BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


N70/F70 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs


View photos created with this camera

The N70/F70 SLR Camera The N70/F70 SLR Camera

Nikon is legendary for its meticulous construction and amazing picture quality. The N70 is Nikon's top model in its non-pro SLR line. It has a wide range of advanced features that let you take incredible photos in any shooting situation. With a built-in flash, improved autofocus, and a good selection of exposure modes, the Nikon N70 makes it easy to take perfectly exposed and focused pictures...

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


74 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Rafael R. Martel

member since: 7/17/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had this camera since 1999. I love it but lately I've been getting grainy pictures. Could Nikon or someone help me giving some advise on taking boxing pictures. Last Saturday I used my N70 at the fights. The pictures came out grainy. I was using 1600 ASA Fuji and I changed the shutter speed from 500 to 1200 up to 4000 with the intention of freezing the action of the punches. Poor results-you can see some of the pictures on my website rafaelmartel.com. I'd rea;;y appreciate some advice.
7/17/2007 2:02:43 PM
 
Michael E. Hoskins
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera
6/19/2006 9:44:15 PM
 
Arthur R. Mullis

member since: 5/31/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I own an Nikon N70. I presently don't use it and keep it as a collector's item.
5/31/2006 8:26:22 AM
 
Bruce H. McIntosh
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera nearly without reservation. I've occasionally wished for DOF, and mirror lockup would have been handy on one or two occasions, but other than that, the camera has provided everything I've ever needed. When I bought it it had the salesman said was the fastest AF and exposure calculation of any non-pro camera, a very important consideration to the father of two very active children, and it delivered in spades. If I saw it I could shoot it. The original 35-85 lens is kind of lackluster, without quite enough reach at either end of the scale. The panoramic mode with the cropped negatives makes for some great landscapes, but stick with slower film. There are times I think I'd part with my F before I'd give this one up. When we go all-digital this fall (a D50, most likely), most of the film bodies will go byebye. Not this one. It's too much camera to sell.
5/18/2006 8:02:12 PM
 
Crystal Rogers
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/12/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got my N70 from a friend about a month ago and I love it! The menus were a bit complex at first, but I am learning quickly. From most all reviews I've read, the N70 seems to be a great choice for this beginner.
5/12/2006 6:46:15 PM
 
Crystal Rogers
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/12/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I got my N70 from a friend about a month ago and have really enjoyed it!
5/12/2006 6:42:05 PM
 
Peter Jones

member since: 3/29/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just a good all round Camera. I use mainly a Tamron Zoom 28--300.
5/2/2006 5:08:56 AM
 
Sharon Farmer

member since: 4/26/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My pictures seem to be grainy...always! I'm not sure if it's the film I use or if something is wrong with the camera. No matter how much or little light there is, the pictures are always grainy! :(
4/26/2006 2:31:19 PM
 
Aranee Bundhurat

member since: 9/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it. It's just right for my hand. I usually use manual mode, so I just need basic things. What I'd like more is the depth of field check button, which N70 doesn't have, but it's not that important.
4/6/2006 10:48:17 PM
 
Cheley  . 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/26/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love this camera- but you have to wait to have your film developed to see your results.
3/14/2006 8:28:20 AM
 
Todd  Ramsey

member since: 10/29/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
OK film body, menus are a little confusing at first.
2/27/2006 12:22:52 PM
 
Robyn Lugo

member since: 2/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my baby. I love using film. It's old fashioned but there is just something about the way the photos look. The clarity and purity of it. Even though this did'nt cost me 1,500 bucks it is a great camera that takes great photos, especially black and whites.
2/25/2006 6:23:53 AM
 
Bill and Deja Rohweder

member since: 1/18/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great camera. It provides everything we need for great photos.
1/18/2006 12:02:35 PM
 
Susan Carr

member since: 1/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love that I get what I see exactly. I'm an amateur so I really don't know what else to say.
1/17/2006 10:59:18 AM
 
Cheryl L. Dolch

member since: 11/26/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm an amateur, and this is my first SLR, but from my limited experience, I am very impressed with this camera. I love how it has the feature of letting you control the aperture, but it setting the shutter speed for you and vice versa. But it also still has the option for fully automatic, or fully manual. Excellent built-in flash also.
11/25/2005 7:24:24 AM
 
Angela Garibay
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/13/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought this camera two years ago and and I like the fact that it can be both, manual and AF. Its light and relatively simple to use.
11/10/2005 9:19:22 PM
 
Stephen Lapides

member since: 11/5/2005
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
I was amazed at the poor image quality made on a Nikon. Autofocus and metering are just extra bells to sell the camera. I much prefer the image quality obtained from my old Pentax K-1000 which is fully manual.
11/5/2005 11:46:20 AM
 
Kathy F. Nash
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/24/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My Nikon N70 was my first SLR, and I love it! I have a new D70 so that I can interchange the lenses. The N70 is alot like the D70, except of course, it is 35mm. I used it for 8 years, and still prefer it for up close profiles.
10/8/2005 8:48:24 PM
 
Brittany L. Payne

member since: 9/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera has auto flash which helps me to know when to use it or not to. Also my camera has auto focus but I can switch to manual also. The Nikon N70 has different programs and shutters speeds so I can customize my photographs. I carry it with me at all times and it enables me to take the best photographs.
9/14/2005 9:25:39 AM
 
Holly M. Blattner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/9/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Would have been nice to have a depth of field preview button, and the ability to do multiple exposures. Otherwise a great camera!
9/9/2005 6:37:32 PM
 
Glenn Roberts

member since: 6/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera with alot of features. Learning the features and how to access them takes a bit of time, but it does make sense and comes naturally after a bit of a time investment. Plusses: exposure, flash compensation and bracketing in 1/3 stops; on-camera flash performs red-eye reduction, slow synch and rear-curtain synch; easily selectable focus modes; works with AI or non-cpu lenses. Drawbacks: no depth-of-field preview; newer G-type lenses will not work; AF system now out of date; Matrix meter is only 5-segment; LCD display is not backlit.
6/8/2005 7:36:21 AM
 
Kenneth M. Hofmeister

member since: 5/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera old technology
5/22/2005 12:14:36 PM
 
Kevin Ekstrom
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great all around camera. Options galore, automatic and full manual. Learning all the camera settings was a bit rough at first. Had to refer to manual often. After a while it all came natural. (Not great for studio work. No off camer flash sync.)
5/20/2005 2:08:06 AM
 
Edward M. Wilkie

member since: 12/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Auto focus, program, aperture preferred, speed preferred, fully manual - nice body with lots of options. Use it with a 28-105 Nikor AF for black and white. Will also meter with Nikon AI and AIS lenses that I carry with the FM3A. No DOF or multiple exposure, but I go to the FM3A for that.
5/8/2005 9:14:41 PM
 
Gloria M. Faulkner

member since: 4/18/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
very hard to learn all thing some items were unnessacary
4/18/2005 11:44:59 AM
 
Chery J. Rahrig

member since: 4/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the only camera I have ever had so I can't compare it to many others. I do like it very well though. Only only thing I don't care for is that its becoming outdated and that means I need to upgrade and learn about digital camera, which I'm really confussed about.
4/2/2005 8:10:41 AM
 
Jennifer Hopper
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/30/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
gets the job done
3/31/2005 11:45:28 AM
 
Jennifer Hopper
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/30/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
gets the job done
3/31/2005 11:44:19 AM
 
Janet Carr

member since: 1/13/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It has done the job for the areas i've been studying. It Isn't the flashes camera around, but i hope to soon update into the digital world with high macro settings, hence, i am very passionate about the small details.
2/4/2005 3:53:19 AM
 
Judy Kay  Cowan

member since: 3/31/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A great camera with all the "extras" anyone could want.
1/26/2005 9:07:34 AM
 
Lori K. Walden

member since: 1/4/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
i am still learning to work with slr but i am in love with this camera.
1/4/2005 6:38:04 PM
 
Lori K. Walden

member since: 1/4/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
i am still learning to work with slr but i am in love with this camera.
1/4/2005 6:37:15 PM
 
Pam Schmoll

member since: 9/10/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
pictures are good but controls are akward to use and not intuitive
11/13/2004 2:21:28 AM
 
Don 

member since: 10/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The camera I use is a quality camera that has been able to take the rugged use I give it.
10/24/2004 11:03:21 AM
 
Nina Contini Melis

member since: 9/29/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good general use camera with built-in flash...that I only use for the occasional fill flash, which it does very well. Sturdy, reliable workhorse.
9/29/2004 8:43:47 AM
 
Brandy H. Caldwell

member since: 9/25/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I got this camera as a gift for Christmas 3 years ago. I absolutely love it. It takes beautiful photographs with stunningly vivid colors. I don't like that the F-stop has to be the same with most the lenses though.
9/25/2004 10:21:13 AM
 
Karen Marie Harris

member since: 6/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love results with this camera
7/16/2004 10:04:05 AM
 
Martha E. Rose

member since: 5/8/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It has been a good place to start. Can use manual or fully automatic.
7/7/2004 6:30:44 AM
 
Christopher Messitt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/24/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first SLR camera. Generally happy but occasionally I get poor color prints. I have not been able to identify if this is due to the lens or the camera's automatic metering. The controls are a bit complex and can take a few minutes to set up. But the motor drive allows the ability to take rapid shots. Still, I'm thinking of updating this camera to a DSLR.
6/24/2004 7:59:24 AM
 
Denise Elfenbein

member since: 6/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like Nikon a lot - they are durable and reliable. There are lots of options available on thsi camera dn not too many. Auto focud works well, I can shoot several in a row for action or bands. I like the red eye reduction, I like the fast action of 35 mm sometimes more than my digital.
6/9/2004 10:47:24 AM
 
Jill M. Martin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/22/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
nikon speaks for itself. I've never had any computer complications, so that has been a blessing. I've heard that nikon is not user friendly compared to cannon, however, I have not experimented with any others.
5/18/2004 1:54:45 AM
 
David C. Betz

member since: 5/7/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Takes great Photos Easy to work and lots of features, what I don't like is nightshots and battery usage . plus Nikon disco and went to the N80 with even more Features.
5/9/2004 5:23:26 AM
 
Wilson Tsoi

member since: 5/5/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first AF SLR. Surprisingly capable and had been my companion on trips for most of late 90's. Contrary to others' complaint about the user's interface, I find it quite acceptable. Plus is that it's the lightest AF body that still meters manual focus Nikkor Ai lenses.
5/5/2004 3:47:38 PM
 
Erik Moon

member since: 3/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I purchased My Nikon N70 AF in 1999. The options that influenced me on my decision was the light weight body, powerful built in flash, three metering modes,and the reasonable price tag. What I have found that I didn't like, was what you see in the viewfinder is not what you always get on film. I mean don't crop in camera too close, leave room above heads and below feet. I am always cutting off feet in full length portraits. Otherwise it is a solid and dependable camera for the money.
4/8/2004 7:15:29 PM
 
Angela M. Jorczak

member since: 4/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is great for someone who wants a professional camera with the ability to operate in programmed modes as well as manual or semi-manual. This camera has not failed me once and it has been an excellent camera for me. A great feature is the silent rewind and has a flash incorporated, which has also worked wonderfully. The camera has also worked perfectly with my SB-26 flash.
4/8/2004 1:45:36 PM
 
Vicki  Stoltz

member since: 3/2/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The N70 is light and versatile. I can easily shoot hand held shots of wildlife with a larger lens and have no noticeable camera shake. The N70 is easy to shoot in automatic or manual mode, and it is a great tool to help my 4-H kids understand all of the options of a SLR style camera. My only complaint is that is rewinds film a little loud, which interferes with wildlife shooting once in a while. The rewind gears tend to give out too, I've had to repair them twice in 5 years of ownership.
3/3/2004 8:16:42 AM
 
S L Freeman

member since: 2/22/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera
2/22/2004 11:21:31 AM
 
James l. Winslow
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/4/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my camera but I wish it had a depth of field preview.
2/17/2004 10:39:05 PM
 
Brandon W. Rubin

member since: 2/11/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a pretty good beginner's camera but I would really enjoy having something more professional.
2/11/2004 10:41:50 PM
 
Tracy A. Marciano

member since: 1/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My camera has traveled the world with me and it seems to be enjoying the trip!. Perfect for everything. No complaints about this. I would certainly purchase another Nikon after this one or in addition to this.
1/28/2004 8:08:55 PM
 
Janet A. Hickok

member since: 1/20/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
OVERALL IT TAKES GREAT PICTURES
1/20/2004 2:41:20 PM
 
William D. Orkoskey

member since: 1/12/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
great for the price.
1/12/2004 8:08:46 PM
 
Kriste K. Michelini

member since: 1/6/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera it has been a workhourse for me. Only complaint is the red eye sometimes.
1/8/2004 10:51:11 AM
 
Phil L. Dotson

member since: 11/20/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera works as well as my N90 perfect every time but I only rank it as a 7 because of the light feel (read plastic)but has never even glitched and I use these babys in rough conditions
11/20/2003 6:10:23 PM
 
Patrick Govaerts

member since: 11/12/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful tool! I have the accompanying 24-80mm lens and a Sigma 80-300mm in addition. This is a very versatile camera that really delivers. Lens quality is awesome.
11/12/2003 8:16:22 AM
 
Nancy Rinz

member since: 10/31/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
N/a
11/11/2003 8:33:08 AM
 
Laura Rodriquez

member since: 11/3/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera
11/3/2003 5:07:44 PM
 
Angela Stoute

member since: 10/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The first camera I owned was a pentaxk1000
Now use a nikon N70/f70 SLR is a awsome camera. Love lanscape photography - use a 200mm zoom lens.
ANG.
10/24/2003 10:52:28 PM
 
Angela Stoute

member since: 10/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The first camera I owned was a pentaxk1000
Now use a nikon N70/f70 SLR is a awsome camera. Love lanscape photography - use a 200mm zoom lens.
10/24/2003 10:49:39 PM
 
Larisa I. Kalnins

member since: 10/5/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My previous camera was a Canon EOS, which unfortunately met its end in an unfortunate drowning incident:). I was looking to purchase another Canon, when my father, who has switched to digital photography, offered me his Nikon N70, what a deal!!! I haven't used it too much yet, but my initial complaints are as follows: 1. the camera is considerably heavier than my previous canon (on hiking trips every ounce counts!) 2. I found the Canon display and controls to be more user friendly, but I'm confident given time that the N70 controls will be second nature
10/7/2003 11:30:00 PM
 
Tony Tam

member since: 9/19/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Camera.
9/26/2003 11:23:22 PM
 
Marco Illescas
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/7/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The controls aren't specially neither smooth nor intuitive (just one wheel to set everything) , although the crystal screen is cool & clear, shooting at nights is complicated. By other hand, is metering is awesome accurate, is autofocus is good (even after 9 years of use!), and despite it's not designed for heavey dutty, it has behave weel under wheater conditions ranging from very heat (Brasil/Puerto Rico beaches) and cold (Chilean & Peruvian Andes)
9/17/2003 6:58:47 AM
 
Samantha  J. Lowrie

member since: 9/4/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Camera, A bit complicated to set.
9/4/2003 2:45:47 PM
 
Peter Harrig Nielsen

member since: 7/17/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Built-in flash makes incredibly good pictures! Very good variety of programs - has never taken one "unsuccessful" shot with this camera!
7/17/2003 1:42:10 PM
 
Jim 

member since: 12/22/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great beginners camera, need depth of field preview, and the controls are unlike any inthe Nikon system. Over all it needs a photographer not a hack. Jim F
7/16/2003 6:22:09 AM
 
Katleen R. Struckle
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Katleen
Katleen's Gallery

member since: 6/26/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is the greatest camera I have ever used, Images very sharp, clear, great modes.
6/26/2003 9:23:34 AM
 
Jill Garl

member since: 7/17/2000
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Pretty good camera. My biggest problem with this camera is it has very slow focusing.
6/24/2003 8:00:06 AM
 
Bonita A. Dubil

member since: 6/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is very dependable, and has many features which make picture taking easy. It can be set several programs which choose lettings for me, so that I can concentrate on composition, and catch action, that would otherwise be difficult if I had to fumble with settings. It is however quite heavy, and is not one that you could keep in your purse for those unexpected picture opportunities.
6/24/2003 5:51:33 AM
 
John D. Nixon

member since: 6/23/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera it has always been there when I needed it. I have droped it, rained on, snowed on, it has been down many creeks and rivers. I have no worries with it.
6/23/2003 9:03:22 AM
 
David Bec

member since: 6/23/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Nice and quite semi-professional camera with everything you can expect from camera in this price range. Great fot traveling and reliable under every possible weather conditions. No light for LCD pannel, but I can handle :)
6/23/2003 8:09:59 AM
 
David T. Burke

member since: 3/24/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
First and foremost, this is a Nikon product, so you cannot go wrong! I have been using the N70 as my primary camera for over 3 years. The only thing that I wish it had was DOF preview. When I was researching cameras, before I settled on the N70, I did not realize the importance of this little function. Now days, I am getting more creative and learning constantly, so I think this would be valuable to have.

A lot of people have complained about the controls on the N70. I have no problem with them at all. Read the Manual and practice with the controls as you read. Once you go through them, it is a cake walk. One more thing that the N70 lacks is a backlit LCD for low light shooting.

As far as I am concerned this is a great all around camera body for the advanced amateur or pro. I plan on purchasing the F100 in the near future and keep my N70 as a back up.

6/11/2003 7:30:55 AM
 
Randall 

member since: 1/2/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is solid and well made. I gave it to my husband, who loves to take pictures but knows nothing about Fstops or shutter speeds or depth of field. He has taken about 60 long rolls with this camera, in all weather and at all times of day. He lets the N70 do all the thinking for him and has perfectly exposed and focused images all the time.

When I have borrowed the camera, I find that changing the settings is a slow process which can be accomplished only by taking your eye from the viewfinder and watching the display on top of the camera as you locate the function you need. Since the display is divided into eight segments, the choices are hard to see because the information is just too tiny, for us, at least.

Another shortcoming is the viewfinder which does not accept the sunlight blocking eyecup I use on my other Nikons. It is the same viewfinder used on all the recent consumer level Nikons so I guess it doesn't bother too many people.

The little pop up flash is not very powerful but works beautifully for fill light. The exposures are always flawless. I have never had a pop up flash but after seeing how useful and accurate this one is, I wish they would put it on their higher end cameras. Although my husband never changes the setting for the flash, either, this pop up has very advanced capabilities, including rear curtain sync, slow sync, manual compensation and bracketing. It's pretty amazing.

As far as the functions go, if you spend a few minutes learning how to access just one, then you know how to find the others. It looks much harder than it is. The directions also make it seem difficult when it really isn't.

Like many other Nikons, the camera often fails to correctly read the DX coding so always manually set your shutter speed.

Despite the awkward system for accessing functions, if you don't care about depth of field preview, take a look at this reliable, solid, relatively versatile camera.

6/10/2003 6:13:40 AM
 
N/A 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first foray into the world of Nikon. I have been Canon user for over twenty years and still use my A-1 for most everything. Anyway I have found the N70 to be a descent camera with tons of functions. The menu system does take a bit getting used to but once your familiar with it becomes second hand. The body feels tight and has a descent weight to it, which is something I like. The film advance is fast enough for casual shooting of some sporting events but not fast enough for others. The flash is descent but not powerful enough for Wedding work. I added the SB-26 and that made all the deference.

Its a good camera and better then some other ones. I still love my older Canon but Nikon does make a nice camera.

 
Roland Towey

member since: 5/28/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had my f70/n70,for 2 years. it`s my first venture into automatic`s,i had a lot to learn.I have read reports saying it was `user unfriendly`,because it used some push button operations.The reason people might find it `unfriendly` is because of the vast array of features.Obviously if you are used of auto`s,it`s easer to understand these functions.Just spend a few hours reading the instruction book,& shooting a few rolls of film.You will be up & running.If you look at the original price of this camera you will see it was intended for the semi-pro market.Bursting with features and now very affordable .Once you are used of controls, you will not put it down.I highly recommend it!
 

74 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.