a lot of photos which are very clear and sharp looking pictures. I have a 28mm Wide Angle lens that I use along with the 50mm lens that come with this camera. After using this is camera for 800 and 1600 speed films at night it still does a great job.
2/14/2004 9:07:14 PM
 
Missy  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 12:22:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 12:22:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 12:22:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 12:22:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 12:22:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
its the best and has nice features.
1/28/2004 12:22:23 PM
 
Darren  Bennett 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 6:07:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 6:07:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 6:07:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 6:07:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 6:07:16 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Never Fails ME
1/16/2004 6:07:16 AM
 
Lisa  Hoheisel 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 9:03:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 9:03:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 9:03:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 9:03:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 9:03:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I actually just purchased it about a week ago so I 'm just getting used to it. I can only afford used cameras at this time, that is why I purchased this one. And as far as I can tell, it workes wonderfully. No complaints so far.
12/30/2003 9:03:42 AM
 
Phil Falson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/24/2002
Contact Phil
Phil's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:02:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:02:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:02:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:02:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:02:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera has never falied me,it is a top of the line manual focus cameras.
12/28/2003 8:02:59 AM
 
Stephen P. Lee 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:22:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:22:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:22:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:22:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:22:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This one is a classic. I like this one with a 70-210 Macro.
12/21/2003 7:22:00 PM
 
Emily  Wing 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 11:40:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 11:40:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 11:40:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 11:40:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 11:40:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera
12/21/2003 11:40:34 AM
 
Chris D. Saxton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/15/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 6:57:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 6:57:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 6:57:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 6:57:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 6:57:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I found this camera for under $5.oo. It works perfectly. With the addition of several lenses, most were given to me by relatives, I have put together a package that works very well either on auto or manual settings. As I haven't had a lot of different cameras to compare it to, the only other SLR I have is a old Sears that I rescued from being thrown away, I don't have any complaints.
12/15/2003 6:57:15 PM
 
Lindsay Chan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 8:41:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 8:41:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 8:41:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 8:41:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2003 8:41:12 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
actually this is my first SLR (and the only one i own as of now..) - i bought it used march break of grade 9, and bought it actually not knowing too much about the camera. needless to say, i should've done my research, but i have no regrets making the purchase. :)
12/1/2003 8:41:12 AM
 
Amrita Prakash 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 1:14:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 1:14:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 1:14:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 1:14:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 1:14:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love this camera just the flash is to slow but oher wise i love it
11/18/2003 1:14:42 AM
 
Sheryl  L. McNeel 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:32:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:32:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:32:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:32:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:32:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the quality of the photo's!
10/21/2003 6:32:46 PM
 
Shannon Deniz 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 2:54:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 2:54:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 2:54:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 2:54:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 2:54:50 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Not a bad camera at all. Very easy to use and light weight. The only complaint I have is the line of lenses that go with this camera. The image quality does not begin to match up with Nikon.
10/18/2003 2:54:50 PM
 
Chad G. Zuber
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/12/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 12:38:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 12:38:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 12:38:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 12:38:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 12:38:30 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Minolta X700 SLR doesn't have many features other than your basics. It doesn't have a super fast shutter speed nor the ability to take double exposures, however, it is very inexpensive (I bought it used for $200) and a very reliable setup. I've not had any problems with it at all. The only automatic feature it has is shutter speed, so there's not much that can go wrong with it. All the manual parts are built to last. I've treked through Latin American jungles and tropical beaches, it's been subjected to high heat and humidity and the splash of waves striking the rocks at the beach. My real only complaint is that the flash sinc can only be set to 1/60 of a second. That often seems to slow, especially when I'm hand holding the camera and attempting to freeze the action. Other than that It is wonderful. Highly recommendable for any beginner to learn the basics of aperature, focal length and shutter speed.
10/12/2003 12:38:30 AM
 
Bill G. Adams 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 9:22:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 9:22:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 9:22:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 9:22:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 9:22:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love everything about it. My dad gave it to me so I didn't really have to consider anything.
10/9/2003 9:22:33 PM
 
Vanessa Zucker 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 4:33:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 4:33:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 4:33:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 4:33:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 4:33:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I see nothing wrong with this camera. It doesn't eat batteries, it turns out a great picture, all the buttons are placed in easy-to-reach places, etc.
10/6/2003 4:33:43 PM
 
Rita Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/24/2005
Contact Rita
Rita's Gallery
ritahillphoto.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I had three of these bodies but recently sold two to invest in a Nikon AF 6006. I kept one Minolta body with lenses because after using it for over 25 years, it has take great action and portrait images.
10/1/2003 6:28:02 PM
 
James Belton  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Love the total manual control. Been using this same camera for 15 years.
8/24/2003 7:44:42 PM
 
Walter Bonczek 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 9:12:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 9:12:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 9:12:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 9:12:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 9:12:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think this is a fantastic little camera. Incredibly easy to use, great shots and not a lot of bells and whistles to confuse you. Easy tp use for aperature and priority settings but best to learn manually.
8/20/2003 9:12:26 AM
 
Terry McClain 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 8:27:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 8:27:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 8:27:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 8:27:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 8:27:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am super new to slr's and their functions. I really am enjoying myself though. I only wish I had know the huge difference in a point and shoot camera and a slr years ago. Overall I am pleased with my camera, I think it is great for me since I am just beginning.
8/13/2003 8:27:24 PM
 
Kyoshi Becker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 11:05:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 11:05:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 11:05:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 11:05:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 11:05:47 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The camera is all manual, there is a wide variety of shutter speeds and aperatures, a normal cable release can be attached to it, it has an all steel body, making it durable for outdoor shots, you can still find many lenses for it, including macro, and you can rewind it yourself, so when doing your own developing the leader is still out. Also the camera has a self timer. The only two things that I don't like about the camera is that you need batteries for it and that it doesn't have an aperature meter.
7/30/2003 11:05:47 AM
 
Bill Morgenstern
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:12:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:12:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:12:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:12:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:12:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my workhorse camera. I have two bodies and a full compliment of lenses from extreme wide angle to 400 telephoto. I've warn out 2 other bodies over the years and wish this was still being made at the original price of $180.00. If you want a full line of features that allows for great shots this is a camera to own. You tell it what to do, it does it! Put fine glass on the front end of this camera and you'll be shooting great images for years.
7/21/2003 7:12:20 AM
 
Saskia Schroten 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:57:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:57:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:57:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:57:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:57:46 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first 'professional' camera given to me by my father 20 years ago. I have recently dusted it off and added lenses to my collection. As far as 35mm SLR go, I wouldn't replace it with another. It's easy to use yet offers the possibilities for more than just snapshots.
7/7/2003 11:57:46 AM
 
Jim King 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 6:11:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 6:11:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 6:11:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 6:11:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 6:11:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Reliable workhorse with a great compliment of lenses and features.
7/6/2003 6:11:27 PM
 
Amy M. VanLue
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/4/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:04:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:04:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:04:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:04:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 8:04:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Glad I learnt on this camera, but is big and clunky an ancient!!
6/25/2003 8:04:30 PM
 
Mark Romani 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:29:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:29:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:29:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:29:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:29:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera and have taken some of my best photos with it. There is nothing automatic about it so you control almost everything.
6/22/2003 8:29:48 AM
 
Tyranni Sliger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:53:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:53:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:53:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:53:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:53:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera... I had gotten a couple years ago as a Sophmore in highschool for a photo class... and have not wanted to buy another since... I like not having to deal with the digital setting on the new SLR's and just being able to control everything manually is a great benefit to me...
6/17/2003 5:53:31 PM
 

89 Reviews  

Buy X 700 SLR Camera from Amazon.com