BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


X 370 35mm SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

fishermen at Suns...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 53 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Christopher A. Walrath
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My mothers first SLR camera, I used for a short while before she gave me an XG-M 11 years ago. And it still works great. I would know. She gave it to my wife two years ago and it's still going strong. One of the first 35mm SLR's produced by Minolta in the mid eighties after the X-series' ten or so year long run at the top. It is a great camera. Still accepts the older MD/MC bayonet mount lenses that the older X- and SR- series camera bodies did making the lenses useable for about 25 years worth of camera bodies. AE, aperture priority, timer, 1 sec - 1/1000 S/S range, battery powered shutter and TTL light meter, X-sync to 1/60, this camera is a very good camera for anyone wanting early automatic amenities but with the ability to completely and manually control exposure. One of the last of a long line of premium cameras produced by Minolta. Just look for the gold JDIC sticker and you'll know it's good.

Thank you
Chris

1/18/2008 5:23:12 AM
 
Leslie A. Jones

member since: 3/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first 35mm camera and I still us it today. I keep a 35mm-105mm lens on itmost of the time. It does good on still shots and action shots. I am very pleased with this camera.
3/5/2006 10:54:39 AM
 
Holly M  Shamro

member since: 1/25/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good old model Minolta. Outdated and fully manual but still producing fantastic images.
1/25/2006 2:58:11 PM
 
Lisa M. Renoit

member since: 1/16/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for a beginner just learning the basics of slr photography.
1/16/2006 9:28:58 AM
 
Boban James

member since: 11/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Really like the old manual focus X370! Sturdy camera and Minolta has some great lenses to bolt on!
11/25/2005 1:40:08 AM
 
David C. Little
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my workhorse for over 20 years. I do not have my original one any longer, now I have an X370s, but I have thousands of photos that were shot with the old girl so I need it on the list. The metering, while not as good as the Nikons, is good. You spend more time getting a reading from somewhere in your scene and then recomposing to get your desired exposures. But other than that, and the lack of auto-focus, I like this camera.
11/10/2005 1:23:06 PM
 
Bert Wagner

member since: 9/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not a bad camera. Aperture, shutter, and iso controls are awkward to change.
10/15/2005 4:08:21 AM
 
Michael L. Jackson

member since: 5/5/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera is a oldie but a goodie. I love the fact that I can by telephoto lenses for dirt cheap. The batteries last forever, and its such a compact, tightly built camera, I feel I could hammer nails with it. On the other hand, the focusing with this camera is a bit tricky. It does take some getting use to.
10/12/2005 2:55:39 PM
 
Kimberlynn Petersen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera to learn on.
9/23/2005 7:38:20 PM
 
Glen Taylor

member since: 7/9/2005
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
I put up with the camera a lot longer than I should have. About every 10 rolls or so the shutter would pop off its tracks and back it would go to the repair shop. They never could fix it. The repairman said this was a common problem with this model.
8/5/2005 3:11:04 PM
 
Robert Castro

member since: 6/3/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Camera too does enough for newbies like me or all manual when I get more proficient at photography.
6/3/2005 1:15:47 AM
 

First 10 of 53 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.