Online Photo Course - Photoshop: Advanced Creative Techniques with Jim Zuckerman

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Photoshop: Advanced Creative Techniques  Photography Course
Course Instructor: Jim Zuckerman
Photoshop: Advanced Creative Techniques

Expand your creativity beyond your expectations with these advanced Photoshop techniques. In this 8-week online photography course, master photographer and author Jim Zuckerman will show you how to do advanced Photoshop techniques. Learn how to cut and paste the person or animal into a new environment. Learn how to place the moon, fireworks, or lightning into a night sky, how to create a duotone, use special brushes for simulating a painting, and more.

Category: Photoshop Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Photoshop: Advanced Creative Techniques


15 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Antoinette Addison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2013
Contact Antoinette
Antoinette's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:40:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:40:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:40:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:40:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2013 7:40:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just loved this class. It pushed me to try to think creatively and I learned a lot of great Photoshop techniques that I can apply to all my photos. I highly recommend this class and any other with Jim Zuckerman. I have taken three classes with him and each has been wonderful.
5/5/2013 7:40:24 PM
 
Ed Farmer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/1/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2012 5:52:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2012 5:52:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2012 5:52:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2012 5:52:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2012 5:52:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim's knowledge and presentation of techniques are excellent. They will help you think in ways you may not normally look at your images or technique prior to capture. Whether Betterphoto or through his books, his attention to detail and sincere interest in helping one improve their skill set as a photographer never waivers. Can't recommend him high enough !!
11/3/2012 5:52:32 AM
 
Chris Schofield
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/6/2007
christys-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2011 1:39:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2011 1:39:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2011 1:39:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2011 1:39:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2011 1:39:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was the best course ever. I actually felt like I had artistic talent and this class forced it out of me. Jim is the best, and his classes and assignments are amazing.
1/1/2011 1:39:25 AM
 
Richard M. Waas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/20/2008
Contact Richard
Richard's Gallery
richardwaasphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 3:05:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 3:05:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 3:05:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 3:05:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 3:05:05 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was the 2nd class I had with Jim and by far one of the best! It taught me not only new Photoshop techniques, but gave me a new vision on how I look thru the view finder.

I would highly recommend this course.

Richard Waas

3/12/2010 3:05:05 AM
 
Sarah A. Christian
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/31/2008
schristian-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2009 2:47:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2009 2:47:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2009 2:47:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2009 2:47:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2009 2:47:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Outstanding teaching and communication, inspired and motivating lessons, with excellent and honest critiques has made this one of the best courses I have taken. I have found a new creativity through Jim and the Photoshop course.
8/19/2009 2:47:12 PM
 
Karen E. Baumann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/10/2007
Contact Karen
Karen's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2009 9:25:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2009 9:25:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2009 9:25:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2009 9:25:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2009 9:25:35 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a super course with lots of great ideas from Jim Z. I felt that it challenged me to another level in the digital darkroom and that was exactly what I was hoping to achieve. Jim was very quick to reply to questions and to guide the students to a better understanding of Photoshop.

There were a couple of things that were inconsistent with the course listing: Some of the lessons weren't really set up for those who use Elements, and there was one lesson that didn't use the outline material at all - that is, what was listed under the course overview. Jim was quick to remedy these situations with ideas and optional lessons for the Elements users, but I think the course should list this on the home page. If you are an Elements user, I would ask before signing up.
I would have loved to have timely critiques and this wasn't always the case in this course, but it may be due to travel on Jim's part.

The lessons did build on one another and I felt that was very beneficial for the students - Perhaps that is why I would have liked to have the critiques sooner, so I wouldn't make the same mistakes in the following lesson.

I really feel that student interaction relates best when the instructor joins in and makes comments along the way. Jim did this occasionally and the response and participation went way up when he was present.

I gained lots of good ideas from the students in this course and I really appreciated the interaction with them. It was so fun to see images from around the world, being used to make wonderful artistic renditions.

Great time!!!

3/13/2009 9:25:35 AM
 
MARY A. SHAW
photosbyma.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2009 1:25:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2009 1:25:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2009 1:25:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2009 1:25:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2009 1:25:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim helped by responding to questions and, more so, by continuing to inquire if he needed to give you more help. He seemed to care if you got the lessons.
3/4/2009 1:25:28 PM
 
Cynthia McILWAIN 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 9:19:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 9:19:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 9:19:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 9:19:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 9:19:02 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class pushed my work towards art rather than just a good photograph. I learned many techniques that I will use constantly. Jim was an especially good teacher -- he knows what he is doing and is a generous sharer of ideas beyond the precise outline of the class. I would recommend this to anyone who has a basic knowledge of Photoshop but who would like to advance their technical and artistic skills.
2/27/2009 9:19:02 AM
 
Maria Coulson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2006
mariacoulsonphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 7:56:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 7:56:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 7:56:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 7:56:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 7:56:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would recommend this class to anyone who is interested in doing creative things in PS. Jim is a great instructor who truly cares about his students. His lessons are very clear and his critiques are excellent. My photography went to another level because of it.
1/7/2009 7:56:05 PM
 
Peggy Kahan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/30/2008
Contact Peggy
Peggy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2009 7:22:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2009 7:22:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2009 7:22:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2009 7:22:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2009 7:22:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was exactly what I'd hoped for - an opportunity to learn some creative techniques and, in the process, become more familiar and comfortable with Photoshop. It was challenging and a LOT of fun.
Jim's feedback was prompt, positive and always constructive so that I learned as much from his critiques as I did from the lessons.
1/3/2009 7:22:37 PM
 
Paul D. North
thedigartgalleries.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 6:56:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 6:56:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 6:56:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 6:56:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 6:56:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Jim is a very talented photographer and a good instructor. The course was informative and helped me build upon the information I learned in the Creative Techniques in Photoshop course. The critiques were well structured, thoughtful, and accurate. Dialog among the students was very good. All in all, a very good course that I would recommend to others.
9/6/2007 6:56:34 PM
 
Randi Rose
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 12:09:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 12:09:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 12:09:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 12:09:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 12:09:20 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The class had a nice structure with a varied set of assignments to encourage us not merely to be proficient at using Photoshop but also ways to add our own creativity to our photos. And I enjoyed being able to recycle and improve many of my past photographs.
Jim's critiques were always helpful and balanced. He could easily articulate why one of our photos worked, or didn't, and I learned from his critiques of the other students as well as my own work. I was disappointed that there were only a few students and we never really had conversations or critiques among us. Jim's critiques were not always timely but Jim was always available instantly to answer questions and to help us through some of the things we were finding difficult.
I look forward to future courses with Jim.
3/11/2007 12:09:20 AM
 
Mindy Paskil 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:53 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I loved this course. I learned alot about the creative aspects of photoshop and Jim helped stretched my artistic side more than I thought possible. I hope there are more classes like this to follow. I highly recommend this course to other photoshop users.
Mindy
12/19/2005 9:45:53 AM
 
Mindy Paskil 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:45:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I loved this course. I learned alot about the creative aspects of photoshop and Jim helped stretched my artistic side more than I thought possible. I hope there are more classes like this to follow. I highly recommend this course to other photoshop users.
Mindy
12/19/2005 9:45:50 AM
 
Camille Jones 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 6:34:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 6:34:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 6:34:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 6:34:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 6:34:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
There is nothing for me to compare since this is my first photography course. Jim Zuckerman answered my questions and suggested improvements each time I asked. Even with his busy schedule, my learning curve was way on the plus side. However, more interaction with the other students and with Jim would have enhanced learning even more. Bottom line............I will take more courses. Camille Adams Jones
12/9/2005 6:34:03 AM
 

15 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist