BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


OM-1 35mm SLR Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

betterphoto3-366-...
View photos created with this camera

The OM-1 35mm SLR Camera


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


35 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Calgarey Penn

member since: 10/3/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I purchased this camera in 1975 and have never regretted owning it. I continue to use it when shooting transparancies as well as 35mm B & W that I scan to digital format. I learned alot about the fundamentals of photography with this camera. It is a rugged, reliable product that I will continue to use in the future.
12/20/2006 10:54:58 AM
 
Philippe Remels
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/9/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The OM1 was my first SLR back in 75. I think it taught me a lot and I'm grateful for that. So much so that I recently bought a used one to replace my original that was stolen. Its price on second-hand market is relatively high (around EURO 150 / $ 170 for the body) because of its success in amateur astronomy milieux. Originally it was a winning price/quality compromise. (I remember paying about EURO 400 for the body and 50mm lens kit.) I still like it and use it for its robustness, autonomy and the full control it gives you. When going for a trek I prefer it over the digital SLR or any others because of these qualities.
6/11/2006 9:58:50 AM
 
Jennifer A. Rehm

member since: 4/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first camera and it took stellar pictures. Its simplicity allowed me to learn the basics on a totally manual camera, before I had the ease of auto zoom. The biggest skill it taught me was patience for macro shots.
4/30/2006 3:12:56 PM
 
Timothy J. Hoeflich
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/12/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought this camera almost 30 years ago, and it is still a great camera with very good optics and a rugged metal body. Just a great classic simple but effective 35 mm camera.
4/5/2006 7:26:33 AM
 
Ross Domoney
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/21/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
one of the oldest but best cameraasss in the world! very simular to the pentax mx. is a very good camera if u want to learn about how everything works...
2/21/2006 11:09:18 AM
 
Daniel J. Souther

member since: 2/6/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For a fully manual film slr camera, I give it a 4. I haven't used many others though! The one I use is my Dad's 20 year old camera. It is a very good camera to learn on.
2/6/2006 9:31:46 PM
 
Angel Kidwell
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good reliable camera
12/18/2005 2:47:57 PM
 
Janice M. Baer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the first SLR I ever used so I have a sentimental attachment to it but I do not use it that much these days. It is a simple manual use only camera with a plus/minus indicator for a meter. No bells and whistles. Easy to use.
11/15/2005 5:33:45 AM
 
Andrew Kriz

member since: 9/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just plain awsome. Really like the simplicity, strength, and relative light weight. The shutter speed is located at lens base (great idea), which makes all image adjustments acessible to your left hand.
9/17/2005 4:33:55 PM
 
Tony Prower

member since: 4/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fully manual. Clockwork camera, original and the best.
4/28/2005 7:55:05 AM
 
Terry Lee Cook

member since: 1/18/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Not knowing very much about cameras and photography, I purchased this camera simply because it was affordable. I am very pleased with the results, although I do miss some shots because of the manual focus. I generally use 800 film.
1/18/2005 11:17:18 PM
 


member since: 11/6/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had this camera for about 20 years. Fully manual, very reliable.
11/7/2004 8:01:16 AM
 
Dawn Kuscher

member since: 7/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have not used it very much yet, but seems easy enough for a beginner. I hope to learn a lot from this camera
8/13/2004 1:26:48 AM
 
Ronald A. Zincone
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Olympus OM-1 is the "holy grail" of astrophotography cameras. Fully mechanical, fully manual shutter, no batteries to worry about, very quiet mechanism, lightweight and the smallest 35mm ever made. If you want to get into photography of the night sky, this is the camera to get.
7/29/2004 11:21:38 AM
 
Gary Abbott

member since: 7/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i love my om 1n my canon g5 is good for instant results but the om 1n is the one I go back to for better image quality :i have owned two of these babys :im lovin it!
7/23/2004 7:10:49 AM
 
Gary Abbott

member since: 7/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i love my om 1n my canon g5 is good for instant results but the om 1n is the one I go back to for better image quality :i have owned two of these babys :im lovin it!
7/23/2004 7:09:52 AM
 
Roxie Guilhamet
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Roxie
Roxie's Gallery

member since: 5/2/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fabulous camera: crisp lenses, compact, simple interface -- wish it could take digital photos.
7/15/2004 8:03:30 PM
 
Carolyn Barkow

member since: 4/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great gift from my husband to introduce me to manual slr.
7/4/2004 10:13:31 PM
 
Daniel Dimitroff

member since: 9/12/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like to be able to control everything and hate having a computer try to guess what I want. If it had spot meter & an autofocus I could turn on and off, I'd divorce my wife and marry it.
6/15/2004 3:32:00 PM
 
John R. Miller

member since: 5/23/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
What I actually have is the OM1n & OM2n which are excellent SLR's and there Zuiko Lenses are right up there too. I have had my OM1N and OM2N for 24 years and have never had to send them in for repairs. I have gotten my money's worth several times over, they are truely top of the line camera's and wouldn't have any other brands.
5/23/2004 11:54:01 PM
 
Malcolm Schmerl

member since: 5/14/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I prefer a simple, manual 35mm SLR. I purchased this camera in the mid '70s based on reports of Vietnam photographers as to its ruggedness. This has been true as the camera has been on river boat trips and many treks through the mountains and has worked flawlessly without ever being in for repair. I primarily specialize in extreme close up and thus require interchangable lenses. With a 50mm, a 28mm and a 120mm lenses and a set of extention tubes, I find I'm fully equipped for nature photography. 99+% of my work is hand-held and the camera's small size is convenient for this. I basically have no complaints and after a good 30 years of continual use, the camera has become my tool.
5/15/2004 12:49:21 AM
 
Malcolm Schmerl

member since: 5/14/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I prefer a simple, manual slr. I purchased this camera in the mid '70s based on reports of Vietnam photographers touting its ruggedness. I have found this to be true. The camera has been on riverboat trips and many mountain treks and never been in for repair. It has served my needs well.
5/15/2004 12:27:44 AM
 
Roland Ruehl

member since: 5/5/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very reliable, good optics.
5/5/2004 7:07:29 PM
 
David C. Sweet

member since: 3/21/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera. I bought it used in 1981 and have been never let down.
3/28/2004 7:30:16 AM
 
Paul 

member since: 2/17/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought my first Olympus in 1975 upon the recommendation of a professional. I was in New York City and had the opportunity to check out and use all camera and lens combinations. The OM-1 was a joy to hold and use. The controls are arranged for a natural and intuitive hold. The revolutionary (at the time) compact body and lens style allows me to carry a lot of equipment comfortably. Being in the military and traveling the world, I have had the opportunity to use the OM system in some harsh environments, without flaw! The Olympus line is absolutely reliable. The Zuiko lenses are excellent performers, from super wide to long telephoto I will stack the results against any Nikon, Canon, even the legendary Leitz. Being a mechanical camera, if you loose battery power, you only loose the meter, all camera functions remain operational.
For my primary lens, I use the 55mm f1.2, it's an impressive hunk of glass! The extra brightness in the viewfinder makes it easier to focus in dim lighting situations.
This is a full system camera with interchangeable lenses, flashes, motor drives, film backs, focusing screens, and more.
Olympus Camera Corporation no longer produces or supports the OM system, but due to the quality and durability of the equipment I would still recommend this to anyone who is interested in an outstanding system. Some starter bodies and normal lenses are available for way less than $100.00
2/24/2004 6:41:02 AM
 
Elizabeth M. Hargreaves

member since: 11/5/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I haven't used anything else, so I don't really have anything to compare this camera to!! But, it's great to learn on..
11/5/2003 5:50:43 PM
 
Krithika Araju

member since: 10/13/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a sturdy model and extremely good for learning on. A great 'first' camera
10/13/2003 6:48:21 AM
 
Krithika Araju

member since: 10/13/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a sturdy model and extremely good for learning on. A great 'first' camera
10/13/2003 6:47:09 AM
 
Silje K. Hals

member since: 9/1/2003
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's an old one, and it works well, but I wish it was automatic with the focus, and digital... would be alot easier.
9/9/2003 9:45:49 AM
 
Marica Swanepoel

member since: 8/15/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great for marual use only ...not good fot multiple exposeures
8/16/2003 8:25:10 PM
 
Ron Schatzberg

member since: 12/24/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
For total control with excellent glass this is the one.
7/23/2003 12:25:27 AM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com

member since: 6/14/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Try PX625.com for your OM battery problems. That site explains all your options. Try KEH.com for OM-1 lenses. The 28-mm f2 is becoming a cult classic for its sharpness, but the other wide angles are no slouches at all, especially the 35-mm f2. Don't know whether it's fact or rumor that the 50-mm f1.8 that has "made in Japan" on the front lens ring is the best 50 f1.8. I like my OM-1 for it's compactness.
1/10/2003 11:12:32 AM
 
Jim Covill

member since: 12/17/2000
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought my first OM1n in 1981. Since then I added an OM2, OM2SP, a used OM1 and and OM10. I love them all but swear by the OM1 and 1n. Battery dead? No problem guess! You'll have get them converted from the Mercury based 625 battery to S76 though. Akaline based 625 discharge differently and through the meter off. Zuiko lenses are hard to find and extremely expensive to but now.
12/18/2002 8:43:36 PM
 
Kathy McDevitt

member since: 12/8/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've been using it for 3 years and love it. I can rely on it 100%
12/8/2002 5:55:53 PM
 
Kathy McDevitt

member since: 12/8/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've been using it for 3 years and love it. I can rely on it 100%
12/8/2002 5:55:50 PM
 

35 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.