R3 Camera


Leica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Twiligh Bridge
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Darren Campbell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:23:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:23:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:23:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:23:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:23:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fantastic camera!
6/13/2006 7:23:23 PM
 
Daniel M. Kays 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:24:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:24:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:24:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:24:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:24:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently inherited my father-in-law's Leica M3. He let me look at it once, but never let me touch it before he passed away. I was welcome to use any other camera he owned. But he made payments on it shortly after he was married, every week, until it was his. It was his dream camera, and I am honored and awed that he left it to me. It is a 1957 vintage, with original box, manual, and a fairly complete set of accessories including the light meter, and two lenses, several filters and the original manual. It is a collector's dream camera. I will use it for special occasions where I can control what happen to it. Otherwise, It will stay safely put away. I may let my sons look at it but not touch. So far I have shot two rolls of film through it. The photographs were very sharp. Thank you Pappy. I will love it like you did. If there are any negatives I can think of about this camera is they are as follows. first you have to remove the entire bottom and take out the takeup real to load the camera. And second, because of it's age it is fragil. There are parts that used organic glue that can break down over time. So you have to treat the camera delicately. On the other hand, If anything did happen to the camera, there are people with the knowledge and equipment needed, to fix most problems that occur with this vintage of camera. I see many years of beautiful photos left for her to shoot.
4/15/2006 6:24:43 PM
 
Mandy J. Cummins 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:29:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:29:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:29:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:29:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:29:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera has provided me with some pretty good point and shoot pics. I take it out and about to places I'm not about to drag an SLR and lenses. For the Leica name, I'm not as impressed with the quality of photos taken as I thought I would be. It is though, a very sturdy camera with a nice lens and controls are pretty easy to find. Pros: Lens quality, overall attractiveness (if that matters), case (I have the plastic case that conforms to the camera...love that!), ease of controls Cons: Price, and I wouldn't even say the price is a con if the picture quality was as great as expected. I think that you can get the same photo quality with a variety of lower priced point-and-shoots.
3/2/2005 4:29:57 PM
 
John R. Keistler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2003 11:55:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2003 11:55:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2003 11:55:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2003 11:55:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2003 11:55:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The R3 is the most underrated of Leica SLR's. It was a bridge between the all-Leica-designed 'flexes and the cooperative multimode R's since. It is a cousin of the Minolta XE series, also excellent. It offers manual and aperture priority modes in both spot and center-weighted metering. It is large, extremely reliable, and intuitive to use for any experienced photographer. Of course, as with all Leica SLR's, one buys it for access to the superb Leica lenses. For non-action photography it is a true bargain. I own two and plan to use them until the takeover of digital, whenever that happens!
4/11/2003 11:55:36 PM
 

4 Reviews