BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Super Program 35mm Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

grey carousel hor...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Eva Ashford

member since: 3/22/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
well I haven't had this one for to long but I like it well enough
3/22/2006 4:56:52 PM
 
Kelli Breeton-Fairall

member since: 11/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I haven't use this as much as my K1000. This has digital numbers indicating the settings, versus dials on the K1000. I am better at using the needle on the K1000 as a light meter than the digital indicators of the Super Program. This is a very good camera for beginners, though.
12/17/2005 1:59:30 PM
 
Jack Morton

member since: 9/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Excellent SLR film camera I used for many years. Good glass, durable camera.
9/25/2005 6:28:09 PM
 
James S. Boyle
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/19/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought this camera when I was in the Navy... I have used it for over 20 years and I still enjoy picking it up and shooting with it. Even though a lot has changed since I bought this camera... I can not ever see myself getting rid of it... it has been a work-horse and flawless since the day I bought it.
7/19/2005 7:43:01 PM
 
Kelly McNaughton

member since: 4/11/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
What I like: Takes great pictures. Can still take pictures if batteries run out. Has manual and auto settings (Aperture priority, Shutter priority, manual, fully automatic). Fairly compact size (I have small hands). What I don't like: manual film loading, because it takes time and sometimes the film slips off the tracks if you're not careful about loading it.
7/3/2005 6:36:47 AM
 
Bevan J. Walsh

member since: 5/21/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was a dream camera for me, for many years in the 80's. Now that I have the money to buy it (s/hand) I have done so. While it has all the features I wanted, I find the mode dial too fiddly to use quickly (all the controls on the top right of the body are too close to each other and the winder). Also, the one I bought had a perished mirror foam which had disintergrated and spread itself around the place so there are lots of annoying little bits obscuring the viewfinder view that now matter how much cleaning I do, they won't go away! They must be on TOP of the focusing screen. This is apparently an issue with this model.

Having said all this, the Super Program (same as Super A) could be ideal for you if you have little fingers and require absolute manual control of your photography. It also is great in that it has a depth of field preview which is all too uncommon on cameras.

5/21/2005 6:00:53 PM
 
Yongshin Zhong

member since: 12/8/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Well built manual focus camera with all the needed features
11/25/2003 5:45:55 PM
 
Chris London

member since: 11/23/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice camera, all the bells and whistles of a modern camera, with manual control. The weakness I see is the complete reliance on batteries. No juice, no pictures, no alternative. If I were to do it again, I would go with a completely manual system that I could still use, even in the event of power failure!
11/23/2002 2:32:08 PM
 

8 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.