X 500 / X 570 SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Joy
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 18 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lance Molina 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 2:46:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 2:46:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 2:46:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 2:46:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 2:46:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a very good camera for a student just getting involved in a photographic enviroment. There is little you can screw up. It has an accurate light meter built in, Good camera for next to little cost on e-bay anymore
9/17/2006 2:46:22 PM
 
MARK KRAFT 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 11:56:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 11:56:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 11:56:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 11:56:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 11:56:01 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera. Metal body allows it to be kicked around without damaging the internal mechanism. Lenses are easily removed. But, it's old and everything is manual, except for the shutter speed, so you'll need to understand how speeds and apertures are related and their impact on the photo.
6/28/2006 11:56:01 AM
 
Christopher  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 11:50:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 11:50:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 11:50:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 11:50:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 11:50:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A capable film SLR.
5/29/2006 11:50:31 AM
 
Tim Innes 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 9:54:13 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 9:54:13 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 9:54:13 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 9:54:13 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 9:54:13 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I owned Minolta manual-focus 35mm cameras for many years. My X-570 I purchased as a backup camera to my XD11. The 570 lasted about 4 years, then simply locked up. It wasn't worth repairing.

Whoever thought the X-570 and X-700 are some of the best Minoltas made needs their head examined. The X-570 and X-700 have the old-style fabric curtain and electromagnetic shutter, at a time when Nikon was introducing a 1/4000 titanium vertical shutter and 1/250 flash sync. Minolta dropped their high-quality metal-shutter, pro-level bodies after 1980.

1/30/2006 9:54:13 AM
 
Erik V. Baughman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 5:33:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 5:33:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 5:33:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 5:33:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 5:33:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's rugged and durable. No bells or whistles to break. I've put it through some hellish enviroments and it's always there when I need it.
1/1/2006 5:33:01 AM
 
Mike  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 9:46:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 9:46:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 9:46:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 9:46:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 9:46:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I guess I've been one of the lucky ones, or else the X570 I have, which is of Japan construction instead of Mylaisian or China is built different. I have had absolutely no problems. The X570 had to be the best effort from Minolta, next to the Xm/Xk. The viewfinder offers everything you could ever need/want, bright, all exposure info needed for advanced amature/semi pro shooting. The AE lock in TTL flash is excellent, quiet operation, reliable, great feel in the hand, MD1 capable, what more could one ask? It resides in the same bag I use for shoots w/my X9, full compliment of portrait and general lenses, auto, TTL, and manual flashes, brackets, motor drives, meters, etc. I would rate this Minolta body tops!!
12/2/2005 9:46:00 AM
 
Sean Ronters 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:35:39 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:35:39 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:35:39 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:35:39 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:35:39 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera and the X-370, and X-700 Minoltas has issues with bad capacitors. Minolta used electrolytic ones on the circuit boards and they leak and die after about 10 years, and can leak over the circuit board which destroys that part too. You can tell when you put in fresh batteries but the camera advance and mirror still lock up.

The shutter is also getting old on these cameras, usually needs a periodic servicing and cleaning/lubrication.

With parts getting scarce except from cannabilizing other bodies I would pass on a used camera.

11/12/2005 10:35:39 AM
 
Wayne Turk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:26:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:26:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:26:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:26:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:26:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Manual Focus Camera. Controls easy to get at, attachable motor drive.
9/10/2005 11:26:31 AM
 
Wayne Turk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/5/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 11:05:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 11:05:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 11:05:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 11:05:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 11:05:08 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Own a Minolta X-570 and XE-7 and Two XK's. This is my main work horse. Take it with me everywhere. My only complaint is that my MD-1 motor drive does not always advance the film all the way, I don't know if this is a motor drive problem or the camera's
2/5/2005 11:05:08 AM
 
Supapong Chanlongbutra 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:22:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:22:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:22:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:22:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:22:46 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I think the only strong point this camera earns is their very bright acute matte focusing screen.
7/26/2004 8:22:46 PM
 
James Ron Knuckey 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:49:15 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This photograph, my first entry, was taken with my first SLR 35mm camera which provided me with some very hood photographs and learning opportunities. I have since upgraded to a Minolta 505si camera with a Sigma 28-300 lens. I have also gone digital and now mainly use a Minolta dimage A1 which is already proving to be a very good camera. I use PaintShop Pro 8 for image editing. Hope you find this helpful. Regards, Ron Knuckey
7/24/2004 4:49:15 AM
 

First 10 of 18 Reviews  (see all user reviews)